PDA

View Full Version : Is there such a device?

osimese
15-01-2009, 02:43 AM
I m looking for a portable wifi router/adaptor in which it can plug into a desktop/laptop usb slot and use like a wireless G router so I can connect more device to it.

eg : Ethernet Port -> Cable Modem -> Deskop/Laptop -> "" wifi device"" -> Laptop/phone

Is there such a device?

Finding becos I wanna share my internet connection with a few friend when outdoor.

chunlianghere
15-01-2009, 07:01 AM
y use usb slot? u can get a wireless router, than connect through wired or wireless. your friend can also connect to it through wireless. n u r done..all r connected together.

JAson1980
15-01-2009, 09:06 AM
I m looking for a portable wifi router/adaptor in which it can plug into a desktop/laptop usb slot and use like a wireless G router so I can connect more device to it.

eg : Ethernet Port -> Cable Modem -> Deskop/Laptop -> "" wifi device"" -> Laptop/phone

Is there such a device?

Finding becos I wanna share my internet connection with a few friend when outdoor.

Yes there is. i am selling mine off u interested?
You can have it for $25 i bought around 40+ 50 iirc

osimese
15-01-2009, 01:35 PM
y use usb slot? u can get a wireless router, than connect through wired or wireless. your friend can also connect to it through wireless. n u r done..all r connected together.

Pls read carefully. I wan it outdoor, not at home.

osimese
15-01-2009, 01:39 PM
Yes there is. i am selling mine off u interested?
You can have it for $25 i bought around 40+ 50 iirc

Thanks. Can pm mi with more info?

Someone from another forum helped me and recommend mi this ; http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.3345

Is it the same device u using?

liangtam
15-01-2009, 01:45 PM
sharing with mobile bb? can be done but not recommended

osimese
15-01-2009, 01:49 PM
I know it can be done now but what it's called? usb wifi router adapter?

liangtam
15-01-2009, 02:12 PM
get a symbian phone with wifi. install joikuspot. done...

JAson1980
15-01-2009, 02:27 PM
Thanks. Can pm mi with more info?

Someone from another forum helped me and recommend mi this ; http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.3345

Is it the same device u using?

similar.. using it to connect my DS to my com.
Then i turned wireless. so i dun need it now.
Mine is taiwan brand PCI.

http://www.planex.net/product/wireless/gw-us54gxs.htm

use so far, no problem. very stable

MsWindowsVista
15-01-2009, 02:34 PM
Pls read carefully. I wan it outdoor, not at home.

hi

i think you misunderstood what he mean. yes, there is a device similar to wireless router. but it come with PCMCIA slot or USB port. you can used you mobile broadband device (USD or PCMCIA) plug in to the wireless router, and users can access to the internet.

osimese
16-01-2009, 09:14 AM
hi

i think you misunderstood what he mean. yes, there is a device similar to wireless router. but it come with PCMCIA slot or USB port. you can used you mobile broadband device (USD or PCMCIA) plug in to the wireless router, and users can access to the internet.

oh.. I think that called a travel router.... not the one i looking for.

osimese
16-01-2009, 09:17 AM

That's what I m looking for. Let me do some research on it it and get back to u later.

JAson1980
16-01-2009, 09:22 AM
NO problem! Just drop me a pm if u r interested

osimese
16-01-2009, 09:23 AM
get a symbian phone with wifi. install joikuspot. done...

Can lah but not a wise choice, got a E65 but I think battery gonna drain very fast.

17-01-2009, 12:25 PM
I understand what u looking for:

Portable Wifi Hotspot: Just plug ur USB Mobile BB to PHS300 and u can surf internet thru NDS, PSP, Laptop, Wifi mobile phone etc...

http://www.cradlepoint.com/products/phs300-personal-wifi-hotspot

Checkout this video on YouTube:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8z2LK34rE0w

I just order it online and gotta try it out when I receive it, & will inform u guy on the feedback...

trektech
18-01-2009, 01:47 AM

did you buy this online? is this thing available in singapore? where:D

liangtam
18-01-2009, 12:56 PM
That planex dongle shldn't be difficult to find.

trektech
18-01-2009, 01:04 PM
That planex dongle shldn't be difficult to find.

care to share where to find it?:o:yawn:

liangtam
18-01-2009, 01:23 PM
Most of the new planex usb dongle has the software(actually any other brand oso can) bundled.
usb adapter sometime not listed must go shop hunt, think i saw it listed on bell pricelist

trektech
18-01-2009, 03:28 PM
Most of the new planex usb dongle has the software(actually any other brand oso can) bundled.
usb adapter sometime not listed must go shop hunt, think i saw it listed on bell pricelist

thanks, will try to visit sls later:)