PDA

View Full Version : Mio TV with WRT310N router + 635v6

ahboyboi
07-12-2008, 02:33 PM
I am currently using ST536v6 modem and WRT310N as my router

Searched through all the threads and found out that this configuration is not possible below right?

536v6 (bridge mode)
|
|
|
WRT310N (PPPoE) + wireless LAN
| \
| \
| \
| LAN Port 1: mioTV
|
|
|
LAN Port 2 - 4 - to any wired PCs

So what i conclude from my findings is the above setup cannot be done..

so.. next.. i came up with this

536v6(PPPoE)
|
|
|
WRT310N (As switch) + wireless LAN
| | \
| | \
| | \
| \ LAN Port 1: To Modem
| \
| LAN Port 2: mioTV
|
LAN Port 3 - 4 - to any wired PCs

So like this can right? But kinda waste leh.. Use WRT310N as switch T.T

ahboyboi
07-12-2008, 10:49 PM
hmm.. no one knows if the 1st setup works??

NightFall
08-12-2008, 10:34 AM
Hi.

I am not on SNBB, so I can't confirm but I will give it a try.

The equipment you have listed are as follows.

1. SpeedTouch modem (ST536v6)
2. Linksys Wireless N Router (WRT310N)

In diagram 1, you cannot get anything because your ST modem needs to authentication with SNBB, but its left in Bridge mode.

Set the Speedtouch to work normally and connect your Speedtouch modem to your router in LAN port 1 and the rest of your equipment in the rest of the LAN ports.

Diagram 2 do make sense as you are trying to use 2 modems?

Give it a try. It should work. The gateway for internet will be the IP address for LAN port 1 provided you connected the ST536v6 to it.

hmm.. no one knows if the 1st setup works??

kerwen
08-12-2008, 11:37 AM
Hi TS, do let me know if the 2nd setup works, i am facing the same issue with u here except my router is a dlink 624. my miotv cannot work in the first setup :o

How do we set the st536v6 back to pppoe mode as i have already set to bridge mode?

liangtam
08-12-2008, 11:41 AM
Hi TS, do let me know if the 2nd setup works, i am facing the same issue with u here except my router is a dlink 624. my miotv cannot work in the first setup :o

How do we set the st536v6 back to pppoe mode as i have already set to bridge mode?

To kerwen, please look at ur thread again :)

For TS, pls look in older thread, kerwen's one also

kerwen
08-12-2008, 11:51 AM
To kerwen, please look at ur thread again :)

For TS, pls look in older thread, kerwen's one also

so r u saying this second setup confirm will not work and i have to get a separate switch & router ? :s11:

ahboyboi
09-12-2008, 08:04 AM
i have not tried e setups caz i will only be getting the box on 22nd Dec..

i read all e threads so far and it seems e first configuration wont work.
as for e 2nd configuration will be able to work. but my WRT310N will lose its functionality and just be like a normal wireless switch.. :(

krazyman
09-12-2008, 08:21 AM
Firstly, there is a mistake in your 2nd diagram as it shows 2 modems, ie a 536v6 and another connected to port1 of WRT310N. I believe you meant the 536v6 is connected to WRT310N port 1 as the WRT310N is used as a switch.

Next, if mioTV STB works when connected behind 536v6 (which is a NAT router), then technically it should works behind any other routers. The only reason I can think of is the STB has a static IP and there are port forwarding preset in the 536v6. I could be wrong here as I don't have mio setup to test and confirm.

NightFall
09-12-2008, 08:57 AM
Based on my limited research since I am on leave , diagram 1 should work.

My earlier reply stated that diagram 1 is wrong. That is a mistake.

Can I suggest that you power down the Speed touch modem and Linksys router. They should be setup as shown in Diagram 1.

Then power them up in sequence. Modem, followed by router. Making sure the PPPoe settings in your linksys is correct.

Or the best is to buy an all in one ADSL2+ modem / wireless router and solve your problem and spare yourself one power supply. :s22:

ahboyboi
09-12-2008, 09:33 AM
Firstly, there is a mistake in your 2nd diagram as it shows 2 modems, ie a 536v6 and another connected to port1 of WRT310N. I believe you meant the 536v6 is connected to WRT310N port 1 as the WRT310N is used as a switch.

Next, if mioTV STB works when connected behind 536v6 (which is a NAT router), then technically it should works behind any other routers. The only reason I can think of is the STB has a static IP and there are port forwarding preset in the 536v6. I could be wrong here as I don't have mio setup to test and confirm.

my WRT310N is just a router.. not a modem..
yup.. thats y i am not sure.. i read other threads and its like the STB is able to work behind the singnet modems.. not other brands/models of routers.. =S

ahboyboi
09-12-2008, 09:36 AM
Based on my limited research since I am on leave , diagram 1 should work.

My earlier reply stated that diagram 1 is wrong. That is a mistake.

Can I suggest that you power down the Speed touch modem and Linksys router. They should be setup as shown in Diagram 1.

Then power them up in sequence. Modem, followed by router. Making sure the PPPoe settings in your linksys is correct.

Or the best is to buy an all in one ADSL2+ modem / wireless router and solve your problem and spare yourself one power supply. :s22:

Yup.. my PPPoE settings are all set correctly already.. i can connect to internet already..
just that i have not got my STB to test it out yet.. Will try configuration 1 first.. :).. if cannot then sian.. must use my router as switch instead.. :S.. meaning e connection will be made from the modem instead.

and cannot change to ADSL2+ modem / wireless router la.. my WRT310N quite ex leh.. $180.. and its much better than ADSL2+ modem / wireless these kind de lo.. :s13:..

ahboyboi
09-12-2008, 09:47 AM
but anyway ya.. my router is currently the one who does the PPPoE connection whereas the modem is bridged to my router..

misato
09-12-2008, 01:30 PM
Both configuration will not work as the MioTV STB is using another PVC that is seperated from the one your internet use.

chunlianghere
09-12-2008, 01:42 PM
so in this case, how?

ahboyboi
09-12-2008, 01:45 PM
wah.. some say can some say cannot.. i really dunno hw when my STB comes man.. :(

liangtam
09-12-2008, 03:05 PM
See kerwen thread and older thread pls. Everything u nid as well as to know about is mentioned orly

ahboyboi
09-12-2008, 03:56 PM
See kerwen thread and older thread pls. Everything u nid as well as to know about is mentioned orly
i read his threads already.. but i dont see any answer about using retaining the router's functions leh..

bt anyway.. can i set the modem/wireless router (4ports) given by singtel to bridging mode??
then become like this..

mio 4 ports modem/wireless router (bridge mode)
| \
| LAN Port 1: mioTV
|
LAN Port 2: WRT310N (PPPoE connection) + wireless LAN
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
LAN Port 1 - 4 - to any wired PCs

phuque99
09-12-2008, 04:10 PM
I had the non-user-read-from-Singtel-site impression that mioTV set-top-box is an IP based device. Won't it work with any IP based router as long as the WAN port is connected Singtel's link? In addition, I've taken a look and configured a so-called "mio router" and it is just a simple 2wire ADSL wireless router, with no special provision for "mioTV" inside.

krazyman
09-12-2008, 08:25 PM
Both configuration will not work as the MioTV STB is using another PVC that is seperated from the one your internet use.

What PVC (private virtual connection?) are you refering to? Any info on this?

What I understand is mioTV is IPTV, and transmission is IP packets. Though I don't have a STB to test (so I could be wrong), I believe it will work with any router that support Multicast.

liangtam
09-12-2008, 08:46 PM
What PVC (private virtual connection?) are you refering to? Any info on this?

What I understand is mioTV is IPTV, and transmission is IP packets. Though I don't have a STB to test (so I could be wrong), I believe it will work with any router that support Multicast.

The implementation of mioTV is diff than that of iView

krazyman
09-12-2008, 09:23 PM
The implementation of mioTV is diff than that of iView

As mentioned, my knowledge on ADSL connection is limited, no equipment and connection for testings. My posts here are for discussions and to further my understanding.

Now let's look at in another way. When you bridge the 536v6, what is bypassed? I believe just the NAT router. The modem and its VC settings are still in tact. So the difference here is between the 2 routers that the STB is connected to. So unless there is a required feature that's lacking in the new router, why would it not work?

kerwen
09-12-2008, 09:35 PM
re-quote here for everybody's reference

if the ST536 has been configured to bridge mode, does IPTV still works in the setup below?

i don't have the hardware to verify, hope some1 can confirm if this can work ... :D

and yours is DI-624...

when liangtam above mentioned that you need both a switch and router. he really meant a switch and a router.

MIO TV only works when you go directly to the ST536 or 2wire router. The arrangement should be like this

ST536 > Switch(port1) > Ruckus > Mio TV
-----------Switch(port2) > DI-624 > PC/Notebook(s)

port 1&2 is just an example of whichever port you plugged into it.

currently your arrangement will not work as you are doing it as the following

ST536 > DI-624(port1) > ruckus > MioTV
-----------DI-624(port2)/wireless > PC/Notebook(s)

for the following only your internet works.
oh... and filesharing will work as well. Its all left with your PC settings.

liangtam
09-12-2008, 09:38 PM
Use *any* modem, the STB will work, so what is it the ST536 'supposedly' have that the router don't?

Obviously, there is none.

The VC channel is independant by itself.

krazyman
09-12-2008, 09:51 PM
Use *any* modem, the STB will work, so what is it the ST536 'supposedly' have that the router don't?

Obviously, there is none.

The VC channel is independant by itself.

Look like I always have difficulties understanding you. Are you agreeing or disagreeing with me? lolx

kerwen
09-12-2008, 09:59 PM
i also have hard time understanding ... sorry noob here :o

i just wan to know ST536 bridge mode with the mentioned setup can work or not? Y or N

Or do i have to set it back to PPPoe mode?

liangtam
09-12-2008, 10:07 PM
Now let's look at in another way. When you bridge the 536v6, what is bypassed? I believe just the NAT router. The modem and its VC settings are still in tact. So the difference here is between the 2 routers that the STB is connected to. So unless there is a required feature that's lacking in the new router, why would it not work?

Look like I always have difficulties understanding you. Are you agreeing or disagreeing with me? lolx

Its not agreeing or disagreeing, rather, your question is not applicable. Which is why I am stating a comparison to you.

ahboyboi
09-12-2008, 10:11 PM
yea! thats y i am confused right after reading all e threads.. all were like giving diff answers.. :s22:

liangtam
09-12-2008, 10:23 PM
where got diff, dun confuse urself.