PDA

View Full Version : Starhub Sucks

triple
28-12-2008, 11:25 AM
Hi

I just downgraded my plan from 8mbs to 2mbs..i did not notice any differance in download speed or latency..even though SH customer service confirmed my speed has been downgraded.

I ask them for an explaination, that the last 2 weeks I had been overpaying since I have 2mbps speed while paying for a 8mbps speed. The Filipino call agent was useless in her explaination and in fact she made me more angry by reciting from a prepared scritp and mis pronouncing so many words....

I just told my SH account manager my company will stick to Singtel for my data/voice plan (billing more than $500k per year with 2000 pc across AP) and I will not recommend my management to adopt a supplier that has call agent unable or not wanting to assist a client.

liangtam
28-12-2008, 12:31 PM
errm, u rly shouldn't mix business with personal matters. its sounds unprofessional (revenge), that is.
For speed, you have to use a download accelerator.

stussyking
28-12-2008, 12:51 PM
did u ever test at speedtest.net; and u got the same speed ?

tingyuan
28-12-2008, 02:12 PM
2mb surflite really suck, starhub ask me to upgrade to 8mb. but 2mb surflite is free or charge for 12month leh. they let me test 8mb for 2hrs and will call me as they still investigation.

GetaBlue
28-12-2008, 02:22 PM
when u say sh sux, do u mean s.tel and m.1 are good ISP?

tingyuan
28-12-2008, 02:55 PM
previously i using singtel 1mbps got no problem, never encountered "Internet Explorer cannot display the page".

lowem
28-12-2008, 03:07 PM
I just told my SH account manager my company will stick to Singtel for my data/voice plan (billing more than $500k per year with 2000 pc across AP) and I will not recommend my management to adopt a supplier that has call agent unable or not wanting to assist a client.

Well, all else being equal, it's a free market.
Whoever provides the best good/services at the best price, wins.

boucyfirebal
28-12-2008, 03:18 PM
agreed that i dont think its mixing.
congitive dissonance at its best.

if basic service cant be offer what about backup for 2000 pc if all things equal

cpuer
28-12-2008, 03:35 PM
all ISP sucks one way or another. some sucked in the past, some sucks now. some will suck in the future.

Obviouz
28-12-2008, 05:37 PM
Is Cable good for companies? I think DSL is the better one out there for companies.

If SH bandwidth sharing is true.

ohmygod1986
28-12-2008, 05:50 PM
I think starhub also has ADSL for business connection ...

Notch for home ...

Business & Consumer different one :s22::s22::s22:

albertchng
28-12-2008, 07:39 PM
So unprofessional to mix business with personal... No doubt SH got Biz ADSL, but at time we do need ATM connection, we cant use SH cos they also use ST for local loop so why not go directly to ST. As for voice, the last international call centre i work in, our dual cpu pabx is programmed to route via different cheapest plans by different providers at different timings.

eddy2099sg
28-12-2008, 08:04 PM
Generally, no matter which plan you are on, it would access the same submarine cables to the US which is shared by all the other members. The only time you would really see the speed jump is through having multiple simultaneous connections particularly downloads. This would make sense if you are sharing with a couple computers and/or using a download accelerator.

One to one download would probably not be face since we are physically far from the US and would experience the base latency.

triple
29-12-2008, 05:13 PM
Let me explain myself...if they cannot provide me a single user with a satifactory service..how can they provide my users...some of them which are in India and Thailand...adequate service..will you risk your job this way?

krazyman
29-12-2008, 05:39 PM
Firstly, your company isn't a SH corporate customer yet. 2ndly, are you the decision maker is also a question mark? 3rdly, you're trying to leverage on your company (not owned by you) for personal gain. If every service provider will to give in whenever someone cook up a story that he is in charge of some super deal, then they won't be in business soon.;)

liangtam
29-12-2008, 06:03 PM
Let me explain myself...if they cannot provide me a single user with a satifactory service..how can they provide my users...some of them which are in India and Thailand...adequate service..will you risk your job this way?
Corporate service have better QoS due to the amt of value dealed, it is thus obvious to you that the service offerings will be different for the very reason.

triple
30-12-2008, 09:51 PM
Corporate service have better QoS due to the amt of value dealed, it is thus obvious to you that the service offerings will be different for the very reason.

who will take the risk..esp when it is employees market and your big boss and chairman are using the same connection

i think the best for telco is to provide consumer a good level of service too..that is the best branding building..

if you discriminate the service...well you not going to get the deal from the consumer who may be making the multi million dollar decision

triple
30-12-2008, 09:56 PM
Firstly, your company isn't a SH corporate customer yet. 2ndly, are you the decision maker is also a question mark? 3rdly, you're trying to leverage on your company (not owned by you) for personal gain. If every service provider will to give in whenever someone cook up a story that he is in charge of some super deal, then they won't be in business soon.;)

nope dun intend to be...there is a comittee who decide but i have the key influencing since i am the IT guy and it is my head on the chopping board..i report to the president and answerable to the management board

haha if i want a super personal deal, trust me sh practically throw the works at me...they dun even know i am a client...but i will make my decision based on my personal experience

in a sales pitch everything is rosy...all telco will tell you about their data connection oversea, but none will reveal they are leased from various operators

only true global player are people like worlcom and global crossing etc..they are the data provider mnc like us will chooses

we are giving the local telco the idd voip plans only...and some regional data plan to cut on cost

tingyuan
30-12-2008, 10:47 PM
Hi

I just downgraded my plan from 8mbs to 2mbs..i did not notice any differance in download speed or latency..even though SH customer service confirmed my speed has been downgraded.

I ask them for an explaination, that the last 2 weeks I had been overpaying since I have 2mbps speed while paying for a 8mbps speed. The Filipino call agent was useless in her explaination and in fact she made me more angry by reciting from a prepared scritp and mis pronouncing so many words....

The Filipino call agents was useless and stingy. Some of them are very rude, do not understand what you are talking about. I prefer local call agents who are very helpful. I am using 2 mbps speed 12 month free. The Filipino call agents told me there's charges of $53.50 if no problem found.

right now, no more connection interrupted.

Quan
31-12-2008, 12:17 AM
You put on a router to your 2 mbs plan and share by another computer.
You will cry Co_k stand. :s13:

liangtam
31-12-2008, 12:34 AM
who will take the risk..esp when it is employees market and your big boss and chairman are using the same connection

you know what is SLA?
only true global player are people like worlcom and global crossing etc..they are the data provider mnc like us will chooses

we are giving the local telco the idd voip plans only...and some regional data plan to cut on cost
Oh, is it!?!
See this website then: http://www.sttelemedia.com/

You're apparently not very aware then, esp for an IT guy ;)
in a sales pitch everything is rosy...all telco will tell you about their data connection oversea, but none will reveal they are leased from various operators
ya, apparently, they forgot to tell you they're "true global player" as claimed by you.

haha if i want a super personal deal, trust me sh practically throw the works at me...they dun even know i am a client...but i will make my decision based on my personal experience
mixing personal n biz matter is not very wise.

nope dun intend to be...there is a comittee who decide but i have the key influencing since i am the IT guy and it is my head on the chopping board..i report to the president and answerable to the management board
chop chop

seowbin
31-12-2008, 03:11 AM
anyway, their call centre for business will be higher level one... more solid

but still call centre is call centre, no matter where also like that cause they are the lowest level/front line to offer u help, can't do anything... but yes sir/no sir...

albertchng
31-12-2008, 09:49 AM

chop chop

obviously a chop chop case.

LOL... a IT guy with ZERO knowledge on commercial data infrastructure SLA/QoS. :s8:

albertchng
31-12-2008, 09:55 AM
Triple...

Since you like to mixed business with personal, why dont you ask your company SH Account Manager for high-speed ATM Service for your home?

•LµŠ†•
31-12-2008, 10:28 AM
there is no good isp in singapore. period

triple
31-12-2008, 02:31 PM
Haha I am enjoying the comments from our fellow hardwarezoners, I guess there are people who is working for starhub here

SLA what is it, service level agreement. If it is broken..where can you get resitution...the courts? Like the recent case in the paper with a particular S.I and a government link body? Why take the risk? Even my management board agree it is too much of risk to do so, since SH is an unproven supplier and a couple of them has not much good impression of SH as well.

Yeap SH sells a lot on their tie up and association but bottom line they do not own the datacable, period. It is leased very much like the they way telco buy/sell airtime on celluar line.

Our current provider is also a supplier to SH for NA trunk.

liangtam
31-12-2008, 04:04 PM
Haha I am enjoying the comments from our fellow hardwarezoners, I guess there are people who is working for starhub here
Then based on ur guess, who do u think is working for *any* particular coy here?

SLA what is it, service level agreement. If it is broken..where can you get resitution...the courts? Like the recent case in the paper with a particular S.I and a government link body? Why take the risk? Even my management board agree it is too much of risk to do so, since SH is an unproven supplier and a couple of them has not much good impression of SH as well.
you mean to say, if u get it from more reputable coy like global crossing, you wont have connectivity issues even? sounds naive.

Yeap SH sells a lot on their tie up and association but bottom line they do not own the datacable, period. It is leased very much like the they way telco buy/sell airtime on celluar line.
Yes, in theory, resell = no good. In practise, it blows your mind
Being a reseller, as some might brand to ISP like PacNet, Qala etc; they rely on upstream -Yes.

And for this very fact, they get to choose whatever multiple upstream as they like, for the best path also.
Therefore, reseller = multi path
Direct = single* path.

See the problem? Go direct, they die, you die.

For an IT guy, I guess you really dont specialise in networking then. So mind telling which aspect do you cover?

Therefore, it does not matter if they own an overseas route or not.
Our current provider is also a supplier to SH for NA trunk.
Great! shot in the foot. :D

More path as a reseller = multiple upstream, multiple upstream = backup n redundancy.

krazyman
31-12-2008, 07:16 PM
ebil......very ebil...

I tot someone is just a poor student only....:look:

liangtam
31-12-2008, 08:44 PM
ebil......very ebil...

I tot someone is just a poor student only....:look:

yar, where ish gotch say moi ish notch :s11:

krazyman
31-12-2008, 08:51 PM
yar, where ish gotch say moi ish notch :s11:

Student no corp exp already talk like pro. Lucky retired b4 u graduate......:D

dereth
03-01-2009, 12:25 AM
This is interesting.

I've been a Starhub MaxOnline customer since I've switched from SingTel Magix years back. All these years I've been using SingTel mobile for my whole family for years... since, erm... the "water bottle" phone era. :)

I'm in charge of mobile communications in my company. For mobile (not LAN network) alone, we are paying more than US$500K to SingTel a year. We have other mobile accounts with ISPs like AT&T, T-Mobile etc but let's just keep it to Singapore.

Even being a corporate Platinum account holder with SingTel, I do not demand deals performed at a personal level. At times when my personal mobile line conk up, I will call 1626. Or if I need to get a new phone, I'll join the queue at Hello!. When one of our executives require a home broadband problem looked into, we will still call their SingNet broadband hotline and wait in line for a technician to be available to come down and have a look. And at times it does suck to be a consumer.

Also, things are done very differently when you compare calling consumer versus the corporate hotline. Corporate helpdesk personnels does a pretty good job. SingTel's consumer lines sometimes just makes you... "vomit blood". That's part of the reason I switched to Starhub for my broadband and have stayed so ever since. Have you talked to a SingNet consumer helpdesk agent before comparing it to your Starhub agent? In any case, your mileage may vary.

On another note, we have indeed evaluated Starhub both in the network and mobile communications areas in a competive bid review and yes, Starhub just isn't ready for coporate primetime. SingTel is still the most stable of infrastructures we can find here in Singapore.

Thing is, we don't do that based on just the personal experience of a single individual on a consumer level. Now, that's not exactly very professional right? ;)

triple
04-01-2009, 12:27 AM
Haha how i wish the decision can be made so easily...in realilty there are tests and other evaluation method..however i was entertained by the reply here, especially from the so called experts

One word of advise, be objective in your reply and do not try to be the expert or personal in the reply..

I was like this in my youth, 2 decades ago...and in times of dubious sanity (like one) I still enjoy baiting and egging people to challenge me.

liangtam
04-01-2009, 12:41 AM
Student no corp exp already talk like pro. Lucky retired b4 u graduate......:D

chiu means poor students cannot wor... i mean sell backside huans meh? :o
unkle koh ish welly ebil~, put down on poor student :(

liangtam
04-01-2009, 01:02 AM
Haha how i wish the decision can be made so easily...in realilty there are tests and other evaluation method..however i was entertained by the reply here, especially from the so called experts
Sorry if i sound stewpig in my prev post to u.
Going thru a reseller has obviously its cons such as being smack in middle. How come u dont want to counter my points made?

Can our great expertise I.T. guy here pls share ur comments n knowledge then? :s11:
PS: dont start thinking, im not one

One word of advise, be objective in your reply and do not try to be the expert or personal in the reply..
Err, dun mind me, but...

Another shot in the foot, lol! :D
Can u tell us if you're objective when comparing services of residential n corporate service in the first place?