PDA

View Full Version : 450++ kb BT in Stukhub Maxonline Express 8Mbps

1_Fang
19-01-2009, 12:24 PM
http://img255.imageshack.us/img255/5703/57162328sp4.jpg

Its been a long long time I see such a constant speed. Tweak a bit of my setting to the above and viola, 450kB from 60kB download.

My setting as follow,
half-connection : 200
router with Tomato firmware 1.21, with QOS open 90% to UDP.

I toggle my upload per torrent to 1-3kb at times when I have lots of file, and 10-20kb when I have only 1-2 files.

anyone have a better download? and settings to share?

phuque99
19-01-2009, 12:54 PM
High speed is caused by many peers, and many non-kiam-siap peers. Many people frequently mistake kiam-siap peers for ISP blocking.

albertlee
19-01-2009, 01:02 PM
Not to mention, the so called "high" speed it's a accumulation of many active torrents.

1_Fang
19-01-2009, 01:26 PM
hmm, now i feel like I'm one of those kiam-siap person.

commach
19-01-2009, 01:29 PM
No offend, nothing impressive with 13 active torrents.
I experienced single seed upload 180k to me for 1 torrent.

Ratix0
19-01-2009, 01:36 PM
It all depends on seeder. I get constant 350kb/s with only 4 seeds no peers before. All very high ul to me. Cap at my Singnet BB's 3mbps plan max...

phuque99
19-01-2009, 01:37 PM
hmm, now i feel like I'm one of those kiam-siap person.

Maybe another guy will be leeching from you at only 1kb/s and start another same forum thread that says the ISP is blocking and how wonderful it is on US/Japan/Australia :D

liangtam
19-01-2009, 01:45 PM
It all depends on seeder. I get constant 350kb/s with only 4 seeds no peers before. All very high ul to me. Cap at my Singnet BB's 3mbps plan max...
Initial seeding upload usually is high de ma.

largeresource
19-01-2009, 02:06 PM
starhub ISP clip all BT downloads

download same BT one in USA one on starhub at the same time

the one in USA get constant 100KB/s
the one is SH fluctuate 1KB - 20 KB/s

weird?

phuque99
19-01-2009, 02:10 PM
I get constantly 600 - 1000KB/s for my torrents, via MOL express, weird?

ac3knight
19-01-2009, 02:15 PM
starhub ISP clip all BT downloads

download same BT one in USA one on starhub at the same time

the one in USA get constant 100KB/s
the one is SH fluctuate 1KB - 20 KB/s

weird?
the file you download probably has more peers in the US, thats why US -> US peer connection is better mah...

if its a SG -> SG peer, of course it would be faster for u too..

ac3knight
19-01-2009, 02:17 PM
Its been a long long time I see such a constant speed. Tweak a bit of my setting to the above and viola, 450kB from 60kB download.

My setting as follow,
half-connection : 200
router with Tomato firmware 1.21, with QOS open 90% to UDP.

I toggle my upload per torrent to 1-3kb at times when I have lots of file, and 10-20kb when I have only 1-2 files.

anyone have a better download? and settings to share?
u using XP or Vista?

did u use the 1/2 open connections patch?

otherwise u set 200 1/2 open connections oso no use, u go to Control Panel -> Admin -> Event viewer
you will see EventID 4226 errors

phuque99
19-01-2009, 02:17 PM
Its all about *willing seeds*, not about ISP :D

JAson1980
19-01-2009, 02:41 PM
do u all tweak? mine is like 20Kb+ nia...
smc router..

phuque99
19-01-2009, 02:47 PM
do u all tweak? mine is like 20Kb+ nia...
smc router..

Follow any standard tips you see on google about speeding up your torrent client, like port forwarding, etc etc. Beyond that, its about *willing seeds*. Maybe you're downloading pirated content where seeders are not very *willing* to leechers? :D

weibchen
19-01-2009, 03:07 PM
Yes you very kiam siap.

TanKianW
19-01-2009, 03:59 PM
Wah~~your upload veri is the generous! (sarcastic). Mine is set at unlimited upload.

The BT community is very important coz it decides the DL speed you get. BT is a "sharing" community. Most of the time, the hardware and software dun help much even with the most "pro" tweaks. The key is "sharing" in a "healthy sharing" BT community website.

I only go private registered torrent websites for DL nowadazs coz most places their uploaders are freaking kiam siap and selfish. So i also find no pt to share with them. But in my own private BT community website, a maintain of share ratio of more than 1.0 is a must or you will be kicked in less than a week.

I'm using SNBB 10Mbps. My normal DL speed is 1.3MB/s constant in my private BT community.

http://i124.photobucket.com/albums/p14/TanKianW/1.jpg

http://i124.photobucket.com/albums/p14/TanKianW/1-1.jpg

epos
19-01-2009, 07:33 PM
yeah, isn't Starhub upgrade the premium upload speed to >1Mbps? you should be able to upload at 100KBps without causing any problem to download speed.

like the other said--this is P2P, if everyone don't upload, how are we gonna download at high speed? its like karma, (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Karma) cycle of cause and effect--the main reason of slow download is because the seeds/peers are all kiam siap. :look:

Scuderia
20-01-2009, 02:14 PM
Tested a torrent with SH MOL Premium. Looks like no problem hitting top speed.
http://img115.imageshack.us/img115/5557/scuderiagw3.jpg

cnt
20-01-2009, 02:31 PM
increase to 200 half open for mol got use bo? :s42:

phuque99
20-01-2009, 02:35 PM
got use if there are 200 willing non-kiam-siap pirate seeders :D

SaNZo
20-01-2009, 04:23 PM
Here is mine:

http://img174.imageshack.us/img174/5654/utorrenthwz200109nr6.png (http://imageshack.us)
http://img174.imageshack.us/img174/utorrenthwz200109nr6.png/1/w1173.png (http://g.imageshack.us/img174/utorrenthwz200109nr6.png/1/)

And my SpeedTest results:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/393893747.png

I am on MaxOnline Express.

Ya.. Before kena under attack, I cap my upload at 10K (shown in screen shot). But I am on a private site.. So that brings to 2 points:

a) On good private sites, you get breakneck speeds. Speeds that are only limitted by your Internet plan.
b) On good private sites, you have maintain your leech/share ratio at least above 0.75. So my upload of 10K indicates that I can somehow cover back the dent to my ratio.

Questin
21-01-2009, 12:35 AM
It is ****ing easy to get high speeds with a superbly seeded torrent like openoffice or whatever.

I myself can get 150+kb/s easily on any torrent....assuming someone with a good connection hops on the torrent. In EVERY SINGLE high speed torrent download ive done, my peers list is something like this :

X : 100+ kb/s upload
Y : 0.1 kb/s upload
Z : 0.4 kb/s

The probelm is the ISP(LOL singapore, TRULY ASIA) is blocking us from connecting to many peers, so we cant even receive the uplaods in the first place.

Starhub is one of the ISPs famous for bittorent throttling.

liangtam
21-01-2009, 12:48 AM
i didnt know our promo campaign changes from uniquely singapore to truly asia :s22:
and besides, if you cant get the speed, you need to facepalm urself more

RVS_SK
21-01-2009, 02:15 AM
update to latest v1.9 beta
faster

Lss
21-01-2009, 02:36 AM
1.9 i thought its not even beta ready.

didnt they make changes that they state would negatively impact dl speeds?

phuque99
21-01-2009, 09:58 AM
It is ****ing easy to get high speeds with a superbly seeded torrent like openoffice or whatever.

I myself can get 150+kb/s easily on any torrent....assuming someone with a good connection hops on the torrent. In EVERY SINGLE high speed torrent download ive done, my peers list is something like this :

X : 100+ kb/s upload
Y : 0.1 kb/s upload
Z : 0.4 kb/s

The probelm is the ISP(LOL singapore, TRULY ASIA) is blocking us from connecting to many peers, so we cant even receive the uplaods in the first place.

Starhub is one of the ISPs famous for bittorent throttling.

If "superbly seeded" torrents can be downloaded so fast, including those that uses private trackers (ruling out the "server theory"), how does the ISP throttling myth apply here? They only throttle public pirated torrents? I doubt Starhub is so free go look at your torrent name :D

lamesensei
21-01-2009, 12:06 PM
increasing half-open ports has no benefit on torrents what soever. it only accelerates the download to its max speed quicker. but does not increase the maximum speed.

cnt
21-01-2009, 12:11 PM
so how so how? :s42:

phuque99
21-01-2009, 12:35 PM
so how so how? :s42:

Move to australia, i heard someone said there got pwn internet and can eat prawns too.

lamesensei
21-01-2009, 01:20 PM
just tested ut 1.9 its farking fast

4 half-open. no dht. peerexchange on. local peer off encyption forced.
mol express

in 1.8 i takes 20mins to reach 100kB/sec

in 1.9 i takes a mere 10 secs to hit 300kB/sec and then 5mins to hit 600kB/sec

downside is that unless u limit ur upload speed (or even download speed)
u wunt be able to surf internet. in some cases u cant even use ur computer cuz it might hang.

Questin
21-01-2009, 01:58 PM
If "superbly seeded" torrents can be downloaded so fast, including those that uses private trackers (ruling out the "server theory"), how does the ISP throttling myth apply here? They only throttle public pirated torrents? I doubt Starhub is so free go look at your torrent name :D

Because it is a handful of fast seeders?

If you can get 450 kb/s from a handful of fast seeders, imagine what a US(non throttled) guy can get when he is downloading from the same fast seeders AND 100+ people at the same time. The same 100+ people THAT YOU CANNOT EVEN CONNECT TO.

Edit : There is no utorrent 1.9 unless it is some closed beta thing.

Marcong77
21-01-2009, 02:29 PM
Hi guys,
May i know where can i find articles for tweaking BT client with Starhub maxonline? I just switch over from Singnet and having some problem doing port fowarding, NAT problems with the router SH provided.
When i was with Singnet using 2Wire router, the setup was pretty straight forward.

RVS_SK
21-01-2009, 02:31 PM
download ut 1.9 from here
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=FUKHJ1LD
it help if you are connect to alot of utorrent users
for china site help a bit cause fewer utorrent users, most still using bitcomet, xunlei etc..
just test it, not happy just go back to 1.8.1

ps: want to know more about 1.9 just search google with these words
utorrent utp

phuque99
21-01-2009, 02:44 PM
Because it is a handful of fast seeders?

If you can get 450 kb/s from a handful of fast seeders, imagine what a US(non throttled) guy can get when he is downloading from the same fast seeders AND 100+ people at the same time. The same 100+ people THAT YOU CANNOT EVEN CONNECT TO.

Sorry, but I still fail to understand your logic here. If there's any real "throttling", even handful fast seeder will be throttled, and will not achieve line speed. So, how does this throttling works?

My iso download is like 300+ active seeders, all contributing to the total 1000KB/s. If I had 4 iso sources downloading at the same time, total TCP connection is more than 1500, and all 4 are fighting to get above the 8Mbps.

So if private trackers can reach line speed, public open source seeders, with more than 1000 seeders can also reach line speed, I really don't see this mythical "throttling". I have to set low TCP timeouts to avoid 2000 TCP torrent connection from overwhelming the router sometimes.

I think at the end of the day, legit downloaders and private tracker user do understand that speed is obtain only from non-kiam-siap seeder community. We're just sharing the facts and experience so its really up to you to believe the myth, real or otherwise. At the end of the day, everyone gets their own speed for what ever content their getting.

lamesensei
21-01-2009, 04:59 PM

there is. its a open alpha :s22:

JAson1980
21-01-2009, 05:08 PM
i think only legit seeders are not kiam siap :s13::s13::s13:

How to half open??
Can someone enlighten me??

lamesensei
21-01-2009, 05:17 PM
u cant really half open. but u can limit or increase the amount of half-open connections that windows allows. the latter is pretty dangerous and i dun recommend. in most cases increasing the half-open just allows u to engage more peers quickly. (perceived speed boost by some)

i limit my to 4 so the inbuilt security doesnt hang up the connection. thats why torrent is slow @ first then slowly become faster once the connections become "close" instead of half-open.

in the end still depends on ur luck and seeders

weibchen
21-01-2009, 07:39 PM
i get the same thing in Vuze.

phuque99
21-01-2009, 08:11 PM
i think only legit seeders are not kiam siap :s13::s13::s13:

Are you actively seeding and contributing back to bittorrent by seeding all your pirated content at high upload speed? Next think of how many leechers in Singapore that is also actively seeding back all their content at high upload speeds? :)

JAson1980
22-01-2009, 12:21 AM
i have problem getting connectable in ILT.
dunno why sian.
Yes, i usually seed back till my ratio is 2:1 then i stop altho not at max speed.
Its supposed to run 24/7 but my eeebox kept dying on me. big headache now..
so many minidumps logged.

TanKianW
22-01-2009, 02:12 AM
Sorry, but I still fail to understand your logic here. If there's any real "throttling", even handful fast seeder will be throttled, and will not achieve line speed. So, how does this throttling works?

My iso download is like 300+ active seeders, all contributing to the total 1000KB/s. If I had 4 iso sources downloading at the same time, total TCP connection is more than 1500, and all 4 are fighting to get above the 8Mbps.

So if private trackers can reach line speed, public open source seeders, with more than 1000 seeders can also reach line speed, I really don't see this mythical "throttling". I have to set low TCP timeouts to avoid 2000 TCP torrent connection from overwhelming the router sometimes.

I think at the end of the day, legit downloaders and private tracker user do understand that speed is obtain only from non-kiam-siap seeder community. We're just sharing the facts and experience so its really up to you to believe the myth, real or otherwise. At the end of the day, everyone gets their own speed for what ever content their getting.

Finally....someone really making the point and hitting the right spot. All boils down to non kiam siap seeders. With good seeders.....20seeds can get me max speed liao. Trottling? I bliv in that crap too previously. Now in private trackers website....all myths are down the drain liao.

Problem: Most or almost "all" good private trackers are full and their server is overload and do not accept new members already even thru invites. Most of the members i know are either power seeders or with share ratio >3.0 and you need a 24/7 BTing machine to do that. For late BT users and selfish seeders. You just have to wait for new private trackers website to launch coz most of the long term privater trackers site are full. But if you are not sharing....off you go in a weeks time. ;)

TanKianW
22-01-2009, 02:15 AM
i have problem getting connectable in ILT.
dunno why sian.
Yes, i usually seed back till my ratio is 2:1 then i stop altho not at max speed.
Its supposed to run 24/7 but my eeebox kept dying on me. big headache now..
so many minidumps logged.

Actually most public torrent site dun need you to seed. With your such attitude....you should really go for a good private tracker site. So you really UL to ppl who are"non kiam siap"! heh. ;)

To al the BT bros out there: The future is.....public BT website will get slower and slower. Coz the "good" and non selfish seeders will almost all move to private trackers and never look back. Try to find one before its too late!

cnt
22-01-2009, 09:56 AM
got wat goot pte tracker sites? can pm me? :s42:

JAson1980
22-01-2009, 10:00 AM
Pte tracker sites are usually in the torrent description.

JAson1980
22-01-2009, 10:02 AM
Actually most public torrent site dun need you to seed. With your such attitude....you should really go for a good private tracker site. So you really UL to ppl who are"non kiam siap"! heh. ;)

To al the BT bros out there: The future is.....public BT website will get slower and slower. Coz the "good" and non selfish seeders will almost all move to private trackers and never look back. Try to find one before its too late!

I usually just torrent from public sites, i feel that there are more choices.
But i dun know why i cant get connectable in ILT. :s13:
lazy to configure now.

TanKianW
22-01-2009, 02:53 PM
I usually just torrent from public sites, i feel that there are more choices.
But i dun know why i cant get connectable in ILT. :s13:
lazy to configure now.

Haha, pte tracker you can oso have more choice. 1 tracker for this, another tracker for that. Each has its own specialty! With the incredible speed....you will be more spoilt! I almost did not visit any public trackers site since 2006 and able to get all I wanted. :s13:

Myst3riaz
22-01-2009, 07:05 PM
Public trackers files also mostly from private tracker 1st.

yukita
22-01-2009, 10:33 PM
haha ... thats depends ...

Questin
24-01-2009, 05:52 PM

They are throttled. Which is why we are getting slower downloads from them than we would otherwise.

E.G. A Korean/Japanese downloader would get much faster downloads from these super seeders than we would.

Incidentally tried the OP settings and only got 100 kb/s average download speed on a torrent with 800+ seeders. Myth busted.

phuque99
24-01-2009, 06:09 PM
Okay lah, take it as we didn't say anything bah, you enjoy your downloads, we enjoy our's :D

weibchen
24-01-2009, 07:05 PM
now days i keep getting 400kb/torrent on public trackersleh.
some even hit 1.5mb/s =D

siegeholler
10-02-2009, 06:46 PM
can share ur settings? im getting slow speeds on starhub mol 12mb

wats ur plan/settings?