View Full Version : Keane leaves Black Cats
vasilli07
04-12-2008, 08:31 PM
Sunderland have parted company with manager Roy Keane, skysports.com understands.
Keane had been locked in talks over a new deal, which he had refused to sign until he was fully happy with the terms.
Now the Irish legend is understood to have walked away from the job, following weeks of speculation about his position.
It is understood the players and staff were told about Keane's departure on Thursday morning.
Keane took charge in August 2006 and he made an immediate impact as he guided Sunderland to the Championship title the following May.
Last season the club consolidated their place in the top flight and Keane's task this term was to make an assault on the top half of the table.
With that in mind, Sunderland backed Keane by spending nearly £30million on new players with the likes of Djibril Cisse, Pascal Chimbonda, Anton Ferdinand, El-Hadji Diouf and George McCartney all coming in.
Coupled with the £30million-plus spent the previous summer, expectation levels were high on Wearside.
However, despite a morale-boosting Wear-Tyne victory over rivals Newcastle - their first since 1980 - Sunderland's form and place in the league has plummeted.
Just two wins in ten league games has put them in the bottom three, and speculation has been rife in the North East over the last month that Keane was ready to walk away from the club.
And now the former Manchester United captain has left his first managerial post, leaving Sunderland chairman Niall Quinn with the task of finding somebody to guide the club to Premier League safety.
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11661_4587582,00.html
I guess Roy Keane will go the way of Bryan Robson/Steve Bruce and manage those relegation threatened or average sides.
pa9797
04-12-2008, 08:42 PM
wow! timing. it would be nice for him to be SAF's assistant manager
Carova.
04-12-2008, 08:43 PM
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2187220
Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
05-12-2008, 07:36 AM
He underestimated premier league football and think he could easily have success here and in the end when he spend and yet don't get the success he want his pride is hurt and he start to lose faith in himself and the team he built.
cracker
05-12-2008, 07:41 AM
Good summary from BBC worldservice this morning on Keane's departure..
It said...Keane had joined the league of "Good player doesnt necessary means Good manager".....but no manager should openly declare if he is the suitable/correct person for the job. it has very negative impact on the club and players.
eddygames
05-12-2008, 08:48 AM
people tend to forget when he took over sunderland . they were struggling in the championship. he steered them from the Championship's relegation zone to promotion to the Premier League as champions and then helped retained their top-flight status in the premiership the following season.
well i guess he felt he brought sunderland as far as he could. all the best to him
eddygames
05-12-2008, 08:55 AM
He underestimated premier league football and think he could easily have success here and in the end when he spend and yet don't get the success he want his pride is hurt and he start to lose faith in himself and the team he built.
eh please lah. how successful can he lead the team to? mid table finish is probably what sunderland can aim for realistically.
they are not chelski ok?
Asakura
05-12-2008, 09:18 AM
he din take over sunderland when they were alr in the bpl if u rmb.. not defending him cuz he's a ex united player. but we got to be realistic, sunderland will always be a struggling club.
if u wanna talk abt success. he alr done so by bringing a struggling club up there in the premier league.
Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
05-12-2008, 06:36 PM
eh please lah. how successful can he lead the team to? mid table finish is probably what sunderland can aim for realistically.
they are not chelski ok?
he din take over sunderland when they were alr in the bpl if u rmb.. not defending him cuz he's a ex united player. but we got to be realistic, sunderland will always be a struggling club.
if u wanna talk abt success. he alr done so by bringing a struggling club up there in the premier league.
yes he tot first season min target is survival and second season is mid table and third season mid table again then fourth season UEFA Cup and fifth season try to break into champions league
That their 5 year plan but in the second season everything seems screw up and they are back in the relegation battle despite buying many players.
yes he did well bringing them up but he tot his 5 year plan would work but it doesn't seems so
eddygames
05-12-2008, 07:04 PM
well.. the club is going through a bad patch... just like many other clubs
it's my belief they wont get relegated if keane had stayed . after all most of the players played in the premiership for many years.
too bad he chose to walk away. like n.quinn said. keane has brought sunderland as far as he could go.
soldado
05-12-2008, 07:04 PM
yes he tot first season min target is survival and second season is mid table and third season mid table again then fourth season UEFA Cup and fifth season try to break into champions league
That their 5 year plan but in the second season everything seems screw up and they are back in the relegation battle despite buying many players.
yes he did well bringing them up but he tot his 5 year plan would work but it doesn't seems so
Same like Chelski. Think BPL is FM is it. Buy so many players. Think can easily become champion is it.
Wryer
05-12-2008, 07:36 PM
Wow. That's ambitious.
Where did you see that? Care to share? :)
It looks like Keane walked away, and was not sacked. To be honest, I don't think that is responsible behavior. Here in BPL, we see so many managers not given the money to spend, and when they are sacked for poor results, the new incoming managers gets 20m to spend instantly. That is stupid management.
But Keane's case is different. He was given money to spend, and he promised the club and the players he brought in a vision. He shouldn't have walked away given these circumstances. There was confidence in him and the players. I don't see many people asking for his head, and Quinn has consistently threw his weight behind him. But Keane didn't have the same confidence in himself. Granted, he already has done well by bringing Sunderland back from the dead, but he should have hung in there. Which club doesn't go through bad patch?
xavier4
05-12-2008, 08:15 PM
imo.. is sunderland bei kan.. has nth to do with roy keane..
i believe if he stayed he will pull them up..
like the papers said.. he's always kinda critical on himself.. hence he think leaving sunderland is better as he kinda blames himself for the 5 league defeats in a row imo...
Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
05-12-2008, 08:15 PM
Wow. That's ambitious.
Where did you see that? Care to share? :)
It looks like Keane walked away, and was not sacked. To be honest, I don't think that is responsible behavior. Here in BPL, we see so many managers not given the money to spend, and when they are sacked for poor results, the new incoming managers gets 20m to spend instantly. That is stupid management.
But Keane's case is different. He was given money to spend, and he promised the club and the players he brought in a vision. He shouldn't have walked away given these circumstances. There was confidence in him and the players. I don't see many people asking for his head, and Quinn has consistently threw his weight behind him. But Keane didn't have the same confidence in himself. Granted, he already has done well by bringing Sunderland back from the dead, but he should have hung in there. Which club doesn't go through bad patch?
It is a old news but i manage to find it anyway or else pple would accuse me of creating false story. Not Surprising that not many know about this as no 1 would really care about Sunderland anyway.
70 million on 33 players is alot
http://www.premierleague.com/page/Headlines/0,,12306~1363522,00.html
He said: "We had five steps planned when we took over as a board.
"Step one was going up, step two was staying up, step three, where we're at now, was establishing ourselves in the Premier League, step four was competing for Europe and step five was aiming for Champions League football.
"If we keep progressing, if we get to the point down the line where we are knocking on the door to the Champions League, I would have to go to the investors and ask them to commit to a 60,000-seater stadium, to make us the second biggest club in England. And if we get to step five, then I think we will be at the stage where we are pushing to
xavier4
05-12-2008, 08:17 PM
oh and i noticed.. alot of players under sir alex become manager seh..
steve bruce
bryan robson
mark hughes
roy keane
paul ince
oso his son darren ferguson..
and :eek:
this weekend gonna vs man utd then keane leave.. hmmm..
is there any link i wonder..
Wryer
05-12-2008, 08:23 PM
It is a old news but i manage to find it anyway or else pple would accuse me of creating false story. Not Surprising that not many know about this as no 1 would really care about Sunderland anyway.
70 million on 33 players is alot
http://www.premierleague.com/page/Headlines/0,,12306~1363522,00.html
He said: "We had five steps planned when we took over as a board.
"Step one was going up, step two was staying up, step three, where we're at now, was establishing ourselves in the Premier League, step four was competing for Europe and step five was aiming for Champions League football.
"If we keep progressing, if we get to the point down the line where we are knocking on the door to the Champions League, I would have to go to the investors and ask them to commit to a 60,000-seater stadium, to make us the second biggest club in England. And if we get to step five, then I think we will be at the stage where we are pushing to
70 million on 33 players? That's a LOT of players. But the money involved per player is only 2m++. He went probably went for quantity over quality, hoping that 11 will emerge as winners.
Anyway from your article, he said 5 steps. Not 5 seasons. 5 seasons will be overly ambitious. Also, I believe that was the board's target, not explicitly Keane's.
vasilli07
05-12-2008, 08:32 PM
imo.. is sunderland bei kan.. has nth to do with roy keane..
sunderland bei kan whose fault? Roy Keane bought the players to the club himself. Any director of football in sunderland? :s8:
As a player, he is great but by walking away when the club is in trouble now, he is a loser imo.
oh and i noticed.. alot of players under sir alex become manager seh..
steve bruce
bryan robson
mark hughes
roy keane
paul ince
oso his son darren ferguson..
and :eek:
this weekend gonna vs man utd then keane leave.. hmmm..
is there any link i wonder..
Another thing to note...most of them cmi. Only Steve Bruce and Mark Hughes are decent managers.
hanlsn
05-12-2008, 08:44 PM
Hughes can be considered good liao wor considering the work he has done for Blackburn...
Underated ... Hmmm Will Big Sam take over Sunderland i like his style in bolton
hanlsn
05-12-2008, 08:45 PM
Sunderland needed both depth and quality ... Keane when for Depth and some how missed the mark and quality either that or his lack of scouting network really killed his ambitions
vasilli07
05-12-2008, 08:55 PM
Quality?
In defence, they signed Chimbonda, A.Ferdinard and McCartney. Midfield, they have Stead Malbranque(I hate Ramos for selling him). Strikers, they have Cisse and Diouf.
ahgohgoh
05-12-2008, 11:10 PM
of course have to set high targets ... that's how you progress...
you don't go to a club... any club... and decide that the target will be to stay in the premier league every season...
i dont understand your thought that "he thought his 5 yr plan would work"... every manager go to a club with a plan but i am sure none of them will think it will work without solid hard work...
Doomsday
06-12-2008, 01:59 AM
Sunderland just had a change in upper management. Keano apparently can't work with his new bosses, and this probably unsettled his players which resulted in a string of bad results. Hence, he left. Reminds me of Newcastle...little wonder they have such fierce rivalry..even managerial news is similar...:D
ahgohgoh
06-12-2008, 07:32 AM
Sunderland had a decent start to the season but last 2-3 games had some terrible results...
i mean it's not the first time that sunderland loses 2-3 games in a row but this time keane probably know that his players are, for some reason, unsettled... making individual errors.. keane wasn't a player who would pull out from a 50-50 tackle so i don't think he quitted for himself... i think he quitted for the good of the club..
it was happened very quick... suddenly you had his "ghost writer" writing about him being unsettled... then the next moment he really quitted..
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.