PDA

View Full Version : Best Right Winger in EPL now?

sgparlay
19-12-2008, 11:11 AM
just my opinions:

C Ronaldo (Man Utd)
pace - 9
dribbling - 10
crossing - 9

SWP (Man City)
pace - 10
dribbling - 9
crossing - 8

A Young (Aston Villa)
pace - 9
dribbling - 9
crossing - 9

D Bentley (Tottenham)
pace - 7
dribbling - 8
crossing - 10

A Lennon (Tottenham)
pace - 10
dribbling - 8
crossing - 6

T Walcott (Arsenal)
pace - 9
dribbling - 8
crossing - 7

Valencia (Wigan)
pace - 8
dribbling - 7
crossing - 8

Pennant (Liverpool)
pace - 8
dribbling - 8
crossing - 7

what do you think? :D

TitanSmall
19-12-2008, 11:35 AM
i think a lot of them over-rated already.....

Deunamist
19-12-2008, 01:06 PM
i think a lot of them over-rated already.....

alot of EPL players are overrated anyway, above their more technically gifted counterparts from Spain and Italy.

i guess EPL players win hands down when it comes to fitness. footballing brains i honestly doubt so. :s22:

Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
19-12-2008, 01:44 PM
haha ronaldo crossing is 9 ? and Pennant quite overrated

Deunamist
19-12-2008, 02:40 PM
think 10 is really too much la. how do you judge who is the fastest anyway. lol.

AndreFLo
19-12-2008, 03:18 PM
No offence but Bently's crossing is never gonna be 10...

mgmuse
19-12-2008, 03:20 PM
where's park?

sgparlay
19-12-2008, 05:46 PM
knn, already said it's my opinions liao :D:D

anyway i came up with these stats after reading that Rafa wanna trade Pennant with Lennon of Tottenham... plus some cash...
Tottenham must be crazy if they give up Lennon for Pennant! :D

sgparlay
19-12-2008, 05:48 PM
hard to see who is the fastest, but SWP and Lennon have got to be the fastest wingers around...
in the Man City-Man Utd derby, even Ronaldo can't catch up with SWP... and SWP had many Man Utd players yellow-carded when they were forced to bring him down after he ghosted past them.. :D

Fabiano
19-12-2008, 05:57 PM
for pace definitely Lennon. That dude is a speed demon omfg.

Pennant?

i think his wife is hot, other than that. Overated

CanIsayNo
19-12-2008, 08:53 PM
you forgot kuyt

dribbling - 10
pace - 10
crossing - 10

well.. at least rafa seems to think so..

ahgohgoh
20-12-2008, 07:15 AM
i think crossing is soon going to be a lost art soon...

MoneyHoney
20-12-2008, 07:18 AM
no jonas gutirrez?

wmania2
20-12-2008, 07:40 AM
CR7's dribbling is crap. I give it a 7. My friend who is a Man U fan(I am one as well) also says that his control of the ball is bad. He relies more on speed which is why he never goes past good fullbacks.

CanIsayNo
20-12-2008, 02:22 PM
CR7's dribbling is crap. I give it a 7. My friend who is a Man U fan(I am one as well) also says that his control of the ball is bad. He relies more on speed which is why he never goes past good fullbacks.

dribbling i think messi owns him..

Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
20-12-2008, 05:34 PM

Plus One It Is True. Messi is a creative playmaking dribbler that Scolari Crave for.

__CcW__
20-12-2008, 10:42 PM
wat?!? no kuyt?!?

CanIsayNo
20-12-2008, 11:01 PM
wat?!? no kuyt?!?

the biggest irony regarding kuyt is that everyone keeps making fun of him but statistically this season, he is one of the best right winger in the prem so far

poring24
20-12-2008, 11:29 PM
CR7 can be a world beater, but its just that he always try to showboat/haolian and end up losing the ball/misplace pass

and btw ashley young is a left winger....

imo ashley young is the best crosser in the league currently

followed by m.arteta

TitanSmall
21-12-2008, 03:12 PM
CR7 can be a world beater, but its just that he always try to showboat/haolian and end up losing the ball/misplace pass

and btw ashley young is a left winger....

imo ashley young is the best crosser in the league currently

followed by m.arteta

CR 7 is already a world beater imo. no player is perfect. i respect him as a player.

Overture1928
21-12-2008, 07:45 PM
the biggest irony regarding kuyt is that everyone keeps making fun of him but statistically this season, he is one of the best right winger in the prem so far

Maybe because he started off as a striker and people still see him as one.

silent_espy
22-12-2008, 01:57 PM
CR7 is a world beater but his attitude is not.....btw CR7's crossing is not a 9 maybe not even an 8 i would give him a 7 at best

_bEar_
22-12-2008, 03:39 PM
beckham left so long liao and till now still no one able to match up with his legacy

InsaneClownPosse
22-12-2008, 04:57 PM
best crosser/freekick gotto be beckham last time .. but he cant dribble

cr7 can dribble and have a decent dig at goal but his crosses not up to beckham standard

beckham is very useful when come to dead ball situation .. off the ball he's crap

laksanice
22-12-2008, 07:40 PM
For someone who play on the right wing with no pace, I would say Kyut did a pretty good job. At least Rafa and any right full back would think so.

Having say that, no right wingers really stood out in the EPL this season, though Walcott caught my eye before his injury

laksanice
22-12-2008, 07:43 PM
beckham left so long liao and till now still no one able to match up with his legacy

Haha, but I guess if Beckham come back to EPL now, he would be heck down pretty fast. The pace of the game has become much faster compared to the time when he left. He probably would be useful in set pieces though

skweam
23-12-2008, 12:06 AM
ashley young is both a right winger and a left winger. this season he plays more on the left. i think its gonna be permanent since milner is operating on the right. so he doesnt really qualify here :o

_bEar_
23-12-2008, 03:43 AM
best crosser/freekick gotto be beckham last time .. but he cant dribble

cr7 can dribble and have a decent dig at goal but his crosses not up to beckham standard

beckham is very useful when come to dead ball situation .. off the ball he's crap

y dribble when 1 cross can get past so many players?

skweam
23-12-2008, 09:19 PM
to draw players to u so that when u cross, the receiver will be free of markers?

dreamer75
23-12-2008, 10:07 PM
EPL players cant compare technically with others from Italy and Spian lah.

Deunamist
23-12-2008, 10:31 PM
the tactical discipline is more evident elsewhere than England. EPL is a more fitness-based league

Fabiano
24-12-2008, 10:23 AM
At the moment i would say Franck ribery is the ultimate winger.

He just has that flair and explosiveness. In terms of speed and dribbling he is probably below the likes of CR7 and messi.

But he just brings so much more to the team with his workrate and playmaking.

Bayern used to be your typical boring-efficient german team, but with ribery you can see Bayern really plays entertaining football.

skweam
24-12-2008, 04:47 PM
come on guys, the title says EPL =/

chocolatepeppermint
31-12-2008, 02:52 AM
lennon the fastest:s22:

idiort
31-12-2008, 05:54 AM
WALCOTT!!!

Boi_racer
02-01-2009, 04:57 AM
knn, already said it's my opinions liao :D:D

anyway i came up with these stats after reading that Rafa wanna trade Pennant with Lennon of Tottenham... plus some cash...
Tottenham must be crazy if they give up Lennon for Pennant! :D

Walcott also very very fast, shd be on par with Lennon and SWP if not faster..

Boi_racer
02-01-2009, 05:05 AM
you forgot kuyt

dribbling - 10
pace - 10
crossing - 10

well.. at least rafa seems to think so..

This ish damn funny , but very true, only Rafa rates Kuyt very highly lol . :s13::s13::s13:

BUt to be fair, this season Kuyt hav perform quite well, his work rate is still the best in the league, he manage to score a few important goals and his passing and running amazingly had improve lol :s13:

Boi_racer
02-01-2009, 05:10 AM

Dribbling wise, no player in the world ish anywhere near Messi, he is a magician, seeing him dribble is really a pleasure.. the ball jus seems to stick to his feet...simply amazing

Boi_racer
02-01-2009, 05:31 AM

The reason wingers need to dribble is to get as near to the byeline as possible so as to make an angle cross so that strikers can attack the ball easily and score. Thats the primary reason.

If they dun dribble and jus cross from near the middlle of the pitch, then it would be very difficult for the strikers to score, cos they will need to control and turn before they can shoot.

Dribbling down to the byeline will inevitably stretch their full back to cover on the wings and also give more space to the strikers in the middle. Many teams like to pack their defence and its not easy to attack right down the middle..

That explains why top wingers hav to be very speedy, very tricky, good at dribbling and crossing...

benkjm
06-01-2009, 11:50 AM
I think Park is really an underrated player. similar to Kuyt, his work rate is tremendous but he possess so much more quality than him. Definitely one of the best in the epl right now.

Doing asians proud!! Check out www.footballrepublic.com.sg, they are talking about the best player of 2008 this week.

Kenshin79
06-01-2009, 12:17 PM
this season no winger has really stand out.

but if u ask me to choose one, it would be Walcott before his injury.
simply because whenever he plays, he was the bright spark and created something for the team. usually a goal or assist in almost every game he played.

in past seasons, when Walcott plays, fans would hope that something would happen.

this season, when Walcott plays, fans expect something to happen.

bkjm1992
10-01-2009, 03:26 PM
actually i dont think ronaldo is that great a dribbler. he juz simply kicks the ball in front n run. pace is all hes got. a true dribbler is messi!

Carnage
10-01-2009, 03:42 PM

MEssi owns anyone in dribbling. The ball is like glued to his feet.

boxup911
10-01-2009, 06:29 PM
Leon Messy ;) Adidas boots rules. F50. ;)

idiort
10-01-2009, 08:06 PM
ronaldo dribbling not very effective.. he use pace more nowadays.. cut down on the tricks..

messi no doubt the best dribbler.. tat boy is amazing stuffs..

Boi_racer
12-01-2009, 10:17 AM
Ronaldo this season performance is pretty disappointing..

Not sure whether is it he already had his heart set for Real...

skweam
12-01-2009, 05:39 PM
pity ronaldo. he came back from injury and cant find his form. he is pass his phase. i guess we have seen the best in him last season and thats it.

hellfire190
15-01-2009, 01:46 AM
ronaldo's pretty all-rounded~ can dribble, do tricks, shoot, head, cross & take freekicks etc~ pretty difficult to find such an all-rounded winger with a well-built bod...