PDA

View Full Version : Wireless-N router and adapter

ethanhua
03-12-2008, 03:00 PM
Hi, everyone.

what do you think about wireless N router and adapter?

Do you prefer to using wireless N or wireless G?

If the price can drop down but still higher than wireless G a little bit, will you use wireless N replace wireless G?

I saw wireless N at sitex show. It is attractive. Is the signal stable?

Francis85
03-12-2008, 03:04 PM
Hi, everyone.

what do you think about wireless N router and adapter?

Do you prefer to using wireless N or wireless G?

If the price can drop down but still higher than wireless G a little bit, will you use wireless N replace wireless G?

I saw wireless N at sitex show. It is attractive. Is the signal stable?

Yes.... stable...... 4 bars full outside my flat also........... the other time try 2 floors down my flat also can 3-4 bars.........

liangtam
03-12-2008, 03:05 PM
Already got similar thread wor. Got marnee just buy lor.

ry0suk1
03-12-2008, 03:24 PM
dir - 655

ethanhua
17-12-2008, 03:45 PM
Do you think which brand will be better on price and quality? On Sitex show, PROLiNK is best price. It is much cheaper than D-Link. It provides Life time warranty.

But I still didn't buy it at that time. Because my prolink wireless G router still can work well.

I am considering to buy wireless N.

Give me some advice pls.

kennyg1969
17-12-2008, 04:27 PM
Do you think which brand will be better on price and quality? On Sitex show, PROLiNK is best price. It is much cheaper than D-Link. It provides Life time warranty.

But I still didn't buy it at that time. Because my prolink wireless G router still can work well.

I am considering to buy wireless N.

Give me some advice pls.

If your G can work well, why change to N? Unless you are getting lousy signal from your G router..

If it is not broken, why change... :P

phuque99
17-12-2008, 04:30 PM
Reviews: http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/content/view/86/106/

surefire888
17-12-2008, 04:36 PM
Like kennyg mentioned, why change if your G router is working fine? If you are getting a stable, strong signal and you are not being limited by the speed of the G network (54Mbs is pretty fast and sufficient for most purposes) there's no advantage to changing. If you are subscribing to say, a 3Mbs plan then moving to N will not increase your Internet speed. It's different if you plan to subscribe to Starhub's 100Mbs plan but few can afford that!

kennyg1969
17-12-2008, 04:43 PM
Like kennyg mentioned, why change if your G router is working fine? If you are getting a stable, strong signal and you are not being limited by the speed of the G network (54Mbs is pretty fast and sufficient for most purposes) there's no advantage to changing. If you are subscribing to say, a 3Mbs plan then moving to N will not increase your Internet speed. It's different if you plan to subscribe to Starhub's 100Mbs plan but few can afford that!

Unless unless unless TS tio 13th month AWS ..:)

phuque99
17-12-2008, 04:45 PM
Maybe there's shiok factor in spending money or just seeing large Mbps number and transfer speed? Important thing is spending money must be happy in life.

liangtam
17-12-2008, 05:49 PM
So why does one changes phone frequently when it has not spoil yet?

surefire888
17-12-2008, 09:35 PM
So why does one changes phone frequently when it has not spoil yet?

alamak! u cannot compare with HP mah! HP is a fashion statement u carry around and let people see in the mrt, in the toilet, on the street. u carry modem around and people will laff....lol! the only people who will c yr modem in yr house are geeks...unless u want to impress them ha ha!

ivan_hwa
19-12-2008, 12:12 PM
Old go, new come.

SatelliteM200
19-12-2008, 03:54 PM
aiyah... why talking about chicken and egg issue here ?

blacknwhite
25-12-2008, 06:57 AM
hi peeps, im currently using a G router and im only able to receive 10-30% of signal strength when im upstairs. my router is place on the 1st level. Other than replacing it with a N router, is there any other ways to boost the signal strength? (my router has do be place on the 1st level, in the cpu room.)

any kind suggestions/tips will be greatly appreciated :)

tnk001
25-12-2008, 09:47 AM
A few things you can do...

1) Boost the transmit signal
2) Get high gain antenna
3) Get a repeater (quite useless according to my friend though)

hero_2009
02-01-2009, 10:42 AM
hi peeps, im currently using a G router and im only able to receive 10-30% of signal strength when im upstairs. my router is place on the 1st level. Other than replacing it with a N router, is there any other ways to boost the signal strength? (my router has do be place on the 1st level, in the cpu room.)

any kind suggestions/tips will be greatly appreciated :)

You can buy a Wireless MIMO Booster. it can solve your problem