View Full Version : Needhelp!Singtel Anyhow count sms n call?
clare321
20-12-2008, 07:24 PM
Dear all,
sorry i do not know if i am supposed to post this topic here , not sure where to post. Pardon me ;) Hope you all can give me some advices.Pardon me for the long post.
I had a singtel line ($45 plan for 2 years)which i have not used since approx july or august.I have kept the sim card with me all along and i have forgotten about it . My bill in july /august was about $110-$150. I did not pay for the bills since then as I thought they will bar and suspend the line and send me the contract termination bill. As I intend not to use the line anymore due to some unhappy experience with Singtel.
Until now today i received the singtel bill and the bill was $400 plus. It was not for termination.It shows that the line is still active(Active from july til now when i have not paid anything) . I search and looked for the simcard and i tried making calls and indeed I could. However i have not been using the line for so very LONG, but there have been calls and sms ( although not much ) made from that number. It is ridiculous and not possible at all because the sim card was kept away for so many months and i have checked with my family member that they did not touch it.
Frustrated, i called Singtel. The 1st operator was a lady and she say she could not do anything but ask me to request for detailed billing. The 2nd one was a guy.The operator was very firm although i wouldn want to say he is fierce. I tried to reason with him. I told him if i have not paid since july/august. The call/sms would at least been barred if the line is not terminated right. And regarding the sms and calls made which i did not made at all, he asked me to request for detailed billing which cost me $5 per page. And again i told him , i DID NOT make any call /sms at all. But he said. the calls and sms-es are minimal and did not exceed my plan 's outgoing call and sms-es, so it doesnt really matter right?
And i asked him if my line is given to others, he said it wasnt.
The guy explained the outgoing calls (for about 12mins in total) could have been due to my voice mail. But how is this possible?How could my voicemail made outgoing call by itself.
And then i said, idid not pay for so LONG ( more than 4 months since july), the line should have been suspended long ago right, BUT he said singtel DOESNt like to suspend / terminate customer's line and will not do so until customer request. But from previous experience, if i did not pay for more than 1 month, they will disrupt my outgoing calls/sms .
And from previous experience again, if i did not pay in July, the line would be disrupted and only continue to charge me subscription when i have fully paid the outstanding. But the guy said even if the line was disrupted in July, I would still have to pay for monthly subscription til now.And there was even an external $5 ringtone subscription per month which i did not subscribe i just realised.
Again frustrated, I request to speak to the manager but the guy told me it was IMPOSSIBLE for my case.He repeated the same thing over and over again and ask me to request for detailed billing. So i asked him , what can i do now? He say either to continue the line or terminate it. Meaning i have to pay $400plus + 250 termination fee if i terminate or continue using it after i paid the $400 plus. ( but i did not even touch the simcard from august til now 4 months and i have to pay subsription for nothing)
So guys, sorry for this long post and sorry if i confuse you all. What can i do when i receive the detailed billing and it shows the number made from my card? Can i send the simcard to singtel to check as proof that i did not touch it?And what about my subcriptions accrued in vain from august til now.
Can you all please give me some advices. Thanks so much for your time and patience. I hope i am clear in my explanation.
clare321
20-12-2008, 07:25 PM
and yah, i received final reminded in september.
liangtam
20-12-2008, 07:35 PM
got chance to rip u of ur money dun wan meh, of cos must call in terminate la.
u keep saying u never use, how sure are u ur family rly did not use n ur sim card cloned by some outside hp shop??
jellyboy
20-12-2008, 07:51 PM
First off you are responsible for your own line, you signed up and you should be aware of where the sim card is, if you lost it you should call up Singtel and suspend the line. What if it was picked up by someone and incur international call charges? For voicemail, if phone is turned off/busy/rejected incoming call, it will auto forward to your voicemail. Once it is diverted, you incur outgoing call charges which will probably explain the call charges. What you can do is call the billing department and ask them to check for the past few months the outgoing calls are they forwarded to the voicemail or did was it actual numbers that was dialled out. If it was actual numbers then quite likely someone is using your sim card.
About the cutting off of line, I've had my bills not paid for up to like 4mths without them cutting anything so its not very surprising. The irony is that when the telco cuts our line we call in and complain, but when they don't cut our line and we incur more charges we complain also. Nowdays its very easy to blame others for your plight but I believe the onus has to be on the user of the line also to keep track. Just assuming someone will do it for you is hardly an excuse...
xinus84
20-12-2008, 08:10 PM
1. u did not terminate ur line.
2. all charges were made thru ur card, there's no case for u.
3. it is not others' responsibility to terminate ur line w/o ur approval
4. even if a line is suspended, u will have to pay all subscription charges. otherwise, a early termination penalty shall be incurred.
5. it is an offence to not pay the bills on time, as it is you who owe them money. banks charge overdue interest, what do u think? legal action can be taken against u.
6. there is no way someone will know whether ur line was given away or not. u r the card holder.
7. it is the owner's responsibility to check for any services he/she signed up for.
8. if this is a fraud, pls settle all payments, and then make a police report. The Court will decide who will win the case.
9. don't make ur carelessness/problems someone else's problem
10. This is an internet-related forum.. a mobilephone forum shud b suitable for this thread
blackink
20-12-2008, 08:13 PM
Dear all,
sorry i do not know if i am supposed to post this topic here , not sure where to post. Pardon me ;) Hope you all can give me some advices.Pardon me for the long post.
I had a singtel line ($45 plan for 2 years)which i have not used since approx july or august.I have kept the sim card with me all along and i have forgotten about it . My bill in july /august was about $110-$150. I did not pay for the bills since then as I thought they will bar and suspend the line and send me the contract termination bill. As I intend not to use the line anymore due to some unhappy experience with Singtel.
Until now today i received the singtel bill and the bill was $400 plus. It was not for termination.It shows that the line is still active(Active from july til now when i have not paid anything) . I search and looked for the simcard and i tried making calls and indeed I could. However i have not been using the line for so very LONG, but there have been calls and sms ( although not much ) made from that number. It is ridiculous and not possible at all because the sim card was kept away for so many months and i have checked with my family member that they did not touch it.
Frustrated, i called Singtel. The 1st operator was a lady and she say she could not do anything but ask me to request for detailed billing. The 2nd one was a guy.The operator was very firm although i wouldn want to say he is fierce. I tried to reason with him. I told him if i have not paid since july/august. The call/sms would at least been barred if the line is not terminated right. And regarding the sms and calls made which i did not made at all, he asked me to request for detailed billing which cost me $5 per page. And again i told him , i DID NOT make any call /sms at all. But he said. the calls and sms-es are minimal and did not exceed my plan 's outgoing call and sms-es, so it doesnt really matter right?
And i asked him if my line is given to others, he said it wasnt.
The guy explained the outgoing calls (for about 12mins in total) could have been due to my voice mail. But how is this possible?How could my voicemail made outgoing call by itself.
And then i said, idid not pay for so LONG ( more than 4 months since july), the line should have been suspended long ago right, BUT he said singtel DOESNt like to suspend / terminate customer's line and will not do so until customer request. But from previous experience, if i did not pay for more than 1 month, they will disrupt my outgoing calls/sms .
And from previous experience again, if i did not pay in July, the line would be disrupted and only continue to charge me subscription when i have fully paid the outstanding. But the guy said even if the line was disrupted in July, I would still have to pay for monthly subscription til now.And there was even an external $5 ringtone subscription per month which i did not subscribe i just realised.
Again frustrated, I request to speak to the manager but the guy told me it was IMPOSSIBLE for my case.He repeated the same thing over and over again and ask me to request for detailed billing. So i asked him , what can i do now? He say either to continue the line or terminate it. Meaning i have to pay $400plus + 250 termination fee if i terminate or continue using it after i paid the $400 plus. ( but i did not even touch the simcard from august til now 4 months and i have to pay subsription for nothing)
So guys, sorry for this long post and sorry if i confuse you all. What can i do when i receive the detailed billing and it shows the number made from my card? Can i send the simcard to singtel to check as proof that i did not touch it?And what about my subcriptions accrued in vain from august til now.
Can you all please give me some advices. Thanks so much for your time and patience. I hope i am clear in my explanation.
service provider now always chut pattern wan
you no horse run if chiu still under contract la
just pay and pay loh
krazyman
20-12-2008, 09:03 PM
If you believe you are right, just keep ignoring and see what actions Singtel want to take. But be prepared to fight it out in court. If you've no guts, stop whinning and pay up.
I did the above with another telco a couple years back (issue is different and too long a story to type here). They sent a letter of demand from their lawyer which I responded with my version of the issue and told them I was prepared for litigation to resolve the issue. Never heard from their lawyer again but received a series of letters and calls/SMSes from several of their Bad Debt collectors for a year which I ignored obviously. Haven't heard from them for almost a year now.
quekky
20-12-2008, 11:56 PM
you can call in and keep insisting that you kept your sim card locked in cupboad for 4 months, so it's impossible that there will be SMS and calls.
For detailed billing, the CSO can see from their screen whether it is due to voice call forwarding or it is called from the phone. If it is called from your phone, insist again that your sim card in locked up and it is impossible that you had made any call (btw, voice mail is considered outgoing calls. eg if someone called you, your hp not on, and it redirects to voice mail, that 1 min is consider outgoing calls) Also you can ask the CSO to see if there's any incoming calls
Anyway I know that coz last month I just complained my outgoing calls were high, and she sent me the detail billing for free. The detail billing got say "voice mail forward"
oh, btw, 1800 numbers are not free
if you still under contact, too bad you can't cancel, gotta pay the $45 till contact end.
but then how come 4 mths of $45 = $400+???
tingyuan
21-12-2008, 01:56 AM
if you don't pay outstanding bill, singtel will send u warning letter, and threaten to sue you.
_m0r0n_
21-12-2008, 05:12 AM
this whole thing sounds stupid to me. If you don't want to continue your line with Singtel, why don't you just call and terminate instead of waiting for them to suspend and terminate? OR do you think that they terminate your line because you never pay and forget all about the outstanding bills?
albertchng
21-12-2008, 06:27 AM
Don't pay them if you dare. Bad record for you forever, not just singtel, include all subsidiaries of singtel group. You better go check how many companies are there in that group. NCS is 1 of them.
Eventually it will come back to haunt you years down the road. You apply service face problem, you apply for employment also tio.
My 2 cents advice to you, think of the consequences before you action.
albertchng
21-12-2008, 06:43 AM
Your contract, your responsibility. Your line, also your responsibility . If you for sure not utilizing it for long period me time, make arrangement to get your telco to bar all outgoing call from that number.
You kpkb now is not going to change anything. You die die still need to pay up. If go court you sure lose, they argue why 1st bill you did not come forward, why wait till now?
You come this forum to post your grieve, hoping to get what? No one here can help you, most people here will tell you off, just like what I'm doing now. Don't care you like it or not, this is a confirmed self pwned case.
chunlianghere
21-12-2008, 07:07 AM
since u sign the line, better use it lo..or jus pay it monthly until the contract over. after the contract over, then jus call n terminate. but if u say u didnt use, the monthly subscription stil continue to count.
so how confirm tat your family members didnt use it? unless u keep it in a locked drawer, n there is only one key to access. or mayb they open it up wit screwdriver or something? jus my opinion..
if go court, higher chance tat u wil lose lo..
clare321
21-12-2008, 02:28 PM
Hi all,
thanks for viewing,replying and suggestions ;)
I posted this up not to grieve over it( although i am quite frustrated)but just to ask for suggestions. And as i have mentioned my family diedie never touch my sim card . I am sure no1 has used it. The calls may have been caused by voicemail but what about the sms-es,the operator did not give me any explanation for that ;)(My mum and dad do not know how to send sms at all)
didnt expect i got "bombarded" more than "consolance/advices" no offence intended but its my first time coming across such stuff thats why i post it up here to see if anyone came across similar case and advise me ;)
I guess I have been stupid not to terminate the line earlier and cause all this inconvenience ;)
Thanks all for suggestions and comments. MErry Xmas!
Clare
ah_cheng1882
21-12-2008, 04:29 PM
hi TS, mind sharing how old u are?
Im asking because its become obvious to me that some youths these days appear to lack responsilbility and fail to take ownership.
since u received bills for the wrong amount in july/aug, why did u not highlight the issue to ST then?
its as if the whole world could be wrong, just not yourself.
czheyuan
21-12-2008, 04:39 PM
voicemail is actuali chargeable under outgoing calls rite after the "toot" sound is activated.. Furthermore, Singtel charges by per minute. So it takes just 100 calls for you to exceed your talktime.
liangtam
21-12-2008, 04:47 PM
nope, as long as go in voicemail prompt charge liao, no nid wait until u can start talking
its as if the whole world could be wrong, just not yourself.
A very enlightening statement. :)
MrJacky
22-12-2008, 02:30 AM
Don't pay them if you dare. Bad record for you forever, not just singtel, include all subsidiaries of singtel group. You better go check how many companies are there in that group. NCS is 1 of them.
Eventually it will come back to haunt you years down the road. You apply service face problem, you apply for employment also tio.
My 2 cents advice to you, think of the consequences before you action.
Australia's Optus is also under SingTel.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.