PDA

View Full Version : Paul Ince Sacked By Blackburn

vasilli07
16-12-2008, 08:03 PM
Blackburn have relieved manager Paul Ince of his duties.
http://soccernet-assets.espn.go.com/design05/images/PH2/ince275e.jpg

Ince: Unable to repeat his lower league success.

A sixth successive Premier League defeat at the weekend, 3-0 at Wigan, extended Rovers' winless run to 11 matches and increased the scrutiny on Ince who has paid with his job.

The Blackburn board met on Monday to discuss the future of the former Macclesfield and MK Dons boss, who guided Rovers to just three wins in 17 league games since his appointment in June.

He leaves with the Lancashire club second bottom of the league.
"It is with great sadness the board announce that Paul Ince is to leave the club," read a statement on Blackburn's club website. "After a board meeting yesterday it was decided to relieve Paul of his duties.

"The board, having selected Paul back in June, were desperate for him to succeed and wanted to give him as much time as possible in the unforgiving environment of Premier League management, where time is such a precious commodity."

Chairman John Williams added: "Three wins in 17 games has seen a squad, which finished seventh last season, fall to 19th position. We are currently in real danger of becoming detached from the pack.

"The survival of the club in the Premier League is paramount and our focus now is on finding a replacement who will be able to maintain our top division status.

"Paul will bounce back, he is a fighter and we wish him well."

Replacements for Ince are already being touted around with former Rovers boss Graeme Souness seemingly the new favourite.

Alan Curbishley, Burnley boss Owen Coyle and Sam Allardyce have also being linked.

Source: soccernet

As expected...i really don't think Ince is a premier league substance manager, maybe a few more years as manager. Sam Allardyce would suit blackburn well...

Fabiano
16-12-2008, 08:24 PM
omg finally.

ahgohgoh
16-12-2008, 08:28 PM
another of fergie's pupil down...

i sense mark hughes is next...

lyfeforce
16-12-2008, 08:45 PM
About time, if you ask me. As much as I like the guy, he's a horrible manager at this level.

Forever_Yours
16-12-2008, 08:47 PM
He was basically given the same team minus david bentley, yet he can't repeat the success his predecessor had. Deserved to be sacked.

1920_me
16-12-2008, 09:25 PM
He was basically given the same team minus david bentley, yet he can't repeat the success his predecessor had. Deserved to be sacked.

Also minus Brad Freidel and limited funds. It was bound to be a failure, once has to question Ince for being overly-ambitious in accepting the job.

Cumzilla
16-12-2008, 09:26 PM

hughes probably has the 3 games over the christmas period to save his job after the executive chairman gave him the vote of confidence today

yellowsubmarine
16-12-2008, 09:33 PM
Just came back from work and saw this news.

Mixed reaction.

Really wanted Ince to succeed but he hasn't produced the goods. Took Mark Hughes's 7th placed Rovers (last season) to 19th currently. Really poor.

Newcastle recovered well with Kinnear, Tottn too with Redknapp, Sunderland whipped West Brom without a manager. Hopefully, we can climb the ladder soon.

Wish The Guv'nor all the best.

Bring back SPARKY! All is forgiven. :s12:

emoGav
16-12-2008, 10:04 PM
he had to go. watching his games u can see he doesnt know his best players yet after 6 mths. players out of positions, defence leaking bad and the team doesnt responds anymore after going down. a pale comparison of last season where they would be fighting back especially after half time but now they just let admit defeat. only the game with liverpool saw a glimpse of something but time is a factor especially with strong teams in the championship nowadays, it will be hard to get up. wigan game was definitely the final straw for him, it was poor.

batman_888
17-12-2008, 11:15 AM
in the 1st place, i dun even favour ince getting the job.... when the recruiting for the new manager... few name were up but the board choose ince instead of others good manager.. koeman, laundrup.....

vasilli07
17-12-2008, 11:32 AM
in the 1st place, i dun even favour ince getting the job.... when the recruiting for the new manager... few name were up but the board choose ince instead of others good manager.. koeman, laundrup.....

I'm not sure Koeman is a good manager. Just look at what he did to Valencia. When he went there, he decided to axe the old but still very loyal and good players like Canizares, Angulo and Albelda. Which manager will ever do that?

cracker
17-12-2008, 11:43 AM

How many ex-MU still in mgt ?

Bryan Robson....sacked by Boro....famous for leading them to the FA & League cup final in the same season...lost both and relegated. Went to WBA and managed to save them from relegation on the last day..but WBA was relegated the following season..and he was also sacked subsequently...Now busy promoting "I bought BP land" and was supposed to be back at MU to be a club ambassador.

Steve Bruce is still surviving at Wigan.....

Paul Ince had success at lower league club...but couldnt survive beyond the 7th mth in the big time.

Mark Hughes did relatively well at Blackburn....but now struggling for survival at MC.

Brian McClair is the youth coach at MU.

the rest are probably better off being guests on radio or tv shows.

vasilli07
17-12-2008, 11:48 AM
You forgot about Roy Keane...

Maybe all the guys(except Bruce whom i think can make it at a higher level) should attend a Alex Ferguson managing course before taking up management.

Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
17-12-2008, 12:01 PM

First 5 Matches he started okay 2 wins 1 draw 2 lost getting 7 points out of possible 15

Everton 2 - 3 Blackburn Rovers
Blackburn Rovers 1 - 1 Hull City
West Ham United 4 - 1 Blackburn Rovers
Blackburn Rovers 0 - 4 Arsenal
Blackburn Rovers 1 - 0 Fulham

daylight
17-12-2008, 12:04 PM

Maybe all the guys(except Bruce whom i think can make it at a higher level) should attend a Alex Ferguson managing course before taking up management.

old man never teach them some tricks in managing a PL team.
a few of them were even tipped to succeed him as man yoo boss, but all cannot make it.

erwinrommel
17-12-2008, 12:08 PM

The moment I saw Ince accepting the job, I knew Blackburn would have to fight relegation.

I don't blame him, I only blame the cruel reality of the harsh demands of the EPL.

cracker
17-12-2008, 12:21 PM

Goodness,,how can I forget mr. roy keane !!!

cracker
17-12-2008, 12:23 PM
The moment I saw Ince accepting the job, I knew Blackburn would have to fight relegation.

I don't blame him, I only blame the cruel reality of the harsh demands of the EPL.

tat is the situation in all league.....every players or mgr signed must show immediate results....else bye bye

batman_888
18-12-2008, 03:39 AM
How many ex-MU still in mgt ?

Bryan Robson....sacked by Boro....famous for leading them to the FA & League cup final in the same season...lost both and relegated. Went to WBA and managed to save them from relegation on the last day..but WBA was relegated the following season..and he was also sacked subsequently...Now busy promoting "I bought BP land" and was supposed to be back at MU to be a club ambassador.

Steve Bruce is still surviving at Wigan.....

Paul Ince had success at lower league club...but couldnt survive beyond the 7th mth in the big time.

Mark Hughes did relatively well at Blackburn....but now struggling for survival at MC.

Brian McClair is the youth coach at MU.

the rest are probably better off being guests on radio or tv shows.

brian kidd?? paul parker?? henning berg??

batman_888
18-12-2008, 03:42 AM
First 5 Matches he started okay 2 wins 1 draw 2 lost getting 7 points out of possible 15

Everton 2 - 3 Blackburn Rovers
Blackburn Rovers 1 - 1 Hull City
West Ham United 4 - 1 Blackburn Rovers
Blackburn Rovers 0 - 4 Arsenal
Blackburn Rovers 1 - 0 Fulham

first 5 games nia... but the winless streak is the 1 tat affected the club lor.... it seems u dun know tat if u dun win a games continously u b worried 1 leh...