PDA

View Full Version : Recommend ADSL2+ wireless modem

MrJacky
08-12-2008, 05:48 PM
Anyone has recommendations for a ADSL2+ wireless modem for my SingNet 10Mbps broadband internet?

I'm thinking of replacing my 2WIRE 2701HGV-E, as my personal tests suggested that the wireless strength of the 2WIRE may be a bit weak for my apartment. The Linksys WRT54G does the job fine but I would need it for other uses.

I have taken into consideration the following:

Linksys WAG160N - http://www-sg.linksys.com/servlet/Satellite?c=L_Product_C2&childpagename=SG%2FLayout&cid=1175242784935&pagename=Linksys%2FCommon%2FVisitorWrapper&lid=8493585430B14

Linksys WAG325N - http://www-sg.linksys.com/servlet/Satellite?c=L_Product_C2&childpagename=SG%2FLayout&cid=1169671144519&pagename=Linksys%2FCommon%2FVisitorWrapper&lid=4451985430B03

Linksys WAG54G2 - http://www-sg.linksys.com/servlet/Satellite?c=L_Product_C2&childpagename=SG%2FLayout&cid=1175247974594&pagename=Linksys%2FCommon%2FVisitorWrapper&lid=7459485430B02

Do advise.

phuque99
08-12-2008, 05:49 PM
How come so hiao, so many thread, answers here:
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2182637

MrJacky
08-12-2008, 05:54 PM
How come so hiao, so many thread, answers here:
The other thread is regarding the problem with the 2WIRE modem.

This thread is for recommendation of a wireless modem. I don't want replies to be mixed up, hence a new thread.

phuque99
08-12-2008, 05:56 PM
I don't think so leh, the other thread at the very start, sio siang modem router question and mid-way you add on G router, which is re-mentioned and re-hashed here. Mai hiao lah :D

MrJacky
08-12-2008, 05:59 PM
I don't think so leh, the other thread at the very start, sio siang modem router question and mid-way you add on G router, which is re-mentioned and re-hashed here. Mai hiao lah :D
I don't see any similarities in both the threads.

I was asking about the cause of the disconnection in the other thread, and this thread I am asking for recommendation.

I wouldn't want to dispute about this and disrupt the discussion. Should there be a need a moderator can merge both threads (supposing they have this capability), but replies will be mixed up and it would be tough to see who is replying to what.

phuque99
08-12-2008, 06:03 PM
I think you didn't read properly or didn't click on the link. Seriously, click on it, same question and answers in that thread.

Repeated here again, same thread:

MrJacky
08-12-2008, 06:08 PM
I think you didn't read properly or didn't click on the link. Seriously, click on it, same question and answers in that thread.

Repeated here again, same thread:
Ah, you pointed me to the right direction.

I was gonna have a moderator lock/delete that thread.

I wanted to ask about those wireless modems only, but I thought it would be better if I open a thread for recommendations instead.

That's why I re-created this thread.

Back to the topic:

Is D-Link good and reliable? Are there any wireless modems offered by them?

liangtam
08-12-2008, 06:13 PM
Ah, you pointed me to the right direction.

I was gonna have a moderator lock/delete that thread.

I wanted to ask about those wireless modems only, but I thought it would be better if I open a thread for recommendations instead.

That's why I re-created this thread.

Back to the topic:

Is D-Link good and reliable? Are there any wireless modems offered by them?
Quote u first.
Seriously, why lock or delete? :s11:
I don't remember this being a 'closed' forum

MrJacky
08-12-2008, 06:22 PM
Quote u first.
Seriously, why lock or delete? :s11:
I don't remember this being a 'closed' forum
Because this thread is just a re-creation of the other one.

If you want it opened I'm fine with it.

NightFall
08-12-2008, 07:04 PM
I am one of those who leave my router switched on 24/7 and I have found that linksys doesn't seem to go the distance.. after awhile it would get too heated up and problems start to surface.

I have however found Netgear to perform better. Your result may differ.

Just a quick question, does Singnet allow you to use your own ADSL modem router?

Anyone has recommendations for a ADSL2+ wireless modem
for my SingNet 10Mbps broadband internet?

I'm thinking of replacing my 2WIRE 2701HGV-E, as my personal tests suggested that the wireless strength of the 2WIRE may be a bit weak for my apartment. The Linksys WRT54G does the job fine but I would need it for other uses.

I have taken into consideration the following:

Linksys WAG160N - http://www-sg.linksys.com/servlet/Satellite?c=L_Product_C2&childpagename=SG%2FLayout&cid=1175242784935&pagename=Linksys%2FCommon%2FVisitorWrapper&lid=8493585430B14

Linksys WAG325N - http://www-sg.linksys.com/servlet/Satellite?c=L_Product_C2&childpagename=SG%2FLayout&cid=1169671144519&pagename=Linksys%2FCommon%2FVisitorWrapper&lid=4451985430B03

Linksys WAG54G2 - http://www-sg.linksys.com/servlet/Satellite?c=L_Product_C2&childpagename=SG%2FLayout&cid=1175247974594&pagename=Linksys%2FCommon%2FVisitorWrapper&lid=7459485430B02

Do advise.

liangtam
08-12-2008, 07:31 PM
Just a quick question, does Singnet allow you to use your own ADSL modem router?
Yes.
Not that they can say no anyway

MrJacky
09-12-2008, 05:46 AM
Same. I left my Linksys 24/7 for 2 years. No problem yet.

Anyway I need a wireless modem, not a router.

Anyone?

Francis85
09-12-2008, 06:36 AM
Just bridge your 2WIRE 2701 HGV-E and connect it to a DIR 655........... Like what I doing now.........

MrJacky
09-12-2008, 09:53 AM
Because of space constraint that may not be a feasible solution.

Anyway how is your experience with the D-Link DIR-655?

albertchng
09-12-2008, 10:26 AM
Same. I left my Linksys 24/7 for 2 years. No problem yet.

Anyway I need a wireless modem, not a router.

Anyone?

Technically there is no such thing as a "wireless" modem. :s13:

phuque99
09-12-2008, 10:55 AM
I guess it is safe to say that the TS has many threads of the same issue. He is doing an analysis paralysis for a single unit ADSL modem/router/wireless combo device. Personally, I believe in separation of devices (modem separate from wireless router), but I don't think you can go wrong with any brand. Linksys flat chio UFO device is probably a good buy. You only have to decide if you want slow G or fast N wireless.

Other than many threads, if you do analysis enough, every single brand will have very good points (praises and fanboys) and very bad complains (lot's of kpkb). That's why its called analysis paralysis because you'll be paralized with no clear choice. My personal opinion is that if you don't have any technical requirements other than all in one network device, just buy the most chio one. At least come home, look at it also feel happy. :D

Francis85
09-12-2008, 11:18 AM
Because of space constraint that may not be a feasible solution.

Anyway how is your experience with the D-Link DIR-655?

Good very good....... wireless signal very good.......

liangtam
09-12-2008, 03:10 PM
Technically there is no such thing as a "wireless" modem. :s13:

Gotch, WWAN.
Wimax, umts etc.

MrJacky
09-12-2008, 03:50 PM
I guess it is safe to say that the TS has many threads of the same issue. He is doing an analysis paralysis for a single unit ADSL modem/router/wireless combo device. Personally, I believe in separation of devices (modem separate from wireless router), but I don't think you can go wrong with any brand. Linksys flat chio UFO device is probably a good buy. You only have to decide if you want slow G or fast N wireless.

Other than many threads, if you do analysis enough, every single brand will have very good points (praises and fanboys) and very bad complains (lot's of kpkb). That's why its called analysis paralysis because you'll be paralized with no clear choice. My personal opinion is that if you don't have any technical requirements other than all in one network device, just buy the most chio one. At least come home, look at it also feel happy. :D
Not really the same issue.

I had one to investigate the cause of disconnection.

The other one was to discuss the optimal place for a wireless router to maximise signal strength.

The only "extra" one was about the Linksys gateways which I kindly asked for a moderator to delete it. I decided to re-create a thread, which is this.

Back to the topic:

The reason for me doing so much research is to ensure I don't get one which doesn't serve my purpose of replacement (i.e. to replace my weak 2WIRE). Since this is for the use of my whole family, I would want to buy one which garner good comments. It's always better to be safe than sorry. ;)

I do not have much experience with networking products, and so am unsure of whether they are slow N or fast N.

What do you mean by Linksys "UFO device"?

My first laptop was purchased with no research done beforehand. Although not a "lemon", it doesn't fit the specs I was wanting to get.

Once bitten, twice shy. Don't blame me. :)

albertchng
09-12-2008, 03:55 PM
Good very good....... wireless signal very good.......

TS knows who to look for if wireless signal no good on your DIR-655, k? :s22:

MrJacky
09-12-2008, 04:05 PM
TS knows who to look for if wireless signal no good on your DIR-655, k? :s22:
You got to wait for me to purchase that then, because I haven't decided.

But I won't find you, definitely. Only go to you when my 2WIRE cock up. :)

phuque99
09-12-2008, 04:06 PM
WAG160N and WAG54G2 are the "UFO" router design, 160N = fast N, 54G = slow G speed.

MrJacky
09-12-2008, 04:10 PM
WAG160N and WAG54G2 are the "UFO" router design, 160N = fast N, 54G = slow G speed.
I see.

Are there any benefits for the UFO design?

Which one belongs to the "slow N"?

phuque99
09-12-2008, 04:12 PM
Benefit is that it is very chio, see liao also happy. In addition, low profile can slot anywhere without annoying antennas. However, I dunno what's "slow N". Wireless N is just a wireless standard.

MrJacky
09-12-2008, 04:20 PM
Benefit is that it is very chio, see liao also happy. In addition, low profile can slot anywhere without annoying antennas. However, I dunno what's "slow N". Wireless N is just a wireless standard.
Sorry about the "slow N". Misunderstood your earlier post.

Anyway, does the UFO design come with an antenna?

phuque99
09-12-2008, 04:56 PM
Thought your first post here has URL links to peektures of the UFO models?

MrJacky
09-12-2008, 10:39 PM
Thought your first post here has URL links to peektures of the UFO models?
The data sheet states that it has antennas.

Pictures show otherwise.

I'm confused.

phuque99
09-12-2008, 10:51 PM
I'm incline to believe you don't read completely or see the obvious, so I stand corrected about my statement; I meant no EXTERNAL ANTENNA.

liangtam
09-12-2008, 11:45 PM

UFO design is internal antenna

MrJacky
10-12-2008, 12:41 AM
I'm incline to believe you don't read completely or see the obvious, so I stand corrected about my statement; I meant no EXTERNAL ANTENNA.
What did I not read properly then?

I have even viewed the pictures in high resolution.

liangtam
10-12-2008, 01:08 AM
I have even viewed the pictures in high resolution.
And yet u didnt notice theres no external antenna? :s11:

Francis85
10-12-2008, 06:20 AM
You got to wait for me to purchase that then, because I haven't decided.

But I won't find you, definitely. Only go to you when my 2WIRE cock up. :)

LoL........ Albert 2WIRE expert liao..........

MrJacky
10-12-2008, 08:56 AM
Like I said in my previous post, I said the pictures showed no antennas, data sheet stated it has antennas, that's where it confused me.

liangtam
10-12-2008, 10:09 AM
Like I said in my previous post, I said the pictures showed no antennas, data sheet stated it has antennas, that's where it confused me.

Its like saying, if u cant see other ppl's private asset, does not mean dun have mah :s13:

phuque99
10-12-2008, 10:10 AM
Antenna or no antenna (visible or not visible), just believe that it works. :D

MrJacky
10-12-2008, 01:54 PM
I thought they forgot to attach the antenna when they took the pictures. :D

MrJacky
10-12-2008, 01:54 PM
Antenna or no antenna (visible or not visible), just believe that it works. :D
No way. It concerns my lifelong happiness! ;)

phuque99
10-12-2008, 02:53 PM
I guess for you buy one with the most number of antennas and most tua kee antenna. Important thing is you come home, see liao also happy.

MrJacky
11-12-2008, 04:57 AM
I guess for you buy one with the most number of antennas and most tua kee antenna. Important thing is you come home, see liao also happy.
If performance is not up to standard I won't be happy. :(

albertchng
11-12-2008, 08:51 AM

If performance is not up to standard I won't be happy. :(

If MrJacky cant find his broke-back partner, he can use the "tua kee" antenna... =:p

MrJacky
11-12-2008, 09:02 AM
If MrJacky cant find his broke-back partner, he can use the "tua kee" antenna... =:p
No I got the 2WIRE to fall back on.

Then pester you if it cock up for me. :)

MrJacky
14-12-2008, 03:53 AM
If my wireless card is Wireless-G, will it work on a Wireless-N router?

Supposing I got a Wireless-N card and I have a Wireless-N router, is it possible to use Wireless-G without doing any modification to the settings on the router?

liangtam
14-12-2008, 03:56 AM
If my wireless card is Wireless-G, will it work on a Wireless-N router?

Supposing I got a Wireless-N card and I have a Wireless-N router, is it possible to use Wireless-G without doing any modification to the settings on the router?

It works la
You should do search urself...

MrJacky
14-12-2008, 11:23 AM
It works la
You should do search urself...
Yea I managed to search for the answer for the first question.

I'm puzzled about the second.

"Supposing I got a Wireless-N card and I have a Wireless-N router, is it possible to use Wireless-G without doing any modification to the settings on the router?"

phuque99
14-12-2008, 06:07 PM
Impossible to answer your question lah, we dunno what router you will end up buying and also dunno what's the default setting out of the box. Therefore modification required depends on what is default out of box.

MrJacky
14-12-2008, 07:55 PM
Impossible to answer your question lah, we dunno what router you will end up buying and also dunno what's the default setting out of the box. Therefore modification required depends on what is default out of box.
Let's suppose the router is in G and N mode.

And I got a Wireless-N wireless adapter. Is it possible to use Wireless-G without touching the router's configuration?

liangtam
14-12-2008, 07:59 PM
Why write G and N if both cant?

phuque99
14-12-2008, 08:44 PM
Lol, self-answered statement question :D

MrJacky
15-12-2008, 04:28 PM
Why write G and N if both cant?
Can't?

I could have sworn they were possible.

So it's either G mode or N mode?

liangtam
15-12-2008, 06:19 PM
Can't?

liangtam
15-12-2008, 06:21 PM
Can't?

G AND N simultaneously.

Does this answers ur question to satisfaction yet?

MrJacky
15-12-2008, 07:02 PM
G AND N simultaneously.

Does this answers ur question to satisfaction yet?
No.

I'm asking if my Wireless-N adapter can get a Wireless-G speed supposing the router can run both simultaneously.

liangtam
15-12-2008, 07:11 PM
No.

I'm asking if my Wireless-N adapter can get a Wireless-G speed supposing the router can run both simultaneously.

If your nominal drinking rate is 300ml /s, u can drink at 300ml /s not?
If someone ask u to drink slower at 54ml /s, u can drink at 54ml /s or notch?

And then if your nominal drinking rate is onli 54ml/s, u can drink at 300ml /s not?

Does tis answers ur qn to satisfaction yet?
PS: I dont think thats what you're asking in the first place, you seems side-tracked...

phuque99
15-12-2008, 07:50 PM
I think TS may not read properly, hahaha

If you run your router in mixed G and N, speed is based on your adapter speed. The same applies for A,B,C,D....Z mode. :D

MrJacky
15-12-2008, 08:31 PM
If your nominal drinking rate is 300ml /s, u can drink at 300ml /s not?
If someone ask u to drink slower at 54ml /s, u can drink at 54ml /s or notch?

And then if your nominal drinking rate is onli 54ml/s, u can drink at 300ml /s not?

Does tis answers ur qn to satisfaction yet?
PS: I dont think thats what you're asking in the first place, you seems side-tracked...
Most of your posts in this forum are quite ambiguous.

phuque99 sort of answered my question.

So if I got a Wireless-N adapter, and I got a router in mixed G and N mode, I will be getting Wireless-N speed?

What I want to know is, can anything be done to make the Wireless-N adapter run at Wireless-G speed?

phuque99
15-12-2008, 08:48 PM
Lazy to answer liao lah ask until so specific, everything will work lah if both sides N speed, hahah.

MrJacky
16-12-2008, 12:45 PM
Lazy to answer liao lah ask until so specific, everything will work lah if both sides N speed, hahah.
Your answer may cause me to spend $100+ odd or save the money.

It's not like in the US where I can just return if I'm not satisfied.

NightFall
16-12-2008, 01:17 PM
MrJacky,

Seems to be a strange requirement that you have for a N adapter to be running at G adapter speed.

In any case, if I am not wrong if you want N to run at G speeds, simply turn off your N wireless at the router, this will force your N adapter to fallback and use the G frequency and hence running at G speeds (Do correct me if I am wrong, anyone)

The only way (I could be wrong) to have a particular wireless node throttled is to have a QOS interface that can limit the bandwidth to a specific IP or MAC and this QOS interface should be in the router itself, but then again not alll routers have this feature.

I hope that helps.

Your answer may cause me to spend $100+ odd or save the money.

It's not like in the US where I can just return if I'm not satisfied.

NightFall
16-12-2008, 01:20 PM
For your reading pleasure.

http://www.networkworld.com/newsletters/wireless/2006/0206wireless1.html?fsrc=rss-wireless