View Full Version : My compilation of things to do/eat in bkk after reading the bkk thread
lomography
31-12-2008, 03:05 PM
Hi guys, i'm going in april 09 and have read through the bkk thread. This is what i have come out with. Hope u all can add on if i left out any.
bangkok places to shop
1. chatuchat(mochit bts)
2.platinum shopping mall(i heard it's better than chatuchat)
3.market area around baiyuke
4.suanlum night market
5.siam centre
6.gaysorn
7.siam square
8.pratunam market
9.khao san market
10.siam paragon
11.mbk
12.siam discovery centre
Bangkok tailors
1.ambassadors at sukhumvit 19
2.pinky tailor at 888/40 ploenchit rd
bangkok massage places
1.thanon chan kao
2.across rd from siam jusco on sukhumvit 71
bangkok clubbing
1. RCA
Bangkok food of interest
1.mango stick rice. alight at thonglor bts, exit 3, go down stairs,turn right, walk till got corner turn left.u will see shop full of mangoes
2.cabbages and condoms near sukhumvit soi 12
3.jap restaurants @ mbk; zen and fuji
4.jap buffet at siam discovery centre called oishgrand
5.sizzler at mbk top floor
6. t and k sea food
bangkok affordable and clean hotels to stay in
1.Reno hotel
2.samran hotel
3.wendy house
bangkok recommended place for haircut(i think this was never mentioned?)
1.tony and guys at mbk
i am hoping to add more in the list for clubbing,affordable lodging, food and gd massage places...anymore gd stuff to intro guys?guess this list will save the newbies from reading through the whole long thread of bangkok
cheers!
YanG85
31-12-2008, 05:05 PM
great list bro... perhaps can add places of interest 2...
benzdbest
31-12-2008, 06:55 PM
let me add some to the clubbing list.
Ratachada: Hollywood, Pump Up, Dance Fever, Inch bar
Ekamai: Nunglen, Muse, Curve, Jet, Santika(closed down.sighs.)
Thonglor: Song Saleung
Sukhumvit: Modjos, Bed Supper Club, Q bar, toxic bar, titanium(thailand's eski-bar!)
After hour (open till late): Snoop club, spicy club, tunnel
For house and trance lovers try Flix at RCA or Inch.
For the classy people try song saleung, thai live band and r&b. One of the most expensive places around, but this is expected as models, actors and actresses frequent this place alot.
Silom: V9 at sofitel, and of cuz sirocco
I'd prefer V9 to sirocco due to the pricing, but ambience and view wise I believe that sirocco has the edge, but there's still some fight between both of them. $200-$300 bucks for dinner at sirocco for 2 people. LOL.
CrackBerry
31-12-2008, 08:25 PM
between tK and somboon seafood, any comments?
http://www.somboonseafood.com/e-branches.html
durkheimian
31-12-2008, 11:27 PM
massage: Wat Pho
Food of Interest: Noodle Soup, Orange juice, Somtam, Pig trotter, Phad Thai, Tom Yam, Dogsh!t (for bring back sg)
benzdbest
01-01-2009, 01:21 AM
somboon is quite good. though they earn from each visit but i still believe that is quite worth while to visit. when you compare soi 24 seafood restaurant with somboon i believe that somboon is better. all the best people!!
kooniang
01-01-2009, 09:42 AM
Happy New Year!
lomography
01-01-2009, 11:04 AM
this is the add on to what u all tell me..
bangkok places to shop
1. chatuchat(mochit bts)
2.platinum shopping mall(i heard it's better than chatuchat)
3.market area around baiyuke
4.suanlum night market
5.siam centre
6.gaysorn
7.siam square
8.pratunam market
9.khao san market
10.siam paragon
11.mbk
12.siam discovery centre
Bangkok tailors
1.ambassadors at sukhumvit 19
2.pinky tailor at 888/40 ploenchit rd
bangkok massage places
1.thanon chan kao
2.across rd from siam jusco on sukhumvit 71
3.Wat Pho
bangkok clubbing
1. RCA
2.Ratachada: Hollywood, Pump Up, Dance Fever, Inch bar
3.Ekamai: Nunglen, Muse, Curve, Jet, Santika(closed down.sighs.)
4.Thonglor: Song Saleung
5.Sukhumvit: Modjos, Bed Supper Club, Q bar, toxic bar, titanium(thailand's eski-bar!)
After hour (open till late): Snoop club, spicy club, tunnel
6.For house and trance lovers try Flix at RCA or Inch.
7.For the classy people try song saleung, thai live band and r&b. One of the most expensive places around, but this is expected as models, actors and actresses frequent this place alot.
8.Silom: V9 at sofitel, and of cuz sirocco
Bangkok food of interest
1.mango stick rice. alight at thonglor bts, exit 3, go down stairs,turn right, walk till got corner turn left.u will see shop full of mangoes
2.cabbages and condoms near sukhumvit soi 12
3.jap restaurants @ mbk; zen and fuji
4.jap buffet at siam discovery centre called oishgrand
5.sizzler at mbk top floor
6. t and k sea food
7.Noodle Soup, Orange juice, Somtam, Pig trotter, Phad Thai, Tom Yam, Dogsh!t (for bring back sg)
bangkok affordable and clean hotels to stay in
1.Reno hotel
2.samran hotel
3.wendy house
bangkok recommended place for haircut(i think this was never mentioned?)
1.tony and guys at mbk
SecretAgent
01-01-2009, 12:20 PM
Shopping malls;
The Mall; Namwongwan
The Mall; Bangkapit
Rangsit furture park
Esplanade
Major Ratchayothin
These above malls are maining frequented by the locals... more like Jurong point as compare to Suntec for us..I prefer these malls..
benzdbest
01-01-2009, 02:31 PM
any guys know of a place to eat cheap seafood?? i only know of somboon and the seafood restaurant along sukhumvit soi 24 but they're all killer expensive. any cheap alternatives??
SecretAgent
01-01-2009, 07:09 PM
any guys know of a place to eat cheap seafood?? i only know of somboon and the seafood restaurant along sukhumvit soi 24 but they're all killer expensive. any cheap alternatives??
yaowajat roadside loh...
le_mon
01-01-2009, 11:00 PM
hmmm. or samran place de roadside stalls? If u haf weak stomach, better eat in those restaurant ba.
sue88
02-01-2009, 12:58 PM
besides som boon, can consider je ngor (姐娥) also.
http://www.jengor-seafoods.com/index.php?lang=en&option=home
miemieberry
08-01-2009, 09:57 AM
I went to Rangsit Future Park. Very much better than BKK shoppings malls. eg. MBK. cleaner & less people though. The cinema looks good. but nvr have the time to try it. :(
Nxt time la.. maybe in six months time.. hehehe :P
villan
08-01-2009, 10:37 AM
how to go Rangsit furture park? by cab how long and how much?
miemieberry
08-01-2009, 04:32 PM
how to go Rangsit furture park? by cab how long and how much?
hmm.. take a cab over there.. is like going to Woodlands to Orchard.
took us less than 40mins to reach there from CentralWorld also depends on the traffifc in the evening la.. :o
villan
08-01-2009, 10:13 PM
hmm.. take a cab over there.. is like going to Woodlands to Orchard.
took us less than 40mins to reach there from CentralWorld also depends on the traffifc in the evening la.. :o
oh..is it worth going? if similar to mbk ect..then no point right
dennisleu
08-01-2009, 10:43 PM
Shopping malls;
The Mall; Namwongwan
The Mall; Bangkapit
Rangsit furture park
Esplanade
Major Ratchayothin
These above malls are maining frequented by the locals... more like Jurong point as compare to Suntec for us..I prefer these malls..
The mall ngamwongwan
The mall Bangkapi
Esplanade is quite new whereas the rest are really old malls.
miemieberry
09-01-2009, 10:29 AM
oh..is it worth going? if similar to mbk ect..then no point right
lol... hmmm.. better than MBK abit?! is all full of "body shop, watson, levi jeans, giodanno." :D got robinson also.
i walked till i blur.. cos mostly of the shops are their local brands. the building is link to another one bahs. if got time, go the cinema there.. opposite future park. got bowling too..
u shld explore around further than bangkok city. :o
villan
09-01-2009, 11:42 AM
any malls worth going besides those in the city?
preferably somewhere that is big so theres more to shop and see...more worth it mah..if not hang around in city can liao...
miemieberry
09-01-2009, 12:34 PM
Platinum fashion mall is the most famous for clothes & bags.
MBk not really good lei i see.. though alot say is good & big.
Siam paragon? some say got underworld leii.. like our sentosa underwater world.
mypj_88
16-01-2009, 03:16 AM
lol... hmmm.. better than MBK abit?! is all full of "body shop, watson, levi jeans, giodanno." :D got robinson also.
i walked till i blur.. cos mostly of the shops are their local brands. the building is link to another one bahs. if got time, go the cinema there.. opposite future park. got bowling too..
u shld explore around further than bangkok city. :o
Dont miss the German Country Place too. juz beside Future Park. Start from 7pm.
We took mrt from city to Pahon Yothin mrt. shop around at Central Lat Plao. then took taxi to Future Park.
miemieberry
16-01-2009, 10:28 AM
We took mrt from city to Pahon Yothin mrt. shop around at Central Lat Plao. then took taxi to Future Park.
:s13: i only be going there this end year hopefully lehs.... must see gt budget this year anot. :(
villan
16-01-2009, 10:59 AM
whats the german country place about?
mypj_88
16-01-2009, 03:14 PM
whats the german country place about?
review from others:
http://www.durianseed.com/thailand/bangkok/restaurants/thai/other/german-country-place-restaurant-brewery-future-park/
there are similar restaurant oso. but personally, i prefer this 1. juz back from bangkok on 12th jan. 2k + baht for 7 pax.
kopfowler
17-01-2009, 04:52 PM
How about any nice makan shops in China Town in BKK?
Or any reasonbly priced (around 1200 bath for 2 persons) Thai food in BKK can recomend ?
mulderang
18-01-2009, 05:08 PM
How about any nice makan shops in China Town in BKK?
Or any reasonbly priced (around 1200 bath for 2 persons) Thai food in BKK can recomend ?
t and k lo. good place ofr seafood or the red one opp forget the name also can.
anyway there is also wanton mee, chicken rice and satay also. but i have to said our chill and spice are better, but meat is fresher there
jokerpoker81
29-01-2009, 05:25 PM
recommendations of places to visit in bangkok......this will make this thread more complete...hah........
http://kohchangcasamarina.netfirms.com/bangkok.htm
http://www.thailand-travel-guide.co.uk/central/bangkok/bangkok-places/index.html
http://www.ehotelbooking.com/Bangkok/attractions.html
http://www.hellosiam.com/html/Bangkok/Bangkok%20-%20main.htm
KeKeLaRz
07-02-2009, 06:37 PM
currently in BKK
suggest u go to Central world, Siam paragon. all very close together. Gaysorn is there too.
KeKeLaRz
11-02-2009, 02:03 PM
Platinum fashion mall is the most famous for clothes & bags.
MBk not really good lei i see.. though alot say is good & big.
Siam paragon? some say got underworld leii.. like our sentosa underwater world.
yup, siam paragon basement is underwater world.
halozz
11-02-2009, 03:22 PM
Saphan Phut night market~ .........
KeKeLaRz
12-02-2009, 01:33 AM
clubbing -> Spicy, Bossy, Lucky (open till 8am)
shinboon
21-02-2009, 02:57 PM
try Kanom Krok for your breakfast
find out where and what to east in Thailand at http://www.tourlism.com/sg/index.php?board=439.0
JinTaoKee
21-02-2009, 08:48 PM
clubbing -> Spicy, Bossy, Lucky (open till 8am)
This 3 club located at RCA?
KeKeLaRz
22-02-2009, 12:20 PM
This 3 club located at RCA?
nopes not in RCA. spicy is just of patpong.
bossy and lucky are quite close together i think. cant really remember was not sober :s22:
JinTaoKee
22-02-2009, 03:14 PM
nopes not in RCA. spicy is just of patpong.
Patpong? It is a Pub + Go go bar ? or a purely disco with FLs :s22::s22:
bossy and lucky are quite close together i think. cant really remember was not sober :s22:
Hmm at Khao San Road?
KeKeLaRz
22-02-2009, 05:52 PM
Patpong? It is a Pub + Go go bar ? or a purely disco with FLs :s22::s22:
Hmm at Khao San Road?
its a disco, not purely FL.
bossy and lucky is on the way to khao san but not exatcly sure how far. its about a 60-70baht taxi ride from centralworld
benzdbest
23-02-2009, 03:26 PM
RCA is like our singapore's st james powerhouse where there are many clubs under one roof. flix, slim, route66,etc. i'm there all the time when i head to bangkok. flix has good trance!! ratchada also alot of clubs. hollywood?? haha.
KeKeLaRz
23-02-2009, 04:16 PM
RCA is like our singapore's st james powerhouse where there are many clubs under one roof. flix, slim, route66,etc. i'm there all the time when i head to bangkok. flix has good trance!! ratchada also alot of clubs. hollywood?? haha.
hollywood in phuket is good though :)
mulderang
08-03-2009, 12:34 PM
Hollywood can see good show. haha
benzdbest
08-03-2009, 02:00 PM
but they said that the shows in hollywood has gone crappy through the years and the quality of *ahem* has dropped. so sad. sighs.
HoldenCaufield
09-03-2009, 01:31 AM
dude you have to go khao san road to get dreadlocks or braid your hair. they are like all over the place.
i did my back: http://www.picable.com/World/Continents/Asia/Braids.569995
it's damn painful though. but don't show it. or else the girl will laugh at you.
benzdbest
09-03-2009, 10:31 AM
go khao shan make singapore IC at 1000baht or passport at 10,000baht. Do this at your own risk. cuz you'd go to jail for fraud.
PS. I'm not encouraging, I'm just sharing what I saw there. LOL.
but there was once(a long time ago) where I made a California Driving license to enter the clubs there though. :)
KeKeLaRz
09-03-2009, 10:46 AM
go khao shan make singapore IC at 1000baht or passport at 10,000baht. Do this at your own risk. cuz you'd go to jail for fraud.
PS. I'm not encouraging, I'm just sharing what I saw there. LOL.
but there was once(a long time ago) where I made a California Driving license to enter the clubs there though. :)
Lols!
how does the fake look like though?
benzdbest
09-03-2009, 11:09 AM
it looked quite real but now cant fight cuz the ICs are so different with the mini holographic picture of yourself. but can compare with the old ones.
heatman
17-03-2009, 10:12 PM
http://bangkokstreetvendor.blogspot.com/
miemieberry
20-03-2009, 06:21 PM
its been awhile for me not reading up for BKK.. BUT BKK is the BEST!!!
blastbl00
22-03-2009, 03:32 PM
1st thought in my mind whenever i step out of suwanaphoom:" i'm home!"
:P
chatujak still selling grade A chiong soccer jersey anot ar..?
dragonhole
07-04-2009, 09:15 AM
up for good thread
hexacorn
13-04-2009, 03:24 PM
i recommend ah balling at chinatown.
the ginger tea is super duper spicy!!!
and the ah balling so soft tt u dun even need to chew, use ur tonge press will burst open already
i recommend ah balling at chinatown.
the ginger tea is super duper spicy!!!
and the ah balling so soft tt u dun even need to chew, use ur tonge press will burst open already
ah balling? at bkk? serious?? :s22:
hexacorn
14-04-2009, 10:42 AM
yah.
v nice. went there 2 nights in a row. 10 of us filled her whole stall
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.