View Full Version : Wondering is the torrent download speed for 3Mbps and 8 Mbps?
socrates
07-12-2008, 04:56 PM
Would like to know what is the average torrent download speed for 3Mbps and 8 Mbps? Is 3Mbps about 350 kB/s and 8 Mbps say 850 kB/s? So how long would it take to download a 350 Mb or a 1GB file on average for 3Mbps?
ohmygod1986
07-12-2008, 06:51 PM
See how often u climb lohzz ...
Climb more then use 8Mbps :s22::s22:
liangtam
07-12-2008, 07:02 PM
does not mean sign higher plan get more speed hor
well, since there are many factors involved, it is possible for people to download slower with a 8mbps plan than that of 3mbps :)
that said, no time specific.
ironman4672
07-12-2008, 07:04 PM
i'm on 2mbps plan... can hit 200k....:D:D:D:D:D:D:D
phuque99
07-12-2008, 07:05 PM
Download speed depends on peers and peers' willingness to provide high upload rate. Don't mistake lack of peers and peer slow upload speed for slow ISP speed, especially when you're interested in downloading pirated content.
If you want a gauge, go torrent for legal content, you'll find that almost all legit content will reach speed closed to your subscribed line.
Phelan77
07-12-2008, 09:26 PM
I'm using the singtel 3MB line, max utorrent download i have received, as to date, is 180 kb/s
ironman4672
07-12-2008, 09:38 PM
I'm using the singtel 3MB line, max utorrent download i have received, as to date, is 180 kb/s
slower than 2mbps one sia....:D:D:D:D:D:D:D
lahgal
07-12-2008, 10:24 PM
ironman, your are using starhub or singnet?
socrates
07-12-2008, 10:29 PM
Phelan77 that seems quite slow for 3Mbps or is it that the true average? what are others getting?
anfield22
07-12-2008, 10:36 PM
SNBB 3M, around 380kb/s
edit: it's 380kb/s MAX, around 350kb/s. depending on the seed, it could be less if i'm only downloading 1 torrent
ironman4672
07-12-2008, 10:38 PM
ironman, your are using starhub or singnet?
starhub maxmobile surflite...:D:D:D:D:D
largeresource
07-12-2008, 11:05 PM
my VPN to US via 443 average is BT download 25Mbps upload 1Mbps
around on 1 DVD 9.1 G per hour
without VPN, max at 300Kbps
zero7090
08-12-2008, 09:28 AM
it is depend on seeder , go dl prawn got butties from japan seed for you even 3mbps line can beat 100mbps line
ohmygod1986
08-12-2008, 11:37 AM
http://i245.photobucket.com/albums/gg58/ohmygod1986/utorrent2.jpg
SNBB 8Mbps :s13::s13: just this morning
outer92
08-12-2008, 12:07 PM
it depend on trackers, seeds , peers .
me on singnet 3Mbps can up to 4oo
largeresource
08-12-2008, 12:40 PM
i have two locations
one in US and one in singapore
when i VPN tunneling to US... BT speed average 1000 - 2000 KBps on each thread, get more seeders
disconnect VPN the seeders drops a quarter
MOL ultimate
pay so much yet sucks
FroztSpectre
08-12-2008, 09:17 PM
Guess what,
im have a 10000kbps++ connection.
But even after port forwarding, im receving a speed of 50kb/s - 100kb/s MOST.
I feel kinda sad =(
lslamshit
08-12-2008, 10:06 PM
http://i454.photobucket.com/albums/qq268/pictura89/speed.jpg
SNBB 8mbps can hit 1mb dl rate quite often
phuque99
08-12-2008, 10:15 PM
Maybe u guys should go find a reference and common torrent file to test, legal better. All these subjective and are determined by availability of pirates to share their upload speed with your choice of illegal download. Got pipe, no pirates to share, also lousy speed.
I've frequently seen close to subscribed line speed when getting Linux iso images. Try these as references instead of using pirate content.
largeresource
08-12-2008, 10:54 PM
Maybe u guys should go find a reference and common torrent file to test, legal better. All these subjective and are determined by availability of pirates to share their upload speed with your choice of illegal download. Got pipe, no pirates to share, also lousy speed.
I've frequently seen close to subscribed line speed when getting Linux iso images. Try these as references instead of using pirate content.
i shared the points you have but the problems is that you are not know the specification in detail in resident account ISP.
most popular downloads like your linux iso have seeders within singapore.
seeders within singapore will have high or very high download speed for leechers within singapore.
seeder outside singapore will have very low download speed for leechers within
my finding is that when i connect my 415Mbps VPN to USA
the SAME TORRENT download jump from 512Kbps (64KBps) 12 seeders to 80120Kbps (10MBps) 40 seeders
that is my finding using MOL ultimate
tidus792
10-12-2008, 09:17 AM
Mind elaborating more on doing vpn to USA? What US server do you connect to?
socrates
10-02-2009, 07:18 PM
what is a VPN?
chunlianghere
10-02-2009, 07:38 PM
what is a VPN?
Virtual Private Network.
fi3ry_icy
22-09-2009, 10:56 PM
can i ask how do i create a VPN tunnel to US as well?
max007007
22-09-2009, 11:12 PM
i am on 10mbps, but recently my torrent couldnt go as high as it used to.
Now crawling at few kbps even with high seeds & peers.
How to fix?
phuque99
22-09-2009, 11:55 PM
i am on 10mbps, but recently my torrent couldnt go as high as it used to.
Now crawling at few kbps even with high seeds & peers.
How to fix?
ask your seeders to be not kiam siap, set max upload speed.
max007007
23-09-2009, 09:51 AM
ask your seeders to be not kiam siap, set max upload speed.
ya lor, my upload rate is higher than the download one......
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.