PDA

View Full Version : Robinho shock attack on City

croc1977
02-12-2008, 10:48 AM
http://img.thesun.co.uk/multimedia/archive/00667/sport_caro_one_667884a.jpg
By NEIL CUSTIS

Published: Today
rigTeaserImage
ROBINHO has slammed his Manchester City team-mates as a bunch of losers.

The Brazilian’s views will enrage his fellow players and manager Mark Hughes.

His attack has echoes of William Gallas’ outburst at Arsenal, which cost him the captaincy.

Robinho said: “City have good players but the mentality of a small side. What they lack is the mentality of champions.

"At Real Madrid, I learned a will to win.

“Here they have a good team but are content with just finishing fifth or sixth. For me you can only be content when you’re champions, with winning away.

“You need to want to beat Chelsea at their home, beat Manchester United, beat Liverpool.

“They are content with little, just a draw might be good enough.”

City are now just two points above the drop zone after Sunday’s home defeat by United.

And Robinho added: “The mentality has to change now City have a project to become big.

“I want to inspire a winning mentality. I’ve learned being second is worthless. I played at Santos, where the supporters want to win every tournament we play in. The same was true at Real Madrid and with Brazil.

“If we think bigger, we can be there too.”

Robinho, speaking exclusively to Football Matters on Setanta Sports 1 last night, says he has suggested players to Hughes to improve the team.

He revealed: “If I could choose, I would get Kaka and my countryman Ronaldo.”

Robinho also admitted he wanted to join Chelsea before the deal fell apart.

He declared: “Big Phil working there, great team, I wanted to play there. But City were the only club Real Madrid allowed me to go to.”

Sause: The SUN UK

PS: On the 1st day he join he don't know Chelsea...opps sorrie Man city is not the class of Real Madrid....it's all becos of the $160,000 pound per wk.So most likey he will join Chelsea during next summer?

Michael Shoemaker
02-12-2008, 10:58 AM
lol he finally made his feelings known.

Techadd
02-12-2008, 11:08 AM
crap...to suggest players to mark hughes.. even more so that they are his compatriots..tis robinho needs to be sat on the bench to be taught a lesson..where was he during United match..?

FLiNcHY
02-12-2008, 11:13 AM
What he says is 100% true.

But he's the biggest loser since he chose himself to go to a loser club with no winning mentality

RVN
02-12-2008, 11:17 AM
he go to City only because of more $$$$$$$$$

croc1977
02-12-2008, 11:24 AM
crap...to suggest players to mark hughes.. even more so that they are his compatriots..tis robinho needs to be sat on the bench to be taught a lesson..where was he during United match..?
i tot SWP was MOM that match.he was veli hardworking

Cumzilla
02-12-2008, 11:30 AM
never in the whole interview i see a single word in which he is quoted to call his teammates 'loser', and u cant suppose to have a champion mentality overnight with a team outside the top 4

this newspaper is well known for creating fictional attention seeking headlines frequently, and being sued over it and lost, the most recent one is the Materazzi's suit, so i never really take the crap they dish out seriously...

Asakura
02-12-2008, 11:38 AM
wow croc whr u getting all these SHOCKERS lol interesting source.
i dun think he's calling them losers as well...
he's just want his team to fight for more points rather den being content with a draw when it comes to facing the big teams.
like zilla said, u cant expect the players to suddenly feel lk they're gonna win it.
wads in their minds now is probably
"if we land ourselves in a gd position, going for uefa cup champs to seed into UCL. we've done ourselves proud. nxt season will be our real season"
after all. its their first season that they gotten a little bigger in some areas.

daylight
02-12-2008, 11:39 AM
he wants to join a big team, now realize man city still not there yet.
chelski will be laughing all the way, but their owner will not splash the money for him.

croc1977
02-12-2008, 11:48 AM
the whole issue is “They are content with little, just a draw might be good enough.”...and it's the part he has no choice buy to choosse man city BECOS 1)$ 2)madrid say no to chelsea...

Cumzilla
02-12-2008, 11:54 AM
he wants to join a big team, now realize man city still not there yet.
chelski will be laughing all the way, but their owner will not splash the money for him.

chelsea will do if he continues his goal scoring form and the liking between him and scolari is not just one sided, but i heard chelsea is not going to spend unless they can sell. They can do players cum cash transfer cos i think city wouldnt mind some of the chelsea fringe players like bridge for example.

soccernet has the same article on this robinhno's interview, and u can see the contrast in the headline from that popular gossip newspaper

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=598210&cc=4716

poring24
02-12-2008, 12:13 PM
tabloids again ba....Robinho is a quite a hardworking and down to earth lad for a brazilian, he just say that small time mentality must change and The Sun just go and exaggerate to sell more papers

othniel80
02-12-2008, 12:57 PM
take the news with a pinch of salt, guys. It could very well be sensationalise by the tabloids.
I don't think he will go out and out to talk bad about his own team, just to highlight that Man C needs a change of mentality which I also agree if they are serious about challenging for the top spots.

bwaysaibi
02-12-2008, 01:28 PM
i think its the issue of the player feels he's bigger than the club
its good if players speak out n assume leadership roles as he is implying
BUT over flowing of ego on a consistent basis willbe more detrimental than beneficial.

personnel wise man city definitelyhave the quality.
but a champs league quality team they r not , nvm winning the league

nottibeans
02-12-2008, 02:43 PM
He will stay in Man City lar... They will become a bigger club than Chelsea..

160,000 pounds a week.. wah lau who dun want come..:s13: Chelsea is broke.. they not buying anyone in Jan...

hydeist_
02-12-2008, 04:23 PM
i've lost my respect for this guy ever since he moved to mancity .. absolutely disgusting .. if he's got a will to win he would just stay in real .. and not to another mediocre club who could pay him double ..

Thinker
02-12-2008, 04:38 PM
Can't believe the amount of idiots here who fell for the headline.

He's saying that City should have a Champions mentality to succeed. He never said anything about City being losers, nor was he making a "shock attack".

Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
02-12-2008, 05:45 PM
Man City is really underperforming currently should get a better manager.

DBergkamp
02-12-2008, 05:46 PM
guess the media misquote him. i guess its the same as gallas case.

Thinker
02-12-2008, 06:18 PM

exactly, UK tabloids are famous for this

cybertech
02-12-2008, 07:20 PM
But he keep telling ManCity to buy this player and that player, and another post telling
ManCity to keep Elano and Jo ... must as well he become the player manager then.

http://www.4thegame.com/club/manchester-city-fc/news/227176/robinho_casts_city_doubt.html

Cumzilla
02-12-2008, 09:56 PM

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=598284&cc=4716

Hughes unmoved by Robinho's "small-time" comment

Robinho will escape disciplinary action by Manchester City after claiming the club has a small-time mentality.

Manager Mark Hughes believes the Brazilian's remarks in a television interview were taken out of context.

Robinho's comments follow an outburst by countryman Elano, who complained publicly about not getting enough game time at City.

Elano's actions resulted in a fine but Hughes has no plans to hit Robinho in the pocket.

Hughes said: ''I view this as a different matter because people have jumped on certain statements.

''They are trying to emphasise the negative part of it. I think it is a phrase from Robinho that has been taken out of context and it should be viewed as it was given at the time.

''Some of the comments were taken in isolation and sound a little bit damning. But when you see the full interview and the tone in which it was given, I don't think people should place much emphasis on it.

''When you see the interview, it is done with a smile of his face. It is done with tongue in cheek as well.

''What he's talking about is that a winning mentality has to be learned and you have to understand what it takes to win games, week in, week out. All clubs aspire to that and we are no different in that respect.''

Robinho feels it is the mentality of City's players, rather than the personnel themselves, that needs to change if the Blues are to become a top-flight force.

''City have good players but the mentality of a small side,'' he told Setanta Sports' Football Matters programme. ''They are content with just finishing fifth or sixth. They are content with little, thinking just a draw might be good enough. They lack the mentality of champions.

''I have learnt that being second is worthless so I want to inspire a winning mentality.''

Robinho also urged Hughes to think big in the transfer market and bid for his Brazlian compatriots Ronaldo and AC Milan star Kaka.

The 24-year-old who joined City on transfer deadline day for a British record £32.5million fee, said: ''Who would I sign? If I could choose it would be Kaka and Ronaldo.''

''We have good players but if the club wants to be big, we have to sign more,'' Robinho told Setanta Sports' Football Matters programme.

can see the extent of how this particular tabloid can do to boost up their sales, not ethical in my opinion, possibly they will get sued until they lose their pants one day...

CanIsayNo
02-12-2008, 10:06 PM
i wouldn't consider what robinho said as "slamming" the team.. oh well, tabloids at their best

BamBam
02-12-2008, 10:06 PM
What he says is true, if you want to be a champion you have to be tough mentally. Man U did that several times, city have the money now.
They need a better manager, better players with commitment and better stamina. If you watch their match, after half time, only shaun wright philip and robino is really running, the defence is not tracking fast enough got caught easily.

wmania2
05-12-2008, 12:02 AM
What attack? I thought he is trying to motivate his team-mates to match up to the new status of their club.

dnsfpl
05-12-2008, 12:06 PM
$$$ must be funny

Deunamist
05-12-2008, 03:12 PM
he regret liao :s13:

firehippo
05-12-2008, 03:34 PM
lol gg!!!!!!!!!!