View Full Version : Premiership Transfer News/Rumors
soldado
24-01-2009, 03:04 AM
Villa got two big strikers up front now.
1920_me
24-01-2009, 03:13 PM
Carew is injuried and harewood is not good enough. Heskey is a good signing and provide something different upfront.
Wigan jialat liao, lost Palacios, and now Heskey, Antonio Valencia rumoured to be leaving and Zaki only on loan, high chance he leave as well.
Wryer
24-01-2009, 04:17 PM
That's the reality for 95% of the clubs in Europe and South America. It's the big clubs that are not living in reality.
The gap is deafeningly wide. And is getting wider. Just think about the 200+m package for Kaka, that alone could sustain half the Championship Division in England for at least a season. That simply is incredible.
MoneyHoney
24-01-2009, 04:30 PM
That's the reality for 95% of the clubs in Europe and South America. It's the big clubs that are not living in reality.
The gap is deafeningly wide. And is getting wider. Just think about the 200+m package for Kaka, that alone could sustain half the Championship Division in England for at least a season. That simply is incredible.
what topics are u addressing?
SpikyOyster
24-01-2009, 04:36 PM
I hold a different view, I think BPL is getting more competitive because of all the cash injection into the teams. These investments brought good players into good club. The above average players who used to have a chance to be in the big 3 clubs (Man U, Liverpool and Arsenal, before Chelsea improvement with Russia $$) are now pushed to all the lower position club.
If Man City gets more new star from their rich owners, where do u think the above average players in Man City will go to? That to me is one possible reason why the competition is so tight this year. I can't wait for next league season.
1920_me
24-01-2009, 04:42 PM
I think they need to prevent clubs from over-spending. At the end of the day, all these costs are passed down to us. How do you think the clubs can pay more than 10m for so many average players and pay some crazy wage? It's all coming mostly from the lucrative TV money and the increase seat prices.
UEFA recently talked about limiting spending of the clubs based on their revenue (TV money, Prize money, Gate Receipts) and not adding in the wealth brought by the billionaires. But, that would heavily disadvantage some of the lower clubs, still i think it needs to be done.
Wryer
24-01-2009, 05:04 PM
what topics are u addressing?
RVN's post about Wigan being in a bad position because of the sale of numerous key players. I hold the view that this is the reality for 95% of the clubs in Europe. Only the selected 5% have no such problems.
And the Kaka example shows how bad the situation is.
Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
24-01-2009, 05:25 PM
wait and see babe. Aston Villa vs Chelsea at Villa Park, he might score a hat-trick. quote this thread first if u wan. ill eat all the humble pie in the world ^^
EPL teams should fear whoever MON signs, because this guy literally make players godlike.
I don't see Shorey / Zat Knight / Harewood becoming godlike at all doh.
nottibeans
24-01-2009, 05:38 PM
RVN's post about Wigan being in a bad position because of the sale of numerous key players. I hold the view that this is the reality for 95% of the clubs in Europe. Only the selected 5% have no such problems.
Actually I dun think Wigan tat's bad.. They're smarter than u think..lol They can always dun sell the players if they wanted them so much... they sell becos they got able players to replace them.. they sign Mido on loan to replace Heskey..besides they still got Camara even if they lost Zaki.. For Valencia, they got Jason Koumas & De Ridder & Kapo to replace him anytime.. For replacing Palacios.. they already got the veteran Michael Brown.. if needed Scharner can play in centre midfield too. I think they are getting Ben Watson & Stephen Hunt too..lol
They are just enjoying good returns on their investments & developing their players.. If there are no big clubs & filthy rich clubs, then who will buy Palacios for 14m? :D
MoneyHoney
24-01-2009, 05:55 PM
milan was never in any financial crisis right?
just that 107m was too much for anybody to resist.
Deunamist
24-01-2009, 07:38 PM
Milan is in financial crisis. but it's not very serious.
poring24
24-01-2009, 10:59 PM
Certainly Shevchenko is! Or Claudio Pizarro!
poring24
24-01-2009, 11:00 PM
Jose may move for Drogba and Jenas
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=612394&sec=transfers&cc=4716
wtf....Jenas????
MoneyHoney
24-01-2009, 11:41 PM
Certainly Shevchenko is! Or Claudio Pizarro!
shevchenko was made godlike by MON?
What the hell has Pizarro and Godlike have in common?
Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
25-01-2009, 04:56 AM
shevchenko was made godlike by MON?
What the hell has Pizarro and Godlike have in common?
haha poring24 is just trying too hard to wind me up when it is not even logical / related
ahgohgoh
25-01-2009, 08:19 AM
is heskey a super underrated player or what....
i think if you see his statistics, he's a very effective player...
but if heskey goes there, what about carew? both very similar players
MoneyHoney
25-01-2009, 09:24 AM
carew currently injured. think of the signing of heskey as some kind of replacement.
but still i think heskey>carew.
heskey very hardworking it seems.
skweam
25-01-2009, 09:33 AM
godlike :)
anyway, we might see Owen either by the end of this window, or after this season finish. wtf man, MICHAEL OWEN!
nam314
25-01-2009, 12:30 PM
godlike :)
anyway, we might see Owen either by the end of this window, or after this season finish. wtf man, MICHAEL OWEN!
lols...Aston villa ish aiming for an all England squad izit:eek:
Sky_High
25-01-2009, 12:45 PM
Carew apparently had a row with MON earlier in the season, but he's injured now. But a bit of depth wouldn't hurt much. Imagine having to deal with Heskey and Carew in attack! :eek:
poring24
25-01-2009, 01:06 PM
Carew apparently had a row with MON earlier in the season, but he's injured now. But a bit of depth wouldn't hurt much. Imagine having to deal with Heskey and Carew in attack! :eek:
But then Villa will need to field 3 Ashley Youngs because the 2 frontmen aren't exactly clinical finishers :o
Sky_High
25-01-2009, 01:12 PM
But then Villa will need to field 3 Ashley Youngs because the 2 frontmen aren't exactly clinical finishers :o
---Heskey--Carew--
Young-Barry-Petrov-Ablongahor/Milner
Not too bad isn't it?
Jian19
25-01-2009, 01:37 PM
they are not :crazy:
they are from trash to decent player :)
spykid
25-01-2009, 01:39 PM
Carew has a better touch than Heskey. You see Carew big big size but his ball control is quite exquisite. Heskey's a good shrewd signing, both Young and Gabby can play off either one easily.
Jian19
25-01-2009, 01:39 PM
---Heskey--Carew--
Young-Barry-Petrov-Ablongahor/Milner
Not too bad isn't it?
---Heskey--Agbonlahor--
Young-Barry-Petrov-Milner
Carew can sub with heskey :crazy:
skweam
25-01-2009, 02:02 PM
hard to believe, but what happened was Carew went to a lap dance bar i think a day before(or after, have to recheck) Ajax game ahahahahahah
he sat out next game, but the game after that he played. scored 2 goals. den went out injured. all is forgiven i think. carew is too lovable la, lolz
skweam
25-01-2009, 02:04 PM
lols...Aston villa ish aiming for an all England squad izit:eek:
haha, dunno man
http://www.astonvilla.vitalfootball.co.uk/article.asp?a=750043
O’Neill said: 'I’m not saying that I will move for Owen in the summer — I’ve not looked at anything at that remote a distance. But that’s not to say Michael Owen is not a terrific player. We wait to see. Anything is possible. Kaka is a possibility! We want to try to compete at this level but what’s happening in the future? I have no idea.'
cheekycheeky old man hahha
Carnage
25-01-2009, 02:20 PM
Imagine 2 battering rams charging towards your defense. :eek:
poring24
25-01-2009, 02:41 PM
Carew is quite a funny guy actually :s13:
<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/jiG707bVfLA&hl=en&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/jiG707bVfLA&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>
nottibeans
25-01-2009, 07:59 PM
Wah now Spurs also want Kenwyne Jones... Me ish beri scared he go Villa & now SPurs
lyfeforce
25-01-2009, 10:15 PM
This thread is about transfers. Please keep the discussion to those. Stop going off-topic.
vasilli07
26-01-2009, 08:19 PM
The best reserve gk signs for Spurs...Carlos Cudicini (http://www.chelseafc.com/page/LatestNews/0,,10268~1533052,00.html)
MoneyHoney
26-01-2009, 09:14 PM
The best reserve gk signs for Spurs...Carlos Cudicini (http://www.chelseafc.com/page/LatestNews/0,,10268~1533052,00.html)
our Steve Harper oso zai leh.
1920_me
26-01-2009, 09:27 PM
Tottenham Hotspur have signed Chelsea goalkeeper Carlo Cudicini on a free transfer and are also close to wrapping up a deal for ex-Spurs defender Pascal Chimbonda.
Cudicini, who is out of contract in the summer, had given serious thought to the move after Tottenham made an official approach and is believed to have been given the security of a contract of at least 18 months.
Harry Redknapp, the Tottenham manager, is desperate for experienced goalkeeping cover after loaning out César Sánchez to Valencia and with doubts over the suitability of Ben Alnwick.
Meanwhile, Sunderland defender Pascal Chimbonda is on his way back to Tottenham after just six months on Wearside.
It is understood that the 29-year-old Frenchman is having a medical and holding talks with his former club on Monday after the Black Cats agreed to let him go.
A Chimbonda deal would be something of a strange move for Tottenham, having already recruited three right-backs at the cost of over £20m in Alan Hutton, Vedran Corluka and Chris Gunter.
Cumzilla
26-01-2009, 09:37 PM
Carew is quite a funny guy actually :s13:
<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/jiG707bVfLA&hl=en&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/jiG707bVfLA&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>
lol, can win best actor award :s13:
Theatre_of_Dreams
26-01-2009, 11:56 PM
this transfer season is werid...
all the ex spurs players are going back to spurs..
Wryer
27-01-2009, 12:15 AM
That's what chopping and changing of managers brings you. Makes the whole thing look like a joke really.
I read in an Arsenal forum that Shay Given has gone to Man C. New C and Man C fans, is it true?
Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
27-01-2009, 12:17 AM
Spurs 2nd biggest Spender of the Transfer Market Behind man U ? I already disregard Man C as they are buying groceries not spending lol.
Biggest Winner Of The Transfer Market - Portsmouth
24 million for diarra and Same goes for Defoe that equal to 48 million and profits is around 30 million pound after minus their transfer fee to Portsmouth
vasilli07
27-01-2009, 12:23 AM
Chimbonda is back...:eek::s8:
"I've signed him and he's coming here," Redknapp said.
"The deal should have been done in the morning but it's over-run the deadline for him to play against Stoke.
"It was done 15 minutes too late which was disappointing. Otherwise he would have been available."http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11661_4852399,00.html
Decent move as this will allow Corluka will move into the centre. We just need another target man striker and if we still have enough funds, a left midfielder.
Wryer
27-01-2009, 12:27 AM
Spurs 2nd biggest Spender of the Transfer Market Behind man U ?
Biggest Winner Of The Transfer Market - Portsmouth
24 million for diarra and Same goes for Defoe that equal to 48 million and profits is around 30 million pound after minus their transfer fee to Portsmouth
6m from Diarra's fees went to Arsenal.
Whether its a good business or not depends on how Pompey copes without them.
Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
27-01-2009, 12:37 AM
6m from Diarra's fees went to Arsenal.
Whether its a good business or not depends on how Pompey copes without them.
That is like 25% of it ~ Of course they got more than capable players that is able to replace them.
Utaka is back hope to see him in regular 1st team action soon and Nugent grab his first premier league goal recently.
No Surprise that Diarra went to a big club eventually cause I knew that he is a good player ever since he is at Chelsea If Not For Makelele cementing his DM position At Stamford Bridge he could have play for us for many years. We got too many world class central midfielders
Wryer
27-01-2009, 12:38 AM
of course they got more than capable players that is able to replace them.
Well, my crystal ball probably works less better than yours.
skweam
27-01-2009, 12:44 AM
Well, my crystal ball probably works less better than yours.
oh man, im loving u more and more :D
Wryer
27-01-2009, 12:49 AM
oh man, im loving u more and more :D
:s34::love:
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11661_4852399,00.html
Decent move as this will allow Corluka will move into the centre. We just need another target man striker and if we still have enough funds, a left midfielder.
REDKNAPP SIGNALS INTEREST IN KEANE (http://www.football365.com/story/0,17033,8652_4852680,00.html)
skweam
27-01-2009, 01:51 AM
haha, someone said this on another forum
'Arry Rednose has expressed an interest in Keane returning to WHL. looks like he is trying to sign all the players Spuds have sold. I think he is also trying to sign Teddy Sherringham, Jimmy Greaves and Danny Blanchflower.
ahahahahahah
TrueBeliever_jh
27-01-2009, 02:14 AM
wtf... an old school reunion party happening in white hart lane?:s22:
TrueBeliever_jh
27-01-2009, 09:24 AM
Redknapp offers Keane Anfield escape route
By Soccernet staff
January 26, 2009
* Comment
* Email
* Print
Liverpool's out of favour striker Robbie Keane has been offered an escape route by Tottenham Hotspur manager Harry Redknapp.
GettyImages
Robbie Keane and Rafa Benitez: Problems?
The £20.3m Anfield misfit left White Hart Lane in the summer but has struggled to make his impact felt at Liverpool and reportedly boycotted Sunday's 1-1 draw with Everton following a bust-up with Rafa Benitez.
Redknapp has already brought Pascal Chimbonda and Jermaine Defoe back to Tottenham during the January transfer window and the Spurs boss has praised Keane's "fantastic" qualities as he sounds out Liverpool about a possible sale.
"As a player and a person I have a lot of time for Robbie Keane," Redknapp said. "I think he's fantastic."
"I wouldn't sit here and say I wouldn't like to have Robbie Keane at my football club, I'd be a liar, but he belongs to Liverpool so it is not an option unfortunately," Redknapp added.
While the Tottenham manager's comments may also appear to rule out an imminent approach for the Republic of Ireland international, he made similar statements whilst testing Portsmouth's resolve over the sale of Defoe.
And as with that transfer, the original sale of the player could work in Tottenham's favour. Spurs are likely to offer Liverpool a small sum and waive the £10m outstanding balance of Keane's summer sale.
Boyhood Liverpool fan Keane could be receptive to a move back to White Hart Lane as Benitez has failed to provide regular first team football at Anfield and with Fernando Torres return to fitness things came to ahead prior to the Merseyside derby when Keane's place on the bench was taken by teenage striker David Ngog.
Tottenham can expect a challenge for the 28-year-old's signature from Manchester City.
Man City also wan now:s22:
Kennedy
27-01-2009, 09:37 AM
wtf... an old school reunion party happening in white hart lane?:s22:
first defoe, then chimboda, now is Keane, will it be Berbatov next? u think SAF would release him for the reunion at Tottenham? :D
I feel sorry for Darren Bent. He must have thought he have seen the last of Defoe, Keane. Then suddenly all of them are coming back. WTF? Bent must be asking.
lyfeforce
27-01-2009, 09:48 AM
Man City also wan now:s22:
Man City seems to want everyone.
first defoe, then chimboda, now is Keane, will it be Berbatov next? u think SAF would release him for the reunion at Tottenham? :D
I feel sorry for Darren Bent. He must have thought he have seen the last of Defoe, Keane. Then suddenly all of them are coming back. WTF? Bent must be asking.
I don't think SAF will let Berbatov. He's too good a player to let go.
Bent will be wishing, "I hope Harry plays 4-2-4". :P
MoneyHoney
27-01-2009, 10:17 AM
defoe, bent and keane rotation system seems ok
vasilli07
27-01-2009, 10:48 AM
Bent is a 1 dimensional player. He cannot create, don't run into channels and don't drop deep. If you don't provide him a goal scoring chance, he is pretty much useless. The faster we sell him, the better.
Sky_High
27-01-2009, 12:05 PM
Spurs - :s13::s13::s13::s13:
skweam
27-01-2009, 12:15 PM
Spurs - :s13::s13::s13::s13:
we shouldnt be laughing at spurs IMO. infact we should fear them. fear harry as he is bringing in HIS players.
the current players are good, but they dun match what harry wants. the players he is bringing in might be sub-par/notworldclass/notfamous/blablabla, but in his eyes, theyre good where he wants them to be.
i respect such managers because they love to prove people wrong. and he will transfer such believe to his team which will make them feel like supermen. look at sunderland under roy keane ****ing up the rest of the championship teams going from relegation to win the league. they were sub-par, but they were high on self believe.
if they stay up this season, which im sure they will, next season they will be challenging for top4.
Kennedy
27-01-2009, 12:53 PM
if they stay up this season, which im sure they will, next season they will be challenging for top4.
I don't want Tottenham to go down too. They are a funny club. I will miss them.
Whom should we laugh at if Keane really went back to spurs. Tottenham for buying back every player whom they sold 6 months ago or Liverpool for discarding a 20 million player whom they bought six months ago.
don't think Harry Redknapp can succeed at Tottenham. He's a journeyman manager. Like Jol and Ramos, he's probably be gone 10 games into the next season.
Sky_High
27-01-2009, 01:04 PM
next season they will be challenging for top4.
we shall see. :)
Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
27-01-2009, 02:02 PM
Seriously doubt so Aston Villa, Everton and Man C next season must make more investment to challange top 4.
spykid
27-01-2009, 02:20 PM
This is why i like watching Spurs on and off the pitch. Now where's the dossier? :s13:
yellowsubmarine
27-01-2009, 03:11 PM
I hear this EVERY year until it becomes so stale. It's like watching Jack Neo's movie again and again and again....
I'm pretty sure Everton and Villa will be the ones really giving the Big 4 a REAL fight. Not just some paper talk.
ahgohgoh
27-01-2009, 03:16 PM
I hear this EVERY year until it becomes so stale. It's like watching Jack Neo's movie again and again and again....
I'm pretty sure Everton and Villa will be the ones really giving the Big 4 a REAL fight. Not just some paper talk.
bring glenn hoddle back... i mean seriously... after 15 years of watching football... i think spurs played the best under hoddle... 3-5-2... sexy...
yellowsubmarine
27-01-2009, 03:23 PM
bring glenn hoddle back... i mean seriously... after 15 years of watching football... i think spurs played the best under hoddle... 3-5-2... sexy...
i thought "sexy football" only applies to Ruud Gullit's Newcastle. Hee.. :D
idiort
27-01-2009, 04:54 PM
wah chimkbonda go back spurs.. wtf
skweam
27-01-2009, 06:51 PM
reason i said it is because the manager is harry redknapp. and this is my first time saying spurs will challenge for top4, rofl. i respect that guy. the way he transformed portsmouth was scary
Wryer
27-01-2009, 07:20 PM
OT posts deleted. Stick to topic.
poring24
27-01-2009, 07:24 PM
Bolton make shock move £12m for Veloso
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=613229&sec=transfers&cc=4716
Even though I don't support Arsenal....What are they waiting for?(!!!!!!!)
vasilli07
27-01-2009, 08:26 PM
Bolton make shock move £12m for Veloso
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=613229&sec=transfers&cc=4716
Even though I don't support Arsenal....What are they waiting for?(!!!!!!!)
Veloso himself already rejected it on sporting lisbon website (http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11661_4847967,00.html).
Cumzilla
27-01-2009, 08:48 PM
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11661_4852399,00.html
I feel Corluka best position is DM, he played for a few games in that position at mancity last season and was very impressive, a bit like carrick, good and accurate passing but hes not the hard tackling type. He played a few games at centreback too for man city, not very good if u ask me, but i think he still prefers RB which is his natural positon for Croatia
Kennedy
27-01-2009, 08:49 PM
reason i said it is because the manager is harry redknapp. and this is my first time saying spurs will challenge for top4, rofl. i respect that guy. the way he transformed portsmouth was scary
IMO, Harry Redknapp is a journeyman manager.
His Portsmouth was a decent side but not good.
think Harry is starting to realize the difficult task he has at Tottenham, the good early days are over, spurs are in a real relegation battle and they might go down.
vasilli07
27-01-2009, 09:11 PM
I feel Corluka best position is DM, he played for a few games in that position at mancity last season and was very impressive, a bit like carrick, good and accurate passing but hes not the hard tackling type. He played a few games at centreback too for man city, not very good if u ask me, but i think he still prefers RB which is his natural positon for Croatia
The problem is that he is not fast enough. When Bentley plays, by the time he joins the attack, Bentley already try a deep cross and lose the possession. While if Lennon plays, it's even worse becoz Lennon is super fast. Lennon will not try to wait for him. He will try to beat the man with his pace. If you look at how portsmouth play, they have quick fullbacks who can join in the attack fast.
Cumzilla
27-01-2009, 09:46 PM
The problem is that he is not fast enough. When Bentley plays, by the time he joins the attack, Bentley already try a deep cross and lose the possession. While if Lennon plays, it's even worse becoz Lennon is super fast. Lennon will not try to wait for him. He will try to beat the man with his pace. If you look at how portsmouth play, they have quick fullbacks who can join in the attack fast.
yes u r right, hes quite slow, when he was at mancity, many viewed him as being too tall to be a RB, not only portsmouth, the teams who are successful at the top all have quick fullbacks that attack and defend well
idiort
28-01-2009, 12:39 AM
didnt know corluka slow.. lol
huddlestone also immobile
Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
28-01-2009, 02:52 AM
Corluka can play Center Defence for Injury Prone King And Woodgate In And Out of the treatment room several times already.
Alan Hutton is a very good right back and also they sign Chimbonda to cover for him since he had a serious injury.
Interesting to See Hutton Or Chimbonda play right back next season. And Bale can't defend he should play Left Winger Role.
idiort
28-01-2009, 03:22 AM
still got chris gunter for right back.. isit 8mil pound last time.. cant remember.. at the moment king and woodgate are pretty fit
at defence still got gilberto signed in jan 2008 from herta berlin
then left back got bale and ekotto but i think both sucks at the moment.. central also got rocha
so got abt 11 defenders plus few more others
midfield,
1. bentley
2. zokora
3. jenas
4. modric
5. lennon
6. huddlestone
7. o hara
8. palacios
and a few more others like taarabt
strikers,a whopping 5....
1.darren bent
2.jermain defoe
3. pacylucehnko
4. dos santos
5. frazer campbell
and rumoured signing kewyne jones from sunderland...
crazy,so many sia..
vasilli07
28-01-2009, 04:27 AM
still got chris gunter for right back.. isit 8mil pound last time.. cant remember.. at the moment king and woodgate are pretty fit
It's Hutton...who is out till the end of the season...
King is out, cannot always depend on a player who can play 1 week and rest the next...
at defence still got gilberto signed in jan 2008 from herta berlin
gilberto already mentioned he doesn't want to play in england anymore, even told uncle harry that he was happy that he was subbed in the last game he played for us...a uefa cup game where his mistake let a goal in...
then left back got bale and ekotto but i think both sucks at the moment.. central also got rocha
rocha got no future...
so got abt 11 defenders plus few more others
midfield,
1. bentley
2. zokora
3. jenas
4. modric
5. lennon
6. huddlestone - may have to work harder if he want so make it in the bpl...
7. o hara
8. palacios
and a few more others like taarabt
strikers,a whopping 5....
1.darren bent - no future after uncle harry said his missus can do better than him
2.jermain defoe
3. pacylucehnko
4. dos santos - no future, ramos signing...
5. frazer campbell - man utd player
and rumoured signing kewyne jones from sunderland...
already signed an extension with sunderland today...
crazy,so many sia..
That's it....:s8:
idiort
28-01-2009, 04:31 AM
haha.. i see i see.. lots players wan to leave and leaving sia
Jian19
28-01-2009, 01:46 PM
Santos not bad one leh
but he not use to spurs/english style of playing ba
in Barca no need def so much lar, in england need to run around so much :s13:
idiort
28-01-2009, 01:58 PM
i dun mind santos go aston,hos prospect but sure bloody ex.. so no point.. heskey good signing..
vasilli07
29-01-2009, 12:35 PM
Matt Derbyshire Move From Blackburn Rovers To Olympiakos Confirmed
http://www.goal.com/en/news/742/blackburn/2009/01/28/1082387/matt-derbyshire-move-from-blackburn-rovers-to-olympiakos-confirm
Pretty interesting piece of news...i thought Derbyshire was progressing quite well in the past 2 seasons after he was promoted to the senior side. How come he is going out on loan or even a deal to cardiff?
poring24
29-01-2009, 03:19 PM
big sam is going to buy pogrebnyak....
Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
29-01-2009, 03:24 PM
http://www.sport.co.uk/news/Football/13294/Chelsea_keep_tabs_on_Torres.aspx
Luiz Felipe Scolari reportedly had scouts watch Argentine under-20 international midfielder Juan Manuel Torres as his side San Lorenzo took on Boca Juniors in their December play-off for the Argentine championship.
Reports in the Argentine press have suggested that the versatile 23-year-old could now make a switch to West London this month following the conclusion of the Primera Division.
Torres made his debut for Racing Club in 2002 at the age of 16 before transferring to San Lorenzo in 2007. A tough tackling midfielder, the player tends to shield the defensive quartet and is known for his high energy levels and combativeness.
He shot to prominence in his homeland as part of the Argentina Under-20 side that won the FIFA World Youth Championship alongside the likes of Barcelona’s Lionel Messi and Manchester City’s Pablo Zabaleta.
spykid
29-01-2009, 04:10 PM
Looks like Santa Cruz out, this Russian bloke in.
I still waiting for Arshavin to go to Arsenal.
othniel80
29-01-2009, 04:24 PM
by the way, anyone anticipating Man City will do another big swoop at the last hour like they did last year when the transfer window close?
skweam
29-01-2009, 10:46 PM
by the way, anyone anticipating Man City will do another big swoop at the last hour like they did last year when the transfer window close?
not a chance. hughes is buying his own players, robinho wasnt his to begin with.
i pity him la, really puppet. lucky the kaka crap didnt go thru.
Wryer
29-01-2009, 10:48 PM
Probably Santa Cruz.
vasilli07
29-01-2009, 10:49 PM
maybe santa cruz to man city...although i'm hoping spurs can sign him instead...:s13:
Carnage
30-01-2009, 01:29 AM
Arshavin? :s11:
Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
30-01-2009, 08:17 AM
From The Times
January 30, 2009
Chelsea and City join chase for Tevez
Maradona has urged Tevez to join Inter Milan
Chelsea and Manchester City are ready to pounce for Carlos Tevez if he does not tie up a permanent deal at Old Trafford
Oliver Kay, Football Correspondent, and James Ducker
Chelsea and Manchester City will join Real Madrid in the scramble for the services of Carlos Tévez if the Manchester United forward prices himself out of a long-term contract at Old Trafford.
United are in negotiations to sign Tévez on a permanent basis once their two-year lease arrangement expires in June, but progress has been awkward, with Kia Joorabchian, head of the companies that own the player’s economic rights, maintaining that they must pay a fee of £22 million in addition to the downpayments of about £10 million that have already been made and a salary well in excess of £100,000 a week. Other clubs have been alerted to the impasse and while Real’s interest is well-known, Chelsea and City have also made clear their desire to be kept informed of developments.
The Argentina forward has expressed a preference to stay with United but, as well as the financial complications, he has been frustrated at times this season by his demotion to third choice behind Dimitar Berbatov and Wayne Rooney. Madrid would be his preferred destination if he were to leave United, but Chelsea and City would offer alternatives.
City officials have discussed the feasibility of such a coup with Mark Hughes, the manager, since the failed bid to sign Kaká, the Brazil forward, from AC Milan this month. The fee would be £32 million, but Chelsea appear to be willing to match that valuation in the summer while also bidding to sign Luis Fabiano, the Brazil forward, from Seville.
City are hoping to make one last, big splash in the January transfer window as Hughes prepares to pursue an alternative striker unless Blackburn Rovers accept the club’s final £18.5 million offer for Roque Santa Cruz. While Shay Given, the Newcastle United goalkeeper, moved to break the deadlock over his proposed switch to City by submitting a transfer request yesterday, Hughes’s chief concern is signing another striker. Didier Drogba’s name has been discussed, although it is unclear how prominently the Chelsea striker figures in Hughes’s thoughts or whether the London club would be prepared to sell with little time to find a suitable replacement.
City are eager to sign Santa Cruz — the latest bid was their fifth for the Paraguay striker in the past six months — but Blackburn remain reluctant sellers. Tottenham Hotspur have expressed an interest, but they believe City are more likely to meet Blackburn’s £22 million valuation.
Sam Allardyce, the Blackburn manager, wants to keep Santa Cruz, mindful that he will be a potent weapon in their relegation battle, but that has not stopped him lodging a £1.5 million bid with Sunderland for El-Hadji Diouf, the forward who played under him at Bolton Wanderers.
City’s pursuit of Given is not without its problems, either, but the goalkeeper’s desire to move may ultimately help to force through a deal. However, Newcastle say that any transfer fee will have to be more than the £6 million offer made by City that Joe Kinnear, the manager, described as “derisory”.
Newcastle are holding out for at least £8 million, but Given, who withdrew from Kinnear’s squad before the 2-1 defeat by City on Wednesday evening, hopes that his transfer request will speed up the process. Newcastle, meanwhile, have reacted to the loss of Joey Barton to a foot injury by submitting a £4.5 million bid for Kevin Nolan, the Bolton midfield player, and hope that he will move to St James’ Park before the transfer window closes on Monday evening.
croc1977
30-01-2009, 09:46 PM
Published: Today
NEWCASTLE have wrapped up the £4million signing of Kevin Nolan.
Bolton accepted a bid from Toon boss Joe Kinnear yesterday, with the midfielder travelling to the north-east to discuss personal terms and have a medical today.
And now Nolan, 26, has put pen to paper on a four-and-a-half-year deal at St James' Park.
Nolan, who made 323 appearances for Bolton since 1999, will immediately come in for Joey Barton, who has been ruled out for 10 weeks with a broken foot.
The move has left Gary Megson frustrated, with the Bolton boss reluctant to discuss the deal at his weekly press conference.
He said: “For any more details you will have to go to the press office of the football club and they will let you know what we’re doing,” said the clearly-annoyed manager.
“That’s as far as I’m going to go with it.”
Kinnear admitted he was delighted to have brought in a much-needed reinforcement for his midfield.
He said: “When I heard there was a chance of getting Kevin I was determined we would pull out all of the stops to bring him here.
“He’s a player I think our fans will love. He’s a real inspirational player and a great character. He’s the sort of lad who never knows when he is beaten.
“He’s got a good eye for goal and has got bags of Premier League experience.
“I think he is going to be a very valuable player for us and someone who can help us climb back up the table.”
Sause :The SUN
dreamer75
30-01-2009, 10:03 PM
Breaking News: El Hadji Diouf Signs For Blackburn Rovers
The Senegalese forward has left Sunderland to link up once more with 'Big Sam' Allardyce....
http://www.goal.com/en/news/8/main/2009/01/30/1085279/breaking-news-el-hadji-diouf-signs-for-blackburn-rovers
vasilli07
30-01-2009, 10:09 PM
Arsenal Have Successfully Applied For Andrei Arshavin's Work Permit :eek:
http://www.goal.com/en/news/1712/arsenal/2009/01/30/1085133/breaking-news-arsenal-have-successfully-applied-for-andrei-arsha
Will this deal finally go through? :s8:
dreamer75
30-01-2009, 10:13 PM
Arsenal Have Successfully Applied For Andrei Arshavin's Work Permit :eek:
http://www.goal.com/en/news/1712/arsenal/2009/01/30/1085133/breaking-news-arsenal-have-successfully-applied-for-andrei-arsha
Will this deal finally go through? :s8:
how much is he valued at?
vasilli07
30-01-2009, 10:16 PM
how much is he valued at?
there are contradicting reports...some say the fee agreed, some say not...some say only left personal terms...it's such a messy deal...:s22:
dreamer75
30-01-2009, 10:18 PM
there are contradicting reports...some say the fee agreed, some say not...some say only left personal terms...it's such a messy deal...:s22:
hehe...nvm...we just sit back and wit for the sage to end. :D
vasilli07
30-01-2009, 10:34 PM
Arsene - No Arshavin permit
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11661_4874138,00.html
The deal just took another turn...:s22:
skweam
31-01-2009, 07:46 AM
**** Arshavin La
Dun Even Get Him Pleaseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
xavier4
31-01-2009, 10:58 AM
wenger say will get 2 players.. =/ now oso haven't get.. last day le..
budden the arshavin saga realli draggy..
wenger got for veloso la ! u rather bolton get him meh?
xavier4
31-01-2009, 11:02 AM
http://www.sport.co.uk/news/Football/13294/Chelsea_keep_tabs_on_Torres.aspx
Luiz Felipe Scolari reportedly had scouts watch Argentine under-20 international midfielder Juan Manuel Torres as his side San Lorenzo took on Boca Juniors in their December play-off for the Argentine championship.
Reports in the Argentine press have suggested that the versatile 23-year-old could now make a switch to West London this month following the conclusion of the Primera Division.
Torres made his debut for Racing Club in 2002 at the age of 16 before transferring to San Lorenzo in 2007. A tough tackling midfielder, the player tends to shield the defensive quartet and is known for his high energy levels and combativeness.
He shot to prominence in his homeland as part of the Argentina Under-20 side that won the FIFA World Youth Championship alongside the likes of Barcelona’s Lionel Messi and Manchester City’s Pablo Zabaleta.
scare me -.- was ur title was like keeping tab on torres.. i think mostly pple will think tat its fernando torres lololol.. same as tat 'cech' from west brom tat wanna quit west brom.. same names sia.. got my attention lol
ahgohgoh
31-01-2009, 11:05 AM
Fulham confirm interest in Derby's Barnes
By Soccernet staff
January 30, 2009
Fulham have confirmed that they hope to sign winger Giles Barnes from Derby County as they seek to add reinforcements to cover for the departure of another midfielder.
no_source
Giles Barnes: One of Derby's few star players during their Premier League season.
The 20-year-old scored a brace at Old Trafford in the Carling Cup semi-final defeat by Manchester United last week and now looks set to leave Pride Park.
The Mirror report that Fulham boss Roy Hodgson is keen to take Barnes on loan until the end of the season with the possibility of a permanent £2m move in the summer.
Fulham are looking to add to their midfield following last week's departure of Jimmy Bullard's £5m transfer to Hull City and Leon Andreasen's return to German Bundesliga club Hannover for personal reasons.
''We're talking to Giles Barnes about a loan move,'' said Hodgson. ''Leon Andreasen wants to go back to the Bundesliga for family reasons and we've had a good offer from Hannover.
''Letting him go is the right thing to do but it leaves a gap in the squad.''
Derby boss Nigel Clough said: ''Giles has made it clear that he wants to play in the Premier League again and this is a great opportunity for him to do that. It's something that came up on Thursday and I am comfortable to give the player the chance to speak to them.
''To be honest, it is a very good deal for all parties involved and I wouldn't have agreed to it if I didn't believe it was in the best interests of Derby County. Giles is a terrific lad with a big future ahead of him and we wish him well if the deal goes ahead.''
Barnes played for Derby in last season's ill-fated Premier League campaign but never played in a winning side for the Rams, although the side only won one league game in a dire campaign.
Clough also confirmed the club are close to signing a striker.
The Rams have been linked with an approach for Motherwell's Chris Porter and, while Clough would not confirm the identity of his target, he is confident of adding to his squad.
He said: ''We are also looking to add to the squad at the moment and we are hoping to get a striker in. The chairman is dealing with it but we hope it will be a very good piece of business if we can get it concluded.''
what you all think of this player? scored a very good freekick against man utd... he's too good for the championship IMO...
spykid
31-01-2009, 11:27 AM
Chris Eagles standard. Very good in the Championship, will probably get found out a little in the Premier League.
Wryer
31-01-2009, 03:31 PM
Defoe's metatarsal woe leaves Spurs boss Redknapp in a transfer window panic
By NEIL ASHTON
Last updated at 10:29 PM on 30th January 2009
Jermain Defoe could miss much of Tottenham’s fight for Premier League survival after suffering a suspected fractured metatarsal in a training ground challenge ahead of Saturday’s clash at Bolton.
The £15.75million England striker, who has played only five times since his return to White Hart Lane from Portsmouth earlier this month, will be a heartbroken absentee from the Carling Cup Final against Manchester United at Wembley on March 1.
Defoe, 26, had scored three goals since teaming up again with manager Harry Redknapp, but he is unlikely to play until late March at the earliest after suffering the dramatic setback on Thursday morning.
The injury will force Redknapp, who is desperately trying to lead his team away from a Barclays Premier League relegation struggle, to sign another striker before the transfer window closes on Monday at 5pm.
But the absence of a player whose pace and finishing power had already brought rewards leaves a huge gap in the Tottenham team.
Lyon striker Fred was due for talks earlier this week with Redknapp but the Brazilian’s prospects of a move were shelved because of potential problems over a work permit and his personal terms.
Other options include an attempt to re-sign unsettled Robbie Keane, who Spurs sold to Liverpool for £20m last July, or an audacious move for Blackburn’s £20m-rated striker Roque Santa Cruz, who is also wanted by Manchester City.
Angry Anfield boss Rafa Benitez has warned Redknapp to stop trying to lure Keane back to London without making an official approach.
He said: ‘We’ve told Spurs we’re not happy with their manager’s comments about Robbie.
'We were very, very correct when we signed him, even though Spurs were complaining.
Now we have this situation to deal with. They have to make an official offer and we will say yes or no.
'We have not decided yet whether we’ll take this further — it depends on their response.’
Spurs hoped Defoe’s goals would keep them away from trouble, but with Darren Bent suffering a loss of form, Roman Pavlyuchenko must shoulder the burden.
Defoe missed last year’s Carling Cup Final triumph over Chelsea because he had been sold to Redknapp’s Pompey by former Spurs boss Juande Ramos.
He was also a frustrated bystander when Portsmouth won the FA Cup because he was cup-tied.
He hoped to make up for both disappointments against United, until he limped out of training.
Although Defoe and Redknapp at first believed the injury was not serious, a scan showed the possibility of a fractured metatarsal.
If the swelling subsides, Defoe will have an MRI scan at their Chigwell training centre on Saturday, but Spurs fear he will miss the run-in.
Redknapp toyed with various formations in training and used a 4-5-1 on Friday, with Pavlyuchenko as the lone striker.
Redknapp will be able to shoe-horn Wilson Palacios, making his debut at the Reebok, Didier Zokora and Luka Modric into the same midfield.
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1132750/Defoes-metatarsal-woe-leaves-Spurs-boss-Redknapp-transfer-window-panic.html
Ouch. Worse case scenario really.
vasilli07
01-02-2009, 02:54 PM
Keane on his way to Spurs
Robbie Keane has been left out of Liverpool's squad for today's crucial Premier League game with Chelsea, with reports last night suggesting that the Irish captain has already re-signed for Spurs.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/keane-on-his-way-to-spurs-1622907.html
PLEASE SAY NO TO KEANE, PLEASE!!! :mad:
He can just rot in his 'boyhood' club reserves...
TrueBeliever_jh
01-02-2009, 03:03 PM
Keane on his way to Spurs
Robbie Keane has been left out of Liverpool's squad for today's crucial Premier League game with Chelsea, with reports last night suggesting that the Irish captain has already re-signed for Spurs.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/keane-on-his-way-to-spurs-1622907.html
PLEASE SAY NO TO KEANE, PLEASE!!! :mad:
He can just rot in his 'boyhood' club reserves...
wah... we will wait for the official starting lineup for tonight's match..
your club quite power sia..
Sky_High
01-02-2009, 04:53 PM
I thought robbie keane is a good player and will benefit liverpool, but it wasn't to be.
Berbatov next for Spurs? :D
Wryer
01-02-2009, 05:06 PM
Stay on topic.
idiort
01-02-2009, 07:58 PM
if keane going back spurs,wads the point signing defoe sia.. last time barba and keane kept defoe out...
Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
01-02-2009, 08:14 PM
Keane reportedly link with Spurs and also drop for the match Against Chelsea.
Sky_High
01-02-2009, 08:22 PM
if keane going back spurs,wads the point signing defoe sia.. last time barba and keane kept defoe out...
Many options available for Harry. Pavlyuchenko, Defoe, Keane, Bent. I think Harry will send Campbell back to Man United in the summer.
ahgohgoh
01-02-2009, 08:52 PM
i wonder why rafa is forcing keane out... keane too big headed or what?
i mean... keane cost them 20m right?
idiort
01-02-2009, 08:54 PM
see spurs will pay keane 20mil pound anot lohz.. spurs spend so freaking a lot,still got money spend sia..
maybe trade with dos santos or bent? hahah
vasilli07
01-02-2009, 09:10 PM
i wonder why rafa is forcing keane out... keane too big headed or what?
i mean... keane cost them 20m right?
remember how he force crouch out too? :s8:
Anyway...still NO TO KEANE!!! :s7:
1920_me
01-02-2009, 09:20 PM
He keep emphasing that the CLUB PAID 20m for him...which means, its all due to power struggle with Rick Parry.
From what i have read, it seems that when signing keane, parry promised him that, there would be enough funds to buy barry. But, eventually as it turned out, pool could not afford the 18m price tag.
TrueBeliever_jh
02-02-2009, 08:14 AM
Benitez expects Keane to remain at Anfield
February 1, 2009
Rafael Benitez believes Liverpool are back in the title race and that striker Robbie Keane will still be at the club when the transfer window closes tomorrow.
The Anfield boss saw his side beat Chelsea for the second time this season to leapfrog the visitors back into second spot in the Barclays Premier League.
Liverpool are two points behind Manchester United having played a game more.
Keane's omission from the squad prompted speculation that he was on his way back to Tottenham, while after the match fans held a demonstration against co-owners Tom Hicks and George Gillett, who watched the game from the directors' box.
The Americans will try to revive Benitez's contract talks and attend a board meeting tomorrow.
On the pitch, Fernando Torres scored two late goals, his first since October, with Chelsea's Frank Lampard sent off in the second half, a decision which helped swing the game Liverpool's way.
Benitez said: ''I think Robbie Keane will be here when the transfer window shuts.
''He was left out because we were considering all our good players and who we needed for this game. It was only a decision based on this match and our requirements.
''I have not seen any new offers, I don't know whether the club have had any offers.
''I have spoken to Robbie, he was there in the dressing room beforehand, and we also spoke afterwards and we were just talking about the game.
''He was pleased because the team had won. He is part of my squad, I would expect him to be in my Champions League squad.
''Everything is if, if, if. He is here, he is our player. That's it.''
Chelsea boss Luiz Felipe Scolari was unhappy with the red card for Lampard, who was dismissed for a foul on Xabi Alonso, three years after the Spaniard suffered a broken ankle in a similar incident at Anfield.
But Scolari conceded that Jose Bosingwa could be in trouble with the FA after a bizarre incident near the end when he put his foot into the back of Yossi Benayoun and pushed the Liverpool man off the pitch.
The incident was not punished by referee Mike Riley and the FA are certain to review video evidence if Riley acknowledges he missed the offence.
Now Scolari wants to see video evidence used to clear Lampard as well.
He said: ''Liverpool had more possession overall, but once Frank Lampard was sent off they had more chances and got into our box much more.
''I do not want to criticise the referee, all I ask is that he looks at the video with the men from the FA. If they agree that Lampard did not commit a foul for his red card, maybe they will change the decision.
''What Bosingwa did was not correct, he made a mistake. But if he is punished when the FA look at the video, maybe they will change the decision over Lampard.
''When he was sent off it changed the game for us one million per cent. We lost the middle and did not have the ball.
''They created more chances and had more possession. And they were able to score the goals after that decision.
''I have not spoken to the referee, it was his decision. I hope though that he will look at the TV and see that he should change the decision.''
Rafa's own contract also haven settle yet..:s22:
vasilli07
02-02-2009, 09:11 AM
The window closes at 1am tonight, singapore time...
Will Arsenal finally sign Arshavin?
Will Keane end his short stay at his boyhood club?
Will Man City pull off another big coup? Maybe signing Aguero or Buffon?
vasilli07
02-02-2009, 09:35 AM
Spurs clinch £15m deal for Keane - reports (http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/football/transfers/spurs-clinch-pound15m-deal-for-keane-1523002.html)
:mad::mad::mad:
othniel80
02-02-2009, 10:52 AM
Spurs clinch £15m deal for Keane - reports (http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/football/transfers/spurs-clinch-pound15m-deal-for-keane-1523002.html)
:mad::mad::mad:
Its not a done deal yet right?
SpikyOyster
02-02-2009, 12:25 PM
remember how he force crouch out too? :s8:
Anyway...still NO TO KEANE!!! :s7:
Crouch was forced out?? I think Rafa wanted Crouch to stay but Crouch insist on going as Rafa cannot commit to giving Crouch first team football.
vasilli07
02-02-2009, 12:40 PM
Crouch was forced out?? I think Rafa wanted Crouch to stay but Crouch insist on going as Rafa cannot commit to giving Crouch first team football.
Which player can stand RB man management skills? When Crouch was playing well and gaining some momentum, he got benched...it's the same as how he is treating Keane now. He crushed a player confidence...of coz the player wants out. It's just like irl when 1 is working, he don't get any recognition when he does well and adding to that, he gets ignored by his boss.
Kennedy
02-02-2009, 01:15 PM
Tottenham didn't do this but they should parade their old signings before the match
- Defoe, Pascal Chimbonda, Keane if he sign, and whoever ex players in the last 6 months they sold but coming back on transfer deadline
All of them should hold a banner saying " we are sorry for leaving " and bow to the crowd 3 times.
you wonder who look the more stupid if that deal come off - Liverpool for getting rid of a 20M player six months after signing him. or Tottenham for signing him back.
and if Darren Bent can't leave the club on Monday. He must be asking - WTF, Defoe and now Keane is back!
SpikyOyster
02-02-2009, 01:17 PM
Which player can stand RB man management skills? When Crouch was playing well and gaining some momentum, he got benched...it's the same as how he is treating Keane now. He crushed a player confidence...of coz the player wants out. It's just like irl when 1 is working, he don't get any recognition when he does well and adding to that, he gets ignored by his boss.
Rafa people management skill sux I agree. To say Crouch is forced out is wrong. BTW, Crouch sucks for a whole season before he got better. I do not understand why Rafa did not drop him until the next season when he was playing better. :-(
lyfeforce
02-02-2009, 01:56 PM
Rafa is a tactician but has no clue about managing players, it seems. He only keeps the very essential player happy.
I'm not saying Keane is no good, but frankly, if Keane had converted half the chances he had, I don't think Rafa would have ignored him.
Rafa got a lot of flak for buying Keane (never mind if it wasn't his choice). Now he's getting flak for not starting Keane. Poor dude.
But Redknapp is a good motivator. He may yet get the best out of Keane.
idiort
02-02-2009, 02:12 PM
so arshavin how.. any news
Asakura
02-02-2009, 02:12 PM
Rafa people management skill sux I agree. To say Crouch is forced out is wrong. BTW, Crouch sucks for a whole season before he got better. I do not understand why Rafa did not drop him until the next season when he was playing better. :-(
he tends to drop a player when he's starting to performing...
the commentator was saying keane was scoring 3 goals in 3 previous games that he started?
Asakura
02-02-2009, 02:14 PM
The window closes at 1am tonight, singapore time...
Will Arsenal finally sign Arshavin?
Will Keane end his short stay at his boyhood club?
Will Man City pull off another big coup? Maybe signing Aguero or Buffon?
that news kinda died off somewhere..no idea wads the progress
Keane should leave
Man City will probably splash out again like the way they did for De Jong
SpikyOyster
02-02-2009, 02:15 PM
Rafa got a lot of flak for buying Keane (never mind if it wasn't his choice). Now he's getting flak for not starting Keane. Poor dude.
But Redknapp is a good motivator. He may yet get the best out of Keane.
I think to write Rafa plays no decision to buy Keane is wrong, I cannot believe that out of thin air that Rick Parry will decide to buy Keane. Clearly Keane is on Rafa list of players that he wants in the summer. Rafa most probably disagree with Rick Parry on the price to pay for Keane and the pressure exerted on the manager with a 20 million price tag player.
If Keane cost 10 million or less, do u think the press will be all over him for not playing Keane? Rafa will most probably be happy to keep Keane as a backup for Gerrard as a play maker just in case Gerrard is injured.
idiort
02-02-2009, 02:16 PM
they say pool accepted 15mil pound for keane from spurs
shay given finally gave up.. Sigh..
othniel80
02-02-2009, 03:12 PM
they say pool accepted 15mil pound for keane from spurs
in principle i think no official news splash yet
Universal76
02-02-2009, 03:19 PM
shay given finally gave up.. Sigh..
Maybe, maybe not.
Ten years (or more) is a long time with a club and Given always gave his best. At his age, it's probably the last club he'll sign for.
vasilli07
02-02-2009, 03:23 PM
Tottenham didn't do this but they should parade their old signings before the match
- Defoe, Pascal Chimbonda, Keane if he sign, and whoever ex players in the last 6 months they sold but coming back on transfer deadline
All of them should hold a banner saying " we are sorry for leaving " and bow to the crowd 3 times.
you wonder who look the more stupid if that deal come off - Liverpool for getting rid of a 20M player six months after signing him. or Tottenham for signing him back.
and if Darren Bent can't leave the club on Monday. He must be asking - WTF, Defoe and now Keane is back!
Defoe did no wrong in leaving. His contract is ending. We have to sell him as he refused to sign a new contract as we cannot guarantee him 1st team football and is 4th choice behind Berbs, Keane and Bent. He wants to play for england, that's why he needs 1st team football. Of coz, uncle harry also play a part in him signing for portsmouth. He has followed him to 3 different clubs.
Chimbonda was sold because Hutton and Corluka were signed. Then Hutton got injured, Corluka was asked to filled in at rightback. He was pretty slow so he doesn't make a good attacking fullback.
As for Keane, he only got himself to blame. When his so-called boyhood club come calling, he didn't even look at the situation carefully and immediately jump ship. At spurs, we have given him everything, his cult hero status, the captaincy and a 1st team starting place(in place of Defoe). Yet when l'pool is interested in him, he decide to leave us in lurch. He is the only villian out of the 3.
chengsun
02-02-2009, 04:34 PM
Defoe did no wrong in leaving. His contract is ending. We have to sell him as he refused to sign a new contract as we cannot guarantee him 1st team football and is 4th choice behind Berbs, Keane and Bent. He wants to play for england, that's why he needs 1st team football. Of coz, uncle harry also play a part in him signing for portsmouth. He has followed him to 3 different clubs.
Chimbonda was sold because Hutton and Corluka were signed. Then Hutton got injured, Corluka was asked to filled in at rightback. He was pretty slow so he doesn't make a good attacking fullback.
As for Keane, he only got himself to blame. When his so-called boyhood club come calling, he didn't even look at the situation carefully and immediately jump ship. At spurs, we have given him everything, his cult hero status, the captaincy and a 1st team starting place(in place of Defoe). Yet when l'pool is interested in him, he decide to leave us in lurch. He is the only villian out of the 3.
i tot Chimbonda moving because Sunderland offered better money? Or is it from the club before spurs to spurs for good money?
nofate
02-02-2009, 04:40 PM
i tot Chimbonda moving because Sunderland offered better money? Or is it from the club before spurs to spurs for good money?
he left wigan on e last day of 06/07 bpl.. for spurs
then last year left for sunderland..
now back to spurs lor..
vasilli07
02-02-2009, 06:37 PM
Some notable transfer rumours...
8.12 It looks like Spurs could be busy on deadline day. Skysports.com understands they are looking to sign Portuguese international Ricardo Quaresma on loan from Inter Milan.
9.47 Latest news on Arshavin. Sky Sports News reports he is heading back to a London airport with sources close to Arsenal claiming the Gunners are not prepared to meet Zenit's terms. Sky Bet have moved quickly to reflect this latest development with him now rated as 6/4 to move to the Emirates.
10.05 Sky Sports News are reporting Spurs have increased their bid for Robbie Keane as they look to bring their former striker back to White Hart Lane.
eddygames
02-02-2009, 06:52 PM
10.39: Robbie Keane is making his way through the snow to London to undergo a medical after Tottenham agreed a £15m fee with Liverpool for the striker. The Daily Mail also claim the Republic of Ireland international must agree personal terms to complete his return to White Hart Lane.
TrueBeliever_jh
02-02-2009, 07:03 PM
James Chester Manchester United -> Peterborough United (Loan)
is this an old news?:s11:
laksanice
02-02-2009, 07:19 PM
11.00 UK time: Pompey are set to snap up Greece captain Angelos Basinas from Mallorca, report the Portsmouth News. The 33-year-old Euro 2004 winner has been a long term target for the club.
11.05 UK time: Manchester City forward Jo has arrived at Everton's training ground to put the finishing touches to his loan move. The £24million striker needs first team football and the Toffees have no fit strikers at the present time.
11.15 UK time:Newcastle United have made an £8m bid for Manchester City midfielder Michael Johnson. The England U21 international was a revelation at Eastland's under Sven Goran Eriksson but has failed to find the same form under new manager Mark Hughes and is believed to be receptive to the idea of a move to the North East.
1920_me
02-02-2009, 07:28 PM
Everton is damn smart, get saha for pay-as-u-play basis. Now, they get a 18m rated striker. Considering their misfortunes with strikers, its a significant move.
Jian19
02-02-2009, 07:29 PM
Judas going back Spurs ?? :crazy:
idiort
02-02-2009, 07:32 PM
Report: Aston Villa Eyeing Micah Richards Swoop
http://www.goal.com/en/news/724/premier-league/2009/02/02/1089492/report-aston-villa-eyeing-micah-richards-swoop
idiort
02-02-2009, 07:34 PM
Breaking News: Andrei Arshavin Leaving London As Arsenal Talks Break Down - Report
http://www.goal.com/en/news/1712/arsenal/2009/02/02/1089662/breaking-news-andrei-arshavin-leaving-london-as-arsenal-talks-br
gone liao lahz
laksanice
02-02-2009, 07:43 PM
11.32 UK time: The Premier League, the FA and FIFA are holding talks regarding the possibility of extending the transfer window past 5pm, due to the havoc the weather is causing here in the UK.
More transfer mayhem coming our way
idiort
02-02-2009, 07:45 PM
so tat means how many more hrs????
TrueBeliever_jh
02-02-2009, 07:53 PM
http://www.goal.com/en/news/724/premier-league/2009/02/02/1089492/report-aston-villa-eyeing-micah-richards-swoop
as expected.. Laursen is missed badly..
TrueBeliever_jh
02-02-2009, 07:54 PM
wat time is the original deadline ah? Singapore time that is..
will have last minute drama one
idiort
02-02-2009, 07:55 PM
as expected.. Laursen is missed badly..
yar man.. plus we need a cover for right back also... a proper right back... micah quite fast and young so got good future if he wan to play in europe... man city cant offer him anything other than relegation battle.. exciting though.. lol
wat time is the original deadline ah? Singapore time that is..
will have last minute drama one
dunno sia.. i also wan know
Jian19
02-02-2009, 07:59 PM
sg time i think ish 1am today ba :o
idiort
02-02-2009, 07:59 PM
1am ar.. then i shall stay awake and read the news..
gohkg
02-02-2009, 08:00 PM
aston villa like buying every english players
Jian19
02-02-2009, 08:01 PM
cos sg time ish 8 hrs faster mah..
so if england 5pm last time...
ish 1am here :s34:
TrueBeliever_jh
02-02-2009, 08:03 PM
1am ar.. then i shall stay awake and read the news..
wait extend 1 day then you have to follow 24hrs:crazy:
jus kidding.. i know you not that dumb lar..
vasilli07
02-02-2009, 08:03 PM
Judas going back Spurs ?? :crazy:
judas is keane? If yes, i wouldn't call him judas...he is not as bad or evil as sol judas campbell...
idiort
02-02-2009, 08:06 PM
aston villa like buying every english players
hell yeah man... they're no doubt the best english team in epl now...more than half the team is english.. english players is the way to go...
wait extend 1 day then you have to follow 24hrs:crazy:
jus kidding.. i know you not that dumb lar..
1 day.. no thx.. i rather sleep but i wan know if aston get micah sia.. HAHAHA
Jian19
02-02-2009, 08:12 PM
judas is keane? If yes, i wouldn't call him judas...he is not as bad or evil as sol judas campbell...
nb i thought i saw u post him judas few days back
now he cumming back then not judas liao :s13:
u cheesepie :s13:
idiort
02-02-2009, 08:12 PM
julian faubert move from west ham to real madrid sia
TrueBeliever_jh
02-02-2009, 08:14 PM
villa following our S. League sia.. Young Lions:crazy:
xavier4
02-02-2009, 08:17 PM
Liverpool striker Robbie Keane is making his way to London to undergo a medical after Tottenham Hotspur agreed a £15m transfer fee to take him back to White Hart Lane.
The Republic of Ireland international joined Liverpool for £20m in the summer but he has been unable to establish himself in the starting eleven under manager Rafael Benitez and wasn't even on the bench for Sunday's top of the table clash with Chelsea at Anfield.
Their had been reports of swap deal, with Spurs winger Aaron Lennon heading to Anfield, but the two clubs have settled on a cash-only deal.
NO !! keane..
xavier4
02-02-2009, 08:19 PM
lol.. if villa get micah richards.. hmmm.. give them another english CM can liao.. to partner barry.. other than reo coker
then goalkeeper.. fridel is the man for now.. in years to come.. maybe carson when he older ? he does make alot saves for west brom though
1920_me
02-02-2009, 08:22 PM
Darren Bent in talks with Blackburn for a loan move, with a view to an £8m permanent deal.
vasilli07
nb i thought i saw u post him judas few days back
now he cumming back then not judas liao :s13:
u cheesepie :s13:
No...till now, i never approve of him coming back...i just hated how he left, handling a transfer request once l'pool comes calling...but to brand him judas is like saying he is in the same category as sol campbell...who refused to sign a new contract, force us to let him go on a free, promise not to join arsenal and then join arsenal...he screwed us 4 times in a row as compare to keane 1...
If Keane had join Arsenal, then he will be Judas no 2.
TrueBeliever_jh
actually.. i quite interested to know how Liverpool feel about Keane.. barely start for the club.. and now on the way back after liked half a season..
vasilli07
02-02-2009, 08:23 PM
Darren Bent in talks with Blackburn for a loan move, with a view to an £8m permanent deal.
source?......
xavier4
02-02-2009, 08:26 PM
lol he just score 2 in 2 mins with ease..
Devilsire
02-02-2009, 08:27 PM
Deadline could be pushed back
The Premier League is holding talks about extending the winter transfer window beyond Monday's 5pm deadline.
With much of Britain waking up under a blanket of snow and more inclement weather expected, last-minute deals are being hampered due to the travel problems which are affecting much of the country.
Mike Foster, general secretary of the Premier League, confirmed they were looking to extend the deadline and that talks have been held with the Football Association and world governing body Fifa.
Activity
He told Sky Sports News: "It (the weather) is already having an effect in terms of making it difficult for players to get from one end of the country to the other.
"Even short journeys are difficult, especially in the South East. I know that because clubs have informed us of the problems they are encountering trying to get deals concluded.
"We are currently trying to gauge the level of activity, how many transactions are in the pipeline. It would be nice if would could simply extend the deadline by 24 or 48 hours, but it's not a decision we can take alone.
"We need to liaise with the FA, who in turn need to liaise with Fifa. Those conversations have taken place and we are currently exploring the possibility.
"Currently, the deadline remains at 5pm, but we are in consultation with FA and, in turn, Fifa, to see of there is any flexibility in the system."
Ongoing
Should an agreement be reached to extend the deadline, then Foster accepts that a decision will have to be made swiftly.
He added: "We would need to have it confirmed by the middle of the day, early afternoon at the latest.
"If such a decision was reached, we would have to be satisfied that people weren't taking advantage of that and that the deals were already ongoing and it was simply the adverse weather which was preventing them being concluded."
Source: SSN
1920_me
02-02-2009, 08:31 PM
Inter And Tottenham To Complete Quaresma-Jenas Swap Deal – Report
According to La Gazzetta dello Sport, Inter coach Jose Mourinho has agreed to let Ricardo Quaresma go out on loan until the end of the season. The 25-year-old looks set to join Tottenham Hotspur with Jermaine Jenas moving in the opposite direction.
Quaresma was the Beneamata’s most expensive summer acquisition, as he moved from Porto on transfer deadline day for a fee of €25 million.
But he has made little impact at San Siro and his umpteenth anonymous performance against Torino yesterday afternoon lead to his exclusion from the Champions League list.
Quaresma was repeatedly jeered from the Nerazzurri supporters and even wasted a glorious chance to give his side the three points as he ballooned over towards the end of the encounter.
La Gazzetta dello Sport claims that the swap deal with Tottenham will be finalised today and Jermaine Jenas will land in Milan.
The 25-year-old England international has made over 100 appearances with the London club and it will now be up to the ‘Special One’ to fit him into his three-man midfield.
Bent Link => http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/sport/football/premier_league/article5614843.ece (the update was taken from another forum)
idiort
02-02-2009, 08:32 PM
villa following our S. League sia.. Young Lions:crazy:
hahahhahaha....
lol.. if villa get micah richards.. hmmm.. give them another english CM can liao.. to partner barry.. other than reo coker
then goalkeeper.. fridel is the man for now.. in years to come.. maybe carson when he older ? he does make alot saves for west brom though
erm.... central midfielder... cant think of any good young central midfielder tat can partner barry..
we dun mind get hargreaves cheap from man utd when he recovered though.. lol...
friedel i think 1 more season then need replace,damn old liao sia
dreamer75
02-02-2009, 08:38 PM
Transfer Deadline In England Could Be Extended
The transfer window is set to close in little under five and a half hours, but that could be set to change after the Premier League have reportedly applied for an extension...
Transfer windows - both summer and winter windows - in recent years have traditionally closed on the last minute of the last day of the month.
However, as last summer's window and the current one will testify to, an extra day and a half allowance is granted when the final day of the window lands on a Sunday.
According to latest reports though the Premier League could be in line for an extra extension due to the extreme weather conditions that have been cited as problematic for players, agents, and clubs to meet in order to complete and finalise personal terms.
The FA Premier League general secretary Mike Foster told Sky Sports that the deep snow is making travel arrangements difficult, but conceded that any extension of the transfer deadline will have to be agreed by the Premier League; the FA; and also FIFA.
"The weather is already having an effect as players are unable to travel from one end of the country to the other," Foster said. "I know that because clubs are struggling to get deals concluded.
"It would be nice if we could extend the deadline by 24 to 48 hours but it is not a decision we can make alone and we will have to liaise with the FA and with FIFA."
He continued: "Currently the deadline is set at 17:00 GMT, but we are exploring the system to see if there is room for negotiation.
"If such a decision was reached then we would need to be satisfied that deals were ongoing and that it was only adverse weather that was directly influencing these deals from not being completed in time," Foster concluded.
Alan Dawson, Goal.com
1920_me
02-02-2009, 08:38 PM
11.55 GMT: More disappointment for Arsenal as tomorrow's FA Cup fourth round replay with Cardiff at the Emirates has already fallen foul of the weather.
12.05 We are receiving reports the deal for Andrei Arshavin is still in the balance. Arsenal and Zenit St Petersburg are trying to thrash out terms while there are conflicting stories regarding the Russian's whereabouts. Some sources are indicating he is actually undergoing a medical at the Gunners' London Colney headquarters.
SkySports reporting that Keane is at Spurs to do the medical.
dreamer75
02-02-2009, 08:40 PM
Inter And Tottenham To Complete Quaresma-Jenas Swap Deal – Report
According to La Gazzetta dello Sport, Inter coach Jose Mourinho has agreed to let Ricardo Quaresma go out on loan until the end of the season. The 25-year-old looks set to join Tottenham Hotspur with Jermaine Jenas moving in the opposite direction.
Quaresma was the Beneamata’s most expensive summer acquisition, as he moved from Porto on transfer deadline day for a fee of €25 million.
But he has made little impact at San Siro and his umpteenth anonymous performance against Torino yesterday afternoon lead to his exclusion from the Champions League list.
Quaresma was repeatedly jeered from the Nerazzurri supporters and even wasted a glorious chance to give his side the three points as he ballooned over towards the end of the encounter.
La Gazzetta dello Sport claims that the swap deal with Tottenham will be finalised today and Jermaine Jenas will land in Milan.
The 25-year-old England international has made over 100 appearances with the London club and it will now be up to the ‘Special One’ to fit him into his three-man midfield.
Bent Link => http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/sport/football/premier_league/article5614843.ece (the update was taken from another forum)
very strange deal?
dreamer75
02-02-2009, 08:45 PM
Anatoliy Tymoshchuk To Bayern Munich A Done Deal - Report
Anatoliy Tymoshchuk will be wearing Bayern's colours come next season, according to the latest reports coming out of Germany...
Germany’s Bild newspaper is claiming that Bayern Munich have secured a deal that will see Ukrainian international Anatoliy Tymoshchuk join them in the summer.
The Zenit St. Petersburg star is widely touted as one of the best players in the Russian Premier League, so Bayern will have done well if reports of an €11 million ($14m) deal prove accurate.
Tymoshchuk, 29-years-old, has been with the UEFA Cup holders Zenit since his move from Shakhtar Donetsk last year, but has made no secret of his desire to move to a bigger club with clear and present Champions League prospects.
Bild go on to claim that the alleged deal was agreed in principle during Tymoshchuk’s much publicised trip to Munich last month to meet with FC Bayern officials.
Whether the reports are actually valid – and if so, what bearing this will have with Mark van Bommel’s future in Munich – remains to be seen.
Derek Wanner, Goal.com
dreamer75
02-02-2009, 08:56 PM
Tottenham Table Improved Bid For Liverpool's Robbie Keane; Javier Saviola On Hold
Keane could be a Spurs player once more by the close of the transfer window; he's on his way to London...
The Robbie Keane transfer saga has been build upon a foundation of sketchy details and rumours till this point, but his potential return to Tottenham Hotspur appears to be picking up pace.
The latest reports for Sky Sports indicate that Spurs have tabled a new cash-only bid to the Anfield side, with no part-exchange aspect involved as previously speculated. Aaron Lennon had been previously mentioned as a sweetener.
According to sources, the Reds will now endevour to consider the improved offer and respond to White Hart Lane officials by noon.
Meantime, Keane will head south in case a medical is needed. The adverse weather, of course, could cause problems.
Thus, the north London side have put their loan move for Real Madrid's Argentine hitman Javier Saviola on hold in the meantime.
Should the Lilywhites bag Keane, it is claimed that Saviola will no longer be a target, with the 27-year-old then free to talk to 'Pool, incredibly.
What is certain is that Irishman Keane has failed to settle on Merseyside after his dream move to his boyhood heroes turned into a nightmare. He was again left out of the squad for the win over Chelsea on Sunday.
Greg Ptolomey, Goal.com
idiort
02-02-2009, 09:26 PM
Breaking News: Fee Agreed Between Portsmouth And Tottenham For Giovani Dos Santos
Media sources in England indicate the clubs have agreed a fee for the young Mexican striker...
nottibeans
02-02-2009, 11:12 PM
WTF Newcastle is mad! & Spurs is dumb to reject..lol
14.46 Newcastle have reportedly failed in a bid to swap Spurs' Darren Bent with Obafemi Martins.
1920_me
02-02-2009, 11:26 PM
Sky Sports News (http://www.justin.tv/dragonblades3)
Major Deals awaiting confirmation
* Santa Cruz for 25m to Man City
* Arshavin to Arsenal, left the minor details
* Quaresma possibly to Spurs
* Saviola is available, pool looking to nick him
Wryer
03-02-2009, 12:03 AM
Keane returns to Spurs.
What a pity.
darkdevil
03-02-2009, 12:05 AM
15.54: Liverpool have confirmed that they have agreed a deal with Tottenham Hotpsur that will take Robbie Keane back to White Hart Lane. The fee is beleived to be around £15m and Keane will become the third player to rejoin Spurs in the transfer window, after Pascal Chimbonda and Jermain Defoe.a Liverpool spokesman said: "Liverpool Football Club have reached agreement with Tottenham Hotspur for the sale of Robbie Keane."
xavier4
03-02-2009, 12:32 AM
hahahhahaha....
erm.... central midfielder... cant think of any good young central midfielder tat can partner barry..
we dun mind get hargreaves cheap from man utd when he recovered though.. lol...
friedel i think 1 more season then need replace,damn old liao sia
i dunnoe why thought of scott parker.. lol.. maybe can leh.. they gimme the feeling that they will be quite a good combination.. wanted say jenas.. budden still quite young.. or buy a zoom zoom AMC to counter atk with agbonlahor and young as well.. joe cole? :D lol..
xavier4
03-02-2009, 12:34 AM
15.54: Liverpool have confirmed that they have agreed a deal with Tottenham Hotpsur that will take Robbie Keane back to White Hart Lane. The fee is beleived to be around £15m and Keane will become the third player to rejoin Spurs in the transfer window, after Pascal Chimbonda and Jermain Defoe.a Liverpool spokesman said: "Liverpool Football Club have reached agreement with Tottenham Hotspur for the sale of Robbie Keane."
i'm very disappointed keane going back spurs :( i mean.. yes he may not produce results yet.. budden time is not on his side.. rafa dun wanna use him as often.. i mean.. gah.. i'm kinda speechless..
i'm just so sad for keane.. the club he support since a boy.. got the dream move.. then realise that his dream club isn't the one he suits.. NOOOOO !! issit the cursed no.7? he suppose to be as good as he is when he's in spurs =/ come on rafa.. grab him back give him no. 10.. sigh..
idiort
03-02-2009, 12:41 AM
follow live here
http://www.justin.tv/dragonblades3
dunno will haf surprise last min diam diam in the dark signing anot
xavier4
03-02-2009, 01:06 AM
dunno will haf surprise last min diam diam in the dark signing anot
i got telepathy with david silva.. i think he's at anfield now :D
xavier4
03-02-2009, 01:23 AM
santa cruz kept.. lol..
'sam.. they have so many $ to throw at u..' :s13:
tats the SSN newscaster talking to sam of blackburn..
idiort
03-02-2009, 01:34 AM
Arshavin Failed....
idiort
BREAKING NEWS: Ricardo Quaresma Joins Chelsea - Report
SKY Italia report that Ricardo Quaresma has left Inter to join Chelsea on loan...
xavier4
keane confirmed for spurs le i think..
=/
:sad:
xavier4
03-02-2009, 01:36 AM
still no news about saviola to pool..
vasilli07
03-02-2009, 02:01 AM
SKY Italia report that Ricardo Quaresma has left Inter to join Chelsea on loan...
The headline should be 'The worst player of serie a this season so far award winner' Richardo Quaresma has joined Chelsea. :D
Anyway, i'm glad that Spurs didn't sign him. He is a showboater. I would like to how Chelsea will fumble more because of Quaresma over showboating... :s8:
xavier4
03-02-2009, 02:13 AM
The headline should be 'The worst player of serie a this season so far award winner' Richardo Quaresma has joined Chelsea. :D
Anyway, i'm glad that Spurs didn't sign him. He is a showboater. I would like to how Chelsea will fumble more because of Quaresma over showboating... :s8:
lol.. i can imagine in training he showboat to john terry.. terry will stick his legs str8 onto quaresma man.. no nonsense in EPL !
Deunamist
03-02-2009, 02:37 AM
Inter letting go of Oliver Dacourt as well, sending him to Fulham on loan with option to buy.
Rappelz
03-02-2009, 12:40 PM
I believe Saviola deal can still be done after deadline since its a loan or free transfer.
vasilli07
03-02-2009, 12:46 PM
I believe Saviola deal can still be done after deadline since its a loan or free transfer.
Loan signings must be within the transfer window. The only way could leave for another club now is if Real Madrid release Saviola on a free transfer. If not, he will have to stay till the summer.
Rappelz
03-02-2009, 12:56 PM
Loan signings must be within the transfer window. The only way could leave for another club now is if Real Madrid release Saviola on a free transfer. If not, he will have to stay till the summer.
Thanks..:o
But i read somewhere that RM will allow him to move on free transfer too
gohkg
03-02-2009, 01:41 PM
i think is free transfer after summer...and a loan move now
but come to think of it, if its free transfer in summer what is the diff between free transfer now compare to free transfer in summer + loan move now? since RM wun get anything anyway and his pay will still not be paid by RM...
lyfeforce
03-02-2009, 01:50 PM
but come to think of it, if its free transfer in summer what is the diff between free transfer now compare to free transfer in summer + loan move now? since RM wun get anything anyway and his pay will still not be paid by RM...
If Real Madrid releases him now, they'll have to pay off severance for the remaining term of his contract, how many months it may be. His contract ends in summer IIRC, so no loss to Real Madrid there.
Jian19
03-02-2009, 02:02 PM
RM might wan a fee for his loan and wan liverpool to take all his wages for the last 6 mths ba
dun be surprised, RM is goots at doing business :o
Jian19
03-02-2009, 02:05 PM
So keane goes back spurs liao ? rofl
8m loan to liverpool for 6 mths :crazy:
goots deal
Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
03-02-2009, 02:06 PM
Master Of The Outside Foot he has superb technique great to hear him joining us we lack quality wingers at the moment can replace Malouda in the 1st team
idiort
03-02-2009, 02:07 PM
Master Of The Outside Foot he has superb technique great to hear him joining us we lack quality wingers at the moment can replace Malouda in the 1st team
he's a flop in inter.. my frens also say he's not tat good to begin with..
Jian19
03-02-2009, 02:11 PM
i agree with u on this
Malouda is crap :(
joe cole out for few mths ?
he cums at the rite time :o
Kennedy
03-02-2009, 02:12 PM
he's a flop in inter.. my frens also say he's not tat good to begin with..
Ricardo Quaresma Wins the Golden Bin Award
http://www.theoffside.com/world-football/ricardo-quaresma-wins-the-golden-piece-of-garbage-award.html
Forget the Balloon D’Or: The Golden Bin/Trash Can - Bidone D’Oro in Eye-talian - is the best award handed out every year in football. It’s kind of like the Razzies compared to the Oscars; one is for glittering performances…the other the complete opposite.
And the 2008 winner is Ricardo Quaresma.....
Quaresma’s teammate Adriano has landed the award for the last two seasons but could only manage third behind Christian Vieri and of course Quaresma.
Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
03-02-2009, 02:21 PM
Serie A Tempo and Pace is too slow for Quaresma he don't like holding up the ball love bursting down the flank and midfield doing tricks and outside football passing, crossing, shooting and free kicks.
dreamer75
03-02-2009, 09:59 PM
http://images.football365.com/09/01/Others/286330.jpg
dreamer75
03-02-2009, 10:01 PM
Kean switch how many clubs so far?
Wryer
03-02-2009, 10:09 PM
http://images.football365.com/09/01/Others/286330.jpg
Anyway, Arshavin is NOT YET an Arsenal player.
Unverified sources from Russia says they caught up with FA, and a member of the FA says that the deal is still '50-50', pending confirmation.
There is yet another final twist.
dreamer75
03-02-2009, 10:43 PM
Anyway, Arshavin is NOT YET an Arsenal player.
Unverified sources from Russia says they caught up with FA, and a member of the FA says that the deal is still '50-50', pending confirmation.
There is yet another final twist.
really have to wait till the 11th hour ah
vasilli07
03-02-2009, 10:46 PM
If the transfer does not go through, who'll be left with egg on their face then; Zenit or Arsenal? :s8:
Deunamist
03-02-2009, 10:49 PM
so how? i thought window close liao.
vasilli07
03-02-2009, 10:55 PM
so how? i thought window close liao.
paper work stuff extended due to the heavy snow yesterday...
Wryer
03-02-2009, 10:55 PM
Awaiting clearance from the English FA.
Apparently the papers and everything was sent, but whether it made the 5pm dateline is another matter.
It was also reported that the holdup could also be due to FA's staff not at full function due to the weather conditions.
Still, wait and see.
Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
03-02-2009, 11:39 PM
Zenit claim Arshavin deal is done, Arshavin: Deal dragged on
Zenit St Petersburg claim that Arsenal have finally signed Andrei Arshavin - but for much more than the reported £12million fee.
The Russian playmaker's on-off move to the Emirates Stadium dominated transfer deadline day with the deal not being confirmed by the close of play on Monday.
Gunners boss Arsene Wenger told Sky Sports News on Monday that the deal would go through and was being held up as it was yet to be ratified by the Premier League.
The Premier League is expected to finalise the paperwork on Tuesday to allow Arshavin to seal his switch and Zenit claim the move has gone through.
"Zenit, Arsenal and Andrei Arshavin have concluded talks in London," the report on fc-zenit.ru reads.
"An FC Zenit source has informed Fontanka that the talks were successful, and Andrei Arshavin is moving to Arsenal. The signed documents have already been sent to the English Football Association [Premier League].
"A source close to the discussions has told Fontanka that the terms of the deal are financially suitable to Zenit.
"The St Petersburg club will receive £16.5million - £15m for the transfer of the player and £1.5m compensation for breaking a long-term contract.
"In addition there is a further 500,000 Euros in bonuses which Arshavin has not yet received which will not be paid and instead make up part of the transfer sum.
"The overall sum of the transfer is around USD 24m [£16.9m]."
Arshavin revealed on his personal website details of the deal should be announced later on Tuesday.
It is believed all the relevant complex documentation is in place at the Premier League, but yet to be formally ratified because of administration delays caused by the severe snow that crippled London's transport networks yesterday.
Asked if he was now an Arsenal player, the Russia international said: "I think so. The negotiations came to a close and there will be details [on Tuesday].
"Now I can say only one thing - that if I play for Arsenal, it will be at number 23."
http://www.teamtalk.com/football/story/0,16368,2483_4890708,00.html
Wryer
04-02-2009, 12:57 AM
Deal finally done.
http://www.arsenal.com/news/news-archive/russian-international-arshavin-joins-arsenal
Deunamist
04-02-2009, 01:16 AM
i'll give it to Arsenal. i don't know how they could have gotten Arshavin when Zenit was forcing Juve to fork out 32million for him.
yet he is a cup-tied and can't play in the CL, which should give him some good time in the EPL.
Wryer
04-02-2009, 01:21 AM
He'll probably be our main weapon for the UCL spot chase. We are sorely lacking in creativity with Cesc, Walcott, Rosicky out.
Zenit was obviously playing punk all the way.
nofate
04-02-2009, 01:42 AM
He'll probably be our main weapon for the UCL spot chase. We are sorely lacking in creativity with Cesc, Walcott, Rosicky out.
Zenit was obviously playing punk all the way.
if all e mid are fit..
AW decide to feel all.. wow.. no DM.. who going to track back??
Wryer
04-02-2009, 02:07 AM
Obviously Walcott, Rosicky, Arshavin and Nasri won't play at the same time. They will probably rotate. At current situation, Arshavin and Nasri will be first choice.
Oh no, what happens to Eboue?
Wryer
04-02-2009, 02:17 AM
It has been revealed that the final total price paid was close to 16m.
xavier4
04-02-2009, 02:21 AM
wow 12m.. tats surprising.. thought zenit wan 20 instead..
arshavin and his agent probably tell zenit to lower the price to allow him to go.......
Wryer
04-02-2009, 02:44 AM
Nope, the deal was not done at 12. It was close to 17m in fact. The total sum that is.
This has been confirmed by the acting agent for Arsenal in this transfer.
Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
05-02-2009, 05:46 PM
Club finally ready to sign £30m striker
Published Date: 05 February 2009
We take a look around the papers for the latest gossip, including, Manchester United, Aston VIlla, Reading, Chelsea, West Ham United, Manchester City and AC Milan.
Manchester United are finally ready to sign Carlos Tevez on a permanent basis in a deal worth up to £30m. (Daily Mirror)
Aston Villa are to demand to know why Andrey Arshavin's transfer to Arsenal was only confirmed 24 hours after the January transfer window deadline. (The Sun)
Midfielder Stephen Hunt has snubbed interest from Tottenham and Everton by signing a long-term deal at Reading. (Daily Star)
Former Chelsea midfielder Sam Dalla Bona is hoping to secure a trial at West Ham after being released by Napoli. (Daily Express)
Manchester City youngster Michael Johnson is considering a summer move away from the club. (The Independent)
David Beckham has a get out clause that allows him to leave MLS' LA Galaxy for nothing on 30 November. (Daily Express)
http://www.blackpoolgazette.co.uk/sports-news/Club-finally-ready-to-sign.4949078.jp
Wryer
05-02-2009, 06:29 PM
Clubs seek Arshavin clarification
Arsenal signing to be scrutinised
Arsenal's signing of Andrey Arshavin is set to be discussed at a meeting of Premier League clubs on Thursday.
Arshavin only officially completed his move to Emirates Stadium from Zenit St Petersburg on Tuesday evening, almost 24 hours after Monday's 5pm transfer deadline.
The Premier League had stated on Monday that due to the inclement weather conditions they would allow the paperwork for some deals to be processed after the deadline, provided proof of an agreement could be provided.
The Gunners are currently outside the top four of the Premier League and Arshavin's signing is seen as crucial to their hopes of securing UEFA Champions League football next season.
Extension
Aston Villa hold a five-point advantage over Arsene Wenger's men and they are among the teams who are keen to discuss the Russia international's protracted arrival.
When asked about the Arshavin deal, Villa boss Martin O'Neill said: "I have nothing to say at this minute.
"Paul Faulkner (Villa director) has told me that there is a Premier League meeting on Thursday and some points are being raised.
"Not necessarily by us at Aston Villa. There just needs to be clarification on the extension."
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11661_4896289,00.html
xavier4
05-02-2009, 07:36 PM
michael johnson can consider aston villa.. ireland too if he wans to go other club
1920_me
05-02-2009, 08:23 PM
To round up the transfer window, a total of 162m were spent on players,a 9% increase from last year. More than Half of the spending came from Spurs and Man City.
It has to be noted that, it was more than the other top three leagues in europe spend altogether.
SpikyOyster
06-02-2009, 10:52 AM
Anyone has any opinion which team has come out in best shape after the transfer window?
SpikyOyster
06-02-2009, 06:45 PM
For the top 4, Chelsea and Arsenal have made the necessary loan and purchases to strengthen their squad. With the latest news on Tevez, it would help Man U in the dressing room. Unfortunately, Liverpool is the only one which is weakened by the Jan transfer window.
For the contenders to the top 4, Aston Villa made a good purchase. This is personal opinion as I like Heskey :-) Everton has a new striker Jo; It can't hurt their campaign as they have no strikers at the moment.
For the big clubs that are in trouble, Spurs and Man City have strengthen their squad. we will have to see if the new players will help the club to more victories on the field. Of the two I have more faith in Harry so I think Spurs will do better. Newcastle to me is in dangerous ground. They may not go down as I think the other smaller clubs may do worst. Lets's watch and see how it goes.
For the other teams, I will be looking out for Stoke city. I like James Beattie and I hope that he will do well in Stoke. The other team I will be following is Hull City. They have a good 1st half of the season and I hope that it will continue till June.
1920_me
06-02-2009, 06:50 PM
I dont think Arsenal have done enough. They still need another 2 or 3 players, to compete for the 4th place. Arshavin is not the player, they needed. But, he will give the team some lift for a few games, before the novelty dies off.
Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
06-02-2009, 09:54 PM
Anyone has any opinion which team has come out in best shape after the transfer window?
Tottenham And Man City no doubt about that.
idiort
07-02-2009, 05:37 AM
hard to gauge... see after a few games lohz....
SpikyOyster
08-02-2009, 10:57 AM
Jo had a good game with Everton. If he keeps up his good performance, it would likely raise questions on Mark Huge's managerial ability.
The new Man City owner may question why Mark can't get Jo to perform the same way in Man City? Is it wise to loan such a good player to Everton who may be fighting with Man City for European championship position?
xavier4
08-02-2009, 12:16 PM
imo everton was good.. hm.. lol man city.. not bad.. at least they didnt concede..
i remb at one point of time they had the best atk in epl.. scoring most goals.. but leaks the most goals as well or sth liddat. forgot lol..
maybe given made the difference
Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
09-02-2009, 01:29 AM
Jo is a very good player saw him playing in Champions League at CSKA Moscow last time. Just feel that Mark Hughes didn't trust him or even Recongnize his striking ability he just needed more games and more faith from his manager.
Asakura
09-02-2009, 01:41 AM
Jo had a good game with Everton. If he keeps up his good performance, it would likely raise questions on Mark Huge's managerial ability.
The new Man City owner may question why Mark can't get Jo to perform the same way in Man City? Is it wise to loan such a good player to Everton who may be fighting with Man City for European championship position?
he's definitely not playing Jo to the best and to loan a player with such potential to, of all teams, everton. its really questionable.
thongs
09-02-2009, 02:40 AM
Jo is good, mark hughes dont really know how to use him. I think should put him up front with robinho providing the assists.
othniel80
09-02-2009, 08:54 AM
one match nia, must see the performance over a period of time. Consistency is the key, it remains to see if Jo can maintain that kinda form.
SpikyOyster
09-02-2009, 09:27 AM
Looking at last night game on Spurs vs Arsenal. I am impressed by Palacios, looks like Harry has bought a right guy to give Spurs the lift. He is everywhere, closing down attacks and even help to launch a few. Keane was ok to me but I think he needs a few more games to get in the groove. Chimbonda was a disappointment. I think Harry bought back a wrong player.
Then again, it is just 1 game, let's observe and see how they do in the next few weeks.
eddygames
09-02-2009, 09:30 AM
Adams exits Fratton Park
Reports suggest that Portsmouth have parted company with manager Tony Adams. The former England captain has presided over a disastrous run of nine league games without a win.
from soccernet
lyfeforce
09-02-2009, 09:33 AM
Every new signing cannot be expected to make an instant impact or replicate their good form from their previous club.
SpikyOyster
09-02-2009, 09:48 AM
If the players are from a different league, I guess they would need more time to settle down as every league is different. If they have EPL experience, I would expect the signings to contribute quickly. Jan transfers are mostly used to fix problems in the team if they cannot contribute it defeats the purpose of the transfer and raise question on the judgment of the manager who pick them.
othniel80
09-02-2009, 10:51 AM
Looking at last night game on Spurs vs Arsenal. I am impressed by Palacios, looks like Harry has bought a right guy to give Spurs the lift. He is everywhere, closing down attacks and even help to launch a few. Keane was ok to me but I think he needs a few more games to get in the groove. Chimbonda was a disappointment. I think Harry bought back a wrong player.
Then again, it is just 1 game, let's observe and see how they do in the next few weeks.
Spurs definitely looked more a positive side, Keane wise, I think he need some brushing up after warming pool's bench for a while. Chimbonda, nothing to say, why harry buy him back is as baffling as why keane was made captain immediately are arriving back from anfield. :s11:
SpikyOyster
12-02-2009, 02:17 PM
In the Brazil / Italy game, Elano and Robinho played so well together. SWP was so good as England's RM and LM in this morning game. I was so surprise SWP played so well as a LW / LM in the second half.
I am starting to have doubts about Mark Huges managerial ability. My bet is now that Mark Huges will no longer be Man City manager at the end of the season. If things don't go well, he may even go earlier.
Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
12-02-2009, 06:11 PM
one match nia, must see the performance over a period of time. Consistency is the key, it remains to see if Jo can maintain that kinda form.
Jo is a quality player he will to do well for Everton.
agcken12
12-02-2009, 06:26 PM
Jo in FM also quite a gd player.. dun kn y hughes loan him out!! but gd for them...
majormao
13-02-2009, 01:30 PM
i hope man city can give everton discount, maybe sell 10-11mil. but then, if everton spend that much, i dun think they have anymore money to buy again unless they sell.:(
euroass
18-02-2009, 10:30 AM
Marseille president Pape Diouf insists he will do everything possible to bring Didier Drogba back to the French club.
The Ivory Coast star joined English side Chelsea from Marseille in 2004 but spoke recently about the possibility of "finishing his adventure" with them.
Diouf admits Marseille cannot match the wages Drogba earns at Chelsea but thinks there could be ways around it.
"You can't exclude thinking of other scenarios, like the boy accepting a pay cut, efforts on our part," he said.
"We must talk to our supporters in adult language," Diouf told 10 Sport, a French sports magazine.
"They know we do what we say, and vice-versa.
newTrueBlue4life
"To say to them, 'We are going to win the Champions League' or 'Drogba is going to return', I will not allow myself to do it - that would be showing them a lack of respect.
"On the other hand, to say to them, 'Like you, I really want Drogba to come back and if there is a possibility of doing it, I will do it', that I can guarantee them.
"Each time I see him, I say to him, 'Now Didier, get your bags together and come back here!"'
Just last month Marseille had dismissed talk of a move for Drogba, labelling him "inaccessible" at the moment.
Story from BBC SPORT:
euroass
18-02-2009, 10:34 AM
Marseille president Pape Diouf will do everything he can to land Chelsea hitman Didier Drogba - but admits he would have to accept a pay cut.
The Blues bought Drogba from the French giants in the summer of 2004 for around £24million.
But the Ivory Coast international holds the Mediterranean club dear to his heart and spoke recently about the possibility of "finishing his adventure" with OM.
"We must talk to our supporters in adult language," Diouf told 10 Sport.
"They know we do what we say, and vice-versa. To say to them, 'We are going to win the Champions League' or 'Drogba is going to return', I will not allow myself to do it - that would be showing them a lack of respect.
"On the other hand, to say to them, 'Like you, I really want Drogba to come back and if there is a possibility of doing it, I will do it', that I can guarantee them.
"Each time I see him, I say to him, 'Now Didier, get your bags together and come back here!"'
Marseille last month dismissed talk of a move for Drogba, labelling him "inaccessible" at the moment.
Diouf appreciates Marseille cannot match the wages the striker earns at Chelsea - but believes there could be ways around it.
"Even if the possibility is thin, it still exists," Diouf added. "When you look at the economic reality square in the face, it isn't reasonable for a French club.
"However, you can't exclude thinking of other scenarios, like the boy accepting a pay cut, efforts on our part..."
Sky Sports
stanlfc
18-02-2009, 03:30 PM
heard french league is a pretty racist league that why drogba move on..
hanlsn
18-02-2009, 05:12 PM
But their best players are either black or muslim (Total fact and not religious or racist comment)
The french are just strange people...
euroass
21-02-2009, 11:56 PM
By Bill Bradshaw
CHELSEA are poised to move for former Stamford Bridge favourites Gianfranco Zola and Steve Clarke.
On the day that new manager Guus Hiddink stressed in his first press conference that he would not seek to stay beyond the end of this season, the Daily Express can reveal Chelsea have already earmarked Zola and Clarke, who after an unsteady start at Upton Park have steered West Ham away from trouble and up the Premier League table.
And they are looking to grant the wishes of many of their fans by making a move for the pair in the summer.
Fans unfurled banners calling for the return of one-time playing idol Zola during Luiz Felipe Scolari’s final game in charge against Hull City on February 7. And I understand discreet soundings have already been taken about following up Chelsea’s interest at the highest level.
Zola is widely regarded as one of the most successful foreign playing imports into the Premier League during his seven years at Chelsea and his ability as a manager is now having an impact at West Ham.
At the end of this season I cannot be sacked, because I’m going anyway
Guus Hiddink
Clarke, another former Blues player, left Scolari’s coaching staff in fairly acrimonious circumstances earlier this season and many now recognise that his worth as an on-pitch organiser was greatly undervalued during his final months at Chelsea.
West Ham are sure to try to resist any approach for the pair. But Zola, while politely deflecting questions about Chelsea, has not dismissed the idea. His typical reaction has been: “In football you never know what lies around the corner, but I have no intention of walking out on West Ham.”
Hiddink, however, has stressed he will do exactly that at Chelsea come the end of May.
SEARCH FOOTBALL for:
“I will help out until the end of the season, only to the end of the season,” said Hiddink yesterday at Stamford Bridge. His first match in charge will be today’s away game against Aston Villa, who are two points ahead of fourth-placed Chelsea.
“I have my full-time commitment with Russia which I will fulfil,” he said. “I will go back in March and also at the end of May.”
He sent out a barely coded message to owner Roman Abramovich spelling out his terms and conditions: “Let me get on with it – and don’t interfere.”
Brave signals from a Chelsea boss, especially when his four predecessors – Claudio Ranieri, Jose Mourinho, Avram Grant and Scolari – have all bitten the dust at the whim of Abramovich.
Dutchman Hiddink said: “Let’s be realistic. Everything depends on results, but there was no demand on me to ‘do this’ or ‘do that’.
“I cannot judge what went on before, but Roman is at the training ground a lot now. What is a close relationship? We are not ‘friends’ friends. Friends you see every day of the week, they know all the bad things about you.
“We talk generally about football. When I was at Real Madrid the president and me had a clash about playing players who he wanted to play. You know what the consequences of that are. I don’t like those consequences.
“At the end of this season I cannot be sacked, because I’m going anyway. Before? Maybe.”
Combining both jobs could net Hiddink £2.5million if results go his way.
With Russia, he plays World Cup qualifiers against Azerbaijan on March 28, Liechtenstein on April 4, followed by Finland on June 6.
Daily Mail
lyfeforce
03-03-2009, 06:58 PM
Franck Ribery has reached an agreement to join Barcelona from Bayern Munich in the summer and will put pen-to-paper on a four-year deal at Camp Nou, according to a report in Germany.
While the French international's agent has stated that he would only leave the Allianz Arena to join a giant like the Blaugrana, Bild am Sonntag believe a deal has already been done.
"If Ribery goes, it will be only be to a team like Barcelona, where all the players are stars. Playing for Barcelona would be phenomenal for him" Ribery's agent said earlier.
Rumours surrounding Ribery's next move have been fuelled by comments emanating from Bayern, Ribery's agent and the player himself in recent weeks and it now appears that he will move.
Juventus are said to be interested, but Barcelona's ability to meet both the Bavarian club's asking price and the former Marseille star's demands has seen them take control.
Ribery himself has stated that he does not think that he will see out the contract that he has with Bayern, which runs until 2011, due to the level of interest in his services.
That does contradict an interview that he gave to Sports Bild only two weeks ago when he stated that he is not motivated by money and that he had no plans to leave.
Source: Link (http://www.goal.com/en-us/news/87/germany/2009/03/01/1133052/report-ribery-agrees-four-year-barcelona-deal)
mambofever
07-03-2009, 04:06 PM
victor valdes should be replaced.
nicholasL
10-03-2009, 04:03 AM
I would love to see Ribery at Man Utd instead. He can replace Scholes when he retires.
Carnage
10-03-2009, 10:19 AM
Franck Ribery has reached an agreement to join Barcelona from Bayern Munich in the summer and will put pen-to-paper on a four-year deal at Camp Nou, according to a report in Germany.
While the French international's agent has stated that he would only leave the Allianz Arena to join a giant like the Blaugrana, Bild am Sonntag believe a deal has already been done.
"If Ribery goes, it will be only be to a team like Barcelona, where all the players are stars. Playing for Barcelona would be phenomenal for him" Ribery's agent said earlier.
Rumours surrounding Ribery's next move have been fuelled by comments emanating from Bayern, Ribery's agent and the player himself in recent weeks and it now appears that he will move.
Juventus are said to be interested, but Barcelona's ability to meet both the Bavarian club's asking price and the former Marseille star's demands has seen them take control.
Ribery himself has stated that he does not think that he will see out the contract that he has with Bayern, which runs until 2011, due to the level of interest in his services.
That does contradict an interview that he gave to Sports Bild only two weeks ago when he stated that he is not motivated by money and that he had no plans to leave.
Source: Link (http://www.goal.com/en-us/news/87/germany/2009/03/01/1133052/report-ribery-agrees-four-year-barcelona-deal)
1 heck of a player. Barca will improve by leaps and bounds with him on their wings. But Barca already have so many attacking players, I wonder who will leave if he really joins them.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.