PDA

View Full Version : Surveillance Camera with Wireless@SG???

ahsiong
20-12-2008, 09:47 PM
Hi.
I will like to find out whether anyone has any experience with setting up a wireless surveillance camera with Wireless@SG?
I am thinking of getting the D-Link DCS-2120 wireless camera to connect it to Wireless@SG.
However, as we know that to get connected to Wireless@SG, we need to type in our username and password in a browser page. So will a wireless camera be able to login by itself to the network?

by the way, what is a good price for the D-Link DCS-2120 camera?

Thanks in advance!!

alanchia67
20-12-2008, 10:17 PM
no it cant. why tap on wireless@sg?

liangtam
20-12-2008, 10:25 PM
wireless@sg is not meant for u to offload ur application

ahsiong
20-12-2008, 10:27 PM

you tried before ah? really cannot??

cos I was thinking of putting the camera in my shop and our area is within the Wireless@SG coverage.

so if really cannot, what will be other alternatives which can tap on this Wireless@SG network?

Thanks.

ohmygod1986
20-12-2008, 10:51 PM

Its free :s13::s13::s13:

liangtam
20-12-2008, 11:01 PM
its fwee for surfing n mass dl to some reh, good for some leech n leech.
cant host tho

xinus84
20-12-2008, 11:17 PM
u need either a router or PC or both properly configured.

even so, doubt can get gd quality viewing... most likely 90% dc time. lol

gilaboyfjs
20-12-2008, 11:22 PM
Anyone actually tried bt on wireless@sg? If yes, not scared tio fine ah? Got login all..

liangtam
21-12-2008, 12:03 AM
Well, dun dl illegal stuff lor. no fines.

ahsiong
21-12-2008, 12:42 AM
so is there any other cheap low-price alternative to monitor my shop? preferably with remote monitoring and recording function. thanks.

tingyuan
21-12-2008, 01:54 AM
got this china guy who dl movie on wireless@sg using singnet ac, i heard his username kena block, cannot access Internet.

albertchng
21-12-2008, 07:12 AM
so is there any other cheap low-price alternative to monitor my shop? preferably with remote monitoring and recording function. thanks.

Cheapest will be you sleeping in your shop & monitor it yourself. If your shop is worth anything, why not subscribe a cheap unlimited business broadband to hook up that camera? Or get a alarm system that include 24/7 monitoring service with different options.

xinus84
21-12-2008, 11:53 AM
with every login on wireless@sg ur pc is subjected to scrutinization. all activities will be logged, bt transfer is nth fanciful. 50% chance dc rate.

u may get a mobile broadband acct and hook it up to a mobile bb router... or on a PC 24/7 for easy access. if u're creative enough u get a cheaper web cam to do everything instead of spending a few hundreds on IP camera

geckoSG
21-12-2008, 02:59 PM
TS, go get yourself a 3G router, then get a 3G BBoM,
configure it into your IP cam, use DYNDNS.

Case Close.

If not, please pay professional to do it, else economy will
not move. Allow others to earn some $$$ too. :D

aptget
21-12-2008, 06:20 PM
TS, go get yourself a 3G router, then get a 3G BBoM,
configure it into your IP cam, use DYNDNS.

Case Close.

If not, please pay professional to do it, else economy will
not move. Allow others to earn some $$$ too. :D

i wish every one thinks like you :)

makan007
21-12-2008, 06:32 PM
Pls be reminded that you need camera with night vision. Otherwise, recording will be useless when you close shop.

xinus84
21-12-2008, 06:41 PM
save the cost... get a usb controlled torch... well, if u noe how to get one.

mikezuper
24-12-2008, 12:29 PM
Anyone tried to setup IP Camera with motion detector and configure it to send to email if any motion detected?

I bought linksys IP Camera (http://www.linksys.com/servlet/Satellite?c=L_Product_C2&childpagename=US%2FLayout&cid=1175239676016&pagename=Linksys%2FCommon%2FVisitorWrapper) and able to detect the motion, however couldnt able to send it thru mail (tried to use Gmail Pop, but doesnt work).

Anybody know how to setup the email alert using gmail? Or it has to be your own email domain?

Thanks in advance.

azacamis
24-12-2008, 04:00 PM
Anyone tried to setup IP Camera with motion detector and configure it to send to email if any motion detected?

I bought linksys IP Camera (http://www.linksys.com/servlet/Satellite?c=L_Product_C2&childpagename=US%2FLayout&cid=1175239676016&pagename=Linksys%2FCommon%2FVisitorWrapper) and able to detect the motion, however couldnt able to send it thru mail (tried to use Gmail Pop, but doesnt work).

Anybody know how to setup the email alert using gmail? Or it has to be your own email domain?

Thanks in advance.

any account that supports SMTP should work. Problem could be caused by authentication methods. There is a test function in the email settings. That failed?