PDA

View Full Version : Singapore Fans

del
29-12-2008, 05:46 PM

I have been to a few big national games, like Singapore vs Uzebekistan and Singapore vs Vietnam (the recent one),

And out of curiousity i would always sit with the away fans, to have a feel of something different.

I remembered in Sg vs Uzb, i saw there were only a handful of Uzb fans, like couple of hundred yet they are very loud, holding a big flag, with a solid drummer and shouting "U ZE BIS TAN"..............

and in vietnam game, i saw the vietnam fans come in majority with red striking shirts with a yellow star in the middle. Impressed by their fans, passing the big flag around, standing whenever vietnam has a corner, a tackle and roar loudly whenever they attack. They would rise their hands up in the sky and shout "VIET NAM", and drums go galore.........

Now i wasnt far from Singapore fans either, i did look at them, i noticed there are a lot of red shirts but basically are like man u jerseys, liverpool jerseys, arsenal jerseys lol.........nevermind that, the cheer that SIngapore fans go about with a trumpetish sound , pe pe pepepe, pepepepe "BU TO".........I also had a hard time finding Singapore flag lol....

Now correct me if im wrong, "BU TO" is **** you in malay rite?........why must our cheer be in this form.......Its very dissapointing when a vietnam fan ask me........"What is BU TO?".......i said ermm "Sorry, it meant "**** you" i think"........he tot i was joking, but i left the scene shortly........cuz it got rowdy....

Hope sometime Singapore fans can do better.........:)

Cheers.

Cumzilla
29-12-2008, 05:52 PM
'bu to' is not 'fish' u lah, it means stupid and is not direct to the away fans but the man in black

del
29-12-2008, 05:57 PM
ic, so its "BODOH"? Anyway its good if Singapore fans can have a significant cheer, rather then be known good for jeering at the referee only..............

see the liverpool fans sing, "YOUuuuuuuu will neverrrr everrrrr walk aloneeeeeee lala la"

see the pompey fans go, "POMPEY POMPEY ALL THE WAY~"

see the man u fans go, "WE are the championsssss"

sad to hear singapore fans go ," pepepepepe BO DOH" lols........

skweam
29-12-2008, 06:15 PM
we're idiots. welcome to singapore.

Deunamist
29-12-2008, 08:14 PM
butoh actually refers to your private part. that is, if you are male.

i don't really like to see EPL shirts at games but what to do, Singaporeans are still living in the colonial era. ultimately, who cares as long as its red.

jeering is part of football whether you like it or not. in Italy you will often hear stuff like "Inter, Inter, vaffanculo" or "Chi non salta neazzuro", the former which means Inter, Inter, f**k off.

i believe EPL fans also have negative chants about their rival teams or opponents.

when you wanna talk about singapore fans, you are talking about yourself, so why don't you lead the pack during the next games. but singaporeans are singaporeans, they won't follow much either. it's a tried and tested failure to get the local crowd to cheer.

spykid
29-12-2008, 09:13 PM
It has been like that since the Malaysia Cup days, where have you been? :s13:

It has been the local 'practice' of booing the opposition and the referee. All was good fun. But yeah, we have our own unique way of supporting the Lions. Remember the feet stompings whenever we are about to take set-pieces/spot kicks and the 'We want goal chants'? That's two of them.

OKK77
30-12-2008, 08:23 AM
For the flag, erm, the mata will f you upside down lah. The constitution is sibeh strict here leh.

laksanice
30-12-2008, 11:12 AM
Years ago, I was at the National Stadium to watch SIngapore take on Malaysia. THe lions got thrashed 4-0 and by the 3rd goal there was a group of people who suddenly take off their red T-shirt, and reveal the malaysia jersey inside. I wonder ifsingapore fans would do the same haha

Deunamist
30-12-2008, 11:20 AM
Years ago, I was at the National Stadium to watch SIngapore take on Malaysia. THe lions got thrashed 4-0 and by the 3rd goal there was a group of people who suddenly take off their red T-shirt, and reveal the malaysia jersey inside. I wonder ifsingapore fans would do the same haha

WTF :eek:

matlanders in disguise :s8:

vasilli07
30-12-2008, 11:40 AM
we may not have any cheer but we have the kallang wave...

del
30-12-2008, 05:10 PM
we may not have any cheer but we have the kallang wave...

Mexican wave u mean...........hehe

chocolatepeppermint
31-12-2008, 02:56 AM

I have been to a few big national games, like Singapore vs Uzebekistan and Singapore vs Vietnam (the recent one),

And out of curiousity i would always sit with the away fans, to have a feel of something different.

I remembered in Sg vs Uzb, i saw there were only a handful of Uzb fans, like couple of hundred yet they are very loud, holding a big flag, with a solid drummer and shouting "U ZE BIS TAN"..............

and in vietnam game, i saw the vietnam fans come in majority with red striking shirts with a yellow star in the middle. Impressed by their fans, passing the big flag around, standing whenever vietnam has a corner, a tackle and roar loudly whenever they attack. They would rise their hands up in the sky and shout "VIET NAM", and drums go galore.........

Now i wasnt far from Singapore fans either, i did look at them, i noticed there are a lot of red shirts but basically are like man u jerseys, liverpool jerseys, arsenal jerseys lol.........nevermind that, the cheer that SIngapore fans go about with a trumpetish sound , pe pe pepepe, pepepepe "BU TO".........I also had a hard time finding Singapore flag lol....

Now correct me if im wrong, "BU TO" is **** you in malay rite?........why must our cheer be in this form.......Its very dissapointing when a vietnam fan ask me........"What is BU TO?".......i said ermm "Sorry, it meant "**** you" i think"........he tot i was joking, but i left the scene shortly........cuz it got rowdy....

Hope sometime Singapore fans can do better.........:)

Cheers.

The malay word "BUTO" is direct translation of "dickhead".There's no need to be dissapointed or embarassed about our way of mocking the opponent teams.We are Singaporeans, we do our way.I was sitting beside the away fans and the Vietnam fans were also shouting BUTO while not knowing what's the meaning lol.And yeah, I'm surprised the away fans were louder and hyper than us.Pathetic.

del
02-01-2009, 06:03 PM
The malay word "BUTO" is direct translation of "dickhead".There's no need to be dissapointed or embarassed about our way of mocking the opponent teams.We are Singaporeans, we do our way.I was sitting beside the away fans and the Vietnam fans were also shouting BUTO while not knowing what's the meaning lol.And yeah, I'm surprised the away fans were louder and hyper than us.Pathetic.

hey i was imagining.............going to an epl match.........
and u hear them cheering "DICK HEAD" lols.......

squidy
03-01-2009, 11:26 PM
because of that word "bodoh" , i ask my friend he told me its " stupid " , then i go around scold this malay female friend of mine that word. now im super super paiseh.

PS : i learnt that word during the sg vs vietnam match ... thru out the match i keep hearing them scolding that word...i really thought its "stupid" -_-

_bEar_
11-01-2009, 06:42 PM
funny lah SG, mata catch flag but medicorp nvr censor butoh...

i think ang moh writers from soccernet also thot SG some place under china like Hong kong...cos our fans wear ManU, liverpool and arsenal jerseys plus our teams is filled with foreigners. They thot Suzuki Cup is an international friendly

naturelover
13-01-2009, 06:11 PM
Some clarification needed here. There are 2 different words, bodoh means stupid and butoh is slang for male genitals, don't get confused between the two of them and don't use them interchangeably!

Also, Singaporean spectators have always been a somewhat passive lot, I think its reflective of our reserved dare-not-cross-the-line culture. We hardly have any terrace chants and certainly no Singapore songs. I've sometimes wondered if it was possible to try rock versions of national day stuff like "Stand Up for Singapore" or "We are Singapore".... perhaps during warm-up and at half time the stadium could consider playing a medley of the choruses of these songs, just to liven things up and build the atmosphere.

About the flag issue, don't be so scared mata lah. I took a big flag to the stadium, draped it around my shoulders as I entered the turnstiles, waved it proudly during national anthem and also at exciting moments. If they want to catch me for being passionate about my country, they must be crazy.

On a side note, why isn't there any live television coverage of the Iran vs Singapore match tomorrow!!! I'm pissed.

Deunamist
13-01-2009, 09:45 PM
i'm pissed at htat as well. grrr