View Full Version : Man City: $137m bid for Terry
anfielder
24-11-2008, 09:40 AM
The origin of this story is News of the World, hardly reliable but still interesting :D
Source: http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking%2BNews/Sport/Story/STIStory_306145.html
Man City: $137m bid for Terry
LONDON: Fantasy football could well and truly be on show at Manchester City if an audacious attempt to sign John Terry from Chelsea succeeds.
City's Abu Dhabi owners are preparing a £60 million (S$137 million) bid for the Blues and England captain at the end of the season. The News of the World reported that City manager Mark Hughes was asked by Sheikh Mansour, who heads the investment company which owns the club, to identify the best players in the world in every position.
Hughes named defender Terry in his 'fantasy' starting XI and the club would pay Terry £200,000 a week, making him the highest-paid player in the world.
Chelsea owner Roman Abramovich's multi-billion pound empire is thought to have been hit by the credit crunch and he could be tempted to cash in on Terry.
City's statement of intent could also be confirmed in January, when they finalise a £50 million deal for Juventus goalkeeper Gianluigi Buffon.
While both Juventus and Italy's No.1 have insisted they will reject any offers, sections of the Italian media have reported that Buffon's wife has visited Manchester to look out for homes.
Jackass43
24-11-2008, 09:43 AM
madness.... stewpig rick parry.... should sold to those arabs.... we cud have been better off....
1920_me
24-11-2008, 03:21 PM
I think roman looking to sell off chelsea. Selling terry might be the first step to recoup of the losses he made.:s13::s13:
lyfeforce
24-11-2008, 03:28 PM
I don't Terry will leave. If he does, there may be an exodus, including possibly Scolari.
darkdevil
24-11-2008, 03:36 PM
this cant be true man.. even if so i dun think terry would go..
Asakura
24-11-2008, 04:45 PM
Terry wun go de lah..lol
kopfowler
24-11-2008, 05:14 PM
If Chelski want to sell...who to said Terry would not want to go ?
moreover the ARABS may double his pay..nothing is sure in Football..
Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
24-11-2008, 05:25 PM
Only if Roman willing to sell
It is reported that Roman block a transfer request from Man C to sign Wayne Bridge
So don't think Roman will sell Terry ba.
kopfowler
24-11-2008, 10:39 PM
Only if Roman willing to sell
It is reported that Roman block a transfer request from Man C to sign Wayne Bridge
So don't think Roman will sell Terry ba.
Unfortunately, You are not Roman
KillerKidz
24-11-2008, 11:09 PM
60 million pounds for a defender is really crazy.
othniel80
25-11-2008, 09:00 AM
Ball is round, so are the people who are kickin it.
_dXter
25-11-2008, 11:16 AM
Agent laughing to the bank.
batman_888
25-11-2008, 03:59 PM
it might happen... look at robinho.... chelsea supposed to sign him but man c got him... who expected tat... chelsea themselves self shocked....
ahgohgoh
25-11-2008, 07:58 PM
he's mr chelsea lah...
and i really dont see man city going to be any bigger than chelsea...
verselines
25-11-2008, 08:38 PM
Ashley Cole is the new rumoured target.
humanc0w
25-11-2008, 11:10 PM
They might as well say they want the whole Chelsea 1st XI.
skweam
26-11-2008, 12:32 AM
of all defenders, Terry? @_@
othniel80
26-11-2008, 09:20 AM
Ashley Cole is the new rumoured target.
Oh pls.... I rather they take JT than "Cashley Cole"
Cumzilla
26-11-2008, 03:45 PM
he's mr chelsea lah...
and i really dont see man city going to be any bigger than chelsea...
if u had followed english football long enuff, chelsea was not much bigger before roman abramovich took over
Asakura
26-11-2008, 03:48 PM
and u said it urself. before roman took over. now he had already did, chelsea is HUGE now.
Cumzilla
26-11-2008, 04:11 PM
and u said it urself. before roman took over. now he had already did, chelsea is HUGE now.
no interest in how big they were, are or will be for that matter, just want to say the big 4 now will not forever be the big 4 in the future, can be big 5, big 6, or even reduce to big 3, it used to be only big 2, its good for league though if the elite teams above increase cos it will mkae the league more interesting rather than seeing just a 2 horses race...
Asakura
26-11-2008, 04:49 PM
yea of cuz. but talking abt the possiblilties that mr chelsea will leave for the citizens..
its not absolute but chances of NO at this stage is higher. That is, unless Mr Chelsea thinks he's archived all he can here at SB.
Cumzilla
26-11-2008, 07:28 PM
yea of cuz. but talking abt the possiblilties that mr chelsea will leave for the citizens..
its not absolute but chances of NO at this stage is higher. That is, unless Mr Chelsea thinks he's archived all he can here at SB.
yea me believe he will not leave for whatever money offered, it also depends on many many factors such the where the club are and their family, but with the money that city has at the moment, they will certainly go for the best to solve the weakest link of the team now, and i cant think of any better C B in the world than JT right at this moment
ahgohgoh
26-11-2008, 07:43 PM
if u had followed english football long enuff, chelsea was not much bigger before roman abramovich took over
in the past, chelsea had only arsenal and man utd to fight title with (of course after roman took over and splashed his cash)...
now... man city got man utd, chelsea, a resurgent liverpool and arsenal to fight with...
sgparlay
28-11-2008, 08:54 AM
no player is worth that kind of crazy money.... :S
Asakura
28-11-2008, 09:13 AM
which is why BPL was dubbed the mickey mouse league. everything is so fantasy nowadays.
Pyro77
28-11-2008, 10:27 AM
They might as well say they want the whole Chelsea 1st XI.
Yeah. Since we all know they do it for the money :)
XiaoZuzu
28-11-2008, 01:56 PM
they really siao.are there any busniess rivalry between the 2?? XD
Carnage
29-11-2008, 01:47 PM
Just imagine if Roman pulls out. :s13:
JT for 5M?
Mayhem69
03-12-2008, 08:42 PM
Chelsea won't sell their captain .. we all should know also ..
No reason to sell anyway
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.