PDA

View Full Version : The StarHub Petition

boucyfirebal
03-12-2008, 12:02 AM
We are a group of starhub customer that has been discontented with the service given!!

1. We do not mind paying money to you, but please uphold the speed your selling us. If we sign up for 8mbs we dont mind if speed hover around 6 mbs! As long as it is not too far off we are ok

2. Please upgrade your infrastructure. We know the reason given so please do something about it

3. Please do not throttle our speed. It is bad enough during peak hour already.

4. Improve your CSO no doubt there is good one! but we need more and if we call for help do not blame our hardware!

we hope improvement will be seen. We are still loyal starhub customer so do not force us to defect!

Please state your username , your plan and location
the reason why no full name is given is in case anything happen! if we got enough people for petition i will pm you guys for name etc

and oh whatever written is my opinion please do not take this as a fact

1.boucyfirebal Starhub MOL express sembawang

liangtam
03-12-2008, 12:12 AM
Since when habe petitions work in sillypore?

_m0r0n_
03-12-2008, 12:19 AM
it's useless...maybe try follow the thailand's footstep...it might helps

DOMHO7
03-12-2008, 12:20 AM
Since when habe petitions work in sillypore?

I cant but AGREE on this. :s8:

phuque99
03-12-2008, 06:50 AM
mabbe lobby with your MP bah. Making it a law works better than petition "noise" that will move on.

boucyfirebal
03-12-2008, 08:15 AM
that why the mass defect;) i mean most of us considerin changing also

its not NATO;)
but have to agree with u guys those
beside no harm trying it is just a few post

leinad
03-12-2008, 08:26 AM
Let your wallet decide if your online petitions won't. ;) Which was why I dumped Starhub years ago. Glad to see it's not really changed anything.

In any case, the irony would be that if there's a mass defect, then the available shared bandwidth goes around to less people, so they will start advertising "Oh, starhub has improved their network." :s13:

You can easily see the joke when people start hopping back onto the Starhub network.

/Dan

windwaver
03-12-2008, 08:38 AM
Actually what pisses me off is the weekly disconnection to US and Europe side :s16:

jezzmatezz
03-12-2008, 08:47 AM
it's useless...maybe try follow the thailand's footstep...it might helps

lol, dude. thats funny

chase79
03-12-2008, 08:50 AM
it will not help one lah

Emo My Ass
03-12-2008, 08:54 AM
nothing ever works in SG.

Just jump to Stinktel

MarineX
03-12-2008, 08:54 AM
Petition is useless but still...

i'm kinda pleased with what i have with starhub except the ongoing promotion is junk

Assimilator
03-12-2008, 02:30 PM
Maybe u can organise an "outing" at Hong Lim park, then take photo, submit to Stomp. ;)

IceShelterX
03-12-2008, 02:48 PM
well which one you want? slowhub or sinktel... both the sameone... they just pledge to leech your money and provide whatever best services they can offer...
and their best services? you already tasted it. :D

liangtam
03-12-2008, 02:53 PM
When the pipes gets less used, so will the supply.

kenloonglow
03-12-2008, 05:23 PM
+1 Support! Can go CASE to complaint them cheating us? :D

phuque99
03-12-2008, 05:40 PM
All these kpkb actually boils down to 1 thing, what Starhub is serving to you is printed in black and white contract that you signed when you applied for the service. This is obvious case of disconnect between personal expectation and what exactly you signed up for, black and white. CASE or lawyers can't help here since Starhub is just follow law :D

Options that you have and will likely produce real results are:

1. Start own business, build your own ISP with speeds that meets your expectations
2. Buy your own tier1 pipes to your home with your dream SLA
3. Lobby with your MP to ammend IDA regulation to meet your wishes
4. Run as MP to do it yourself
5. Join Starhub and get promoted to Product Director to implement a product that meets your SLA

seraph_strife
03-12-2008, 09:43 PM
i am glad that someone actually notice that Starhub is severely shortchanging us in terms of bandwidth.

Advertised 8Mbps bandwidth and what are we getting?
- download any file on the net, and ur dl speed hovers between 15-20K
- Streaming youtube or any streaming site for tt matter is ridiculously SLOW.

The difference is more astounding if u compare the kind of bandwidth from ur workplace.
My office has a 1.5Mbps plan from singnet but it absolutely rocks. Try the above and u will realise the difference.

Starhub 8Mbps MIGHT be reached with the following:
1) Starhub partner sites and certain sites. etc Microsoft Updates are fast.
2) Use a download manager that spawn multiple connections. With this u can get decent d/l speed. But most sites restrict one connection per ip.
3) Use it during non-peak hrs. (do u have a choice on tt?)

At $58 per month, Starhub is giving u like 0.2M instead of the 8M advertised. Its time all of you realise how much are you being shortchanged.

I am dumping this crap when my contract ends in a few mths time.

SecretAgent
03-12-2008, 09:46 PM
no contract for suckhub already ends years back...

What are the good ways to spend $58 per month?

I am thinking of broadband mobile with a usb stick for a change...

Tw
03-12-2008, 10:42 PM
Can anyone try to access their hotmail now?
Feedback from starhub and singnet users?
I've been trying to load my hotmail for more than 15 minutes liao.. still trying to load...WTF
I am using Lagfug (starhub)

phuque99
03-12-2008, 10:47 PM
Hotmail seems to work fine. Try calling 1633 to check for possible user problem?

MarineX
03-12-2008, 11:16 PM
Hotmail seems to work fine. Try calling 1633 to check for possible user problem?

yup, i seriously thinks is more of a user problem then starhub issue. my starhub works wonderfully well... and i wonder why.

tyroe1
04-12-2008, 12:51 AM
But what about an alternate view:

Petition to starhub and the authority e.g. IDA to step up enforcement against copyright infringement, which more often that not, takes up precious bandwidth.

This will free up bandwidth for legal users of the internet and P2P so that they can enjoy the speed that they had paid for.

albertchng
04-12-2008, 08:52 AM

In any case, the irony would be that if there's a mass defect, then the available shared bandwidth goes around to less people, so they will start advertising "Oh, starhub has improved their network." :s13:

You can easily see the joke when people start hopping back onto the Starhub network.

/Dan

LOL... joke of this decade. :s13::s13:

boucyfirebal
04-12-2008, 08:57 AM
personally i dun believe in punishing other ppl for using what the paid!
although i tent to hate sch holidays;p

my point of the petiton is to inform them then plan a mass defect
u see ah if there is 50 people 50x50 bucks is 2.5k a month at least
not withstanding the long term bad pr effect

they bound to listen

albertchng
04-12-2008, 08:59 AM
personally i dun believe in punishing other ppl for using what the paid!
although i tent to hate sch holidays;p

my point of the petiton is to inform them then plan a mass defect
u see ah if there is 50 people 50x50 bucks is 2.5k a month at least
not withstanding the long term bad pr effect

they bound to listen

50 is seriously NOT a mass defect. Try to picture a mass defect of 50,000 customers, if you cannot do it, i suggest you shelve your idea. :o

lobo76
04-12-2008, 09:23 AM
The difference is more astounding if u compare the kind of bandwidth from ur workplace.
My office has a 1.5Mbps plan from singnet but it absolutely rocks. Try the above and u will realise the difference.

you are comparing apples with oranges. office network is usually corporate plan, which comes with a SLA. Personal plans at home do not.

just checking, sometime i hit 1.4mpbs with my 8MB plan. How far off am i?
p.s using FDM of course.

kenloonglow
04-12-2008, 09:25 AM
At least, they must change the "UP TO" to "FROM". like ping to xxx site, minimum u get xxx speed, instead of upto xxx speed. So they no more excuse to said the other server problem etc etc. Ask them to give us a list of website for us to test our connection speed, since they always said speedtest is not accurate blah blah blah :x

kennyboy
04-12-2008, 09:34 AM
this thread is pointless. :(

ohmygod1986
04-12-2008, 09:43 AM
Speakers Corner for u ...

Anything is pointless :s13::s13::s13:

albertchng
04-12-2008, 09:53 AM
this thread is pointless. :(

Not pointless, this thread is use for Talk Cock Sing Song.

jogkers
04-12-2008, 09:55 AM
We are a group of starhub customer that has been discontented with the service given!!

1. We do not mind paying money to you, but please uphold the speed your selling us. If we sign up for 8mbs we dont mind if speed hover around 6 mbs! As long as it is not too far off we are ok

2. Please upgrade your infrastructure. We know the reason given so please do something about it

3. Please do not throttle our speed. It is bad enough during peak hour already.

4. Improve your CSO no doubt there is good one! but we need more and if we call for help do not blame our hardware!

we hope improvement will be seen. We are still loyal starhub customer so do not force us to defect!

Please state your username , your plan and location
the reason why no full name is given is in case anything happen! if we got enough people for petition i will pm you guys for name etc

and oh whatever written is my opinion please do not take this as a fact

1.boucyfirebal Starhub MOL express sembawang

I want to jump ship to Singtel, but I can't break the contract because I need to pay $1400++ when break it. LPPL... :(

ohmygod1986
04-12-2008, 10:06 AM
I want to jump ship to Singtel, but I can't break the contract because I need to pay $1400++ when break it. LPPL... :(

Which plan u on ...

Looks super expensive :look:

vaporixm
04-12-2008, 10:07 AM
I have terminated my Starhub connection after almost 15 years with them (since Cyberway days).
No love lost.
Now with M1 Fixed Broadband. Happy with it.

liangtam
04-12-2008, 01:32 PM
don't think cyberway started off that early

albertchng
04-12-2008, 01:43 PM
liangtam di di, if my memory not failing me, cyberway started back in 1993, to-date 15 years liao. Those days only got 33.6k dial up.

Questin
04-12-2008, 11:06 PM
Problem is all of Singapore's ISPs are pretty much CMI....please look at what western countries have for broadband.

Then you compare with what we have....its very sad, it makes you think we live in some ****ty 3rd world country.

Voting with your wallet is useless in this case.

Only way starhub will listen to a petition is if we walk in there in full body armor and AK rifles.

liangtam
04-12-2008, 11:17 PM
Problem is all of Singapore's ISPs are pretty much CMI....please look at what western countries have for broadband.
Please look at what western countries have for broadband - one that screws the customers also.
If Starhub is 3rd in the world(referring to the other thread), pls see whose on the 2nd and 1st spot. Pwned.
CMI is sometime a perception instead of fact.

Then you compare with what we have....its very sad, it makes you think we live in some ****ty 3rd world country.
and i thot most ppl know that world crass ish self-proclaimed.

Voting with your wallet is useless in this case.
Hmm, open ur company pls. Please offer 100Mbps for $1, 99% uptime, 90% able hit the speed, I come subscribe :D

kenloonglow
05-12-2008, 04:28 PM
MAybe u can ask IDA to investigate again :D

http://www.ida.gov.sg/News%20and%20Events/20061123150738.aspx?getPagetype=20

jaloon
05-12-2008, 05:05 PM
Please look at what western countries have for broadband - one that screws the customers also.
If Starhub is 3rd in the world(referring to the other thread), pls see whose on the 2nd and 1st spot. Pwned.
CMI is sometime a perception instead of fact.

But if his western countries is referring to european countries like Norway, he is not entirely wrong.:o But I would also like a more usable speed during peak hours and a better latency to overseas.

n95crazy
05-12-2008, 05:10 PM
why is it you all keep talking like singnet gives you 100mbps if you sign up for their ultimate package?
please don't be blind... jump from starhub end up with singnet also they won't give you 100mbps

infact i jumped from singnet to starhub and i've never looked back...
i know alot of people are discounting my words becos i worked for starhub before, but these people don't realise that i had a job offer from singtel prior to working for starhub and i made the choice to work for starhub based on the positive service received as compared to what i got from singtel... i never supported starhub becos i worked for them... instead i worked for starhub becos i support them

n95crazy
05-12-2008, 05:11 PM
I have terminated my Starhub connection after almost 15 years with them (since Cyberway days).
No love lost.
Now with M1 Fixed Broadband. Happy with it.

up along the pipe from m1 fixed broadband you'll find starhub's backbone...
thus it can be concluded that what you have is nothing more than a misconception of good service.

liangtam
05-12-2008, 05:12 PM
But if his western countries is referring to european countries like Norway, he is not entirely wrong.:o But I would also like a more usable speed during peak hours and a better latency to overseas.

I thot chiu ish welly happy wib chiur mol :s11:

vaporixm
06-12-2008, 08:18 AM
up along the pipe from m1 fixed broadband you'll find starhub's backbone...
thus it can be concluded that what you have is nothing more than a misconception of good service.

I do agree with you that m1 FBB is riding on starhub's backbone, but I dont agree with you that good service from M1 is a misconception.
Just try calling Starhub helpline vs M1 helpline,& see which one you can get thru to the CSO first and you know what I mean.
Just becos people's opinion with you differ doesnt mean that they have a misconception, the one with misconception could be you, fanboy :s22:

liangtam
06-12-2008, 11:23 AM
err, hes not a fanboy, rather, he ish a (ex) starfug staff wor
then again, customer service and intended service is diff aspects

AHcoolie
06-12-2008, 12:25 PM
dun waste ur time.....

keiiii
06-12-2008, 01:58 PM
Petition doesnt work. Easy is to cancel Starhub and jump ships.

darkmatt
06-12-2008, 02:47 PM
i used since 2003 and only disconnected twice.. speed all consistant...

boucyfirebal
07-12-2008, 01:27 AM
my router dc everynow n then
especially peak hr

but climb hill gaming etc= no lag
only net surfing at peak is SLOW

n oh petition is to inform. then jump ship all at once
beside 1 post nia just try loh
sia kang i do what

Jamesykl
07-12-2008, 06:10 AM
Petition only works effectively in countries like USA. Opinion polls of the public can determine the popularity of a product greatly. Therefore, private firms have to better their quality to increase their sales. Competition is fierce and their service quality is benchmarked against the best. The ISPs in USA are private companies, therefore, they have no backing from the gahment if they screw up their services. Any poor opinion poll can mean poor subscription rate and eventually result in the liquidation of the company. Therefore, they will respond to any petition for fear that bad reputation might cause its demise.

liangtam
07-12-2008, 03:24 PM
Not exactly, in USA, comcast is a well known for throttling in the US, much worse than our green here.
Still, many customers stays on it what. Like empty vessels.