PDA

View Full Version : SingNet or 2Wire Problem?

Icaruz
22-12-2008, 05:10 AM
Whenever i surf the net or play games especially Warcraft III, be it Battlenet or Garena Lancraft/Zion. the line will disconnect by itself and attempt to reconnect again, if im lucky ill remain in my game, if not i get disconnected. this happens very very very often, once in about 5 minutes, and less if i'm not gaming. Anyone here have any idea whats wrong?

Whenever it happens, and i try to open an internet browser, i get Broadband link not available, or cant connect to ISP. and after it reconnects i get resolution successful and i have to reopen my browser to continue surfing again.

MrJacky
22-12-2008, 04:55 PM
You need to tell us whether you are using wireless or Ethernet.

chunlianghere
22-12-2008, 05:03 PM
it only happens when u surfing n gamin? does the INTERNET light also turn red(disconnect) when u didnt use it?

Icaruz
22-12-2008, 07:07 PM
You need to tell us whether you are using wireless or Ethernet.

i have 2 desktops and 2 laptops total.
1st desktop - ethernet
2nd desktop - wireless
both laptops - wireless

it happens very often for my wireless desktop.

Icaruz
22-12-2008, 07:08 PM
it only happens when u surfing n gamin? does the INTERNET light also turn red(disconnect) when u didnt use it?

yeah, it dosent happen when im inactive, the red light wont go away, instead, the internet light will disappear and the DSL will be blinking yellow for a moment before it reconnects again.

Icaruz
22-12-2008, 09:16 PM
btw i tried chaning the wires. all of them except for the power adapter. ethernet and phone line wire. all new. still same.

voldermord
22-12-2008, 10:02 PM
2wire problem.

I had exact same prob, recontracted chg to latest modem now no dc at all.

chunlianghere
22-12-2008, 10:18 PM
mayb u wan to provide your line stats to know whether your line giv u problem.

go to 192.168.1.254/mdc(password is 2wire if there is) -> under Broadband Link, screenshot Statistics n Detailed DSL Statistics.

Icaruz
23-12-2008, 12:52 AM
2wire problem.

I had exact same prob, recontracted chg to latest modem now no dc at all.

my contract ends in june next year T_T

Icaruz
23-12-2008, 12:55 AM
mayb u wan to provide your line stats to know whether your line giv u problem.

go to 192.168.1.254/mdc(password is 2wire if there is) -> under Broadband Link, screenshot Statistics n Detailed DSL Statistics.

here are the statistics:
http://i120.photobucket.com/albums/o198/lagon22/statistics.jpg

http://i120.photobucket.com/albums/o198/lagon22/detailedstatistics.jpg

Icaruz
23-12-2008, 02:55 AM
ok i got these right after it happened.

http://i120.photobucket.com/albums/o198/lagon22/statistics2.jpg

http://i120.photobucket.com/albums/o198/lagon22/detailedstatistics2.jpg

remy3413
23-12-2008, 04:29 AM
bro, go to 192.168.1.254/mdc and click DSL Diagnostics under troubleshooting, look at the list of info given, all must state ok, if not means your internal wiring or singnet's outside wiring has corroded, u must clean it and it will alright. i had the same problem

Icaruz
23-12-2008, 06:09 AM
everything states ok, i will continue to monitor when my problem comes again and post the stats.

Icaruz
23-12-2008, 10:44 AM
nvm i jus called SingNet technician and they will send someone tmr 24th Dec, at 4-6pm. will update here on wad was the cause.

chunlianghere
23-12-2008, 04:05 PM
ok i got these right after it happened.

http://i120.photobucket.com/albums/o198/lagon22/statistics2.jpg

http://i120.photobucket.com/albums/o198/lagon22/detailedstatistics2.jpg
current rate, noise margin, attenuation looking very gd.

but from link retrains n DSL training errors, looks like mayb hav problem at backend or exchange.

jialingjj
23-12-2008, 08:51 PM
Troubleshooting – DSL Diagnostics
General Information
DSL Line (Wire Pair): Line 1 (inner pair)
Downstream Rate Cap: 3504 kbps
Downstream Atten. at 300kHz: 13.5 dB
Uncancelled Echo: 31.2 dB Suspicious - check phone filters and alarm
VCXO Frequency Offset: -51.5 ppm Ok
Final Rx Gain: 11.0 dB Ok
Impulse Noise Comp. Tones: 0 Ok
Excessive Impulse Noise: 0 Ok
Impulse noise protection: 0.07
Delay of latency path: 0.54 ms

http://i388.photobucket.com/albums/oo327/jj89575123456789/Untitled.jpg

wat is my problem, i smtime will dc..Dun know is it my phone line or the 2wire problem. Any comments? I'm using wireless

Francis85
23-12-2008, 09:26 PM
Troubleshooting – DSL Diagnostics
General Information
DSL Line (Wire Pair): Line 1 (inner pair)
Downstream Rate Cap: 3504 kbps
Downstream Atten. at 300kHz: 13.5 dB
Uncancelled Echo: 31.2 dB Suspicious - check phone filters and alarm
VCXO Frequency Offset: -51.5 ppm Ok
Final Rx Gain: 11.0 dB Ok
Impulse Noise Comp. Tones: 0 Ok
Excessive Impulse Noise: 0 Ok
Impulse noise protection: 0.07
Delay of latency path: 0.54 ms

http://i388.photobucket.com/albums/oo327/jj89575123456789/Untitled.jpg

wat is my problem, i smtime will dc..Dun know is it my phone line or the 2wire problem. Any comments? I'm using wireless

Why is your uncanceled echo + it should be negative....... Maybe can check on the microfilter........

albertchng
24-12-2008, 10:39 AM
current rate, noise margin, attenuation looking very gd.

but from link retrains n DSL training errors, looks like mayb hav problem at backend or exchange.

His line card got problem.

Francis85
24-12-2008, 10:45 AM
Must see the readings at DP first if DP ok........ Means that internal wiring got some problems liao.........

AST
24-12-2008, 10:56 AM
Is the uncancelled echo always there or just present right after you dc?

Icaruz
24-12-2008, 08:21 PM
sian its the problem of my router, he wanted to change it for me, but he brougth a mio router whereas mine was a normal 2wire 2700 router.

Francis85
24-12-2008, 09:42 PM
Is the uncancelled echo always there or just present right after you dc?

UCE will always be there de...... sometimes dc due to positive UCE............high chance...........

RedLightDistriX
24-12-2008, 10:29 PM
sian its the problem of my router, he wanted to change it for me, but he brougth a mio router whereas mine was a normal 2wire 2700 router.

I suspect its due to your internal wiring, not your router. Do you connect a micro-filter before connecting your analogue phone? Or what sort of tel cable do u use to connect it to your modem? its best that u use the 1 supplied by 2Wire as that might impact on your uncancellecho and your bandwidth quality.

xinus84
25-12-2008, 01:24 AM
i haf the same problems too.

everything was fine when i changed my router ;)

my old router was more than 2 yrs old.

Icaruz
25-12-2008, 06:30 AM
I suspect its due to your internal wiring, not your router. Do you connect a micro-filter before connecting your analogue phone? Or what sort of tel cable do u use to connect it to your modem? its best that u use the 1 supplied by 2Wire as that might impact on your uncancellecho and your bandwidth quality.

the technician came alr -.- read my earlier post lol, he tested all my wiring and everything and yes i do use everything that 2wire provides. wiring is all ok, and he did mention when he test mine its 1 of the best results he had ever obtained. maybe becos i changed the wires to try to solve the problem. now im waiting for singnet to contact me again. i hope i resolve this problem fast. if i wanna change to mio or sth i gotta wait to june 2009 when my contract ends.

RedLightDistriX
25-12-2008, 10:28 PM
the technician came alr -.- read my earlier post lol, he tested all my wiring and everything and yes i do use everything that 2wire provides. wiring is all ok, and he did mention when he test mine its 1 of the best results he had ever obtained. maybe becos i changed the wires to try to solve the problem. now im waiting for singnet to contact me again. i hope i resolve this problem fast. if i wanna change to mio or sth i gotta wait to june 2009 when my contract ends.

Of course i read.. Is he a contractor or a SingTel staff? some contractors don't even bother to fix ur internal wiring issue that why even u change modem also problem still persist. Unless he prove you the reading in his test modem and monitor your BB for 20mins to prove that its your modem issue. I can see that you will get disconnected when there's incomming/outgoing calls.

You can renew/recontract ur plan 6mth before it ends.

Icaruz
26-12-2008, 04:09 AM
Of course i read.. Is he a contractor or a SingTel staff? some contractors don't even bother to fix ur internal wiring issue that why even u change modem also problem still persist. Unless he prove you the reading in his test modem and monitor your BB for 20mins to prove that its your modem issue. I can see that you will get disconnected when there's incomming/outgoing calls.

You can renew/recontract ur plan 6mth before it ends.

hahas k, so i'll have to wait til they give me a new modem den see if the problem persist, but i was beside him when he checked everything he oso went to the mdc to check the statistics and stuff. he logged onto a technician website to send some dns stuff and called someone to check if they received the signals and all correctly. everything went fine. so he concluded tat i need a change of router but he couldn't change it for me cus he brought a mio router for me whereas mine was a normal non mio 2700 HG 2wire router. so let's jus wait. if the problem persists i might jus go for starhub's 100mbps cable instead ^^.

and btw i dont get disconnected when there's incomming/outgoing calls. it happens when i play games especially warcraft iii OR any other steam games(l4d,cs1.6,cs:source:tf2,garrysmod,hl2 dm).

albertchng
26-12-2008, 09:39 AM
I was about to say "My 2 cents" but judging from so many gurus here, i changed to "My half cent", so here goes...

Likely not modem's fault, internal wiring not too sure, however line stats show so many training error, if not mux error then should be line card problem. DP test can confirm the problem souce.

Both sub con & singtel techie cant be bother to tell you what is wrong with your connection due to the "need to know" basis. Most owners are not qualified enough to know such info unless stated in work order.

Francis85
26-12-2008, 10:26 AM
seems to me like lots of singnet technician here...............

kennyg1969
26-12-2008, 11:58 AM
wah lau... need to know basis... must be state secret :) lol

Icaruz
27-12-2008, 09:16 AM
I was about to say "My 2 cents" but judging from so many gurus here, i changed to "My half cent", so here goes...

Likely not modem's fault, internal wiring not too sure, however line stats show so many training error, if not mux error then should be line card problem. DP test can confirm the problem souce.

Both sub con & singtel techie cant be bother to tell you what is wrong with your connection due to the "need to know" basis. Most owners are not qualified enough to know such info unless stated in work order.

hahas yeah i know what you mean, i know 1 of StarHub's secret. but too bad im using SingNet. argh.