View Full Version : Internet Camera DCS-2121 setup help needed~
ashkrevron
05-12-2008, 02:12 PM
Jus bought a Dlink internet camera DCS-2121, but havign problems settign it up~
On my own home router network all my coms can watch the live feed from the camera, my issue is how watch it from outside of my hse's network as in from my office?
read that need to setup a subdomain, so i got one at dyndns then read that need to forward port get static ip~
did everything (i hope correctly) but i still have no idea how to watch the camera feed at home from office or anywhere else~
My Internet camera: Dlink DCS-2121
My router: Linksys WRT54G
At my wits end actually, kindly hope that if anyone can help me~
bought the camera so that i could still see my newborn son even while i'm at work~
Thanks in advance~
krazyman
05-12-2008, 08:44 PM
Which ISP? SH blocks port 80.
ashkrevron
06-12-2008, 11:33 AM
i'm on starhub~
it blocks port 80???
alexdeasa
06-12-2008, 11:42 AM
Try to use Port 8080.
I just got it work last night, I worked 3 long nights to make it working. Now even on mobile phone work liao, so even having my lunch I can watch my son.
Wish u good luck for it.
mikengtw
06-12-2008, 07:09 PM
Try to use Port 8080.
I just got it work last night, I worked 3 long nights to make it working. Now even on mobile phone work liao, so even having my lunch I can watch my son.
Wish u good luck for it.
Hi ..
So how much did you pay for that IP camera ?
Thank you.
ashkrevron
07-12-2008, 01:50 AM
Hi ..
Thank you.
bought $289 at challenger...heard sitex was selling even cheaper..
but i missed..so...oh well~
so do i need to make a static ip?
so wat address do i type?
i got so many ip addresses until i blur already -_-
my cam config as of now:
Camera Name Kivan
Time & Date Sun Dec 7 02:19:26 2008
Firmware Version 1.00, 1804
MAC Address 00:1E:58:B4:EE:93
IP Address 192.168.1.101
IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway 192.168.1.1
Primary DNS 202.156.1.48
Secondary DNS 202.156.1.68
PPPoE Disabled
DDNS OK
primera_p12
07-12-2008, 01:48 PM
1) Change the ipcam's ip address from query from DHCP to static eg. 192.168.1.10
2) You need to change the ipcam http port from the default 80 to eg. 1000
3) Insert the ipcam's ip address and port info into the router's port forwarding page as below
http://img67.imageshack.us/img67/1176/pfwj6.jpg
4) Insert your DDNS info into the router's DDNS page if you apply from DYNDNS or your IPCAM
if you apply from DLINKDDNS.
ashkrevron
07-12-2008, 06:25 PM
FINALLY ITS WORKING~!!!
Thks everyone and especially Primera~!!!
finally knew wat i did wrong~!!
i didnt key in cam ip in the forwarding part of the router setting~!!!
i key in the static ip address~!!!
mcferrari
08-12-2008, 03:43 PM
Can anybody help me too. I can't access the camera remotely. But im using Prolink PIC 1002.
This is my Cameras IP address: 192.168.1.144
Do I need to change it to static IP
How do I change to static IP?
Thanks.
mcferrari
08-12-2008, 09:50 PM
Please help, any users of Prolink PIC 1002?:s11:
alexdeasa
11-12-2008, 11:46 AM
Hi ..
Thank you.
I bought 2 set.
1. DCS-5220 $369 fr Fuwell Working both mobile & internet explorer mode :s13:
2> DCS-2120 $150 fr A member here both not working at the moment, can't think of a way
two ip camera to working on that damn SSNB 2wire router :s11:
alexdeasa
11-12-2008, 11:51 AM
Please help, any users of Prolink PIC 1002?:s11:
What router are u using?
krazyman
11-12-2008, 01:37 PM
I bought 2 set.
1. DCS-5220 $369 fr Fuwell Working both mobile & internet explorer mode :s13:
2> DCS-2120 $150 fr A member here both not working at the moment, can't think of a way
two ip camera to working on that damn SSNB 2wire router :s11:
For multiple IPcams setup, ensure each IPcam uses an unique HTTP (default is 80) and RTSP (default is 554) port. Then forward the ports accordingly in the router. Register a dyndns host and use it together with your http port to access the IPcam.
achui
12-12-2008, 02:40 AM
Yeah..bought this camera at SITEX for 239... Nothing much to complain, it's a good camera, the motion detection and recording is good...running for about 10 days straight on wireless, recorded about 10 GB video onto a samba drive. A note though, it's pretty bad at low light (evening), I find that the 950G is much more sensitive for low light...but the 950G sux big time, can't record and the motion detection sux.
Wireless_PS
09-01-2009, 08:52 AM
I also purchased a DCS 2121 camera. I tried all the steps but still can't access from my office. Can the author provide more details on the steps at (4). Thank you so much.
1) Change the ipcam's ip address from query from DHCP to static eg. 192.168.1.10
2) You need to change the ipcam http port from the default 80 to eg. 1000
3) Insert the ipcam's ip address and port info into the router's port forwarding page as below
http://img67.imageshack.us/img67/1176/pfwj6.jpg
4) Insert your DDNS info into the router's DDNS page if you apply from DYNDNS or your IPCAM
if you apply from DLINKDDNS.
richneo
09-01-2009, 08:54 AM
have to make sure ur office firewall does not block uncommon ports too
danlim
21-02-2009, 03:49 PM
I have a Dlink CS 5300G and DCS 900W. Not is use for sometime. recently took out to sertup but give up trying after many hours. Any kind soul living nearby bt batok? I can fetch u from your place to help me to setup? pm me your contact
IndraS
02-03-2009, 08:01 AM
I have a Dlink CS 5300G and DCS 900W. Not is use for sometime. recently took out to sertup but give up trying after many hours. Any kind soul living nearby bt batok? I can fetch u from your place to help me to setup? pm me your contact
Why don't you try to do it yourself?
It is fun and build your knowledge.
Just describe what you have done so far and perhaps somebody can help you.
I have successfully setup my DCS-2121 in one go because I read posting from primera_p12
sam9959
16-03-2009, 09:09 AM
Hi everyone can help to setup to iphone.jut brought DCS-2121 my router WRT54.
already setup wireless .
cherry_angel
16-03-2009, 02:08 PM
Hello,
Can anyone please help me with my DCS2121.
I bought it last saturday and spent 2 nights trying to figure out how it works remotely.
I followed exactly what Primera_p12 wrote but I still can't see it outside my home:
Camera : DCS2121
Router: Linksys WRT54
Interent: Starhub (the free internet using the Hubstation)
IP for IP Camera : 192.168.1.100
Below are he settings I played with:
SETTING 1
IPCAM - DDNS ON, PORT 8080
ROUTER - DDNS ON, PORT FORWARD 8080
- CANNOT access "myhostname.dlinkddns.com"
- CAN access if I type "http://192.168.1.100:8080"
SETTING 2
IPCAM - DDNS ON, PORT 80
ROUTER - DDNS ON, PORT FORWARD 80
- CAN access "myhostname.dlinkddns.com" (BUT at home only, but NOT outside)
- CAN access if I type "http://192.168.1.100:80"
SETTING 3
IPCAM - DDNS OFF, PORT 80
ROUTER - DDNS ON, PORT FORWARD 80
- CAN access "myhostname.dlinkddns.com" (BUT at home only, but NOT outside)
- CAN access if I type "http://192.168.1.100:8080"
One more thing, I am monitoring my DDNS and found out that the IP address appearing there is my IP CAM's STATIC IP, which is 192.168.1.100, and NOT my current ROUTER's IP(the one that varies). BUT if I turn off the IPCAM's DDNS updater and leave only the ROUTER's DDNS updater, my DDNS server get's the correct current IP address.
Really need your help here please.
Hi everyone can help to setup to iphone.jut brought DCS-2121 my router WRT54.
already setup wireless .
To what i know, only firmware 1.03 support iphone. Which is not out yet. The brochure did indicated this statement.
Gl
krazyman
16-03-2009, 05:21 PM
Setting 2 using port 80 will not work with starhub as they block port 80.
Setting 1 should work but you have to specify the port like http://myhostname.dlinkddns.com:8080. Take note that some corporate network block uncommon port for http traffic.
sam9959
16-03-2009, 05:56 PM
Thank alot will try tonight....................cos don't let the maid see it
HiddenBlackie
19-03-2009, 10:03 AM
I have two Dlink IPcams at home too which I have no idea how to:
1) link both cams together to view on a single browser
2) One cam I managed to connect it on a wireless mode, the other is still hanging onto the ethernet wire, can't connect thru wireless, both are exact same cams.
3) access it remotely outside of the house.
I am using Singnet BB and not Starhub.
Anyone can help? :look:
dinosaur
16-05-2009, 08:41 PM
Hi all,
Can anyone advise how do I setup DynDNS service for my new DCS-2121 cam with my router D-link DI-524?
Thanks!
geckoSG
17-05-2009, 11:28 PM
[quote=HiddenBlackie;36502610]I have two Dlink IPcams at home too which I have no idea how to:
U may need to write to write a browser for tat, google on the net, there's
resources.
runes
18-05-2009, 11:53 AM
How do you guys hide away your camera from your maid? I believe the Dlink 2120 can store the video files with DNS313 also right?
jo_d_man
19-05-2009, 04:03 PM
[quote=HiddenBlackie;36502610]I have two Dlink IPcams at home too which I have no idea how to:
You can install IP surveillance program from the bundled CD which allows you to view up to 16 cams on one screen.
jo_d_man
19-05-2009, 04:07 PM
Hi all,
Can anyone advise how do I setup DynDNS service for my new DCS-2121 cam with my router D-link DI-524?
Thanks!
Create a free account with Dyndns http://www.dyndns.com. Next create your own hostname e.g yourname.dyndns.org
Create an agent either on the camera, router, or PC to update your WAN ip whenever there is changes to your WAN ip.
Anarchy
21-05-2009, 11:13 PM
anyone setup this successfully on a 2Wire singnet modem?
jo_d_man
22-05-2009, 10:27 AM
anyone setup this successfully on a 2Wire singnet modem?
Always use wired connection to configure your camera before you can use wireless.
Anarchy
22-05-2009, 03:30 PM
i know. What I mean is the http part....
dinosaur
22-05-2009, 10:59 PM
Anyone can advise me how to record video from DCS-2121 to my PCI NAS-01G? Can't seems to do it. It keep saying "mntfailure" when I test it..
primera_p12
23-05-2009, 12:09 AM
i know. What I mean is the http part....
For Singnet, you can use the default ports ie. 80, 554.
Forward them in the Firewall sub-menu.
Use the camera DDNS sub-menu to do the DYNDNS hostname updates.
jo_d_man
25-05-2009, 02:33 AM
Singnet 2Wire may not allow to use port 80, use 8080 instead. Goto Home Network Summary in your 2Wire Config page and make sure your camera is on the client LAN list. Configure your firewall from there.
liangtam
25-05-2009, 09:22 AM
Singnet 2Wire may not allow to use port 80, use 8080 instead. Goto Home Network Summary in your 2Wire Config page and make sure your camera is on the client LAN list. Configure your firewall from there.
Allow, why not allow :s11:
primera_p12
25-05-2009, 11:28 AM
I've done it for quite a few 2wire routers liao. It is StarHub that doesn't allow port 80 forwarding.
sbu7360
25-05-2009, 12:26 PM
Create a free account with Dyndns http://www.dyndns.com. Next create your own hostname e.g yourname.dyndns.org
Create an agent either on the camera, router, or PC to update your WAN ip whenever there is changes to your WAN ip.
I've registered a dyndns hostname but my settings on the camera shows failure.. how do i correct it?
http://img36.imageshack.us/img36/6070/40162512.jpg (http://img36.imageshack.us/my.php?image=40162512.jpg)
liangtam
25-05-2009, 12:52 PM
dont use dyndns, afterawhile u will receive email about constant updates.
Anarchy
25-05-2009, 04:32 PM
hmm it seems that i cant use static ip address if im on 2wire else i cant see the setting
so am i right to say we need to add TCP and UDP for port 80 and 554 so total 4 entry?
primera_p12
25-05-2009, 07:32 PM
Ya, the 2wire routers are damn funny, some model I can use static LAN ip, other can only use assigned DHCP LAN ip.
DHCP assigment will work, the 2wire will remember to assign the same DHCP LAN ip back to the same IPCAM.
Yes, 4 entry, you can port forward both TCP and UDP.
primera_p12
25-05-2009, 07:41 PM
I've registered a dyndns hostname but my settings on the camera shows failure.. how do i correct it?
Eh?, your Dyndns account name is admin ah?
For simple and single ddns hostname creation. Use the Dyndns specially tailored for D-link devices website.
www.dlinkddns.com (http://www.dlinkddns.com)
Anarchy
26-05-2009, 08:50 AM
yah lor 2wire is a bad router haha
liangtam
26-05-2009, 09:11 AM
Ya, the 2wire routers are damn funny, some model I can use static LAN ip, other can only use assigned DHCP LAN ip.
DHCP assigment will work, the 2wire will remember to assign the same DHCP LAN ip back to the same IPCAM.
Yes, 4 entry, you can port forward both TCP and UDP.
Thats static DHCP.
The MACID of the device is binded to a specific internal IP, hence its better you not use static IP. Because the assigned IP is always the same, the port forward will not stray
wildcheetha
13-06-2009, 05:03 PM
Guys i need help to set up my dlink dcs 2121 with 2wire.
Its works in the house, I have 2 pc on both it works but from my office i cant see.
I just got 2 days ago.. want to see what my little girl is up to from the office.
I also need help to set it up with my nokia n81 8gb phone.:(
thnx a ton
my cam config as of now:
Camera Name shaandy
IP Address 192.168.1.70
Default Gateway 192.168.1.254
Primary DNS 192.168.1.254
Secondary DNS 0.0.0.
PPPoE enabled
DDNS OK
tinsel77
14-06-2009, 05:39 PM
hi there,
does 2WIRE/singnet use dynamic ip?
i typed the Internet address of my modem/router as the url on a browser and i can view from outside my home network. Anything that I missed out?
thanks
wildcheetha
15-06-2009, 11:55 AM
hi wanted to find out if u can see ur cam from out side your house...
Hi experts,
What else do i need to see the video streaming on my mobile phone & remote loggin in from another friend's PC?
"rtsp://myhostname.com/3gpp" is for streaming to my N95.
"rtsp://myhostname.com/play1.sdp" is for streaming to my N95.
Are the rtsp wrong? Almost become botak from so much hair-pulling... :(
Real player prompt me a general error has occurred.
My settings below... Thanks...
Just the last step before reaching my objective... :o
http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y204/EricSee/Linksys.jpg
http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y204/EricSee/DLink-NetwrokSetup.jpg
http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y204/EricSee/DLink-Status.jpg
VodkaDevil
15-06-2009, 10:05 PM
recently just helped my fren to installed one, ehhh bro r u using starhub sim card? if yes i think you need to check with starhub to change your APN to a specific APN, can remember what is tat something like VPNSH or SHVPN, so you phone then can recieve rtp traffic from ip cam. if you are M1 or singtel should not be an big issue. One more think nt all the phone able to stream rtsp traffic, some phone with diff firmware one can stream, one cannot stream...kena before heheheheh, but make sure after you configure the camera and able to view remotely try to use Real player from remote site to stream your camera using rtsp://xxxxxxxxxxxx/live.sdp or other extension depend on which profile you are stream from 2121..... if its able to stream on realplayer on remote PC, answer is clear,,,your cell phone problem and the starhub sim card not yet configure to what i mention above
hope this will help.....
liangtam
16-06-2009, 12:01 AM
how can liddat
http://i42.tinypic.com/t7fuyo.jpg
:s22:
recently just helped my fren to installed one, ehhh bro r u using starhub sim card? if yes i think you need to check with starhub to change your APN to a specific APN, can remember what is tat something like VPNSH or SHVPN, so you phone then can recieve rtp traffic from ip cam. if you are M1 or singtel should not be an big issue. One more think nt all the phone able to stream rtsp traffic, some phone with diff firmware one can stream, one cannot stream...kena before heheheheh, but make sure after you configure the camera and able to view remotely try to use Real player from remote site to stream your camera using rtsp://xxxxxxxxxxxx/live.sdp or other extension depend on which profile you are stream from 2121..... if its able to stream on realplayer on remote PC, answer is clear,,,your cell phone problem and the starhub sim card not yet configure to what i mention above
hope this will help.....
Yes, i am using starhub sim card... where to check the VPNSH or SHVPN thingy? Thanks...
Both my phone & remote PC cant stream..
The 2121 has 4 different streaming profile... the last one being mobile profile.
the rstp thingy should be like that.. rtsp://myhostname/3gpp
Oh yes, one more thing, ipcam also unable to stream to my n95 usning wi-fi using the rtsp..
Thanks again..
Anarchy
16-06-2009, 12:46 PM
for my case, i manage to load everything properly on my 2wire but after when dlinkdns try to renew the dns entry, it is picking up the LAN ip address of the camera eg 192.168.1.x instead of the WAN
How come?
tinsel77
16-06-2009, 12:50 PM
for my case, i manage to load everything properly on my 2wire but after when dlinkdns try to renew the dns entry, it is picking up the LAN ip address of the camera eg 192.168.1.x instead of the WAN
How come?
when does dlinkdns renew the dns entry?
how often does 2wire your ip address change?
i put in my browser ip in in the 'new ip address' and after loggin out and log in the dlinkdns website, they change it to the ip add of cam. is that what u experienced?
but what is the side effect?
how can liddat
http://i42.tinypic.com/t7fuyo.jpg
:s22:
Sorry for that. Already disabled.. :o
Cos got 2 ipcam...
Anarchy
17-06-2009, 11:36 AM
side effect is you cant connect via internet lor cause it have pointed to LAN IP 192.168.1.x instead
alan.teo
17-06-2009, 02:03 PM
Hi Primera,
I can access the DCS2121 from local network but have difficult to setup to access from external network. I'm using 2Wire.
How do i go to "Forward them in the Firewall sub-menu."? What informations do i forward to the sub-menu?
Thanks in advance!
primera_p12
17-06-2009, 10:02 PM
Follow the sample here.
http://portforward.com/english/routers/port_forwarding/2wire/2701HGV-E/HTTP.htm
wildcheetha
21-06-2009, 07:58 PM
Guys i need help.
I some how can not get to set up my dlink dcs 2121 ip cam with 2wire.
after all the settings i can see from my house by using the ip add and aslo by using the ddns settings.
some how i can not see cam from out side my house computer.
***** In the LAN SETTING PAGE I CANNOT FIND EXTERNAL HTTP PORT, EXTERNAL RTSP PORT.
My setttings :
my cam config as of now:
Camera Name nicoelletara
IP Address 192.168.1.70
Default Gateway 192.168.1.254
Primary DNS 192.168.1.254
Secondary DNS 0.0.0.
PPPoE enabled
DDNS OK
tinsel77
15-07-2009, 09:31 AM
I can access my DCS-2121 from my office but under the 'Live Video' no video is shown. only a red 'X' at the top left hand corner.
anyone can help?
thanks
philph
15-07-2009, 08:52 PM
Hi
I want to buy an ip camera and DCS-2121 look ok, but I need some info which i can't find in specifications and documentation. So I want to ask the owners if this camera can record video with sound. I know that I can get live bidirectional sound, but is it possible to record video with sound to a local drive or to sd card?
thanks
systemx
16-07-2009, 06:44 PM
I used to have a Dlink DCS-950G camera but it was a POS. I changed it 2 times and it was still giving problems like black video when browsing on the internet explorer. Also it did not have RTSP but only ActiveX controls for video viewing, thereby limiting to only Internet Explorer on Windows.
Now I am contemplating buying a budget camera, either the Linksys WVC54GCA or DCS-920. My only requirement is that it is reliable, has RTSP and works on my iPhone.
Any suggestions anyone?
winstonk
20-07-2009, 10:35 PM
Hi Philph,
yes. can record video with sound. Can record to sd card, ftp server, samba server.
crashdog
20-07-2009, 10:47 PM
have been using the ip camera for a few mths but just tried using the sd card function.
however, upon checking the status of the sd card, it keep returning "failure". any1 knows y this is so? is it due to incompatible sd card or my camera is faulty?
overQ
24-07-2009, 06:43 PM
my bro is using a thomson speedtouch st536 modem which goes to a dlink dir300 router before reaching the dcs-920 camera.
i've tried using port forwarding but somehow it juz wont work.. anyone who knows how to set it up correctly??
liangtam
24-07-2009, 07:18 PM
my bro is using a thomson speedtouch st536 modem which goes to a dlink dir300 router before reaching the dcs-920 camera.
i've tried using port forwarding but somehow it juz wont work.. anyone who knows how to set it up correctly??
what dosnt work? :s11:
In the mean time, make sure the modem is fully bridged first.
overQ
25-07-2009, 08:58 AM
what dosnt work? :s11:
In the mean time, make sure the modem is fully bridged first.
it shows the modem/router setup page when i try to access the linked domain..
ok, i believe that's where i missed out.. bridge the modem to the router. hmm i'll go to find out how to do that first hehe thanks :)
geckoSG
27-07-2009, 11:47 AM
Now I am contemplating buying a budget camera, either the Linksys WVC54GCA or DCS-920. My only requirement is that it is reliable, has RTSP and works on my iPhone.
Any suggestions anyone?
dlink good. I'm using DCS-920, sharp & clear enuff for its price
MarineX
27-07-2009, 12:04 PM
is that true? my camera works perfectly alright with port 80.
liangtam
27-07-2009, 12:36 PM
is that true? my camera works perfectly alright with port 80.
You wont be able to access it out of your LAN. I.e. viewing through internet.
AdenBoy
11-09-2009, 09:58 PM
it works for me. with both home & external network
but i try to log in with my iphone
it shown the browser couldnt support Java plug in.
mean iphone not compatible?
or anyone here can help???
thanks
qwerty88
12-09-2009, 08:37 PM
it works for me. with both home & external network
but i try to log in with my iphone
it shown the browser couldnt support Java plug in.
mean iphone not compatible?
or anyone here can help???
thanks
Solution from richneo....
1.04 can access using http://ip-address-of-camera/m
firmware can be donwloaded here http://www.dlink.com.sg/support/Supp...?idsupport=745 (http://www.dlink.com.sg/support/Support_download.asp?idsupport=745)
1.04 1. Support streaming on cell phone via http by link url, http://ip_address/m
2. Default date/time to 2009/01/01 control
3. SD Card control function 08/26/2009
I'm having issues trying to upgrade the DCS-2121 firmware from 1.0 to 1.4.
Tried on Mac Safari, but the firmware uploading to the camera always stucked at 98%
Tried using WinXP IE7, but after uploading a few %, the IE browser page will display "The page is unabled to be displayed"
Anyone encountering simliar issues? Is this a problem with my brower settings or what?
Thx in advance,
AC
stev85x
16-09-2009, 09:25 AM
I'm having issues trying to upgrade the DCS-2121 firmware from 1.0 to 1.4.
Tried on Mac Safari, but the firmware uploading to the camera always stucked at 98%
Tried using WinXP IE7, but after uploading a few %, the IE browser page will display "The page is unabled to be displayed"
Anyone encountering simliar issues? Is this a problem with my brower settings or what?
Thx in advance,
AC
AC,
Try this, this method works for me.
Clear your IE cache and reset your IE setting.
Backup your configuration of ur DL 2121.
Reset your DL 2121 by using a paperclip to press on the reset button.
Then once done, connect both devices into a switch or router.
Use your IE go to 192.168.0.20(default) if is switch ; if is router depends on your DHCP.
Once Login into DL 2121 Admin Page, Go to Maintenance then Firmware.
Press Upload of your firmware. Best place it at desktop *even though no much diff in other location.
Then Press upload. Wait for roughly 10-15mins or the progress bar load finish and wait for 60 seconds for it to reboot.
Once done, login again and check the version. It should be 1.04.
To ensure higher chance to flash your DL 2121 turn off all programs and close all ie windows except e DL 2121 admin page.
Good Luck.
Anyway, I`m using DL 2121 with Aztech 3G W550 with Starhub Mobile Broadband and it works wonder no matter where I place my setup cause everything is wireless.
=)
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.