PDA

View Full Version : Increasing 2WIRE power setting

MrJacky
22-12-2008, 02:28 AM
The maximum power setting for my 2WIRE 2701HGV-E is only 6, and I heard that 10 is the actual maximum.

How do I "unlock" it?

liangtam
22-12-2008, 02:31 AM
i thot u said wan change louter riao :s11:

Setting above 6 is not allowed in SG

MrJacky
22-12-2008, 04:46 PM
Some others claimed to have done it, and I want to see how much the wireless strength improves.

liangtam
22-12-2008, 04:51 PM
Yes, it can be done.
But it is NOT allowed in SG!

gibass
22-12-2008, 06:51 PM
Just wondering, where's the source which states that the HGV-2701's wireless power setting isn't allowed to be more than 6? Not dissing or anything, just curious :s13:

gibs

liangtam
22-12-2008, 07:08 PM
Just wondering, where's the source which states that the HGV-2701's wireless power setting isn't allowed to be more than 6? Not dissing or anything, just curious :s13:

gibs

the gahment lor.

Icaruz
22-12-2008, 08:14 PM
yeah, they stated that there will be too much radiation. which will be harmful

Firestone
23-12-2008, 12:00 AM
arh? that time i got problem with 2wire, they do troubleshoot, then ask me change max power to 10? :S

liangtam
23-12-2008, 12:10 AM
where? gotch peekture or bideo :s11:

chuckle
23-12-2008, 12:24 AM
http://img253.imageshack.us/img253/2793/picture1sv0.th.png (http://img253.imageshack.us/my.php?image=picture1sv0.png)

there you go (:

liangtam
23-12-2008, 12:28 AM
i mean the person who said it.
10 is of course do-able if u know how.

Firestone
23-12-2008, 12:43 AM
http://www.geocities.com/nvss/2wire.jpg

i dun remember doing anything... the option has always been there to select 1 - 10 for power setting..

MrJacky
23-12-2008, 04:14 AM
I suspect it's either the firmware or the key code.

And no, 400mW (power setting 10 equivalent) does not cause any health risk.

alanchia67
23-12-2008, 10:30 AM
I suspect it's either the firmware or the key code.

And no, 400mW (power setting 10 equivalent) does not cause any health risk.

by setting so high, you are creating wifi noise in neighborhood.

phuque99
23-12-2008, 11:19 AM
by setting so high, you are creating wifi noise in neighborhood.

You neighbour will then start a new thread here complaining why his wireless DC all the time and kpkb about how bad Singnet/Starhub is :D

alanchia67
23-12-2008, 01:53 PM
then everyone get the 2wire code and setup power rating 10.

cueball1981
23-12-2008, 02:10 PM
I also interested to know.. my router signal like &^%&#

MrJacky
23-12-2008, 06:14 PM
then everyone get the 2wire code and setup power rating 10.
Some of the people here already have the power setting at 10 already.

emuji
23-12-2008, 09:10 PM
Some of the people here already have the power setting at 10 already.

i think should set it higher. my other room seems to have very weak signal. let the war of the WIFI begin! :s13:

phuque99
23-12-2008, 09:31 PM
Contrary to what I read and know, anyhow increase power on one end helps in radio signal?

deathsaint
23-12-2008, 10:31 PM
quick search on google will get you the answer. Dont be lazy

liangtam
24-12-2008, 12:04 AM
Place your router at somewhere accessible to the PC and at the right direction, then set it to 6
No matter how high u can increase, even if u set it to 1 W n heat ur ballZ, it wont change the fact u still cant get gd signal de.

MrJacky
24-12-2008, 12:16 AM
quick search on google will get you the answer. Dont be lazy
Like I haven't been searching.

Since you claim so, I will gladly thank you if you can manage to find the answer through "(a) quick search on Google".

MrJacky
24-12-2008, 12:20 AM
Place your router at somewhere accessible to the PC and at the right direction, then set it to 6
No matter how high u can increase, even if u set it to 1 W n heat ur ballZ, it wont change the fact u still cant get gd signal de.
Whether it can improve the signal we will know by increasing the power setting to 10.

If anyone of you are here to dissuade me from doing this I thank you for your concern. Once is enough, I don't need any more of these posts.

If this thread is in any way deemed "illegal" I welcome a moderator to lock or even remove it.

Thank you.

liangtam
24-12-2008, 12:29 AM
Whether it can improve the signal we will know by increasing the power setting to 10.
Go ahead. Do report back :)

liangtam
24-12-2008, 12:32 AM
Actually, I do have another more useful tip for u
Take apart the router n solder some wires on.

MrJacky
24-12-2008, 06:15 AM
Indeed, the power setting lies with the key code.

SingNet's key code limits it to 6 only.

I used AT&T's key code.

I will do some testing later to see whether I should spend money on a new modem, or keep the 2WIRE.

Definitely, I will report back on whether increasing from 6 to 10 will improve the wireless strength.

MrJacky
24-12-2008, 06:33 AM
I didn't want to mess up things in the early morning, so I reverted back to my original key code, which belonged to SingNet.

I reverted back to my SingNet key code while having the power setting at 10.

I changed the power setting back to 6 thinking the '10' may disappear, but it didn't!

Now I can use the SingNet key code while having '10' as the maximum power setting.

As promised, will try to do the tests, either today or tomorrow, or sooner or later.

albertchng
24-12-2008, 10:16 AM
Please set to 10 & place it under your table or near you, long term exposure then you will experience additional health related issue lor.

That is why IDA limit it to 6 for SG use.

Of cos AT&T can set 10, cos you have any idea how big is their house in USA?

krazyman
24-12-2008, 10:35 AM
Read this site, plenty of info on 2wire. (http://bt2700hgv.tripod.com/ir1002700HGV.htm)

mecha_power
24-12-2008, 11:02 AM
Anyway even if u do increase the router transmission power to 10. The wireless device such as a notebook or pc's wireless device/card does not have the same transmission power to broadcast back to the router.

You end up with the wireless router being able to "see" the wireless device but the wireless device will have much difficulty communicating back to the router.

emuji
24-12-2008, 12:02 PM
Indeed, the power setting lies with the key code.

SingNet's key code limits it to 6 only.

I used AT&T's key code.

I will do some testing later to see whether I should spend money on a new modem, or keep the 2WIRE.

Definitely, I will report back on whether increasing from 6 to 10 will improve the wireless strength.

I didn't want to mess up things in the early morning, so I reverted back to my original key code, which belonged to SingNet.

I reverted back to my SingNet key code while having the power setting at 10.

I changed the power setting back to 6 thinking the '10' may disappear, but it didn't!

Now I can use the SingNet key code while having '10' as the maximum power setting.

As promised, will try to do the tests, either today or tomorrow, or sooner or later.

waiting to hear your verdict on the power change :D

thanks jacky!

alanchia67
24-12-2008, 12:12 PM
snr probably improved by 10dBm from what i know previously. may not worth it.

for my 5rm hdb, its sufficient using '4' rating which is 100mW. set the modem standing upright.

albertchng
24-12-2008, 12:21 PM
my 3rms hdb flat only use "2"...

liangtam
24-12-2008, 01:16 PM
Someone pls poh gahment in the meanwhile

You dont get back to 6 can be becos the CMS is not active

emuji
24-12-2008, 01:33 PM
signal strength is never absolute and no 2 places are the same. some of the factors:

where u place your wireless router
environmental interference(s)
the device receiving the signal
the layout of your apartment and;
to a certain extend the materials for the internal walls.

it is not wise for me to say which strength (if it matters at all) is enough.

for me, in a 5-roomer, router is bedroom 2. the signal is weak in the master room. but that's what's iphone is indicating and may not conclusive for all. the distance between the 2 rooms are not far though.

MrJacky
24-12-2008, 07:02 PM
Please set to 10 & place it under your table or near you, long term exposure then you will experience additional health related issue lor.

That is why IDA limit it to 6 for SG use.

Of cos AT&T can set 10, cos you have any idea how big is their house in USA?
It's not near anyone at all.

I live in an executive apartment.

If 6 suffices for me I wouldn't need to explore more.

I will probably explore 8 first.

signal strength is never absolute and no 2 places are the same. some of the factors:

where u place your wireless router
environmental interference(s)
the device receiving the signal
the layout of your apartment and;
to a certain extend the materials for the internal walls.

it is not wise for me to say which strength (if it matters at all) is enough.

for me, in a 5-roomer, router is bedroom 2. the signal is weak in the master room. but that's what's iphone is indicating and may not conclusive for all. the distance between the 2 rooms are not far though.
I don't place my modem in the bedroom.

If I do the wireless strength is gonna get worse.

And what makes you think I haven't done a fair test?

Someone pls poh gahment in the meanwhile

You dont get back to 6 can be becos the CMS is not active
Maybe.

We shall see whether the '10' still remains after a few days.

Hellooo
24-12-2008, 07:47 PM
my 2wire doesn't allow me to set the power setting to 10. because the max option i can choose is 6 only

Roundhouse
25-12-2008, 02:41 AM
no need to set so high... less power = less electricity used. No wastage.

Lower setting to restrict its range so that people cannot sniff my Wifi signals.

Roundhouse
25-12-2008, 02:42 AM
when u set to channel 6 for wireless, and when u switch on starhub cable TV, do u get interference?

MrJacky
25-12-2008, 05:51 AM
no need to set so high... less power = less electricity used. No wastage.

Lower setting to restrict its range so that people cannot sniff my Wifi signals.
Seriously if you don't know what I want I suggest you don't spout nonsense.

I'm annoyed by the fact that you didn't even take some time to read my last reply.

chunlianghere
25-12-2008, 07:06 AM
when u set to channel 6 for wireless, and when u switch on starhub cable TV, do u get interference?
wireless signal r now almost everywhere. nobody seems to hav problem when switching on their tv. mayb yrs hav problem?

emuji
25-12-2008, 01:04 PM
It's not near anyone at all.

I live in an executive apartment.

If 6 suffices for me I wouldn't need to explore more.

I will probably explore 8 first.

I don't place my modem in the bedroom.

If I do the wireless strength is gonna get worse.

And what makes you think I haven't done a fair test?

Maybe.

We shall see whether the '10' still remains after a few days.

dun be so defensive. it was a general comment which merely states the fact. nothing is absolute in this world. as far as wireless signal goes, unless we can 'see' the signal, we can never be sure of its behavior. at this present moment, we only rely machine and equipment to 'see' these signals, the rest is just research papers.

take it easy dude.

so how was your test going so far?

actually my previous post is not without intend. it is for those skeptics who didn't try before commenting that it does or doesn't work. definitely not for people like us who willing to explore the possibility. agree? cheers! :D

MrJacky
25-12-2008, 02:16 PM
You should know that my tone has always been like this. ;)

I will try to do some tests these few days. It's quite troublesome to shift the modem around.

liangtam
25-12-2008, 11:03 PM
I thot u said wan gibe up trying n buy new louter wor

emuji
25-12-2008, 11:50 PM
You should know that my tone has always been like this. ;)

I will try to do some tests these few days. It's quite troublesome to shift the modem around.

hahaha... getting use to it now ;)

MrJacky
27-12-2008, 08:32 AM
I thot u said wan gibe up trying n buy new louter wor
The reason for me wanting to switch is due to the poor wireless capability, but since some have mentioned that the power setting is actually at maximum 10 and it may improve performance I decided to investigate.

I got no hate towards 2WIRE. If it serves me well it stays.

MrJacky
27-12-2008, 08:53 AM
I got a conclusion.

The power setting, when increased from 6 to 8, then to 10, has differences neglible, at least for me.

The location I tested is where I can get an Excellent signal from most parts of my apartment when using my Linksys. I increased from 200mW (power setting 6) to 300mW (power setting 8), then to 400mW (power setting 10).

I can say that the differences are minimal. I can get a constant Excellent signal with the Linksys, but for the 2WIRE the Excellent signal drops to Very Good after a while. Shows that it's wireless strength is not up to par with my Linksys and it's probably not able to serve my apartment and my family members.

I am living in an executive apartment. Sort of 2 times the size of a 4-room flat.

My modem is the 2WIRE 2701HGV-E.

To unlock power setting 10:

Before I begin I must warn you that if you want to operate at power setting 10 it may not be suitable for you. Also some has mentioned that IDA does not allow more than 200mW. Whatever it is, do at your own risk. If you don't see a need, then save it. If a need for a new modem/router has arrived, go for it instead of risking your modem which you can keep as spare.

The steps are quite simple.

Go to http://home/setup and you see a screen where you can input your key code. That's the setup wizard.

Before proceeding, go to http://home/mdc (default password is 2wire). Copy down your key code. That should be your default keycode that comes with your modem.

Go to http://2wire.com/keycode and grab the first key code which belongs to AT&T.

At this point of time make sure your default key code is copied down.

Input the AT&T key code.

Click Next and it's pretty much self-explanatory.

Once you see a registration screen you are done.

You should have unlocked your power setting.

Now you can simply revert back to your default key code.

Go back to http://home/setup and input back your default key code.

Then press Next and simply wait till you see the registration screen.

The power setting should stay.

Now you should re-configure your internet connection.

The AT&T key code will set your VCI setting to 35, but the SingNet setting should be at 100.

Go to http://home/xslt?PAGE=B05&THISPAGE=B01&NEXTPAGE=B05 or simply Broadband Link > Advanced Setting and set the VCI to 100.

ATM Encapsulation should be at Bridged LLC.

ATM PVC Search is Disabled by default for me, and the AT&T key code enables it. I disabled it.

That's it, you are done.

If you want to revert back to "pure-clean SingNet key code" state you got to reset to factory state. That won't be covered here.

liangtam
27-12-2008, 10:35 AM
I got a conclusion.

The power setting, when increased from 6 to 8, then to 10, has differences neglible, at least for me.

The location I tested is where I can get an Excellent signal from most parts of my apartment when using my Linksys. I increased from 200mW (power setting 6) to 300mW (power setting 8), then to 400mW (power setting 10).

I can say that the differences are minimal. I can get a constant Excellent signal with the Linksys, but for the 2WIRE the Excellent signal drops to Very Good after a while. Shows that it's wireless strength is not up to par with my Linksys and it's probably not able to serve my apartment and my family members.

Actually, the outcome is quite obvious. :)

Anyway, as would have mentioned to you earlier, why wireless performance is not improved does not lies with pumping xmit pwr high. You forgot the quality factor here.

Also, increasing xmit power may sometimes be canceled out by the noise generated by itself, thus ur overall gain isn't there as u hope it would be. Esp to some idiots thinking 3rd party f/w is great and start setting 200mW and above for the linksys

Antenna positioning is more important if you really want better signal off the device and should be the FIRST thing to do. Whether if its on par, that really depends on whether if u did a fair comparison.

my 2c

MrJacky
27-12-2008, 10:16 PM

Anyway, as would have mentioned to you earlier, why wireless performance is not improved does not lies with pumping xmit pwr high. You forgot the quality factor here.

Also, increasing xmit power may sometimes be canceled out by the noise generated by itself, thus ur overall gain isn't there as u hope it would be. Esp to some idiots thinking 3rd party f/w is great and start setting 200mW and above for the linksys

Antenna positioning is more important if you really want better signal off the device and should be the FIRST thing to do. Whether if its on par, that really depends on whether if u did a fair comparison.

my 2c
I didn't really expect much from it in the first place, but if it may be able to save me some money from buying a new router I decided to go ahead with it.

Anyway it may be due to my apartment size. Most of the people here would probably stay in a 4-room or 5-room, this may help them a little.

Francis85
27-12-2008, 10:29 PM
I didn't really expect much from it in the first place, but if it may be able to save me some money from buying a new router I decided to go ahead with it.

Anyway it may be due to my apartment size. Most of the people here would probably stay in a 4-room or 5-room, this may help them a little.

For me I just hoot a DIR 655 then bridge the 2WIRE problem solved, can climb like there is no tomorrow also liao........Unlike the 2WIRE climb only auto restart........

albertchng
27-12-2008, 11:09 PM
...Unlike the 2WIRE climb only auto restart........

si meh? my 2700 buay leh... serve my family well.

bo lui to buy DIR-655, wait for people to throw i go pick from rubbish chute. :o

liangtam
27-12-2008, 11:29 PM
For me I just hoot a DIR 655 then bridge the 2WIRE problem solved, can climb like there is no tomorrow also liao........Unlike the 2WIRE climb only auto restart........

cannot wor, later u less job install 2wire :)

chunlianghere
28-12-2008, 12:21 AM
si meh? my 2700 buay leh... serve my family well.

bo lui to buy DIR-655, wait for people to throw i go pick from rubbish chute. :o
i tink u wil wait very long.. :s13::s13::s13:

emuji
28-12-2008, 12:50 PM
I got a conclusion.

I am living in an executive apartment. Sort of 2 times the size of a 4-room flat.

My modem is the 2WIRE 2701HGV-E.

To unlock power setting 10:

Before I begin I must warn you that if you want to operate at power setting 10 it may not be suitable for you. Also some has mentioned that IDA does not allow more than 200mW. Whatever it is, do at your own risk. If you don't see a need, then save it. If a need for a new modem/router has arrived, go for it instead of risking your modem which you can keep as spare.

The steps are quite simple.

Go to http://home/setup and you see a screen where you can input your key code. That's the setup wizard.

Before proceeding, go to http://home/mdc (default password is 2wire). Copy down your key code. That should be your default keycode that comes with your modem.

Go to http://2wire.com/keycode and grab the first key code which belongs to AT&T.

At this point of time make sure your default key code is copied down.

Input the AT&T key code.

Click Next and it's pretty much self-explanatory.

Once you see a registration screen you are done.

You should have unlocked your power setting.

Now you can simply revert back to your default key code.

Go back to http://home/setup and input back your default key code.

Then press Next and simply wait till you see the registration screen.

The power setting should stay.

Now you should re-configure your internet connection.

The AT&T key code will set your VCI setting to 35, but the SingNet setting should be at 100.

Go to http://home/xslt?PAGE=B05&THISPAGE=B01&NEXTPAGE=B05 or simply Broadband Link > Advanced Setting and set the VCI to 100.

ATM Encapsulation should be at Bridged LLC.

ATM PVC Search is Disabled by default for me, and the AT&T key code enables it. I disabled it.

That's it, you are done.

If you want to revert back to "pure-clean SingNet key code" state you got to reset to factory state. That won't be covered here.

Thanks Jacky for carrying out the test and for the clear instructions! :D

my 2c

well, that's what the test is about. to get some form of user experience results. it may not be 100% conclusive but at least it satisfy our curiosity ;)

alanchia67
28-12-2008, 07:38 PM
jacky, what wifi channel you using in linksys? and also in 2wire?

Francis85
28-12-2008, 07:48 PM
cannot wor, later u less job install 2wire :)

Now no more jobs liao........ a lot of people snatching with me for the jobs.......

MrJacky
28-12-2008, 09:22 PM
jacky, what wifi channel you using in linksys? and also in 2wire?
Both at 6.

I tried other channels for the 2WIRE, doesn't make a difference.