PDA

View Full Version : Opinion: Discussion Thread for BPL Weekly Matches

lyfeforce
15-12-2008, 04:11 PM
Hi guys,

Wryer and I were discussing the possibility of creating a discussion thread for the BPL weekend/weekly matches. We can discuss like in-house analysts and give our opinions based on form, injuries as well as past history.

We have a few choices for you to choose from, each have their own pros and cons. This would reduce the numbers of potentially WOB threads popping up.

Please let us know if you have any other ideas.

hiei02
15-12-2008, 04:34 PM
a weekly thread would be nice. similar to edmw's.

lyfeforce
15-12-2008, 04:45 PM
a weekly thread would be nice. similar to edmw's.

But of course, the discussion must be mature, unlike there. No EDMWish replies, please.

Also, we must set a standard for setting the title for each week. Anyone has any suggestions?

poring24
15-12-2008, 04:52 PM
[Official] EPL/BPL/Premier League(as deem fit) Gameweek xx Discussion Thread

I'd say go with a weekly thread, it makes it easier to find posts for the gameweek and makes things tidier as long as the old threads are locked after a period as the mods deem fit

lyfeforce
15-12-2008, 04:55 PM
Wonder how many thread will there be? :s22:

lyfeforce
15-12-2008, 04:56 PM
[Official] EPL/BPL/Premier League(as deem fit) Gameweek xx Discussion Thread

I'd say go with a weekly thread, it makes it easier to find posts for the gameweek and makes things tidier as long as the old threads are locked after a period as the mods deem fit

I'd say three days after the weekend games would be reasonable.

hiei02
15-12-2008, 04:58 PM
Wonder how many thread will there be? :s22:

alot lesser than now for sure. we have as many as 3 matchday threads created occasionally. 1 thread to rule them all would be tidier.

lyfeforce
15-12-2008, 04:59 PM
alot lesser than now for sure. we have as many as 3 matchday threads created occasionally. 1 thread to rule them all would be tidier.

Well, that's thanks to United_Treble. Actually it was his doing that gave me this idea.

hiei02
15-12-2008, 05:02 PM
kiwi used to create matchday threads around, it kinda died down until UT started feeling lucky again. :s13:

donut33
15-12-2008, 05:05 PM
But dun juz talk about the Big 4....should include less well know clubs..

lyfeforce
15-12-2008, 05:06 PM
kiwi used to create matchday threads around, it kinda died down until UT started feeling lucky again. :s13:

That's the problem. Can't always expect me to create the threads. Some of you can start first if you have the time. It's for the forum and everyone is free to discuss in a peaceful and mature manner.

lyfeforce
15-12-2008, 05:07 PM
But dun juz limit talking about the Big 4....

Of course not. That would defeat the purpose. All the matches would be listed down on that day. Feel free to discuss any of the matches. Sometimes it's the overlooked "small teams" who put on the best show.

poring24
15-12-2008, 05:08 PM
One thing about the comments made in those threads, is that you can never restrict banter, but it can and should be limited to prevent flame wars.

Though I'll have to say it will be a tough job to keep the more trigger happy supporters at bay....

lyfeforce
15-12-2008, 05:12 PM
One thing about the comments made in those threads, is that you can never restrict banter, but it can and should be limited to prevent flame wars.

Leave the unnecessary comments to the mods. Just report and we'll do our part to the best of our ability. Meanwhile, just ignore any provocative comments and avoid making any either. We've all seen how ugly it can get.

Argumentative comments are fine, because you will tend to favour one team over another. That's reasonable but we can avoid mudslinging and name-calling, I'm sure.

donut33
15-12-2008, 05:17 PM
Of course not. That would defeat the purpose. All the matches would be listed down on that day. Feel free to discuss any of the matches. Sometimes it's the overlooked "small teams" who put on the best show.

That goods, coz analysis of the Big 4 are usually widely discussed in local papers or ESPN...give the smaller club a chance....cool...

BTW, what do u all think of that football channel host "Joe" (i think his name is Joe - Channel 27)...still prefer John Dykes and gangs...

United_Treble
15-12-2008, 05:20 PM
But dun juz talk about the Big 4....should include less well know clubs..
gd idea but when times fly past most people still get back, focus or more interested in discuss big 4.
we live in today world it human nature la, discuss big 4 enought, i'll start e topic

poring24
15-12-2008, 05:22 PM
gd idea but when times fly past most people still get back, focus or more interested in discuss big 4.
we live in today world it human nature la, discuss big 4 enought, i'll start e topic

but you are free to discuss any club/match or anything on your mind about the games...thats the point of a discussion thread....why discuss big 4 only? I know they are usually the more popular discussions, but who are you to restrict discussion to big 4 only?

Even EDMW's(please bear with me) threads usually contain posts with people talking about any match they are watching....

faruk55
15-12-2008, 05:30 PM
I think the discussions of the smaller teams will be interesting too.. wider topics to talk about... like emerging star players and all... or contoversial refereeing...

lyfeforce
15-12-2008, 06:21 PM
Yes, that's the theme of the forum, discussion of all players and teams involved in the BPL. We can discuss about the managers as well and their tactics they use.

United_Treble, don't create any thread until we're decided on the matter.

United_Treble
15-12-2008, 06:27 PM
but you are free to discuss any club/match or anything on your mind about the games...thats the point of a discussion thread....why discuss big 4 only? I know they are usually the more popular discussions, but who are you to restrict discussion to big 4 only?

Even EDMW's(please bear with me) threads usually contain posts with people talking about any match they are watching....
the prob is they want neater thread, open mre thread to discuss small club for what.

i give u 3 months, u see the respond in thread involve small club got greater than those big club or not

dun believe u open HULL v SUNDERLAND lo, see how, sure dying thread

United_Treble
15-12-2008, 06:29 PM
Yes, that's the theme of the forum, discussion of all players and teams involved in the BPL. We can discuss about the managers as well and their tactics they use.

United_Treble, don't create any thread until we're decided on the matter.
alright but it oso rude ro delete thread when peo put effort in creating, what iff im moderator i delete rhis thread without informing u?

lyfeforce
15-12-2008, 06:33 PM
alright but it oso rude ro delete thread when peo put effort in creating, what iff im moderator i delete rhis thread without informing u?

The reason for this is so that you don't create too many threads. We're talking about creating a common thread for all the weekly matches and you go ahead and create a thread about Man Utd vs Chelsea, which is January. It's still December!

United_Treble
15-12-2008, 06:37 PM

match shown live priority oso by big 4, no matter how u think diff from maj of us, thread involv smaller club will die

poring24
15-12-2008, 06:57 PM
wtf.....we creating ONE general discussion thread for every week/season and any game is free for discussion

not individual thread for each game la ...

*facepalm*

Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
15-12-2008, 07:00 PM
One such thread for 2 weeks would not to be too less or too much.

lyfeforce
15-12-2008, 07:13 PM
One thread for 1 week. It's more than reasonable. Doesn't matter if none of the Big 4 are involved. This forum is called "The English Premiership", not "The Big 4".

We will discuss the matches regardless of whether they are showing live or not.

lyfeforce
15-12-2008, 07:29 PM
How about the title something like this:

BPL Week #: Date

And the first post could list the games, times and location.

For e.g. next week

Middlesbrough vs Arsenal - 12:45 @ The Riverside Stadium

Is that agreeable? Of course, we can post any previews of the matches available. Other other suggestions?

1920_me
15-12-2008, 07:29 PM
Good Idea. One thread per week will be sufficient rather than individual threads for each games.

I dont think there is a need for preview, listing the LOCAL time of the game would be better. I guess then the matches can be discussed if there is any interest in them.

We can look to other forums for some good ideas...

lyfeforce
15-12-2008, 07:30 PM
Good Idea. One thread per week will be sufficient rather than individual threads for each games.

One for a season would not be too good, too many pages.

On the hindsight, I agree.

vasilli07
15-12-2008, 07:35 PM
But of course, the discussion must be mature, unlike there. No EDMWish replies, please.

Also, we must set a standard for setting the title for each week. Anyone has any suggestions?

edmw spelling allowed? I don't want to be so self-cautious about how i type...:o

Michael Shoemaker
15-12-2008, 07:40 PM
edmw spelling allowed? I don't want to be so self-cautious about how i type...:o

dun use that language la...see liao quite dulan one sometimes.

lyfeforce
15-12-2008, 07:51 PM

dun use that language la...see liao quite dulan one sometimes.

A little here and there is fine. I'm not asking for perfect English. But the sentences must make sense to a non-EDMWer as well.

Kiwi8
15-12-2008, 08:24 PM
No, I don't think it's a good idea.

I feel that a thread for a single match is reasonable. If we can't discuss each match individually in a thread in a football forum, something is wrong. :eek:

lyfeforce
15-12-2008, 08:54 PM
No, I don't think it's a good idea.

I feel that a thread for a single match is reasonable. If we can't discuss each match individually in a thread in a football forum, something is wrong. :eek:

But discussing only the big matches would be unfair to the supporters of the smaller teams and having one thread for each match will be too many to keep track of.

We can still discuss the matches in one week and how each will impact the teams' standings in the league.

1920_me
15-12-2008, 09:01 PM
But discussing only the big matches would be unfair to the supporters of the smaller teams and having one thread for each match will be too many to keep track of.

We can still discuss the matches in one week and how each will impact the teams' standings in the league.

That is true.One distinct advantage from having an weekly threads for games, provides greater coverage to the smaller teams. This is evident in many other forums,

but then again, the Football Forum is rarely active during the weekend and perhaps the threads in EDMW is more than sufficient??

poring24
15-12-2008, 09:02 PM
yeah, and if the poll is something that is taken into account, majority wins I guess....

lyfeforce
15-12-2008, 09:08 PM
That is true.One distinct advantage from having an weekly threads for games, provides greater coverage to the smaller teams. This is evident in many other forums,

but then again, the Football Forum is rarely active during the weekend and perhaps the threads in EDMW is more than sufficient??

Some of us don't visit EDMW. It's meant for football fans here, to bring the members closer, rather than stick to the respective threads. It will take some time though.

anfielder
15-12-2008, 10:09 PM
I think big matches, like MU vs Chelsea, can still have a thread of their own. Matches like these would drown out all the other matches that week if they are lumped together.

Kiwi8
15-12-2008, 10:23 PM

It is but 2 different matters altogether. Lumping all the matches of a week together does not solve the problem of fairness. Most people will still discuss the big matches. At least with the match thread, those interested can still discuss that match without being drowned by the discussions of other matches of that week.

United_Treble
15-12-2008, 10:36 PM
[quote=lyfeforce;34400942]How about the title something like this:

BPL Week #: Date

And the first post could list the games, times and location.

For e.g. next week

Is that agreeable? Of course, we can post any previews of the matches available. Other other suggestions?[/quotnothing new that e format i always used

United_Treble
15-12-2008, 10:41 PM
I think big matches, like MU vs Chelsea, can still have a thread of their own. Matches like these would drown out all the other matches that week if they are lumped together.
no used. i posted this mu v che thread kena deleted

Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
15-12-2008, 10:43 PM
This thread should be aftermath discussion not match

lyfeforce
15-12-2008, 11:13 PM
We shall let the poll run for another 2 weeks and we'll take the majority. Until then, if you want to create a match thread, you can do so. But make sure you have some kind of discussion-worthy post. Analytical and tactical views, please. Don't turn this into a circus.

Not something like "XXX team will win, no problem", or "XXX 2 - 2 YYY. Sure can bet". I see that, the thread will be deleted.

Until the poll ends, you can still voice out your views on whether this Weekly thread is a good idea or not. Or you can contribute any other ideas. We will pick the solution that most of us can agree with.

anfielder
15-12-2008, 11:15 PM
no used. i posted this mu v che thread kena deleted

that's partly because it's still way too early to discuss that match. an arsenal v liverpool thread would have been more relevant at this point in time.

15-12-2008, 11:30 PM
may be the thread can be something like doing team analysis,then analysing the odds why which team will win etc....like those in asianbXXXXX.com.Just a suggestion :)