PDA

View Full Version : M1 SunSurf VAS upped to 50Gb

zoneguard
12-01-2009, 11:12 PM
Not sure when this happened but I just noticed it today:
http://m1.com.sg/M1/site/M1Corp/menuitem.e2f30a2a1a1860b609b422103f2000a0/?vgnextoid=689ae64abc8e9110VgnVCM100000695a230aRCRD&sunsurf=04

50Gb limit for Sunsurf VAS for M1 3G/3.5G users.

liangtam
13-01-2009, 11:38 AM
get ST with 15/30% 1yr/2yr better bah

zoneguard
13-01-2009, 09:10 PM
For 1mbps, Sunsurf cap is 50Gb while ST BBoM is 30Gb. My effective cost is lower than the 12 mths/24mths of ST without any contractual obligations as I'm also on the multi line savers package from M1.

edwin21
13-01-2009, 09:22 PM
lol.. give me unlimited i also wont use M! any more.. can vomit blood for using their service

blacklotus
15-01-2009, 12:26 AM
lol.. give me unlimited i also wont use M! any more.. can vomit blood for using their service

Well said. Unless M1 has recently drastically improved on its bandwidth capacity, there's no point in giving you a higher GB cap.

It's like going to an all-you-can-eat buffet but has only 1 dish on its menu and will only be replenished once per hour. :s13:

p.s. Yes, that's how bad M1's 3.5G broadband service was when I used it about 18 months ago. Frequent disconnections, and even if one is connected, downloading a page like www.channelnewsasia.com is slower than the old 56kbps dialup plan.

leinad
15-01-2009, 12:37 AM
For 1mbps, Sunsurf cap is 50Gb while ST BBoM is 30Gb. My effective cost is lower than the 12 mths/24mths of ST without any contractual obligations as I'm also on the multi line savers package from M1.

To be precise, ST BBoM1000 is 30GB, BBoM 2000 and up is still capped at 50GB.

As for M1 "improving", I think it's because a lot of people have dumped them and therefore there're less users sharing the same bandwidth. Hence it feels faster to people who stayed with them

/Dan

lawzhong
15-01-2009, 01:51 AM
I'm using M1 2mbps plan.. Not much problem for me.. Everything loads quite fast.. Not as bad as some of u all said here..

blacklotus
15-01-2009, 05:05 AM
I'm using M1 2mbps plan.. Not much problem for me.. Everything loads quite fast.. Not as bad as some of u all said here..

Hmm...interesting. Maybe I can give M1 another try.

Any specifics? Are you on the go, or are you surfing at a single spot (e.g. at home)? Also, what about your location (east, west, etc), time of surfing and websites visited (local or overseas (USA, China, etc)). Thanks for any more info you can provide.

Considering that Starhub Maxmobile is having lots of issues lately for me (since Nov 2008), and my contract will be over in this year (August 2009), I may consider switching if there's no improvement.

whaleshark87
15-01-2009, 11:14 AM

Any specifics? Are you on the go, or are you surfing at a single spot (e.g. at home)? Also, what about your location (east, west, etc), time of surfing and websites visited (local or overseas (USA, China, etc)). Thanks for any more info you can provide.

Considering that Starhub Maxmobile is having lots of issues lately for me (since Nov 2008), and my contract will be over in this year (August 2009), I may consider switching if there's no improvement.
Recently M1 Mobile Broadband has improved significatly as compared to last year here in bukit gombak, but slight jams can still be seen on weekends peak hours, but they are still increasing the bandwidth.

Obviouz
15-01-2009, 12:08 PM
maybe i try signing up for 1month and see how.

liangtam
15-01-2009, 01:54 PM
M1 has been digging n filling fibre, no prize for guessing what its for. Likely better cos of this reason bah

Check again ;)

It should be the best now.
You cant match 45ms latency with any other mobile ops!

leinad
15-01-2009, 01:58 PM
M1 has been digging n filling fibre, no prize for guessing what its for. Likely better cos of this reason bah

Check again ;)

It should be the best now.
You cant match 45ms latency with any other mobile ops!
You can't use speedtouch.net to compare la. We all know they prioritized traffic.

Try other speed testing services for more neutral comparisons. Besides, most of the content I get is from the USA.

/Dan

liangtam
15-01-2009, 02:07 PM
You can't use speedtouch.net to compare la. We all know they prioritized traffic.

Try other speed testing services for more neutral comparisons. Besides, most of the content I get is from the USA.

/Dan

approx. 45ms base latency is not derived by speedtouch(speedtest?).net. speed test is not based on the speedtest server either. I don't guarantee you its not priortised, but a comparison with an unlikely SG server does proves the rate n latency to be in line.

Actually, I am sure one of the IBNC's mod can verify the latency times oso :)

lawzhong
15-01-2009, 06:47 PM
Both on the go and surfing at a single spot.. Cos i use it in my iphone.. Smooth surfing.. Sometimes i use it on my laptop.. 2 to 3 times out of 10 time will slightly lag.. Most of the time i'm satisfied with it.. My location is Jurong.. But i do travel from one end to the other end.. As long as u hook up 3G network it's fine.. Underground dun say lah.. :s13: Normally i surf hardwarezone forums and ebay lor.. Afternoon, and night very good.. Evening slightly bad only..

Seriously i think M1 improve alot compared to last time.. Personally feel that..

http://www.speedtest.net/result/390740235.png

mistersoh
16-01-2009, 12:50 AM
Both on the go and surfing at a single spot.. Cos i use it in my iphone.. Smooth surfing.. Sometimes i use it on my laptop.. 2 to 3 times out of 10 time will slightly lag.. Most of the time i'm satisfied with it.. My location is Jurong.. But i do travel from one end to the other end.. As long as u hook up 3G network it's fine.. Underground dun say lah.. :s13: Normally i surf hardwarezone forums and ebay lor.. Afternoon, and night very good.. Evening slightly bad only..

Seriously i think M1 improve alot compared to last time.. Personally feel that..

wow... i did email them regarding such VAS. Finally they got it.. :s13:
Preparing for launch of iphone ?

Obviouz
16-01-2009, 03:32 AM
Wow, used it today. Not bad. On the 1mbps. So far so good. =)

blacklotus
16-01-2009, 05:00 AM

Thanks for the info, everyone. :)

Guess I will be switching to M1 after my starhub contract has ended if there's no improvement from the green co. Too bad there's no QoS requirements for SG ISP or class action suits here for small time consumers like us. If the same thing happens in USA, it'll have been a class action suit in court already.

Not that I like to go to ligitation for every minor things, but at least consumers are properly protected against con jobs like these.

Like some other starhub users who complained here, it's unacceptable to be paying for a service that's not available. And yes, I lodged another call with their tech support people. But it's pointless when we know the problem lies with starhub drastically overselling their limited bandwidth in the 1st place. And yes, I know that for a fact because a couple of my friends met up with IDA every month to give these unpublicised reports. :yawn:

liangtam
16-01-2009, 02:02 PM
Have you even tried the green again? You should see a difference.
And u really think 'class action' suit is not NATO for most of it?

czheyuan
17-01-2009, 12:48 AM

Yeah other than for upgrading their network, M1 is digging n laying fibres so as to save on the $20million fee given to Singtel every year to route calls n data thru their underground cables. They are spending $60million to save on this annual recurring $20m cost. Was in the straits times some time back ;)

leinad
17-01-2009, 09:59 AM
Have you even tried the green again? You should see a difference.
And u really think 'class action' suit is not NATO for most of it?

This isn't the USA where class suits are common and enforceable... Also, consumer protection there is a right... Here, it's a privilege.

/Dan

liangtam
17-01-2009, 12:47 PM
many suit nvr materialize also wat, if u keep comparing, its like talk is cheap, for them literally oso.

blacklotus
18-01-2009, 11:52 AM
many suit nvr materialize also wat, if u keep comparing, its like talk is cheap, for them literally oso.

Quite true actually. The only thing that works is MONEY. Lots of it. Most cases in USA that went through court there and won are either
1) the clients are rich and can hire top tier lawyers to fight their case
2) the lawyer wants to make a big name for himself/herself.

Quite a number of lawyers become politicians. e.g. President elect Obama :s13:

Erin Brockevich type lawyers are far and few in between. Sadly for us little folk...:(

Bevo76
29-01-2009, 02:52 PM
Are there any settings changes when subscribe to SunSurf VAS? Because I activated it through the online portal and M1 sent me sms saying the GSM GPRS service has been removed and at the same time another sms saying my SunSurf Monthly service has been activated. So meaning to say I connect as normal through the "Mi World GPRS" profile or "M1 Data"? (I don't think the M1 Data profile was there previously but I couldn't be sure.)

czheyuan
29-01-2009, 11:27 PM
Are there any settings changes when subscribe to SunSurf VAS? Because I activated it through the online portal and M1 sent me sms saying the GSM GPRS service has been removed and at the same time another sms saying my SunSurf Monthly service has been activated. So meaning to say I connect as normal through the "Mi World GPRS" profile or "M1 Data"? (I don't think the M1 Data profile was there previously but I couldn't be sure.)

I'm using the M1 Sunsurf too and I use the "MiWorld Mobile" to connect.. Using nokia n95 8GB.. not sure if the settings is the same on different handsets

Bevo76
30-01-2009, 09:55 AM
To clarify, the "M1 Data" profile only shows up on Motorola ZN5. Anyway it's horribly slow cos it's not a 3G phone. I tried using my old Nokia E61. The access points are now "MiWorld Mobile" and "Sunsurf Mobile". Both can connect. Settings wise MiWorld has user name as "65", a Proxy address and port number. Sunsurf don't have any such settings (empty fields). I don't know which one it uses when I tethered it to laptop as I use auto settings for M1 with the Nokia PC Suite One Touch Access. I guess it doesn't really matter but just curious.

Ataris
25-02-2009, 01:39 PM

Hi Law Zhong

Sorry to dig out a old thread.

I am using Sunsurf 22 now which comes with 1gb usage. Just called M1 to check ont he new Sunsurf 1mbps plan and was told that I need to pay $100 as I would break my Sunsurf 22 contract with them (from the $198 Omnia promo) if I wanted to switch.

I am thinking if I should switch as my sunsurf22 have a d/l speed of 3.6mbps compared to 1mbps. And I am thinking of doing internet sharing via USB with my laptop when I bring it out so just want to know if 1mbps is stable and fast enough for normal PC usage. Btw, I do video streaming on my Omnia as well so hope you guys can advise if the Sunsurf 1mbps plan is sufficient for my usage.

Thanks