View Full Version : English FA adopt 'home grown' rule
1920_me
18-12-2008, 10:07 PM
Football League chairmen have voted to bring in a new rule where four out of the 16 players for matchday squads will have to be 'home grown'.
The regulation was brought in at a special extraordinary general meeting of the 72 clubs at Derby this morning and will come into effect from the beginning of next season.
Football League chairman Lord Mawhinney said: ''I would like to compliment Football League clubs for having the foresight to make changes that will benefit the wider game.
''League clubs are at the forefront of developing young playing talent for the domestic game and are investing more than £40million a season in this important area.
''As a result of today's vote, those players being developed will have a greater chance to demonstrate their talent at first-team level.''
The rule means at least four of the 16 players in match squads will have had to have been registered domestically for a minimum of three seasons before their 21st birthday. They can however be of any nationality.
The new rule is in line with the approach favoured by UEFA rather than the 'six-plus-five' approach being proposed by FIFA.
Very sensible by the FA. Although, four out of sixteen is still lenient in my opinion. I dont envisage any of the teams having problems with this rule.
nottibeans
19-12-2008, 12:12 AM
The rule means at least four of the 16 players in match squads will have had to have been registered domestically for a minimum of three seasons before their 21st birthday. They can however be of any nationality.
Dun understand leh.. only apply to below premier league clubs?
now premier league clubs matchday squad is 18. What is "registered for a min of 3 seasons b4 21st birthday"? They are developing youth issit?
dnsfpl
19-12-2008, 09:28 AM
4 is too little, 6 will be nice if they wanna feel the change
Deunamist
19-12-2008, 10:12 AM
English talent is going to suffer. not like England has many talents to begin with though.
poring24
19-12-2008, 11:55 AM
English talent is going to suffer. not like England has many talents to begin with though.
Are you sure? Do you watch the Premier League to begin with?
_dXter
19-12-2008, 01:07 PM
More kids buying from the premier league clubs.
Deunamist
19-12-2008, 01:15 PM
there has to be a reason why English clubs are throwing insane amounts of money at teens from other countries in Europe, South America, Africa. no doubt the youth system will help in the growth of these players but they don't count as English talent because they aren't English to begin with.
Theo Walcott is an exception.
this is a good move by the English FA, but they have to be aware that they are training the future stars of their international rivals.
Kiwi8
19-12-2008, 03:52 PM
there has to be a reason why English clubs are throwing insane amounts of money at teens from other countries in Europe, South America, Africa. no doubt the youth system will help in the growth of these players but they don't count as English talent because they aren't English to begin with.
Theo Walcott is an exception.
this is a good move by the English FA, but they have to be aware that they are training the future stars of their international rivals.
Well the English FA's hands are tied. With Britain in the European Union, they cannot impose the nationality quota in their labour system including the football leagues, unless UEFA endorses it or Britain withdraws from the EU.
CanIsayNo
19-12-2008, 08:58 PM
you'll get to see more english youngsters in the matchday squad(benched) just to fill the quota
Deunamist
19-12-2008, 09:03 PM
which is probably a good move for the England national team = they will finally be able to start to reach the likes of France, Italy and Spain in international competitions.
vasilli07
19-12-2008, 09:28 PM
you'll get to see more english youngsters in the matchday squad(benched) just to fill the quota
Wat quota? You can still have a all foreign team...as long as a player is at a club for 3 years before the age of 21, he will be called home-grown. Nationality doesn't matter.
ahgohgoh
20-12-2008, 07:03 AM
i dont quite get it...
so do you have to be registered for 3 years before reaching 21 yrs old....
which means.. the latest you can be registered is before 18 yrs old??
vasilli07
20-12-2008, 07:36 AM
i dont quite get it...
so do you have to be registered for 3 years before reaching 21 yrs old....
which means.. the latest you can be registered is before 18 yrs old??
it just simply means a player is with the club for 3 years before reaching 21 years old...
MoneyHoney
20-12-2008, 10:29 AM
i think hor...best is 6 homegrown, 3 any nationality, 3 english nationality.
Man City sweating now i bet.
ahgohgoh
20-12-2008, 11:20 AM
it just simply means a player is with the club for 3 years before reaching 21 years old...
means join the club before 18 yrs old la
ahgohgoh
20-12-2008, 11:21 AM
i think hor...best is 6 homegrown, 3 any nationality, 3 english nationality.
Man City sweating now i bet.
man city won't need to sweat... they have a few youngsters and english players...
i think ronaldo joined after 18 yrs old right?
i think of the big 4... liverpool will be the hardest hit because when i see their current squad... they have only 3-5 players who fit the homeground rule...
arsenal will have no problems because their players are very young when they join the club... chelsea have a few english players... man utd no problems too...
CanIsayNo
20-12-2008, 02:16 PM
Wat quota? You can still have a all foreign team...as long as a player is at a club for 3 years before the age of 21, he will be called home-grown. Nationality doesn't matter.
yea teams like arsenal can do what u mentioned cos they have brought in lots of foreigners under the age of 21.. but for other teams they may be required to call up their reserve youngsters to fill the quota..
well hopefully it's a good thing lol
CanIsayNo
20-12-2008, 02:20 PM
i think of the big 4... liverpool will be the hardest hit because when i see their current squad... they have only 3-5 players who fit the homeground rule...
yea thats why we see players like kelly and darby in the matchday bench lol
1920_me
20-12-2008, 02:57 PM
yea thats why we see players like kelly and darby in the matchday bench lol
I can only think of Carragher and Gerrard in the first team...and perhaps keane would be considered one as well?
They might need to bring on a few english lads then.
Ronaldo joined united when he was 17 i think.
or played for any other english club from 18. So i had assume like Aliadere would be considered as home-grown as well.
anfielder
20-12-2008, 03:35 PM
i believe this is a Football League rule, not a BPL rule. PL clubs won't be sweating yet.
Pyro77
20-12-2008, 07:42 PM
I think it applies to all the leagues in England.
anfielder
20-12-2008, 09:43 PM
I think it applies to all the leagues in England.
Football League only comprises the Championship and League One and Two. It does not include the BPL. Perhaps the excerpt of an article below will give a clearer picture.
http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,24822363-23210,00.html
Football League clubs must pick four 'home grown' players in match squads
From correspondents in London, England
December 19, 2008
CLUBS in English football's lower divisions from next season will have to include at least four "home grown" players in their 16-man matchday squads.
The chairmen of the 72 clubs in England's Football League, which represents the three divisions below the Barclays Premier League, passed the rule change at an extraordinary general meeting in the Midlands town of Derby on Thursday.
I believe it's unlikely that the BPL would adopt such a rule.
ahgohgoh
20-12-2008, 11:04 PM
oh yea football league and premier league are diff...
so they only trying it out in football league....
quite ridiculous if only apply in lower leagues
Takechan
21-12-2008, 09:28 AM
lower leagues? lower leagues have lesser impact man.. many of the clubs will most probably have at least four home grown players..
ahgohgoh
21-12-2008, 09:42 AM
lower leagues? lower leagues have lesser impact man.. many of the clubs will most probably have at least four home grown players..
exactly... it is a needless rule...
laksanice
22-12-2008, 07:27 PM
It is still better than the Malaysia FA who decide next season M league would have no foreigners.
The home-grown rule IMO would make many EPL clubs sign lots of youngsters and hoping they can make it, if not they will be shipped down the league or out of the country and there will NEVER be a singapore player in the EPL under this rule as the guys will have to report to national service at 18 lol
vasilli07
22-12-2008, 08:10 PM
It is still better than the Malaysia FA who decide next season M league would have no foreigners.
The home-grown rule IMO would make many EPL clubs sign lots of youngsters and hoping they can make it, if not they will be shipped down the league or out of the country and there will NEVER be a singapore player in the EPL under this rule as the guys will have to report to national service at 18 lol
Who said so? What if we got a singaporean player who is so talented that he already joined a club at a younger age? :s8:
laksanice
23-12-2008, 12:34 PM
Who said so? What if we got a singaporean player who is so talented that he already joined a club at a younger age? :s8:
Say he join at 15 and have to go back for NS at 18, 2 years of important football education is lost. Afterwhich he would need to play for the national team for at least 2 years and hopefully he would then get a work permit. Unless he super duper talented, I don't think any EPL club will wait. If I am that footballer, I would have just give up the citizenship
jokerpoker81
24-12-2008, 09:45 AM
http://www.francesc-fabregas.net/Profile.htm
yea.....fabregas at arsenal since 16 !!! hah.....what r we doing at 16? mugging textbooks for O levels.....
faruk55
26-12-2008, 11:18 AM
haha.. That's Singapore...
Over there.. they all can survive.. here.. without O levels.. we are doomed.. :P
skweam
26-12-2008, 04:46 PM
best english talents are in championship, lol.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.