PDA

View Full Version : Maxonline Ultimate Hardware Query

ayuluv
16-12-2008, 12:17 AM
:(Dear all, I apologise if this question has been put up alot of times. I did some search for it but just want to confirm before I make a decision in which to buy.

I used to be using Maxonline Premium plan and had change to Maxonline Ultimate plan recently. I did not purchase the Motorola SB6100 from SH because I thought my linksys modem (from starhub promotion 2 yrs ago) can support it but apparently it does not because its still a G series modem + router.

After which I had call SH 1633 and the IT support was quite good in telling me that the SB6100 does not have built in router, and that is why I came here to search for some answers.

My friend had a WAG325N which comes with built in router but if not wrong the WAN/LAN port is 10/100 (not gigabyte port).

I was wondering will it affect alot for the performance if I get the Linksys WAG325N instead of getting Motorola SB6100 + one router (D-Link Dir-655 - as alot pros recommended) ?

Currently the main router/modem is direct connected to my PC and one of the port is connected to my Xbox 360. While there are some wireless connections going on at my Bro's room for his PC & Lap top as well.

So am really not sure which would be a wise choice for this scenerio.

Or is there a N series Cable modem w/ Router that comes with Gigabyte ports?

Thanks for your helps in advance...

weibchen
16-12-2008, 12:31 AM
of course.

seperates are always better - sb6100 is a modem to take full advantage of the ultimate speed.
and usually those modem/cum router is only build for surfing the net, heavy BT it'll hang.

ayuluv
16-12-2008, 12:38 AM
of course.

seperates are always better - sb6100 is a modem to take full advantage of the ultimate speed.
and usually those modem/cum router is only build for surfing the net, heavy BT it'll hang.

Hi, oic thanks for your prompt reply. Because it has been bothering me since dat day I recontract (cant really sleep well lol)

Btw besides SB6100 + Dir-655, is there any other choices with similar specs ard?

liangtam
16-12-2008, 12:49 AM
Whether its a G or not is not the problem. Rather, it how much the router can process, thats the impt thing.
Its like playing the latest release game with 3 yr old back hardware.

The use of ultimate requires the use of secret formula . I let u guess and figure out urself what it is.

For alternative, u can try the top line of SMC, top line of Netgear, the few top line of dlinks(dir615 not counted) and the apple one.

Scuderia
16-12-2008, 12:58 AM
Hi, oic thanks for your prompt reply. Because it has been bothering me since dat day I recontract (cant really sleep well lol)

Btw besides SB6100 + Dir-655, is there any other choices with similar specs ard?

The pre-DOCSIS 3.0 modem SB6100i is definitely a must to fully utilise your Ultimate subscription, no substitution from StarHub currently.

ayuluv
16-12-2008, 02:01 AM
Whether its a G or not is not the problem. Rather, it how much the router can process, thats the impt thing.
Its like playing the latest release game with 3 yr old back hardware.

The use of ultimate requires the use of secret formula . I let u guess and figure out urself what it is.

For alternative, u can try the top line of SMC, top line of Netgear, the few top line of dlinks(dir615 not counted) and the apple one.

ooo.. thnx for your reply... btw i guess the alternatives are meant for router only right as I did not seem to find any modem+router with gigabit ports...

secret formula.. need to crack my brains lol

ayuluv
16-12-2008, 02:01 AM
The pre-DOCSIS 3.0 modem SB6100i is definitely a must to fully utilise your Ultimate subscription, no substitution from StarHub currently.

thnx thnx.. advise taken noted =P

ayuluv
16-12-2008, 03:05 AM
Just happen to be checking price for N router with gigabit port and found out LINKSYS WRT310N Wireless-N (Draft-N) Broadband Router is some how cheaper then D-Link DIR-655. Anyone knows the main difference in them?

ayuluv
16-12-2008, 10:14 AM
had came across motorola site with SB6101 seems to be a combo router+modem with gigabit ports. Not sure is it advisable to get that one instead of sb6100 + dir655?

Shawn^
16-12-2008, 10:31 AM
Get your DIR-655 and report back what kinda ultimate speeds you are getting via wireless (be it in N only or N/G mode)

ayuluv
16-12-2008, 10:32 AM
hmm... ya.. but i still need to get the SB6100 to work with DIR655 rite?

Shawn^
16-12-2008, 10:40 AM
hmm... ya.. but i still need to get the SB6100 to work with DIR655 rite?

YES. But to fully understand that you need to know how cable modems work. The SB6100 is not a DOCSIS 3.0 modem. I don't know how Starhub can advertise it as. It does not support the new network standard. There are new DOCSIS 3.0 modems released by motorola that support up to 160Mb/s downstream. The SB6100 simply combines downstream channels over a DOCSIS 2 network so the downstream increases to 100Mb/s. This all good and fine until you realize in a short periods time that SH starts selling the new SB6120 modems which are capable of way greater upload speeds (over a DOCSIS 3 network) than the "pre" SB6100.

ayuluv
16-12-2008, 10:48 AM
YES. But to fully understand that you need to know how cable modems work. The SB6100 is not a DOCSIS 3.0 modem. I don't know how Starhub can advertise it as. It does not support the new network standard. There are new DOCSIS 3.0 modems released by motorola that support up to 160Mb/s downstream. The SB6100 simply combines downstream channels over a DOCSIS 2 network so the downstream increases to 100Mb/s. This all good and fine until you realize in a short periods time that SH starts selling the new SB6120 modems which are capable of way greater upload speeds (over a DOCSIS 3 network) than the channel binding SB6100.

Thanks for your prompt reply. Yup i did read that SB6100 is pre DOCSIS 3.0 while the new SB6101 & SB6120 are some how DOCSIS ready (and I suppose both are combo modem+router which may or may not perform up on par with SB61000+DIR655 comb)

I had read some other brands can generate up to downstream 300Mb/s but cant remember which brand in fact.

What I am worried now is what you had mentioned. SB6100 might be outdated in some time soon when SH starts to use another surf borad.

But so far the market even in ebay I cant seem to find ppl selling SB6101 / SB6120 which I might be more interested in.

Or is there a better soution pertaining this problem?

P/S: I tink its Netgear Series can achieve 300Mb/s?

richneo
16-12-2008, 11:39 AM
:(Dear all, I apologise if this question has been put up alot of times. I did some search for it but just want to confirm before I make a decision in which to buy.

I used to be using Maxonline Premium plan and had change to Maxonline Ultimate plan recently. I did not purchase the Motorola SB6100 from SH because I thought my linksys modem (from starhub promotion 2 yrs ago) can support it but apparently it does not because its still a G series modem + router.

After which I had call SH 1633 and the IT support was quite good in telling me that the SB6100 does not have built in router, and that is why I came here to search for some answers.

My friend had a WAG325N which comes with built in router but if not wrong the WAN/LAN port is 10/100 (not gigabyte port).

I was wondering will it affect alot for the performance if I get the Linksys WAG325N instead of getting Motorola SB6100 + one router (D-Link Dir-655 - as alot pros recommended) ?

Currently the main router/modem is direct connected to my PC and one of the port is connected to my Xbox 360. While there are some wireless connections going on at my Bro's room for his PC & Lap top as well.

So am really not sure which would be a wise choice for this scenerio.

Or is there a N series Cable modem w/ Router that comes with Gigabyte ports?

Thanks for your helps in advance...

you cannot use WAG325N for starhub

it is a ADSL modem with Wireless N router built in

the best combi hardware for ur mol ultimate can only be sb6100 and dir-655

Shawn^
16-12-2008, 11:53 AM
DIR-655 is very efficient at routing and it's QOS engine is wonderful. It's wireless component is useless. I know a lot will disagree with me but as I have mentioned and even posted screen shots my tx rate is 300Mbps but my rx rate never hits even 100Mbps and this is with 100% connectivity. I live in a private isolated small condo where I get the most 3 wireless stations popping up. Even on an isolate channel interference was much worse than my older WRT54GC router which I could achieve up to 11+Mbps over wireless on a lower MOL plan.

Be it a general 2.4hz issue but I'm convinced if speed over wireless is what you want you have to go with a dual band router. $ wise it's just a small sum more over the 655.

If you are happy with having a 3Mb/s down and 8Mb/s up over wireless on your ultimate plan then pls choose the dir-655. Yet again wired, its simply an amazing router.

ayuluv
16-12-2008, 12:07 PM
you cannot use WAG325N for starhub

it is a ADSL modem with Wireless N router built in

the best combi hardware for ur mol ultimate can only be sb6100 and dir-655

Thanks for your advise... guess i miss out the "ADSL" Part lol.. shd look into "Cable" instead... thanks for highlighting it =)

ayuluv
16-12-2008, 12:13 PM
DIR-655 is very efficient at routing and it's QOS engine is wonderful. It's wireless component is useless. I know a lot will disagree with me but as I have mentioned and even posted screen shots my tx rate is 300Mbps but my rx rate never hits even 100Mbps and this is with 100% connectivity. I live in a private isolated small condo where I get the most 3 wireless stations popping up. Even on an isolate channel interference was much worse than my older WRT54GC router which I could achieve up to 11+Mbps over wireless on a lower MOL plan.

Be it a general 2.4hz issue but I'm convinced if speed over wireless is what you want you have to go with a dual band router. $ wise it's just a small sum more over the 655.

If you are happy with having a 3Mb/s down and 8Mb/s up over wireless on your ultimate plan then pls choose the dir-655. Yet again wired, its simply an amazing router.

yup.. as wat i had read, most of the pros recommend DIR-655 and in fact when i read the specs its quite good in fact... not really sure abt wireless via DIR-655 because am wired connected to my current modem+router now so is my xbox360.

I had also read that the wireless need to have compatible adaptor so DIR-655 can achieve better results... but not sure how much will it differ from the one you stated...

Shawn^
16-12-2008, 01:22 PM
yup.. as wat i had read, most of the pros recommend DIR-655 and in fact when i read the specs its quite good in fact... not really sure abt wireless via DIR-655 because am wired connected to my current modem+router now so is my xbox360.

I had also read that the wireless need to have compatible adaptor so DIR-655 can achieve better results... but not sure how much will it differ from the one you stated...

I'm using it with their compatibile and recommended 140 usb adapator.

AaronZzZ
16-12-2008, 01:48 PM
Sorry to hijack. What about combo for maxonline premium ? My current one is SBG1000 + DGL4300. :s12:

liangtam
16-12-2008, 02:12 PM

Where u stay? That is if u stay nearby n dun mind ppl visit

liangtam
16-12-2008, 02:13 PM
Broadcom, Atheros, Ralink, Marvell based, all are compatible
SB6101 cannot be used here even if u somehow managed to import in!!

liangtam
16-12-2008, 02:14 PM
Sorry to hijack. What about combo for maxonline premium ? My current one is SBG1000 + DGL4300. :s12:

SBG1000 ish can throw already :o

Scuderia
16-12-2008, 02:25 PM
But so far the market even in ebay I cant seem to find ppl selling SB6101 / SB6120 which I might be more interested in.

As some one puts it. If StarHub is not bringing in the SB6101 or SB6120, or even the SBV6120 for Digital Voice, can only suck thumb, since there is no way StarHub is going to provision it for use on their network.

ayuluv
16-12-2008, 03:24 PM
I'm using it with their compatibile and recommended 140 usb adapator.

Oic.. i tink nid pros to help out liao...

ayuluv
16-12-2008, 03:25 PM

if am not wrong sbg1000 (which i also have) is obselete already...

ayuluv
16-12-2008, 03:26 PM
Broadcom, Atheros, Ralink, Marvell based, all are compatible
SB6101 cannot be used here even if u somehow managed to import in!!

Haiz.. that is very sad... lol Broadcom, Marvell & 3Comm are my customers (my company's one lol)

weibchen
16-12-2008, 03:44 PM
sbg1k is one of the worst routers i had..

ayuluv
16-12-2008, 03:50 PM
As some one puts it. If StarHub is not bringing in the SB6101 or SB6120, or even the SBV6120 for Digital Voice, can only suck thumb, since there is no way StarHub is going to provision it for use on their network.

haiz.. thats the very bad thing here....

ayuluv
16-12-2008, 03:53 PM
looks like the verdict for MOL Ultimate is to use SB6100 with one good router (DIR-655 etc) for my case liao...

wait suay suay after I buy SB6100 they come out SB6101 & SB6120 i really sad sia...

liangtam
16-12-2008, 04:01 PM
What coy??

ayuluv
16-12-2008, 04:18 PM
What coy??

eh Dimerco express lol

kennyg1969
16-12-2008, 05:27 PM
looks like the verdict for MOL Ultimate is to use SB6100 with one good router (DIR-655 etc) for my case liao...

wait suay suay after I buy SB6100 they come out SB6101 & SB6120 i really sad sia...

That a gamble you need to take ;)

ace_mav
16-12-2008, 06:08 PM
is there a modem capable of 100mbps and still able to use digital voice? using the older type of modem with vecm but not utilising the speed though...

liangtam
16-12-2008, 07:40 PM
is there a modem capable of 100mbps and still able to use digital voice? using the older type of modem with vecm but not utilising the speed though...

Nope
*10 char*

ayuluv
17-12-2008, 12:51 AM
That a gamble you need to take ;)

lol... quite true.. .but may I also know how does Linksys WRT310N Wireless-N (Draft-N) BB Router (with Gigabit Ports) fare if compared to D-Link DIR-655?

is there a very big performance difference?

I had decided to get the SB6100 but now is to decide which router... (broke liao lol)

liangtam
17-12-2008, 01:08 AM
WRT310 does not have a gigabit port.
There may be a small chance that u do not get the maximum rate when u access Velocity's partner sites.

ayuluv
17-12-2008, 01:41 AM
There may be a small chance that u do not get the maximum rate when u access Velocity's partner sites.

oic... cos i saw it on hardwarezone price guild and it says with gigabit port... as mistake from them maybe?

kennyg1969
17-12-2008, 01:57 AM
oic... cos i saw it on hardwarezone price guild and it says with gigabit port... as mistake from them maybe?

WRT350N is a gigabit router

ayuluv
17-12-2008, 09:45 AM
WRT350N is a gigabit router

hmm.. i guess the price of wrt350N and DIR-655 will be some how quite close ba.. lol...

phuque99
17-12-2008, 10:43 AM

Do you mean not a gigabit WAN port?

liangtam
17-12-2008, 01:52 PM
Do you mean not a gigabit WAN port?

yar. no gigabit wan

ayuluv
17-12-2008, 06:51 PM
lidat like only left with SB6100 + DIR-655 lol

richneo
18-12-2008, 09:36 AM
this is the only best combo for mol ultimate..

without these 2, i think its almost pointless to sign up mol ultimate

unless the subscriber accepts 30mbps with sb5101 orn 5100

liangtam
18-12-2008, 11:49 AM
ultimate for <32mbps, dun get better :)

DdrNigel
20-12-2008, 01:06 PM
I wanna ask, what if i am using mol ultimate with the SB6100 but using a cheapo linksys router WRT54GS? My PC will be using wired connection, whereas my family uses wireless on their lappys.
Thing is, my family do not need high speed, as all they ever does is normal surfing and reading of emails. Thus i want to ask if the speed on my PC will be affected by the router even though i am using wired connection?

liangtam
20-12-2008, 01:49 PM
I wanna ask, what if i am using mol ultimate with the SB6100 but using a cheapo linksys router WRT54GS? My PC will be using wired connection, whereas my family uses wireless on their lappys.
Thing is, my family do not need high speed, as all they ever does is normal surfing and reading of emails. Thus i want to ask if the speed on my PC will be affected by the router even though i am using wired connection?

Yes!
*10 char*

addthewin
20-12-2008, 02:01 PM
i am a maxonline ultimate customer!
apparently their network a bit scewred.. but i belive they are they the best..
lol.. my upload speed is gaining at a speed of as high as 7mbps !
and download speed 22Mbps.. but now got a bit problem la.. 7mbps nia.. sth wrong

DdrNigel
20-12-2008, 02:18 PM
Yes!
*10 char*

Ah crap...
That means i have to change my router in order to best ultilise my plan?

bez
22-01-2009, 02:34 PM
Will Netgear CMD31T or CVD31XT work?
Its a DOCSIS 3.0
Any idea can use these?

liangtam
22-01-2009, 02:36 PM
cannot
theres one and only one, the sb6100

hersvim
23-01-2009, 01:04 AM
ooo.. thnx for your reply... btw i guess the alternatives are meant for router only right as I did not seem to find any modem+router with gigabit ports...

secret formula.. need to crack my brains lol

why do you insist on getting something with gigabit ports?

ayuluv
25-01-2009, 09:13 PM
why do you insist on getting something with gigabit ports?

hmm.. bcos since i am upgrading so might as well get something that can last longer..

anyway I had gotten the D-Link DIR 655 .. its really a good router =P

ashleybono2001
02-12-2009, 10:36 PM
Need to seek advise from the experts here...have got MOL Ultimate recently and was thinkg of changing the router as I am currently using a "belkin wireless"' router + SB6120 and find that there is not much diff in speed.
I am using purely on wireless, should I switch to DIR-655 which will greatly improve my wireless or stay put with my existing router? What should i look for if i would be getting a new router for wireless other than DIR-655 considering the price?

MarineX
03-12-2009, 07:48 AM
Need to seek advise from the experts here...have got MOL Ultimate recently and was thinkg of changing the router as I am currently using a "belkin wireless"' router + SB6120 and find that there is not much diff in speed.
I am using purely on wireless, should I switch to DIR-655 which will greatly improve my wireless or stay put with my existing router? What should i look for if i would be getting a new router for wireless other than DIR-655 considering the price?

belkin which wireless router?

DIR-655/855 is good..

value for $ go for DIR-655.

you have to know what you are looking out for, that's the key thing :)

please do not bring linksys into the picture. it doesn't come with life time warranty and really isn't worth mentioning :)

ashleybono2001
03-12-2009, 12:50 PM
belkin which wireless router?

DIR-655/855 is good..

value for $ go for DIR-655.

you have to know what you are looking out for, that's the key thing :)

please do not bring linksys into the picture. it doesn't come with life time warranty and really isn't worth mentioning :)

thx for the prompt reply....I am using Belkin wireless router F5D7231-4

I have 2 computers using wireless now and it seems to me that it is stilll very slow though i m using maxonline ultimate now (not much difference from my previous plan). So i presume that the router is not able to performing.

kevinlaikf
17-01-2010, 08:20 AM
Is it true that only Starhub Ultimate can only utilised the 100Mbps connectivity on supported local service?

Even if you have the proper hardware, but on lower plan, u cant have 100Mbps connection speed for supported local content providers?

whaleshark87
17-01-2010, 08:50 AM
Is it true that only Starhub Ultimate can only utilised the 100Mbps connectivity on supported local service?

Even if you have the proper hardware, but on lower plan, u cant have 100Mbps connection speed for supported local content providers?
Only maxonline premium has 100mbps support on local content provider, maxonline express doesnt

liangtam
17-01-2010, 05:54 PM
MOL Express is included for speed boost to velocity partner sites oso.

LemonT
17-01-2010, 06:54 PM
cannot
theres one and only one, the sb6100

Got SB6120 also lar, it's a full docsis 3.0 CM.

But personally I find SB6100 better..:D

LemonT
17-01-2010, 06:55 PM
Only maxonline premium has 100mbps support on local content provider, maxonline express doesnt

If you get SB61x0 CMs, regardless of plan you will get the up to 100mbps for velocity sites.

liangtam
17-01-2010, 07:21 PM
Got SB6120 also lar, it's a full docsis 3.0 CM.

But personally I find SB6100 better..:D

but that was posted a yr ago