PDA

View Full Version : City To Land £52m Villa

Keverus
08-12-2008, 04:17 PM
Mark Hughes will sign Valencia striker in January

http://www.newsoftheworld.co.uk/multimedia/archive/00018/villa_280x420_18463a.jpg

DAVID VILLA’S record £52million switch to Manchester City will move a step closer when his agent jets into England this week. The Valencia striker will be City’s first world-class signing in January when the transfer window opens.

City boss Mark Hughes has targeted the Spanish hit-man and the deal has been rubber-stamped by City’s Arab owners.

They are determined to make an impact signing in the transfer window and will take advantage of Valencia’s perilous financial position.

The Spanish side have been hit badly by the global economic crisis and admitted they will be forced to cash in on their major asset in the New Year.

Real Madrid believed they were in pole position but signed £17m Ajax star Klass-Jan Huntelaar in midweek — and City surged ahead when they made it clear they would instantly match Valencia’s asking price.
Contract

Villa will join Robinho as the Premier League’s top wage earner on £160,000-a-week as City’s Abu Dhabi owners make good on their promise to buy the world’s best.

Reports in Spain claimed City representatives have met twice met with Villa’s agent, Jose Luis Tamargo, in Madrid to discuss the move.

Villa, who turned 27 on Wednesday, has a £125m compensation clause built into his contract at Valencia but the club are so cash-strapped they have been forced to waive that in the face of City’s interest.

And while he signed a new contract in the summer which ties him to Valencia until 2014, he knows he has no option but to move on.
Impressed

He said: “I will stay at Valencia for as long as the president wants me. If he tells me I have to be sold to save the club, then that is his decision and I’ll look for a fresh challenge.”

Villa was the top scorer at Euro 2008 with four goals and is also second top scorer in La Liga behind Samuel Eto’o. A source close to the deal said: “It is clear City need a world-class striker and Villa fits the bill.

“The Arabs have been impressed with him and Mark Hughes is convinced he will do well in English football. “His agent will be flying in on Tuesday and there is every chance talks and a deal will be concluded by the end of the week.”

Source: News of the World.

zhaohan
08-12-2008, 04:54 PM
how many strikers they want sia

baseline
08-12-2008, 05:00 PM
waa.. that's crazy amount of money..

nottibeans
08-12-2008, 05:24 PM
City is the new king of BPL!!!

Carova.
08-12-2008, 05:34 PM
another chelsea in da making.... wtf.... they need to focus on their defenders man.. all cmi !!!!

poring24
08-12-2008, 05:51 PM
Source: News of the World.

pls put link next time and,

wonder if villa will adapt to the premiership...he definitely isn't the strongest

zhaohan
08-12-2008, 06:45 PM
City is the new king of BPL!!!

be the king of manchester first :o

lyfeforce
08-12-2008, 07:13 PM
Maybe they want to play a 2-3-5 formation. :s13:

Keverus
08-12-2008, 07:15 PM
man utd oso got 4 super zai strikers.

TrueBeliever_jh
08-12-2008, 08:09 PM
wan.. cool.. they took advantage of the club's finanical problems.. no need torres liaoz..

YouYongku
08-12-2008, 08:16 PM
woo thats it man
might man city lol

Asakura
08-12-2008, 09:23 PM
man city wanna play 1 1 8 ??
maybe they can start thinking abt selling vassell, bojinov, , caicedo, evans if they want villa.
according to soccernet, they have like 12 defenders, 8 midfields, 8 strikers. and we all know they have more then that..

09-12-2008, 12:03 AM
siao ar...buy so many striker.....knn IMHO they shuld buy some defender and midfielders...

xavier4
09-12-2008, 01:06 AM
why !! come pair up with torres ma !!

eddygames
09-12-2008, 08:45 AM
settle their defence 1st la

Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
09-12-2008, 09:21 AM
Sign Benzema, Kaka, Terry I don't mind selling Terry to them for 60 million pound we got so many center-back but Ashely Cole for 30 million no way.

09-12-2008, 09:55 AM
Sign Benzema, Kaka, Terry I don't mind selling Terry to them for 60 million pound we got so many center-back but Ashely Cole for 30 million no way.
sell john terry??!!!siao ar??!!!

poring24
09-12-2008, 10:18 AM

and there you go :s13:

Kenshin79
09-12-2008, 11:37 AM
sell the captain of your club to a upcoming rival? i believe chelsea would rather sell him to a bottom club or overseas than city

hanlsn
09-12-2008, 11:43 AM
So much for selling corluka

Cumzilla
09-12-2008, 12:23 PM
They should change their manager first, Hughes does not have the experience to handle such Mega Stars.

Last year Man City had an additional 13 points at this same stage....

SGE started so well last seaon in the end also kena sacked when the team faded badly, mark hughes teams are always stronger in the 2nd half, most will remember how a team end a season, maybe in his mind, he's also thinking that way and doesnt want to suffer the same fate as SGE...;)

Kenshin79
09-12-2008, 12:28 PM
by tat, u mean hughes purposely throw away some games? haa...

Jian19
09-12-2008, 04:20 PM

Sell Captain Marvel for 60m moolah

explain the finance crisis chelski had now :s13:

Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
09-12-2008, 04:52 PM
Can use the money from the Terry Sale to buy a Top Class Striker And a World Class Winger why not ?

navarro_t
09-12-2008, 04:56 PM
crazy $$$....

Carnage
09-12-2008, 05:51 PM
Can use the money from the Terry Sale to buy a Top Class Striker And a World Class Winger why not ?

And leak more goals? You're having a laugh mate. :s13:

MrWeiWei
09-12-2008, 06:19 PM
when u sell away ur captain for money, u think top class players will come to your club ?

and with regards to paying out transfer fees, i think man city owner will do wat chelsea did b4.. thats to outbid their rivals for any players.....

usjag_18
09-12-2008, 07:36 PM
My goodness, why spend £52m?? Is Man City that desperate?? I thought the Arabs are very good @ business, shldn't they build thing in a more stable and nice space...

lyfeforce
09-12-2008, 08:08 PM
Strange...

Valencia striker David Villa could be in line for a £60 million move to Manchester City following reports that the Spanish international's agent has held meetings with the Eastlands club.

Source: Link (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=600559&sec=england&cc=4716)

Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
09-12-2008, 08:18 PM
when u sell away ur captain for money, u think top class players will come to your club ?

and with regards to paying out transfer fees, i think man city owner will do wat chelsea did b4.. thats to outbid their rivals for any players.....

We got enough center-back backup even though I don't think Roman will sell nor Terry will sign for them

lyfeforce
09-12-2008, 08:27 PM
Guys, the discussion is about City attempting to buy players, not about which Chelsea players should stay or go. You can discuss that in the Chelsea thread.

My goodness, why spend £52m?? Is Man City that desperate?? I thought the Arabs are very good @ business, shldn't they build thing in a more stable and nice space...

I remembered that the big chief saying that he wanted to buy all the good players, no matter how much they cost. Guess he's just acting on his word.

Fabiano
13-12-2008, 08:27 PM
right now EVERY SINGLE world-renown footballers are linked to city la.

Theatre_of_Dreams
14-12-2008, 12:25 AM
another real madrid in the making-a team filled with superstars (galaticos) but cant perform..

and to sell jerseys as well..

man city must understand that those unsung heroes are the ones that help you win matches..

buy those big players and they cant gel into the team also no use..

Jack Star
17-12-2008, 12:57 PM
Perhaps Manchester City/Arabs should start looking into buying foreign clubs across the globe and then use it as feeder squads.