PDA

View Full Version : Spurs To Launch Cut-price Bid For Keane

Keverus
08-12-2008, 04:16 PM
http://www.newsoftheworld.co.uk/multimedia/archive/00018/07LARGE3_18456a.jpg

SPURS are trying to re-sign Liverpool’s Robbie Keane. And a bid anywhere near the £20m the league leaders paid in July could see the Irishman make a January return to White Hart Lane.

Tottenham boss Harry Redknapp wants to test how much patience Rafa Benitez has lost with the striker, who was an unused sub during yesterday’s 3-1 win at Blackburn. But even if Rafa looked to cash in, the Anfield board would need convincing of the merits, as the Merseysiders’ would inevitably have to accept a loss.

They agreed to pay Spurs £20m in instalments, which means Redknapp could offer part of the summer fee and waive the estimated £10m still owed.

Keane’s dream move to Merseyside has gone sour just five months into his Anfield career as he’s struggled with confidence and form. He effectively has until the end of the month to convince his manager Spurs’ interest should be rebuffed as Rafa plots a radical shake-up of his squad in January.
Opportunity

Benitez wants funds to remedy summer transfer mistakes, none of whom started at Ewood Park. Liverpool’s recent signings have failed to have an impact, with only Albert Riera acquitting himself reasonably well.

Left back Andrea Dossena, who cost £7m from Udinese, will be offloaded back to Italy at the first opportunity. Right-back Phillip Degen, who was given a £2m signing on fee and £38,000-a-week salary when he joined from Borussia Dortmund, hasn’t featured in the Premier League due to a succession of injuries.

Rafa wants to bring Emile Heskey back to Anfield for £3m, as well as two full-backs to compete with Fabio Aurelio and Alvaro Arbeloa.
Lure

There are those at Anfield who still hope Rafa can be convinced into a rethink on Michael Owen at the right price, especially if Keane is sold, but the manager opposes the idea.

Keane grew up as a Liverpool fan and always wanted to become a idol on the Kop. After starting at Wolves, he had spells at Coventry, Inter Milan and Leeds before finally settling at Spurs, where he became club captain.

Last season he formed one of best partnerships in the Premier League with Dimitar Berbatov but could not resist the lure of Anfield. But he has only scored four goals for the Reds, has played 90 minutes just three times and been substituted 15 times.

Source: News of the World.

poring24
08-12-2008, 05:52 PM
siong sia...sell for big, buy for small

vasilli07
08-12-2008, 06:01 PM
no way i will want him back at spurs...he betrayed my trust for him...he can rot in liverpool reserves...:s7:

Wryer
08-12-2008, 06:23 PM
It would be a knee jerk reaction to sell him after 6 months. It would be absolutely crazy.

lyfeforce
08-12-2008, 07:16 PM
no way i will want him back at spurs...he betrayed my trust for him...he can rot in liverpool reserves...:s7:

For selfish reasons, I want exactly the opposite. :s13:

It would be a knee jerk reaction to sell him after 6 months. It would be absolutely crazy.

Well, for 20m pounds, the expectations for him to live up to were astronomical. He's trying too hard and, frankly, Rafa and the fans are losing patience.

Asakura
08-12-2008, 09:19 PM
well..im not sure if its robbie who don't cut in to the team or the manager is not playing him to his best
his play is quite diff from wad he was in spurs

lyfeforce
08-12-2008, 10:02 PM
well..im not sure if its robbie who don't cut in to the team or the manager is not playing him to his best
his play is quite diff from wad he was in spurs

Actually, I feel it's combination of both. Managers play tactics according to the players they have. Remember how Andy Cole was fluffing when he arrived at Man Utd? He was miserable... until Dwight Yorke arrived. Then the floodgates opened.

Unfortunately, Liverpool won't be able to buy Berbatov. :s13:

The point is Torres and Keane are too similar in attacking styles for them to work in tandem.

Wryer
08-12-2008, 10:07 PM
Well, for 20m pounds, the expectations for him to live up to were astronomical. He's trying too hard and, frankly, Rafa and the fans are losing patience.

I think Liverpool's fans are spoilt by Torres' immediate impact. Not many players can have an immediate impact in their first season, much less the first half of the season.

Even though he is a seasoned pro, he still needs time to get in tune with the rest of the team.

lyfeforce
08-12-2008, 10:14 PM
I think Liverpool's fans are spoilt by Torres' immediate impact. Not many players can have an immediate impact in their first season, much less the first half of the season.

Even though he is a seasoned pro, he still needs time to get in tune with the rest of the team.

You do have a point. I guess the frustration that Liverpool is in deep debts and the biggest investment isn't paying is really getting into the skin.

In cutthroat times like these, most expect the same impact as Torres for every signing. Otherwise, they want these so-called "failures" to be shipped off.

astrayharry
08-12-2008, 11:45 PM
hmmm with bent robbei and roman..plus frazier..seems like spurs gonna to break into top 4 this season with some nice decent performance in the 2nd half of epl...sexciting squad...

09-12-2008, 12:09 AM
can DIC pls take over liverpool and stop the rubbish happening behind the scene :(

xavier4
09-12-2008, 12:49 AM
keano !! i still have 100% faith in him.. i guess we're just like a team of scientists now.. still experimenting.. and one day we might just find the e=mc2.. the breakthrough for keane.. so i'm just awaiting tat day lol..

dossena.. ok lor go back.. degen.. injuries.. too bad.. i dun mind him staying.. let him have a try.. heard he's not bad.. somemore 2m nia.. why not.. backup for arbeloa.. sure..

Asakura
09-12-2008, 01:41 AM

exactly. i think fans nowadays are looking for quick impact solutions for their teams.

You do have a point. I guess the frustration that Liverpool is in deep debts and the biggest investment isn't paying is really getting into the skin.

In cutthroat times like these, most expect the same impact as Torres for every signing. Otherwise, they want these so-called "failures" to be shipped off.

one crucial part of lfc is they still yet to resolve the 'behind-the-scene' problems.

Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
09-12-2008, 09:19 AM
Give him some time at least until end of season.

MatrixFanatic
09-12-2008, 09:34 AM
Give him some time at least until end of season.

X 2 .

Didjerama
09-12-2008, 09:54 AM
For selfish reasons, I want exactly the opposite. :s13:

which report did rafa say he lost patience?or the fans for the matter?

i tink all the fans are behind keano and giving him full support..

lyfeforce
09-12-2008, 10:10 AM
which report did rafa say he lost patience?or the fans for the matter?

i tink all the fans are behind keano and giving him full support..

I said losing, not lost yet. Liverpool's fans have a tendency to give their players a lot of time. But Liverpool's fan base isn't just in England.

If he hadn't cost 20m pounds, maybe we wouldn't be so worried. He missed many chances that could have been easily converted and that frustration is getting to everyone. But make no mistake, I haven't given up totally on him and I'm sure neither have the rest of the fans.

Rafa is feeling the pressure now because his tactics being questioned. Sometimes I too don't understand them. It's a confusing situation for Liverpool right now. :(

StarSeeker
09-12-2008, 11:49 AM
I think his high price tag attribute to great expectation. To be honest not his fault.

These days, footballers in BPL are traded & paid at astronomical sum, especially with the immerison of Suger daddies that promise big pay check. In order to retain players, clubs have to increase player wages or fear losing their star players. Not helping is that players/clubs nowadays like to "flirt" with other players/clubs/media.

Ticket prices & Studium attendence have drop over the years, aided by recession, its only a matter of time when the bubble burst.

Now back to Keane. I think it must not be very nice to be in his shoe (by footballer standard). maybe Eboue can give him a shoulder to cry on. I never felt he was a big team player, maybe a good backup/alternative to the main strikers. He is no longer young & unlikely to improve much, if at all. At North London, Fans are frastrated with pink boots kiddo, who at 20 is 6-7 years off his peak, & some fans are already hoping to sell him, what can you expect of someone that is already 28-9 (I think)?

To be fair, Torres has set the bar too high at Liverpool, that make it hard for Keane. But I think we should give him a full season & evaluate him at May.

Carnage
09-12-2008, 03:21 PM
I feel Rafa isn't utilising Keane to the latter's best ability. Playing him upfront alone isn't going to lead him to score. But the fact is, I think Rafa prefers Keane to create rather than score himself.

Rafa always believes a striker should share the goal burden with his team mates, not shoulder them himself.

faruk55
09-12-2008, 04:01 PM
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11095_4612502,00.html

Benitez - Keane going nowhere

Liverpool manager Rafa Benitez insists he is not set to sell under-fire striker Robbie Keane in the January transfer window.

Former Tottenham star Keane has struggled since a £20million summer switch to Anfield and has scored just four goals this season.

Benitez axed the Republic of Ireland international from his starting XI for Saturday's Premier League victory at Blackburn, sparking rumours of a New Year departure.

But ahead of Tuesday's UEFA Champions League outing at PSV Eindhoven, Benitez has moved to reject conjecture linking Keane with a Merseyside exit.

Future
Benitez said on Monday: "Robbie's future is to be ready, to score goals and to work for the team.

"In football we know we have signed a good player, you cannot guarantee anyone's position. In some games he has to work hard.

"The challenge is there for him. When you sign a player for a lot of money, that is it. He becomes another player in the squad and he has to fight for his position.

"I do not know whether his confidence has been affected, we will see tomorrow.

Character
"Clearly he has to show character, and show you are a good player. When we decide to sign him we knew he was a good player.

"I do not need to talk too much on this. A lot of top clubs have very expensive players, they have four of them on the bench every week.

"He has to know he needs to fight and work hard. But he has a future here, why not?"

Benitez added: "I have a lot of patience, with everybody. He will be here after the January window, it is not my idea to sell him.

"We are always working with the players, explaining and clarifying what they need to do for the team. Robbie is no different."

kopfowler
09-12-2008, 04:48 PM
Be Patient lar...Crouch took 17 matches to score for Pool....Keane take lesser match to broke the duck...look at the bright side la..

Jian19
09-12-2008, 05:06 PM
team play around him and he play around team ish 2 diff thing

in spurs they play around robbie keane

in liverpool they play around gerrard

u see the diff ? :crazy:

xavier4
09-12-2008, 07:20 PM
well.. i last night surf the bbc news.. aiya all those gossip /rumors.. they say they might 5m + lennon + o'hara for keane.. woots? cant be right? budden still.. nah.. i rather sell away lucas and somehow get the 10m buy lennon itself..

StarSeeker
09-12-2008, 07:36 PM
Be Patient lar...Crouch took 17 matches to score for Pool....Keane take lesser match to broke the duck...look at the bright side la..

Look where Crouch ended up...