PDA

View Full Version : Wifi signal "booster"

Siyu
20-12-2008, 09:16 PM
Hey guys,

here's the situation, i stay just opp NUS across the road.
at a particular corner of my room i m able to get internet access from school.
but if i move in further i cannot get.

this has restricted mvoement for me.

I do not wish to get BB myself because not alot of $$$ recently.

anyways that i can do so, so that at least i can slp on my bed while i msn?

Thanks

liangtam
20-12-2008, 09:28 PM
buy a repeater lor

alanchia67
20-12-2008, 09:36 PM
or build mee-pok net antenna.

Preacher1010
20-12-2008, 11:15 PM
buy a cheap plan...M1 vodafone mobile...serves me well

MrJacky
21-12-2008, 02:35 AM
buy a cheap plan...M1 vodafone mobile...serves me well
Sometime it pays to read what he has requested for...

albertchng
21-12-2008, 07:01 AM
TS is planning to do illegal thing & you people instead of talking him out, give him the wrong idea, especially that punk who suggest mee pok net antenna? TS also said bo $$$ recently, ask him to sign mobile broadband, you pay for him har?

chaddeus
21-12-2008, 12:45 PM
TS is planning to do illegal thing & you people instead of talking him out, give him the wrong idea, especially that punk who suggest mee pok net antenna? TS also said bo $$$ recently, ask him to sign mobile broadband, you pay for him har?
Is it really illegal? If you are authorized to login to the network, why would it be illegal to get a WIFI booster?

I think the "mee pok net antenna" option seems to be the best for now. How much it will improve in reality, i don't know but worth to give a try...

But wait.. can he even afford it since he got no $$ recently? :)

krazyman
21-12-2008, 01:02 PM
I think the "mee pok net antenna" option seems to be the best for now. How much it will improve in reality, i don't know but worth to give a try...

How's he going to connect it to the notebook?

liangtam
21-12-2008, 01:36 PM
usb lor
if more creative, solder it

krazyman
21-12-2008, 02:34 PM
usb lor
if more creative, solder it

Connect an antenna to a USB port will work? Sure boh?

Solder? Then he need some electronics knowledge to know where to tap, isn't it?

And lastly, you sure such antenna work better? Antenna not suka suka construct one. Antenna length depends on wavelength which is inversely proportional to transmission frequency. Wrongly constructed cause impedance mismatch and more power will be reflected than transmitted.

liangtam
21-12-2008, 02:37 PM
solder to the connector la.
PS: Im not supportive of DIY antennas in the first place.

krazyman
21-12-2008, 02:49 PM
solder to the connector la.
PS: Im not supportive of DIY antennas in the first place.

Don't angry hoh.:D

Notebook got connector for antenna? Mine boh leh.

Kiwi8
21-12-2008, 03:13 PM
Hey guys,

here's the situation, i stay just opp NUS across the road.
at a particular corner of my room i m able to get internet access from school.
but if i move in further i cannot get.

this has restricted mvoement for me.

I do not wish to get BB myself because not alot of $$$ recently.

anyways that i can do so, so that at least i can slp on my bed while i msn?

Thanks

What speed is the NUS connection? If it's not beyond Wireless G, then u might want to buy an inexpensive router (example is WRT54G) that can connect to the NUS network as a wireless client. Cost is around $25 to $40 in the second-hand market.

Anyway, I must say u are quite lucky to get free internet access this way. :o

But do remember to set up your software firewalls properly on your computer and avoid doing sensitive activity using the school network like internet banking, etc.

krazyman
21-12-2008, 03:29 PM
What speed is the NUS connection? If it's not beyond Wireless G, then u might want to buy an inexpensive router (example is WRT54G) that can connect to the NUS network as a wireless client. Cost is around $25 to $40 in the second-hand market.

Is NUS wireless network secure or unsecure?

If secure, then their admin is likely to monitor connection of rogue AP.

Kiwi8
21-12-2008, 03:31 PM
Is NUS wireless network secure or unsecure?

If secure, then their admin is likely to monitor connection of rogue AP.

Well, if that is the concern, I suggest the router not be set to become a repeater, but instead, just connect to the NUS network as a wireless client. This will just appear to the NUS side like any wireless client. Then TS can connect to the network via Ethernet cables. :)

krazyman
21-12-2008, 03:39 PM
Well, if that is the concern, I suggest the router not be set to become a repeater, but instead, just connect to the NUS network as a wireless client. This will just appear to the NUS side like any wireless client. Then TS can connect to the network via Ethernet cables. :)

The signature of an AP is usually different from a work station. A port scan will reveal an AP as it usually has port 22, 23 and/or 80 open for maintenance access.

Kiwi8
21-12-2008, 03:41 PM
The signature of an AP is usually different from a work station. A port scan will reveal an AP as it usually has port 22, 23 and/or 80 open for maintenance access.

I see... but if the router is not doing any rebroadcasting of the NUS signal via AP mode, there is no reason for the NUS side to stop it.

liangtam
21-12-2008, 03:46 PM
Don't angry hoh.:D

Notebook got connector for antenna? Mine boh leh.

Unkle ish purposely huans. Unkle ish ebil~ :sad::sad:

Peektures ish here :D

http://i39.tinypic.com/352242c.jpg

krazyman
21-12-2008, 03:52 PM
Unkle ish purposely huans. Unkle ish ebil~ :sad::sad:

Peektures ish here :D

10Q 10Q

So it's hidden inside, I tot so good provide ext antenna connection.:D

Siyu
21-12-2008, 04:17 PM
wah so many replies. ya, authorise to use. normally i use in canteen then go back home. not a solution mah,

is there a simpler method i see so many ppl writing so many things that i dun undertand

quite an idiot here about all this wireless.