PDA

View Full Version : MOL Premium vs. MOL Ultimate

globalnomad
21-12-2008, 12:00 AM
Hi guys, I've been on MOL for close to 6-7 years already. Been on this premium plan for 4 years or so, haven't changed anything.

I was wondering if MOL Ultimate is really a significant diff from MOL Premium? I know it will never hit 100mbps, but should I go for Ultimate?

I don't do gaming but do dll some stuff. My house has total of 5 laptops sharing WiFi.

What is the average speedtest.net score for MOL Ultimate ppl? I want to see if got significant difference for me to pay $20 more/mnth.

liangtam
21-12-2008, 12:10 AM
Obviously it will hit 100Mbps, if not why bother claim 100?
Ultimate, pay more, get to have higher chance leech more lor

Do remember to junk the router if its old.

globalnomad
21-12-2008, 12:17 AM
hmm ok. i alr have the dir655. just tt im on premium. my old router spoil so i decided might as well buy something tt is capable for ultimate.

so frm wht you said; i assume the diff can be felt then...

MrJacky
21-12-2008, 02:43 AM
If the server you are downloading from has a crappy connection you won't reach a high speed.

The 100Mbps is a possibility, not a reality.

You can reach, but not everytime.

weibchen
21-12-2008, 04:03 AM
i wonder if the peak hour traffic will slow connection down.
when i was on premium, youtube takes forever to load, US sites were just crawling....

ohmygod1986
21-12-2008, 07:45 AM
Connection to oversea depend on the foreign server ...

So no matter you drive beetle or F1 will still reach same time :yawn::yawn::yawn:

Unless you change to red expressway :s13::s13::s13:

Takechan
21-12-2008, 09:05 AM
im on ultimate and it feels like im still on premium

kennyg1969
21-12-2008, 02:58 PM

lol... that why i did not upgrade when my premium MOL contract expired 2 mths ago..

globalnomad
21-12-2008, 03:31 PM
thanks for the replies guys. well I guess I won't get MOL Ultimate then. Seems quite pointless. When is Singapore internet ever going to be as good as when I was overseas. Sigh.

liangtam
21-12-2008, 03:38 PM

u applied secret formulae n junk ur old louter yet?

epos
21-12-2008, 05:17 PM
thanks for the replies guys. well I guess I won't get MOL Ultimate then. Seems quite pointless. When is Singapore internet ever going to be as good as when I was overseas. Sigh.

well, my intention of signing "Ultimate" was for its 2mbps upload, I never expect the download or everyday surfing will have any improvement over the "Premium"--indeed, till today I can't feel any :s8: 100mbps will only happen in the most favored condition and in benchmarking test--useless in real world.

with MOL upgraded the Premium to 1.2mbps and Express to 768kbps in the 4th quarter, I feel like I was given a tight slap by Starhub. :frus:

epos
21-12-2008, 05:19 PM
u applied secret formulae n junk ur old louter yet?

since its secret formula, how you expect others to know?

liangtam
21-12-2008, 05:24 PM
now u r getting 10mbps ul reh
besides, u shld face difference in terms of dl.

it isn't as secret as u would have think reh

epos
21-12-2008, 05:35 PM
I was getting 1MBps top using Premium, after ultimate, I get 2MBps--only once--I had posted the screenshot in the forum before. everyday downloading remains at ~150KBps which is achievable by any MOL plan.

upload speed? well, if I can't get over 150KBps download, whats the point of upload more than that? its sharing, not giving to the leecher.

aptget
21-12-2008, 06:26 PM
i am on ultimate and i use bandwidth intensive websites and I can see the difference
when I use friend's com on premium & singtel 10mbps... like some one said, all depends
on the other end. i download stuff too, and i can see diff also compared to friend's SH premium & ST's 10mpbs

hersvim
22-12-2008, 03:52 AM
the only reason for going to ultimate is the 10mb upstream bandwidth.
if you're using wireless 802.11g, practical total lan bandwidth for your laptops is around 30-40mbps

liangtam
22-12-2008, 03:59 AM
the only reason for going to ultimate is the 10mb upstream bandwidth.
if you're using wireless 802.11g, practical total lan bandwidth for your laptops is around 30-40mbps

where did u get the above rate?
practical throughput rate for 802.11g is only 23-26Mbps, around 80-155Mbps for an updated draft N eq.

Having a 100Mbps WAN port does not mean the router can process anywhere near 100Mbps traffic. Using example, the Linksys famous wrt54gl can only handle about 40mbps of traffic at low load. This means the tie up of Ultimate with SB6100 to the router and then wired from there to PC can only yield you up to 40Mbps.

It is thus important to junk old(and even most new) routers.

hersvim
25-12-2008, 06:30 PM
noted.

on the bright side, the wrt54gl/gs has actually got a "speedbooster" feature, a.k.a afterburn, a.k.a 125m tech from the broadcom chipsets. some reviews shows it can reach up to 40mbps with compatible wireless card.

but on the other side, not sure about wrt54gl's backbone bandwidth. is it gigabps? remember from the review its routing/nat (wan->lan) throughput is around 30 (or 40mbps?) at maximum

blackink
25-12-2008, 06:38 PM
Hi guys, I've been on MOL for close to 6-7 years already. Been on this premium plan for 4 years or so, haven't changed anything.

I was wondering if MOL Ultimate is really a significant diff from MOL Premium? I know it will never hit 100mbps, but should I go for Ultimate?

I don't do gaming but do dll some stuff. My house has total of 5 laptops sharing WiFi.

What is the average speedtest.net score for MOL Ultimate ppl? I want to see if got significant difference for me to pay $20 more/mnth.

the way i gauge from personal exp (i had both), Ultimate is usually about 20-40m thereabouts on average

but 5 sharing ah?

Should have gone for Ultimate rong time liao lah:s13:

hersvim
25-12-2008, 06:54 PM
the way i gauge from personal exp (i had both), Ultimate is usually about 20-40m thereabouts on average

but 5 sharing ah?

Should have gone for Ultimate rong time liao lah:s13:

if you're doing wireless, i think it's exactly the limit set by 802.11g wifi

liangtam
25-12-2008, 10:57 PM
noted.

on the bright side, the wrt54gl/gs has actually got a "speedbooster" feature, a.k.a afterburn, a.k.a 125m tech from the broadcom chipsets. some reviews shows it can reach up to 40mbps with compatible wireless card.

but on the other side, not sure about wrt54gl's backbone bandwidth. is it gigabps? remember from the review its routing/nat (wan->lan) throughput is around 30 (or 40mbps?) at maximum

speedbooster only applies for wifi and is a speed boost half-gimmick. Reviews should indicate to you that speedbooster reduced ur range as well as being pwned by other competitor's product.

Not forgetting the fact u need another broadcom chip, thus getting it is a waste of money since its getting become white eleplant for all g speedboost technology from any brand. Remember theres the new draft N which performs way better for.... *less*?

Recap for WRT54GL
1x 10 / 100Mbps WAN
4x 10 / 100Mbps LAN

WAN-LAN 30-40+% of theoretical rate

gilaboyfjs
26-12-2008, 12:31 AM
where did u get the above rate?
practical throughput rate for 802.11g is only 23-26Mbps, around 80-155Mbps for an updated draft N eq.

Having a 100Mbps WAN port does not mean the router can process anywhere near 100Mbps traffic. Using example, the Linksys famous wrt54gl can only handle about 40mbps of traffic at low load. This means the tie up of Ultimate with SB6100 to the router and then wired from there to PC can only yield you up to 40Mbps.

It is thus important to junk old(and even most new) routers.

so may i know which router(s) can yield most throughput? Eg. >40mbps thru lan cable from router to pc.

liangtam
26-12-2008, 12:43 AM
so may i know which router(s) can yield most throughput? Eg. >40mbps thru lan cable from router to pc.

all cheap models come with varying result de
in short, what u pay for is what u get.

there are 2 ways to get an indication

See networking sites, reputable one that is
See personal reviews, someone who covers tis topic.

blackink
26-12-2008, 12:48 AM
the ultimate 100m is best optimised with a direct wired connection, but most subscribers either dont dare admit or dotn dare find out :s13::s13:

hersvim
26-12-2008, 01:10 AM
seems liangtam is an advocate of the draft N products! (d-link? any recommendation)
but for those loyal to tomato or other 3rd party firmware, broadcom's Afterburner is the only choice for making an improvement over the conventional 802.11g so far. switching to draft N could mean a bye-bye to openvpn, ssh, stunnel, srelay (socks proxy), iptables, etc.

speedbooster only applies for wifi and is a speed boost half-gimmick. Reviews should indicate to you that speedbooster reduced ur range as well as being pwned by other competitor's product.

Not forgetting the fact u need another broadcom chip, thus getting it is a waste of money since its getting become white eleplant for all g speedboost technology from any brand. Remember theres the new draft N which performs way better for.... *less*?

Recap for WRT54GL
1x 10 / 100Mbps WAN
4x 10 / 100Mbps LAN

WAN-LAN 30-40+% of theoretical rate

hersvim
26-12-2008, 01:13 AM

you may be interested in checking this site:
http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/content/blogcategory/75/96/

hersvim
26-12-2008, 01:19 AM
the ultimate 100m is best optimised with a direct wired connection, but most subscribers either dont dare admit or dotn dare find out :s13::s13:

at this moment, the selling point of ultimate is the 10mbps upstream! premium just gets 1.2mbps for upstream. this is crucial to someone, while 100m vs 30m for downstream becomes quite irrelevant.

liangtam
26-12-2008, 03:44 AM

Nope. A good performing router with Gb NIC will take in more than just what the service offer, and thus the resultant is still optimized.

Before you wonder further, Im not on the Ultimate plan. Poor n ultimate does not goes together.