PDA

View Full Version : Suitable plan for bandwidth heavy usage?

ugeneleow
25-12-2008, 04:14 AM
Hi everyone. The following might be a long read, but I do hope that you guys can give me some advice as it is important to me. Here's the thing: There are a total of 4 people using the Internet in my house and here are the average percentage on how they use the Internet. (The bandwidth for web surfing is pretty neligible and thus, I did not add it in.)
#1 - 60% Video 40% Gaming.
#2 - 40% Video 40% Gaming (DotA) 20% uTorrent.
#3 - 30% Video 50% Gaming (DotA) 20% uTorrent.
#4 - 30% Skype, 10% Video, 60% Gaming (MapleStory).My current line is SNBB 3mbps, and it's clearly not enough for such me. So, since the time for me to change my broadband plan has come, I've decided to look around for the best plan to suit my needs. After much consideration, we've thought of three options:
#1 - SNBB 10mbps.
#2 - StarHub 100mbps
#3 - StarHub 12mbps + The 100mbps StarHub modem.My sister is a maple-siao person, and if she plays MapleStory, she'd get the 100mbps boost as Maple is one of StarHub's partners. However, paying $300 for the modem is kinda expensive IMO, but it'd be much cheaper in the long run as compared to the 100mbps plan. Also, my sister would skype all the time and thus, using Skype while enjoying a lag-free game of DotA needs to be taken into consideration. Getting DCed or worse, getting killed due to lag is one of the top game-mood spoilers. Also, my sister simply refuses to stop skyping; she keeps insisting that Skpe doesn't have any link to a laggy network because she isn't the host. She'd called Singnet Cust. Support to complain about the laggy internet for 5 times in 2 months already and yet she still doesn't want to accept my explanation. :(

I'm kinda neutral between choosing SNBB or StarHub since each ISP has it's pros and cons. I just don't want to make a wrong decision and regret it for the next 24 months after I've signed the wrong plan. I just want to enjoy a lag-free game of DotA after I come back from work everyday and the lag is really getting on my nerves. So, which plan is suitable for me? Do list your thoughts and your explanations! Thanks a lot and I wish all a merry Christmas!

liangtam
25-12-2008, 04:31 AM
There are better VSP than skype.

ugeneleow
25-12-2008, 04:36 AM
Ya I do know, but the problem is that my sister, being a computer-idiot, refuses to change to another software because all her other friends are using Skype. =.= And seriously, it really pisses me off because I can't even get to play a decent game of DotA without lagging.

blackink
25-12-2008, 04:37 AM
this is my experience

have tried ALL possible connections before

i come to this conclusion myself

only go for the LOWEST END SERVICE or the HIGHEST END ONE

which means either 1mbps or 100mbps

anything in between really waste of time and value

ugeneleow
25-12-2008, 04:44 AM
Hmmm. Guess I kinda agree on that too, because personally when doing things, I tend to give it my best or rather not do it at all.

This might sound a wee bit retarded, but how "Strong" is the 100mbps plan? Is it like those "I can skype and uTorrent and play WoW at the same time and not lag" plan? :D

And also, regarding StarHub's green pipe thingy, I understand that the connection varies from block to block, which means that the more people using, the more unstable the connection would be. However, does this mean that if I'm using a 100mbps connection, I'm on a separate "pipe" from those that are using the 12mbps plan? EDIT: My Internet browser seems to be having some problems with HWZ. =\

blackink
25-12-2008, 04:48 AM
actually EVERYONE is on the 100mbps plan, its just becos the retarded modem received instruction to release up to certain % niah

to me, unless more than 3 parties are co-sharing (or co-using) together, the 100mpbs is overkill...no not in term service, but in term price in return for the rather inconsistent 100 pipe, note its UP TO 100 hor, meaning one could be running 1 or 2m niah at times.. really experienced that befored. damn pissed siah

PinZzz
25-12-2008, 04:49 AM
i'll take #1 - SNBB 10mbps. anytime...

blackink
25-12-2008, 04:54 AM
i'll take #1 - SNBB 10mbps. anytime...

this is NOT a personal attach

but 2 words: not worth:(

ugeneleow
25-12-2008, 05:00 AM
actually EVERYONE is on the 100mbps plan, its just becos the retarded modem received instruction to release up to certain % niah

to me, unless more than 3 parties are co-sharing (or co-using) together, the 100mpbs is overkill...no not in term service, but in term price in return for the rather inconsistent 100 pipe, note its UP TO 100 hor, meaning one could be running 1 or 2m niah at times.. really experienced that befored. damn pissed siah

Hmm. So it is down to whether I'm lucky or not huh. =X.

But isn't there anything we can do to try to make the connection more stable? That's because getting 1mb 2mb speeds when you've signed up for a 100mb plan is kinda retarded :S.

blackink
25-12-2008, 05:03 AM
Hmm. So it is down to whether I'm lucky or not huh. =X.

But isn't there anything we can do to try to make the connection more stable? That's because getting 1mb 2mb speeds when you've signed up for a 100mb plan is kinda retarded :S.

Thats why its called the FAT GREEN PIPE

everyone share mah, but when share with who how much donch know:s13::s13:

ugeneleow
25-12-2008, 05:10 AM
Wah omg. Then doesn't it mean that I'd have to either face with potential random lags or get lagged by my sister? http://www.hardwarezone.com/img/forums/styles/hwz/smilies/eek.gif That's really sucky. :S

blackink
25-12-2008, 05:16 AM
Wah omg. Then doesn't it mean that I'd have to either face with potential random lags or get lagged by my sister? :eek: That's really sucky. :S

aiyah tell us something NEW la

its just that all the 100m sukers dont dare admit niah, after forking out and kanna conn 24mths diam diam lo :(

ohmygod1986
25-12-2008, 07:48 AM
Go for Snbb 10Mbps ...

If still not enough, mio plan
For The Busy Executive 25Mbps :s22::s22::s22:

Starhub ahzzz dunno:look:

jellyboy
25-12-2008, 10:18 AM
since you are on singnet currently, why don't you upgrade the speed to 10mbps and try out for a month? After that then decide whether to recontract or not?

yukita
25-12-2008, 11:30 AM
there is no CIR for the home plan. basically they not commit to any speed. when u sign 10mbps plan, its only up to 10mbps (maybe when u use it alone), can also only 512kbps (when alot of people use at the same time).

MrJacky
25-12-2008, 11:43 AM
I would say go for SingNet 10Mbps.

Gaming is best on SingNet. You get lower speed but also lower latency.

For MMORPG games like MapleStory, either StarHub or SingNet will do as it's not latency-sensitive.

But if you are playing highly-sensitive FPS games such as Battlefield 2, you got to go with SingNet. If you got male users chances are they may play FPS games, whether now or in the future. I have never heard any of my male friends not playing a shooter game before, so unless all your users are female or the males are those "niang" ones.

But it all boils down to the opposite party, which is the server.

For example, if a game has a dedicated server (run by a renowned company) then it may not be that latency-sensitive. MapleStory is one example. Servers are provided by the publisher. Same for GunZ and Soldier Front.

But for games like Counter-Strike and Battlefield 2 where servers are also run by individuals, latency is important here.

As long as it's latency-sensitive, go for SingNet.

If not, StarHub is also fine.

That's my experience. I was a MaxOnline user for 2 years before switching to SingNet due to the high latency experienced on Battlefield 2.

But on GunZ and Soldier Front where servers are provided by the publisher only, it makes no difference, or rather, differences that are negligible.

liangtam
25-12-2008, 11:45 AM
aiyah tell us something NEW la

its just that all the 100m sukers dont dare admit niah, after forking out and kanna conn 24mths diam diam lo :(

This is wrong. It sounds more like u cant pay.

cpuer
25-12-2008, 12:29 PM
You didn't talk about your router. it is another key item you need to take care of, no matter what plan you subscribed to.

gibass
25-12-2008, 07:26 PM
I did measure the upload data rate for two games, namely Quake 3 and Maplestory. I used Netlimiter Monitor to check for the size of the data going through, and from the stats, I am very VERY confident that upload and download bandwidth requirements are very minimal for these two games. They both only registered around 10kBps for upload and 20kBps for download... which is pretty okay for even the total bandwidth for a 1mbps plan LOL.

From this, I can fimrly conclude that the latency is much MUCH more important than your plan's maximum download and upload speeds. In most cases, Singnet's latency is lower than Starhub's.

Choose wisely, and merry christmas! :s13:

gibs

blackink
25-12-2008, 07:42 PM
This is wrong. It sounds more like u cant pay.

are chiu one those diam diam ones now come out to counter by saying 'But i am a RICH suker lei':s13::s13: is this your best shot?..

liangtam
25-12-2008, 10:46 PM
are chiu one those diam diam ones now come out to counter by saying 'But i am a RICH suker lei':s13::s13: is this your best shot?..

moi ish a poor student. Do read both words separately. Poor and Student, that is.

hokay, back to main discussion.
Reason why its expensive is not a reason to rip you off. If you understand the pre-DOCSIS3 modem, you will know it bonds 4 connection together, hence allowing you to achieve higher rate.

On top of which, if u have higher b/w, ur exponent increase of latency is slower to began, and hence when compared, you will get better performance than those on Express or Premium. Surflite not included :)

There are other cause n effect which I leave you to figure out. In short, MOL Ultimate can be from just a mere to slightly to even much better than the lower priced plans.

liangtam
25-12-2008, 10:49 PM
MS takes way lower than 10kBps most of the time :)

ugeneleow
26-12-2008, 01:30 AM
I would say go for SingNet 10Mbps.

Gaming is best on SingNet. You get lower speed but also lower latency.

For MMORPG games like MapleStory, either StarHub or SingNet will do as it's not latency-sensitive.

But if you are playing highly-sensitive FPS games such as Battlefield 2, you got to go with SingNet. If you got male users chances are they may play FPS games, whether now or in the future. I have never heard any of my male friends not playing a shooter game before, so unless all your users are female or the males are those "niang" ones.

But it all boils down to the opposite party, which is the server.

For example, if a game has a dedicated server (run by a renowned company) then it may not be that latency-sensitive. MapleStory is one example. Servers are provided by the publisher. Same for GunZ and Soldier Front.

But for games like Counter-Strike and Battlefield 2 where servers are also run by individuals, latency is important here.

As long as it's latency-sensitive, go for SingNet.

If not, StarHub is also fine.

That's my experience. I was a MaxOnline user for 2 years before switching to SingNet due to the high latency experienced on Battlefield 2.

But on GunZ and Soldier Front where servers are provided by the publisher only, it makes no difference, or rather, differences that are negligible.

Thanks for the detailed explanation. So based on your explanation, the suitable plan for me would be SNBB 10mb?

Is there any way that I can sign up only for the 25mbps plan and not use the Mobile and TV plan of Generation MIO? That's because my current mobile plan is already paid for by my uncle while my TV isn't really much used.

You didn't talk about your router. it is another key item you need to take care of, no matter what plan you subscribed to.

Hmm. My router is DLink DGL-4300. Pretty pleased with it :D

MsWindowsVista
26-12-2008, 01:50 PM
Hi

i don't know much about network knowledge, only based on my personal experience.

i been using starhub maxonline more then 8 years (previously called SCV), and different plan too (from 10 mbps to 30 mbps, then jumped to 100mbps).

basically use for BitTorrent, youtube, skype, internet (open multiple pages), download huge file (like beta software), ftp server, upload and download huge files from and to china, msn, desktop remote connection, and so on. my brother also share the connection thru the router, used for email, internet searching, and so on.

when jumped from plan to plan, it really feel the different. im happy with my Ultimate plan, even sometime it have disconnection problem. but most of the time it served my needs. as we know that, there is no perfect solution. no regret to pay more for the bandwidth.

btw, i not starhub support. sometime really pissed off by their service. but most of the time i happy with my currently connection speed.

blackink
28-12-2008, 08:55 PM
moi ish a poor student. Do read both words separately. Poor and Student, that is.

hokay, back to main discussion.
Reason why its expensive is not a reason to rip you off. If you understand the pre-DOCSIS3 modem, you will know it bonds 4 connection together, hence allowing you to achieve higher rate.

On top of which, if u have higher b/w, ur exponent increase of latency is slower to began, and hence when compared, you will get better performance than those on Express or Premium. Surflite not included :)

There are other cause n effect which I leave you to figure out. In short, MOL Ultimate can be from just a mere to slightly to even much better than the lower priced plans.

on one hand you said

Reason why its expensive is not a reason to rip you off.

YET on the other hand you summarise

In short, MOL Ultimate can be from just a mere to slightly to even much better than the lower priced plans.

If it is NOT delivering what you are paying for, BUT SIMPLY WHAT ITS PROMISING TO BE, if thats NOT chop carrot i dont know what is liao:s22:

for a POOR n STUDENT, not only you went one whole round to prove that i am right, you are pretty good at rationalizing and justifying your way out of your own bull:s7:

or least i must applaud you did try your best looking like you SOUNDED you are heading somewhere, wherever that is

i am quite confident to say you were trying to defend YOUR 100m subscription

liangtam
28-12-2008, 10:21 PM
on one hand you said

Reason why its expensive is not a reason to rip you off.

YET on the other hand you summarise

In short, MOL Ultimate can be from just a mere to slightly to even much better than the lower priced plans.

If it is NOT delivering what you are paying for, BUT SIMPLY WHAT ITS PROMISING TO BE, if thats NOT chop carrot i dont know what is liao:s22:
Sorry, I removed my other post earlier, I misread ur point.
Ok, let me clarify, my above statement.

If 12Mbps is X Mbps
then 100Mbps can be anywhere between at MINIMUM X+1 to X+(some higher value than 1 here).
Understand my point now? :)

Regd ur petty money, its your choice. Pay more get u minimum X+1, how does that sounds?

for a POOR n STUDENT, not only you went one whole round to prove that i am right, you are pretty good at rationalizing and justifying your way out of your own bull:s7:
Sorry? Don't get your point :s11:
I see from my fren higher speed than premium is obtained easily.

or least i must applaud you did try your best looking like you SOUNDED you are heading somewhere, wherever that is

i am quite confident to say you were trying to defend YOUR 100m subscription

Im also wondering, are you heading somewhere or nowhere?
BTW, please don't self-pwn hor. Im not even on MOL.

If the word poor n student havent got into ur brain for process(that I don't have the kind of money) yet, I got nothing to say

ginseng1
29-12-2008, 09:32 AM

2 persons share 1 plan. So no overload.

If one down, can just switch over to the other ISP.

boucyfirebal
29-12-2008, 09:35 AM
i tot basic starfug is 8mps?(dun say the light ine)
which imo is enough. the benefits of starfug is u can multitask with decent speed
singtel=;(

however be warned starfug service is epic fail. the only reason why i remain is there is no better alternative

modem wise the motorla one is good, but other that that no reason to sign contract!. you can get a 2nd hand one easily. Moreover wireless router wise u can get cheaper outside.
and if u do adopt the epic lag 12 n above u need wireless N router