View Full Version : Problems with Starhub Digital Voice modem/home service. Please help!
thatimp
19-01-2009, 05:15 PM
Hey guys,
Have already called Starhub a total of 3 times, but the best solution they offered me can be summed up in a single sentence -- "Turn the modem on and off, and we'll feedback to the ban engineers." Unfortunately, the problem resurfaces constantly.... Please help!
Have subscribed to starhub for the Digital Voice Home service, which came with a digital voice modem. My family uses the modem with a Linksys wireless router with it for our internet connection.
Since it's installation, I've had a number of problems:
1. Outgoing calls -- About 5 mins into the call, the person I'm calling wouldn't be able to hear a thing I'm saying. Starhub staff have termed this "intermittent muting". Turning the modem off/on at the power source solves this temporarily, but it will resurface in an hour or so...
2. Internet connection -- As of a week ago, our internet connection has been randomly interrupted for no apparent reason. There were no incoming calls noted during these incidents. Turning the modem off/on at the source works, but problem will resurface. I've reset the modem more than 7 times today, which is increasingly annoying as my power socket is blocked by a huge, immovable desk (i.e. I've been crawling alot).
Updates:
- I've called Starhub, and the staff has refreshed my internet connection, while instructing me to reset the connection repeatedly. Other than that, no better solutions were provided.
Let me know if you need more details! Will do my best to provide.
liangtam
19-01-2009, 08:25 PM
its fwee mah
u r not the onli one anyway
Kelcc
20-01-2009, 09:11 AM
Hey guys,
Have already called Starhub a total of 3 times, but the best solution they offered me can be summed up in a single sentence -- "Turn the modem on and off, and we'll feedback to the ban engineers." Unfortunately, the problem resurfaces constantly.... Please help!
Have subscribed to starhub for the Digital Voice Home service, which came with a digital voice modem. My family uses the modem with a Linksys wireless router with it for our internet connection.
1. Outgoing calls -- About 5 mins into the call, the person I'm calling wouldn't be able to hear a thing I'm saying. Starhub staff have termed this "intermittent muting". Turning the modem off/on at the power source solves this temporarily, but it will resurface in an hour or so...
2. Internet connection -- As of a week ago, our internet connection has been randomly interrupted for no apparent reason. There were no incoming calls noted during these incidents. Turning the modem off/on at the source works, but problem will resurface. I've reset the modem more than 7 times today, which is increasingly annoying as my power socket is blocked by a huge, immovable desk (i.e. I've been crawling alot).
Updates:
- I've called Starhub, and the staff has refreshed my internet connection, while instructing me to reset the connection repeatedly. Other than that, no better solutions were provided.
I am also facing the similar problem. Keep calling the hotline, no one answers...Haiz...
c1528351
20-01-2009, 10:00 AM
No point calling them...I'm having this problems from day 1 since I joined starhub maxonline.
They will just asked you to reset your moderm and they just can't solved the problem even my moderm had been changed.
yizhuang
20-01-2009, 11:02 AM
Obviously.. if you not using SH approved cable pt, test it at an approved one
Call them up,
1) Ask them to arrange for live monitoring of VeCM during one of your calls
2) Ask them to monitor your VeCM for d/c (take note of d/c intervals and timings if possible)
i suspect something wrong with you VeCM or cable pt signal.
if still get 'no problems detected' answer from them
---> 'bang table' and ask them to swap out your VeCM for testing (demand to waive Service call charges as you have to take leave from work to solve the issue)
cpuer
20-01-2009, 11:48 AM
Sounds like the problem that I faced. Didn't know how they solve mine besides updating my VeCM with the latest fw. In the end it just "healed' by itself and now voice call is loud and clear. Good luck.
albertlee
20-01-2009, 12:22 PM
TS, have you try connecting the VeCM to a different cable point?
commach
20-01-2009, 03:31 PM
Avoid using cordless phone on the VeCM, yesterday my DV port went haywire (not using cordless), with only 1 line, the TEL 1 light goes off and TEL 2 light keeps flashing, called 1633 and the CSO asked the tech support to initiate several remote reboot of the VeCM and even flash/refresh the line for more than 5 times, problem persist for about 20 mins. Later the CSO told us not to off the modem on our side and they will perform another round of routine attempting to fix the problem, after about 20 mins, finally the TEL 1 light show up constantly and TEL 2 goes off, problem fixed within 45 mins approximately.
liangtam
20-01-2009, 07:19 PM
nothing to do with cordless not la...
the newer modem batch problematic
kelkel88
20-01-2009, 11:31 PM
hi all.. anyone using starhub mobile? anyone having prob in calling a starhub digital voice hm line using a starhub mobile line?
i using starhub mobile n i cant seems to get through my hm line but am able to do it using other mobile subscriber(m1, singtel etc)...
Alvin2000
21-01-2009, 07:07 AM
wow.. finally see someone having the same problem as me....makes me go and buy a philips dect phone. tot my panasonic one got problem... but strangely using the wired phone works perfectly. will be calling their CSO soon.....
pills
21-01-2009, 07:49 AM
for my house phone it is the same!!
after talking for a while, the other party con't be able to hear me!!!
so frustrating and the other party will have to call me back after trying for several times!!!
will they change the modem for us? is it the connection fault or the modem??:s12::s12:
megaweb
21-01-2009, 07:56 AM
Wah so members encounter voip problem
lucky I did not switch yet
nino_joven
21-01-2009, 01:13 PM
Hey all, I have the same problem also.
The caller will not be able to hear me after around 15 to 20 mins into the conversation intially. Recently, they can't hear me after 5 mins or sometimes even less.
The problem is very bad especially between 8pm to 11pm.
I called in countless times about the problem and they keep on saying they will monitor it. They did a monitoring of my line but in the end the problem comes back again. I wonder if they are really monitoring or just doing a show to appease us. Who knows what's going on back in there.
The last time I called, they said it's a problem with the VeCM and they are going to do an upgrade or some crap. The CSO assured me the problem will be solved by the end of last week and the problem happened again yesterday. It's very frustrating and I feel like just switching back to the Singtel line.
And it's not really free. When I signed up the person told me the value bundle is free for the first 3 months. When I received my bill yesterday, there was a one-time charge of $10 for the value bundle which was never mentioned. I have to pay $10 for a value bundle when I CAN'T EVEN MAKE A PROPER VOICE CALL? What a joke!
I don't know when this stupid problem is going to be solved. I wonder if they are giving us "free" home line to use us as beta-testers and when the network is finally stable, they will start to charge. My opinion of Starhub is very very bad now after being a maxonline customer for more than 4 years. When my contract ends, it is definitely time to switch to Singnet or M1 broadband.
To those who haven't signed up for the Digital Voice, forget about it or you will regret.
kelkel88
21-01-2009, 01:50 PM
hi all.. anyone using starhub mobile? anyone having prob in calling a starhub digital voice hm line using a starhub mobile line?
i using starhub mobile n i cant seems to get through my hm line but am able to do it using other mobile subscriber(m1, singtel etc)...
hi anyone encountered my problem before?
I tried with my colleague starhub mobile phone and again, i dont seems to get through at all. No tone at all... But other mobile subscriber are okay... I called Starhub 3 times and they say will get back to me too... but till now i have not receive their call yet... its really frustating and irritating not able to call home with my hp...
D*mn... I starting to regret switching over to starhub... shld have listen to my parent... :(
Mclairs83
21-01-2009, 08:49 PM
I'm starting to regret seriously... my mum kept complaining every single god damn day and i getting really really frustrated wif Starhub..
I want to call them..but i guess i will get all those typical replies... asking me to turn off and on again..
1920_me
21-01-2009, 09:18 PM
Same problem here. My parents also complaining to me, and ask me to call Starhub and check. But i call them, they always give their Standard answers and no solutions.
Should have stuck with Singtel and paid their monthly $15+, no point giving for free but ****ed up service.
Anyone found any kind of solution?
Obviouz
21-01-2009, 09:44 PM
wow. lucky. although it's free. i didn't swtich @_@
nino_joven
21-01-2009, 10:24 PM
Yup. My mother keeps complaining too and ask me to switch back to Singtel but there's the six-month contract. I think we should all get together and do something. At least alert others not to follow in our footsteps and also not let Starhub think they can get away with it. I cannot stand them anymore.
pills
22-01-2009, 06:25 PM
Yup. My mother keeps complaining too and ask me to switch back to Singtel but there's the six-month contract. I think we should all get together and do something. At least alert others not to follow in our footsteps and also not let Starhub think they can get away with it. I cannot stand them anymore.
how to do it altogether?
i also wanna complain la! :(
kweeli
23-01-2009, 01:00 AM
After read this thread http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2117856 , i decide to switch to SH but now i start worry will facing the problems you guy mention here and the bad thing is parent complain to me just like Joven...
My installation date is at 27 Feb 09. Wonder still can cancel or not??
krazyman
23-01-2009, 08:00 AM
Could it be the new modems problem?
I've 2 DVH on a SBV4200 and DVT on a IAD running for years now.
i tink its either the cable pt or the modem prob :s42:
nino_joven
23-01-2009, 11:46 AM
Well... if one person complains to Starhub, they won't bother about you.
If a significant number of us complain as a group and if the group is large enough, maybe they will be scared?
There are a few ways which we can go about it though Im not sure if every one of them is effective.
Complain to CASE (Consumer Association of Singapore). http://www.case.org.sg/
Complain to IDA. http://www.ida.gov.sg/home/index.aspx I think this is the governing body of the telecommunications and infocomm services in Singapore.
Set up a facebook group/ blog/ website and each of us list our bad experience in there for others to see. You never know the power of the internet.
Write in to the press. (Maybe major newspaper like The Straits Times won't be bothered but "smaller" papers like The New Paper or Lianhe Wanbao will be interested?) :)
The main thing is that we have to act together as a collective unit and the bigger the group the better. And in my opinion, they are acting unfairly in the sense that they cannot provide us a basic service as they have assured and instead, are still bounding us to a six-month contract and not allowing us to switch back to Singtel fixed line. True, we have signed a six-month contract with them but the contract is signed on the condition that they can offer us a residential phone service which in this case I think they have failed miserably.
What do you all think? Maybe some of the measures are too extreme?
But Im really really really pissed off with them.
They keep giving standard answers without offering any help as you all know.
The least they could do is offer to compensate us by offering us rebates on our maxonline subscription or something.
If we can't use the home line and we use our mobile line instead, wouldn't we end up paying more? And who's going to pay for that?
Nichi
23-01-2009, 11:59 AM
I'm starting to regret seriously... my mum kept complaining every single god damn day and i getting really really frustrated wif Starhub..
I want to call them..but i guess i will get all those typical replies... asking me to turn off and on again..
wah so cham ah??
then i tink i stick to my ST line liao...
was tinking of going to DV
krazyman
23-01-2009, 12:14 PM
If a significant number of us complain as a group and if the group is large enough, maybe they will be scared?
There are a few ways which we can go about it though Im not sure if every one of them is effective.
Complain to IDA. http://www.ida.gov.sg/home/index.aspx I think this is the governing body of the telecommunications and infocomm services in Singapore.
Set up a facebook group/ blog/ website and each of us list our bad experience in there for others to see. You never know the power of the internet.
Write in to the press. (Maybe major newspaper like The Straits Times won't be bothered but "smaller" papers like The New Paper or Lianhe Wanbao will be interested? :)
The main thing is that we have to act together as a collective unit and the bigger the group the better. And in my opinion, they are acting unfairly in the sense that they cannot provide us a basic service as they have assured and instead, are still bounding us to a six-month contract and not allowing us to switch back to Singtel fixed line. True, we have signed a six-month contract with them but the contract is signed on the condition that they can offer us a residential phone service which in this case I think they have failed miserably.
The least they could do is offer to compensate us by offering us rebates on our maxonline subscription or something.
If we can't use the home line and we use our mobile line instead, wouldn't we end up paying more? And who's going to pay for that?
So have you started the ball rolling?;)
nino_joven
23-01-2009, 12:17 PM
Not yet. Still gathering my army of disgruntled Starhub users.
I think the facebook group will be nice.
Remember the case of petition against high bus fares for poly students?
But then I don't think our numbers are as big as that.
RVS_SK
23-01-2009, 12:19 PM
had this problem too, but happen randomly,
but since seldom use the line, so never bother to call and complain
the voice modem is motorola 5121i
nino_joven
23-01-2009, 12:22 PM
Hmm... maybe your conversations are short which was why you're not affected.
It usually affects conversations 10 mins or longer and almost always happen between 8pm to 11pm in my case.
Wonder if it's a case of congestion.
pakistanboy
23-01-2009, 02:56 PM
How are you.... hope you will fine and very good....
Thank You,
Regards,
Pakistan Boy,
http://www.PakistanGiftsMall.com
http://www.PakistanGiftsShop.com
cscs3
23-01-2009, 03:18 PM
Hey guys,
Updates:
I am so lucky that I did not switch to digital voice completely.
I gotten digital voice via IAD device from Starhub. It was never work fine from day 1 and Starhun call center is virtually next to zero. I finally give linksys a call and they confirm is a firmware problem but cannot only upgrade via Starhub.
Call Starhub again they claim that they do not do firmware upgrade. After much complaint. They finally agreed to replace a new IAD box. Guess what, it turn up the new one has the latest firmware that Linksys mention. Problem fix after 1 over months and many calls via Singtel line.
cscs3
23-01-2009, 03:21 PM
Because they also do the same in their main equipment room when they have problem!
cscs3
23-01-2009, 03:22 PM
Could it be the new modems problem?
I've 2 DVH on a SBV4200 and DVT on a IAD running for years now.
Do you run it 24 hours a day?
cscs3
23-01-2009, 03:23 PM
Write in to the press. (Maybe major newspaper like The Straits Times won't be bothered but "smaller" papers like The New Paper or Lianhe Wanbao will be interested?) :)
You can drop item 2. They are as bad !
_m0r0n_
23-01-2009, 03:30 PM
i have been using SBV4200 and is on 24/7....
ermm..dun seems to experience any of the problems mentioned
nino_joven
23-01-2009, 03:40 PM
You can drop item 2. They are as bad !
Haha. No wonder there are so many problems with all the telcos in Singapore.
nino_joven
23-01-2009, 03:41 PM
Seems like it's a modem problem cos once I called the CSO and he told me that's what it is.
krazyman
23-01-2009, 05:48 PM
Do you run it 24 hours a day?
The modem/IAD and dect phones are on 24/7 but of course calls can't be 24/7. However, my sons do make calls that often last hours.
Hi all,
My problems with Starhub Digital Voice Home ("free land line") are not exactly the same as TS's.
The modem model is: SBV5121
1. When someone calls in to my home line, he will hear silence after dialing, until the call is picked up. i.e. the ringing is heard as normal in the home, but the caller does not hear anything until the call is answered, then the phone operates quite normally.
2. Every few days, the modem silently goes into a hung state. We would not know until someone at home tries to make a call and realises there is no dial tone.
Presently, I have put the modem on a time switch to powercycle it every night.
Has anyone seen this?
botoguy
23-01-2009, 08:17 PM
i also have this problem :(
seowbin
23-01-2009, 09:08 PM
mine also.. never kanna this problem...
will get a new free one on feb 20 when they cut over my singtel line, maybe need to call in tell them i not taking liao, see they give me 3000 reward pts again bo :D
outer92
24-01-2009, 09:46 AM
i dont hv any problem uisng modem model SBV5121. so far so good .
the newer modem batch problem.
albertlee
24-01-2009, 12:08 PM
Me also don't have problem so far (touch wood) but do noticed this glitch, the TEL1 light will go out after X number of days although the phone line is still working when this happened. It's back to normal after reset. Any1 else faced this problem?
ceecookie
24-01-2009, 12:17 PM
lucky i cancelled my switch to Starhub DV :s13:
siegeholler
24-01-2009, 02:44 PM
i dont hv any problem uisng modem model SBV5121. so far so good .
the newer modem batch problem.
yup no probs here also. same modem as above
milanmania2004
24-01-2009, 06:13 PM
i also think could be the cable point problem. just to shared my encounter with them.
recently switched to hubstation HD+Linksys IAD. initially totally cannot access internet and DV, plus the thubstation always freezed+restart and power off itself. called starhub, technician come down and conclude it's my unit scv signal too weak. conveniently pushed the responsibility to me. said they can't do anything, asked me follow up with their cso. next day called my reno contractor(because i did relocate additional cable point). guessed, my contractor come down and opened the SCV box inside my unit. i was shocked to see the way cable was splited. basically it's like below:
1 main pt->1st 3 way spliter->2nd 2 way spliter->3rd 3way splitter. and my hubstation was connected to the end of line after all the splits.
just to chk, was it normal? or just an isolated case.
after reconnect the hubstation to the 1st 3way split, all problem solves. internet and DV works nicely. hubstation also never hang again.
not sure whether related, no harm to try simple partition check was it the cable point problem.
liangtam
24-01-2009, 08:01 PM
i also think could be the cable point problem. just to shared my encounter with them.
recently switched to hubstation HD+Linksys IAD. initially totally cannot access internet and DV, plus the thubstation always freezed+restart and power off itself. called starhub, technician come down and conclude it's my unit scv signal too weak. conveniently pushed the responsibility to me. said they can't do anything, asked me follow up with their cso. next day called my reno contractor(because i did relocate additional cable point). guessed, my contractor come down and opened the SCV box inside my unit. i was shocked to see the way cable was splited. basically it's like below:
1 main pt->1st 3 way spliter->2nd 2 way spliter->3rd 3way splitter. and my hubstation was connected to the end of line after all the splits.
just to chk, was it normal? or just an isolated case.
after reconnect the hubstation to the 1st 3way split, all problem solves. internet and DV works nicely. hubstation also never hang again.
not sure whether related, no harm to try simple partition check was it the cable point problem.
Yes, that because you have not engaged in Starhub's contractor, and hence problems will be yours.
1920_me
24-01-2009, 10:07 PM
Presently, I have put the modem on a time switch to powercycle it every night.
Has anyone seen this?
How do u do that?
liangtam
24-01-2009, 10:17 PM
those timer u can buy from electrical stores.
nino_joven
25-01-2009, 10:15 AM
Currently, Im using a splitter because I need the cable point for my modem as well as my TV.
If I connect my modem directly to my cable point then how about my TV?
And the thing is the problem almost never happens in the morning and afternoon as I've tried making half-an-hour calls during those times but didn't experience any muting.
Techno Pride
25-01-2009, 11:29 AM
Does anyone have this problem if you use the SBV5121 for voice-only and an older modem for internet?
outer92
25-01-2009, 01:29 PM
Does anyone have this problem if you use the SBV5121 for voice-only and an older modem for internet?
my SBV5121 modem for voice only i dont have any problem
My SBV5121 is only used for a single voice line.
But my cable is splittered with StarhubTV boxes and a SB5101 on PacNet 12Mbps.
The timer I use is a digital weekly timer. Got it from a JB hypermart. OFF at 12:01am, ON at 12:02am.
If you use an analog segment 24hour timer, then the downtime might have to be minimum of 15minutes.
wlng81
27-01-2009, 09:22 PM
I am using a SBV5121 modem for both voice and internet.
Have been unable to dial out since CNY eve.
Would love to join a petition..... -.-""
Techno Pride
27-01-2009, 09:35 PM
thanks outer92 and kaon,
I'm currently using SB5100i for internet and SBV5121i for voice. It *appears* to be fine, dial tone is there and I can dial and receive calls to my handphone.
I can't really make a proper call because the voice modem still has the previous owner's phone numbers. Need to wait for SH to assign my number before I can really conclude.
liangtam
27-01-2009, 09:40 PM
everyone cook porridge sure jam de ma
fi5hbone
28-01-2009, 08:33 AM
Are you using authorised cable points from Starhub or did you all get a contractor to do it up?
berlo84
28-01-2009, 12:17 PM
I have problem too....
During conversation, the line will hang up itself. Have to put down the phone and call again.
Called several times, but still no solution yet.
wlng81
28-01-2009, 07:16 PM
I separated the VeCM from internet yesterday and currently using it solely for conversation purpose.
Working fine now.
No intermittent silence or engaged tone.
vodaboy
29-01-2009, 12:14 AM
Wha lao see so many with problems feel sian already, my activation date is about 2-3 weeks time.
I see many posting that they have problem but did anyone manage to isolate the exact cause of the problem? Is the problem due to using the new VeCM for both voice and internet, cable splitting into new VeCM for voice and CM for internet or?
nino_joven
30-01-2009, 09:44 AM
I was told by the CSO that the problem is due to the new batch of modem and "the engineers are going to rectify the problem by doing a firmware upgrade which will be introduced in batches". How much you believe him is up to you.
If it's a firmware problem then why does it work in the day and not at night?
ekardo
30-01-2009, 04:00 PM
I can have 2 Cable modem running in the house?
one for Data (hooked to wireless router) and another one dedicated to voice?
I have 4 SCV point at home..
liangtam
30-01-2009, 04:20 PM
Can, why not?
Your SCV point 'original' or not?
they sms me today say prob solved liao :s42:
whaleshark87
30-01-2009, 05:59 PM
can... Why not... but electricity bill be more expensive lor.... Until now i have not gotten any problems with my DVH USing my VeCM(SB5121i)
ekardo
31-01-2009, 01:59 AM
electric bill is least to my worry, since I can only turn on the modem when I need to make long calls...mobile phone is still the main line to reach me..
thanks for the answers..
nino_joven
31-01-2009, 09:56 AM
they sms me today say prob solved liao :s42:
I received it too.
Starhub: Dear Customer, we would like to let you know that the DV issue you've reported earlier has been resolved. Thank you.
:look:
We shall see....
vodaboy
31-01-2009, 10:12 PM
How they do firmware upgrade on the modem? Just like cable tv set up box they just update remotely and that's it or need to bring the modem down to swap?
I hope the DV issue is really solved...
SteveAu
31-01-2009, 10:26 PM
my one oso kenna problem...no dial tone...
seowbin
31-01-2009, 10:55 PM
keep moi updated... else i dun want the free modem liao, want the pts nia :D
kelkel88
04-02-2009, 07:56 AM
How they do firmware upgrade on the modem? Just like cable tv set up box they just update remotely and that's it or need to bring the modem down to swap?
I hope the DV issue is really solved...
ya.. how do they do the firmware update?
cscs3
04-02-2009, 08:10 AM
my one oso kenna problem...no dial tone...
common problem.
pills
04-02-2009, 09:57 AM
now every phone call also got prob, and they cannot solve it.
did any one of u got the stoopid digital voice prob solved???
how did it go? what did u guys do to solve it??
pills
04-02-2009, 09:58 AM
I am using a SBV5121 modem for both voice and internet.
Have been unable to dial out since CNY eve.
Would love to join a petition..... -.-""
go make mpre noise, they will refund u.
they said if cannot solve today, they'll refund me!
pills
04-02-2009, 10:01 AM
thanks outer92 and kaon,
I'm currently using SB5100i for internet and SBV5121i for voice. It *appears* to be fine, dial tone is there and I can dial and receive calls to my handphone.
I can't really make a proper call because the voice modem still has the previous owner's phone numbers. Need to wait for SH to assign my number before I can really conclude.
Seems like it's a modem problem cos once I called the CSO and he told me that's what it is.
they kept saying everything is ok from their end too but when they call me on that line, also cannot hear me what.
they are crap one lah.
i think we shoudl all write in to the press together.
ascdf13
04-02-2009, 10:02 AM
i got the muting when making or receving calls after porting over from ST on 12 jan, complain to SH twice and last week they sent me a sms stating the issue/problem i encounter previously had been solved.
now there is no more muting since. but there is still some hissing sound occasionally.
nino_joven
05-02-2009, 09:40 AM
Yup. Muting problem gone for me as well. But after I made plenty of calls and made a lot of noise to the CSO. Wasted my time.
tohchr
05-02-2009, 11:45 PM
mine also.. never kanna this problem...
will get a new free one on feb 20 when they cut over my singtel line, maybe need to call in tell them i not taking liao, see they give me 3000 reward pts again bo :D
I had been using DV since they launch.. To me, it's as good as a singtel home line. My Modem model 5120..
seowbin
06-02-2009, 12:00 AM
I had been using DV since they launch.. To me, it's as good as a singtel home line. My Modem model 5120..
yap, i have one SB4100V for voice and a seperate 51xx as data modem
cause i feel SB4100V(i think duno exact model in case someone want to pt out and find trouble :s13:) quite slow :(
now i see this new free modem like quite crappy, so duno want that free modem bo or get 3k reward pts instead
liangtam
06-02-2009, 12:07 AM
3k pts lor
can redemn for 3k pts next time
seowbin
06-02-2009, 12:10 AM
if rendeem need 3.5k or 3.7k if moi not wrong..
lugi 700 pts leh :s13:
liangtam
06-02-2009, 12:25 AM
http://www.starhub.com/rewards/item.jsp?ctId=16&prId=013&dest=/rewards/browse.jsp?ctId=16@mp=0@xp=0@sp=0@st=5
Nowadays less points le...
seowbin
06-02-2009, 01:02 AM
o.. den okay.. maybe can call them give pts can liao :love:
SteveAu
06-02-2009, 10:41 PM
guys..may i ask..which model of the digital voice enable modem is more stable & better to use?
liangtam
06-02-2009, 11:01 PM
SBV5120..
no more
tohchr
06-02-2009, 11:11 PM
SBV5120..
no more
Have, I still have one 5120.. wahaha..
Today I spoken to SH technician.. He mentioned that actually DV had 2 type of platforms.
Mine is under the older platform(no problem from launch till now) and those having problems with their DV is the latest platform..
pills
08-02-2009, 01:27 AM
how do we get to change back to the old platform?
n i am sure a lot of people on the new platform is encountering this prob, how can they do nothing about it???
so ****!
berlo84
11-02-2009, 12:50 AM
I still experiencing auto hang up problem...
done modem and power supply swaping
done changed new phone
done change my port outside
dunno how to solve the problem....
I still experiencing auto hang up problem...
done modem and power supply swaping
done changed new phone
done change my port outside
dunno how to solve the problem....
me too, its getting worst since last month. parent complains the line disconnected during call; no dial tone; can't dial out; can't call in...is Starhub DV really a POS?
anyone solve it after making complains?
liangtam
11-02-2009, 07:19 PM
just restart the thing lah...
berlo84
11-02-2009, 07:56 PM
just restart the thing lah...
not that easy...
even restart won't solve the problem.
funny thing is that SH told me my modem never reboot or DC and has been online for a week.
berlo84
11-02-2009, 07:57 PM
me too, its getting worst since last month. parent complains the line disconnected during call; no dial tone; can't dial out; can't call in...is Starhub DV really a POS?
ur location? mine is in SK.
liangtam
11-02-2009, 08:00 PM
not that easy...
even restart won't solve the problem.
funny thing is that SH told me my modem never reboot or DC and has been online for a week.
i thot u stay amk :s11:
i know, but if restart cannot get back voice, then its their side and nothing u can do le...
they took in too much customer than they can handle. not a good way to go.
berlo84
11-02-2009, 08:23 PM
i thot u stay amk :s11:
i know, but if restart cannot get back voice, then its their side and nothing u can do le...
i have 2 DVH lines....
one in AMK and one in SK....
restart modem won't help as it will auto hang up anytime. then it is normal dial tone again.
Scuderia
11-02-2009, 08:38 PM
As some one has mentioned, there are 2 systems for StarHub DV. Those on the initial system with numbers 6726xxxx, 6728xxxx, 6729xxxx, 6300xxxx, 6618xxxx, 6400xxxx, 6401xxxx, 6402xxxx, 6404xxxx, 6405xxxx, 6406xxxx, 6409xxxx seems to be working fine. Those with numbers other than the above are on the newer system, which some one mentioned is less stable. The old VeCM SBV5120 is also much more stable compared to the new SBV5121.
SteveAu
11-02-2009, 08:48 PM
As some one has mentioned, there are 2 systems for StarHub DV. Those on the initial system with numbers 6726xxxx, 6728xxxx, 6729xxxx, 6300xxxx, 6618xxxx, 6400xxxx, 6401xxxx, 6402xxxx, 6404xxxx, 6405xxxx, 6406xxxx, 6409xxxx seems to be working fine. Those with numbers other than the above are on the newer system, which some one mentioned is less stable. The old VeCM SBV5120 is also much more stable compared to the new SBV5121.
I dont think so..I am using 6406xxxx & old VeCM SBV5120 & keep experience 3 times no dial tone since Chinese new year...
berlo84
11-02-2009, 10:43 PM
wad if my one is number porting? how to tell?
liangtam
11-02-2009, 10:58 PM
wad if my one is number porting? how to tell?
when u ported?
recently registered one is new platform
berlo84
11-02-2009, 11:44 PM
when u ported?
recently registered one is new platform
i think i am using old platform... 3 years+ ago....
ekardo
15-02-2009, 02:43 PM
my digital voice just enabled today, supposed to be ready only on this coming Fri..nice.
was allocated 6300xxxx and using a voice modem bought from forum..SBV5120..
haven't cook enough phone porridge to give proper review...wait for my first conference call starting on Mon ...
whaleshark87
15-02-2009, 07:37 PM
I've been using DHV for a long time and i didn't face any problems at all. only once i a while number cannot connect thru.
vileycl
26-02-2009, 11:17 PM
i'm still having this problem..just installed 2 weeks ago...does calling them help?
kweeli
28-02-2009, 10:56 PM
Finally my digital voice enabled yesterday and im using SBV5120.... things start happened, incoming called always go to voice mail (e.g called 5 time but 4 time go voice mail) and sometime no respond tone when we tried to called using the handphone. get complain from parent...
so far called out no problem....
already called to SH yesterday, said will responded within 24h but no called from them. so called back to them and ask y never give update but they said system never login the complain.
anywhere already request them to give update by tomorrow 10am....
vileycl
01-03-2009, 12:14 AM
yep i'm having the exact same problem...called them 2days ago...the cso even tried calling and was directed to voice mail too. den i dunno what she said( i suspect the call centre's in india or smth) and she did not call me back again. I then called yesterday morning(this time the cso's local) who said that after i called the prev day, their engineers called my lines, got thru, and concluded that there was no problem zz. I told him that the problem persists and he said that he will get his engineers to test again. I told him whats the point if his engineers are goin to call, get thru and conclude that there is no problem again. He said they would monitor for a day and call me again today...we shall see. think i'd be lucky if they called me tmr lol
kweeli
01-03-2009, 06:54 PM
Finally my digital voice enabled yesterday and im using SBV5120.... things start happened, incoming called always go to voice mail (e.g called 5 time but 4 time go voice mail) and sometime no respond tone when we tried to called using the handphone. get complain from parent...
so far called out no problem....
already called to SH yesterday, said will responded within 24h but no called from them. so called back to them and ask y never give update but they said system never login the complain.
anywhere already request them to give update by tomorrow 10am....
again no called from SH this morning so went down to SP customer center to make complain, answer is still under investigation and also said system shown im still using the old modem, mean that new modem haven update in the system even im using it to online now.
customer official said the technician will call us by today....and if still cant solve then will come to my home tomorrow. No confident on what they said already:s27:
still waiting they call now....
krazyman
01-03-2009, 08:36 PM
SH's DV is getting problematic lately. My DVH problem is the other party audio get cutoff after awhile though I can still hear him. Using SBV4200 for DVH only without problem until lately. My DVT is the other party complain that there is lag in the audio received.
liangtam
01-03-2009, 09:02 PM
Starfug screwed up badly
As for DVT, its like this de
jaiong2000
07-03-2009, 03:45 AM
So,... nino joven, liangtam, pills, ascdf, steveAu, kweeli, vileycl, krazyman, etc,
After the months of denial of service, empty promises, poor service, frustrations, complaints, comes the final solutions,
(be it remote firmware update, platform-switching or new batch of modems) is the situation better?
A. No problems B. Less problems C. Same problems
When i read your frustrations, petitions and revolts, I fear and laff too.
Had my fair share of Mio problems too. Recvd 2-3 calls a day & night (3-4 am) from Spain, Indian, etc for the last 2 years, called ST several times, say they monitor, later say we monitor (tell us to ask the callers what nos. they call = we work for ST & report/trakc their problems). Not too good, but not as bad as your DVH problems.
I jumping the red ship this month to green one. If I fall into the water, will be nice to struggle with you all. Cos' you guys r really cute!
vileycl
07-03-2009, 02:06 PM
lol the problem seems to be gone after i called them last weekend. at least my mom aint complaining haha =:p been trying it myself so far still alrite...but its been 6 days and they still haven't called me back despite promising to call in a day LOL. still i aint complianing if there aint any problems:s13: lol later after i say this den the problem comes back haha.
vodaboy
10-03-2009, 02:22 AM
I'm not aware of any firmware upgrade done actually. Well if they can somehow do that remotely maybe... if not then no cos I didn't swap the modem for a new one or anything.
The only problem I had with DVH is the downtime thrice in a week last week that lasted about 2 hours each time. Other than that no other problems, now monitoring see if any re-occurance.
liangtam
10-03-2009, 02:32 AM
if theres a new firmware to be pushed out, starhub will do at their side, the modem will download the file and self reboot de...
Mclairs83
10-03-2009, 08:34 AM
So,... nino joven, liangtam, pills, ascdf, steveAu, kweeli, vileycl, krazyman, etc,
After the months of denial of service, empty promises, poor service, frustrations, complaints, comes the final solutions,
(be it remote firmware update, platform-switching or new batch of modems) is the situation better?
Had my fair share of Mio problems too. Recvd 2-3 calls a day & night (3-4 am) from Spain, Indian, etc for the last 2 years, called ST several times, say they monitor, later say we monitor (tell us to ask the callers what nos. they call = we work for ST & report/trakc their problems). Not too good, but not as bad as your DVH problems.
I jumping the red ship this month to green one. If I fall into the water, will be nice to struggle with you all. Cos' you guys r really cute!
I scream at their Starhub CSO yesterday for giving me a poor quality of service which is totally unacceptable from my point of usage.. IMAGINE every website i can not even load, especially hotmail, HWZ, VRZone.
All they could offer me is their wonderful 1 day waiver for such poor service.. fug man.. wad does 1 day cost? i would totally wan them to cut off my internet right now and waive the contract fees.
I'm thankful that i made the decision last wk to sign up SNBB and a land line from Singtel.
Oh ya, regarding on the DVH... my problems does still exist, my mum as usual complaining everyday.. i will call them probably later in the night to see how it goes.
If u wan to jump into the green water... i tell u.. u will suffocate wif all the toxics and poison which i'm having now!
berlo84
10-03-2009, 09:13 AM
same problem...hahaha...
no prob for me liao. since few weeks ago :s42:
Bunta
10-03-2009, 11:39 AM
That's what you get for having a Clown (Clontz) at the helm... :s27:
jaiong2000
10-03-2009, 12:28 PM
Thanks people for your kind feedback...looks like the green ship is safe to board. (for the meantime), with the exception of mclairs83.. But before that, I'll be testing a friend's set at my place. I haven;t heard from nino-joven (another serious case).
Kudos mclairs, you have done well with sheer determination and fury to terminate his contract. I'll go do the same, and go all the way out to IDA..Did anyone write to IDA?
I hope Starhub's Freedom doesn't mean freeing us from calls and internet.
At least let good service and integrity pervails.
liangtam
10-03-2009, 12:49 PM
Many ppl have already written to iDA.
You wont be another special case if you try it
phuque99
10-03-2009, 12:56 PM
must be minister or related to tua liap political figure, then someone will hear. otherwise, consumer letter is probably like mosquito or fly buzzing.
kweeli
10-03-2009, 02:00 PM
again no called from SH this morning so went down to SP customer center to make complain, answer is still under investigation and also said system shown im still using the old modem, mean that new modem haven update in the system even im using it to online now.
customer official said the technician will call us by today....and if still cant solve then will come to my home tomorrow. No confident on what they said already:s27:
still waiting they call now....
update:
again no call from them after waiting 5 hours and abt 10 plus pm called to COS (take abt 30min to get throught). they agreed to come down on next day after argue with CSO to force them to arrange time slot come down. (2nd March)
on the 2nd March technician came down and called the phone, direct to voice mail also, tech said this could be faulty modem so he changed the new modem that will take about 2 hours to port over. The tech left while still waiting the back end porting the modem. Reason given bcos cant wait that long in my house.
He just ask me to monitor the Tel1 light if stop freshing then just off/On the modem. and said CSO will called us again. (NO CALL FROM THEN ALSO).:s27:
After wait for 2 hous the Tel 1 light steady so i just Off/On the modem.
So far ok lio but just one time incoming give "do do do" sound when pick up the phone.".... so still monitoring the line Performance.
We did wrote mail to starhud complain this issues on Tues (3 March), on last Sat then received they call and asking how the Voice service.:(
My sis just install yesterday... so far still ok.
didn't hear my parents complain lately, guess its OK now. hope it stay that way--never have to worry about telephone until DV...no free lunch, I suppose. :)
I stay in Tampines.
jaiong2000
11-03-2009, 12:47 AM
there is a service clause that 'pre-warns users not to xpect too much', we do not need to accept tt.
http://www.starhub.com/portal/site/O...00464114acRCRD
It's just a clause to cover their bside, against unreasonable customers. From your freq. and duration of downtimes, the unreasonable one is SH in this case.
No use writing, saying 'irregular, inconsistent, many times, once in a while, keeps on, etc)
What we should do get a sw can auto-speedtest, tabulate and chart your bandwidth over a span of 24 hrs x 3-7 days. Present this report together with your letter of poor service response & negligence to IDA or CASE, then it may be effective. Those guys including SH, needs to see numbers. Then again, perhaps SH's systems & technical woes has been suppressed by the sales and marcom people, to keep it under wraps. There is a uptime reliability % these guys have to keep, like 95% or so.
Does anyone know of an such software?...I only know of Bitmeter2, which tabulates bandwidth over hours/days/week/mths. But we still need a software that can do up & downstreams continuously w/o sucking up your harddisk over the few days.
I am not into Green yet, but soon. in the south/central/matured (elderlies) estate, trust the concentration of users is not as high, cross my finger...But I do feel unjustified for the few of you persistent, serious cases.
botoguy
18-03-2009, 07:52 PM
how's it so far?
Linger
18-03-2009, 08:44 PM
My digital voice has been down since last night....called up Starhub this morning and they promised to get someone to call me back tonight. I am moving to back to Singtel land line but Starhub is not letting me port back my residential no. cos I am on digital voice for less than 6 mths. My home security system is compromised cos the digital voice is not working. Going to scream at the Starhub CSO tmr again...
askh52
18-03-2009, 10:17 PM
update:
again no call from them after waiting 5 hours and abt 10 plus pm called to COS (take abt 30min to get throught). they agreed to come down on next day after argue with CSO to force them to arrange time slot come down. (2nd March)
on the 2nd March technician came down and called the phone, direct to voice mail also, tech said this could be faulty modem so he changed the new modem that will take about 2 hours to port over. The tech left while still waiting the back end porting the modem. Reason given bcos cant wait that long in my house.
He just ask me to monitor the Tel1 light if stop freshing then just off/On the modem. and said CSO will called us again. (NO CALL FROM THEN ALSO).:s27:
After wait for 2 hous the Tel 1 light steady so i just Off/On the modem.
So far ok lio but just one time incoming give "do do do" sound when pick up the phone.".... so still monitoring the line Performance.
We did wrote mail to starhud complain this issues on Tues (3 March), on last Sat then received they call and asking how the Voice service.:(
My sis just install yesterday... so far still ok.
"do do do" sounds like voicemail
askh52
18-03-2009, 10:18 PM
My digital voice has been down since last night....called up Starhub this morning and they promised to get someone to call me back tonight. I am moving to back to Singtel land line but Starhub is not letting me port back my residential no. cos I am on digital voice for less than 6 mths. My home security system is compromised cos the digital voice is not working. Going to scream at the Starhub CSO tmr again...
starhub service is getting worst, don't waste time scream @ CSO.. ask their tech to come down or on the spot troubleshoot for u, not callback
Linger
18-03-2009, 10:53 PM
starhub service is getting worst, don't waste time scream @ CSO.. ask their tech to come down or on the spot troubleshoot for u, not callback
Their engineers came down on sun and yday to troubleshoot the slow connectivity issue, now digital voice is down. I cant possibly stay at home everyday to wait for their tech support to come. Requested for call back cos I was in office today when I got thru their hotline. The CSO insisted that I didnt reboot the modem properly. Their hotline is impossible to get thru at night...
askh52
18-03-2009, 11:36 PM
Their engineers came down on sun and yday to troubleshoot the slow connectivity issue, now digital voice is down. I cant possibly stay at home everyday to wait for their tech support to come. Requested for call back cos I was in office today when I got thru their hotline. The CSO insisted that I didnt reboot the modem properly. Their hotline is impossible to get thru at night...
screw him/her+his/her manager.... how to never reboot properly? their refresh signal eat **** 1?
Linger
19-03-2009, 12:35 AM
Digital Voice is up and running....CSO said it might be that their database wasnt updated of the MAC address of the new modem I got yday. Need to monitor further.
jaiong2000
19-03-2009, 02:46 AM
hi guys, I have been reading your cries over the 2 weeks, and felt very unjust for you. I think you guys have to write to somebody soon and now...CASE, IDA, ST Forum, New Paper. No use venting your anger writing here. I have wrote to STForum (stforum@sph.com.sg), on your behalf, hoping that they will investigate with Starhub. But it is more useful coming from you guys, with the facts and figures tracked/logged over the months/weeks...
My letter as follows:
Date: 19th March 2009
Name: XXXXXXXXX
Address: XXXXXXXXXXXXXX
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Tel: XXXXXXXXXXXX
Dear Editor:
I am not in the best position to write this article, as I am not a victim of sheer foul cries.
Perhaps, your readers will be interested to know the big problems happening at our 2nd largest ISP, Starhub and their broadband subscribers.
I was intending to subscribe to Starhub 3-in-1 Broadband/Voice/Cable TV (Triple Freedom Pack), until I read the forums at forums.hardwarezone.com.sg, dating as far back as Sep 2008. I was shocked, by the chaotic situation happening with Starhub's subscribers, evidently at the ISP's systems, technical and customer service support for the last 6 months till now.
Please refer to the following threads:
Problems with Starhub Digital Voice modem/home service. Please help!
MOL : Connection Interrupted
What's wrong with Starhub. Mar 2009
The following were cited from at least 100 different subcribers,
(over a few hundred posts, over the last few months):
'This is the 10th time I am calling Starhub, and....
'CSO promised to call, until today I have not....
'They keep blaming our routers, cables, etc. and refuse to admit....
'Tonite it is happening again, anyone else.....'me too, i oso, same here....'
'Shall we all write to CASE or IDA? Surely, somebody can do something?
'We shall all march to Starhub, and demand compensation....
'We will not pay for such XXXX services.....
'My parents keep screaming everyday about the phone (digital voice)....
'For the third time, they never return their calls, I'll wait till today, before I......
'This is the 5th time the engineers are visiting, I really cannot afford to stay at home to wait for them. anymore..
'My home security, relying the phone line, which is down for the last 3 days, is compromised...
'The technicans came down yesterday and today, but still the problems
'I am on Ultimate Plan (12 Mbps) $72.76 per month, ...the pictures on ebay and youtube cannot load...
'I am jumping ship.....(at least 50% of the subscribers)
'I ended up having to scream at the CSO, and threaten to terminate without paying, if....
'I waited for 30-45 mins to get through the support hotline...
'The customer service and technical support hotline is virtually non-existent.
'How can Starhub get away, by doing this to us?
As an observer (a SingTel/SingNet user), I do not see these as isolated problems, as these guys are technically more sound and IT-savvy than most of us.
(likely mid-to-heavy Internet users). Neither are these problem location-based, as they are reported island-wide.
As a consumer, I see this to be a truly unjust business practice by Starhub, by holding their subscribers to contracts, served with penalties, while providing a less than basic service.
I urge your ST team to investigate with Starhub and a selection of mid-heavy MaxOnline users, and report on this matter.
This will not only help the service provider to improve their service and business in the long run, but also calm many furious consumers out there, before it becomes a national crisis, national shame or mass commercial protest or abandonment.
More importantly, it will serve a good read for ST readers and Internet users.
On behalf of the ill-treated Starhub customers, prospective subscribers, and the general consumer, I thank you for your kind attention and prompt action.
--
Yours Sincerely,
Jai Ong
19th March 2009
I have tested with my friend's SH modem few days ago, ok, but DVH sometimes muted, cannot fax in/out, and re-con with SNBB and mioVoice (some probs too, but not serious)
I wish you all luck, and will stand by you.
Linger
19-03-2009, 09:27 AM
My digital voice is down again and I have a conf call in 5 mins' time. Stupid CSO didnt call me back in 15 mins like what she promised. I am going back to the good old land line and save me all the tor hui experience.
sHrike
19-03-2009, 09:36 AM
linger....I feel for you...
STARHUB simply cannot help you as their service has REALLY dropped unlike previous years. I have experienced countless speed issue and interruptions that we should not get and they cannot resolve this issue even after wasting so much time troubleshooting with them....like you say ...vomit blood....not worth it..... I have lost total confidence in their quality of service.
I only can say help yourself ,terminate them. save the trouble.
Linger
19-03-2009, 09:55 AM
My MOL is expiring tomorrow HURRAY
But they are not allowing me to port back my residential no. cos my digital voice is less than 6 mths...I am going to negotiate with them, worse case scenario is to take up a new singtel residential no.
Linger
19-03-2009, 03:37 PM
I have just applied for a new Singtel land line and it will be activated on Mon. Couldnt wait to port over the old tel no. if I want to take up the 24mths contract free 6 months SNBB promo 8 mpbs @ $31.90. The promo is ending on 27 Mar 09.
jaiong2000
20-03-2009, 11:34 PM
For heaven sake, stop complainting and being crybabies here, just write to:
StraitsTimes: stforum@sph.com.sg (mailto:stforum@sph.com.sg) and
New paper at:http://newpaper.asia1.com.sg/sendmai...lkToUs,00.html?
Relate your bad service/CSO/tech experiences. It's about time to try get back on your negligent ISP:
Once they receive enuff, they will sit up and send a reporter to SH. Sometimes, the media is stronger than the authorities, CASE Or IDA.
I have already written to ST forum. Dun make me a fool like an isolated case.
Do your part, do the industry and yourselves a favour!
NOTE: pls post a copy of your email here...
jaiong2000
21-03-2009, 12:36 AM
linger, where did u get this promo from? '24mths contract free 6 months SNBB promo 8 mpbs @ $31.90. The promo is ending on 27 Mar 09. '
Linger
21-03-2009, 11:59 AM
Check out the thread Singnet SMS offer : 8mbps $32.90 / free 6 mths. The details are there
jaiong2000
21-03-2009, 02:34 PM
is anyone able to fax in / out with DVH?
Mine can in (sometimes), cannot out...(always).
Infax got interrupted with white bar across fax..
vileycl
21-03-2009, 11:18 PM
mine was working the last time i tried, both in and out...and thank goodness my dvh problems hasnt resurfaced ;)
SteveAu
23-03-2009, 07:26 AM
haiz...my digital voice has not been up for 1 week..i tired of calling the CSO...sianz...very sucky...
cksim99
28-03-2009, 12:21 PM
I have no problem on my Sharp GQ-56 fax machine, but my desktop PCI 56k modem unable to fax out, previously can on Singtel line. Anyone has the same issue ? Any solution ?
What fax machine you are using ?
:s12::s12::s12:
jaiong2000
28-03-2009, 01:00 PM
I have no problem on my Sharp GQ-56 fax machine, but my desktop PCI 56k modem unable to fax out, previously can on Singtel line. Anyone has the same issue ? Any solution ?
What fax machine you are using ?
:s12::s12::s12:
i'm usng Sharp FO-90, maybe 5 years model. I dun trust DVH fax too well, since voice already can drop, what worse can fax go?
anqiang
01-07-2009, 07:52 PM
sorry to dig up , but was wondering anyone experiencing ticking sound when using DV ??
xiaoyuer89
11-07-2009, 03:09 PM
sorry but is anybody experiencing any damn slow internet these 2-3 weeeks? have been experiencing it for quite a while and my modem sometimes will just blink at the 2nd light. called dem 4 times and the 4th time the woman ask me bring my modem down to give them check.
anyone experiencing?
nino_joven
04-09-2009, 08:46 PM
Yup. I did. Especially at night. And yesterday the connection went off and I had to restart my modem everytime it did. Meanwhile, my digital voice can't be used when it's off. :s27:
eurofunk
04-09-2009, 09:11 PM
another case of being binded by 2 yrs and cant do much...sad but true, they are only interested in tieing u down for 2 yrs and give u GOOD service.
Initially was advertised that express was to hit at least 12MBPS, now they amended to "Average bandwidth limited to plan subscribed"
fortunately, in China no such lousy service, call and within 4hrs someone is sent to ur place up till 12 midnight, if nt frm 8am onwards.
Nachaku
04-09-2009, 11:08 PM
i wonder if this router is jus like normal wireless ?
D-Link DVG-G5402SP (Starhub VOIP Wireless router)
then is this a LAN or WLAN ??
Wats the different between wireless n and wireless g ?
samuelchin
05-09-2009, 04:25 PM
I am facing the same thing too!!!!!!!!!!!! Anymore facing this problem??
I THINK THEY ARE QUIETLY DOING SOMETHING BEHIND WHICH DISRUPTED THE NETWORK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Yup. I did. Especially at night. And yesterday the connection went off and I had to restart my modem everytime it did. Meanwhile, my digital voice can't be used when it's off. :s27:
PeachGal
23-10-2009, 01:28 AM
Sorry got a ignorant question. Can you retain your st home line while subscribing to sh dv for a new number? Or you can only force to keep one?
PeachGal
23-10-2009, 01:34 AM
i wonder if this router is jus like normal wireless ?
D-Link DVG-G5402SP (Starhub VOIP Wireless router)
then is this a LAN or WLAN ??
Wats the different between wireless n and wireless g ?
Its a wireless router (support up to G network) supporting voip but you still need a voip modem for the voip to work. Wireless N > G in speed and other things. Just think of it as faster than G. :yawn:
touchme
23-10-2009, 01:53 AM
Sorry got a ignorant question. Can you retain your st home line while subscribing to sh dv for a new number? Or you can only force to keep one?
spend money of course can. yr dv line comes from yr hubstation, sh cable modem or yr dv IAD (either connected to the black think cable), nothin to do with yr ST tel. line.
PeachGal
23-10-2009, 05:15 AM
spend money of course can. yr dv line comes from yr hubstation, sh cable modem or yr dv IAD (either connected to the black think cable), nothin to do with yr ST tel. line.
Yeah I was thinking the same way too at first. But after seeing so many folks reply in a way as if they cancel their st home line for the sh dv. I then start to have doubts. (As mentioned some e.gs below) =/ Maybe I got the situation wrong? I meant if i can have 2 home phone numbers(lines), 1 from st home line and another from sh dv? Thanks.
hi anyone encountered my problem before?
I tried with my colleague starhub mobile phone and again, i dont seems to get through at all. No tone at all... But other mobile subscriber are okay... I called Starhub 3 times and they say will get back to me too... but till now i have not receive their call yet... its really frustating and irritating not able to call home with my hp...
D*mn... I starting to regret switching over to starhub... shld have listen to my parent...
Same problem here. My parents also complaining to me, and ask me to call Starhub and check. But i call them, they always give their Standard answers and no solutions.
Should have stuck with Singtel and paid their monthly $15+, no point giving for free but ****ed up service.
Anyone found any kind of solution?
wow. lucky. although it's free. i didn't swtich @_@
Wah so members encounter voip problem
lucky I did not switch yet
seeyourhead_jiejie
23-10-2009, 07:43 AM
Yeah I was thinking the same way too at first. But after seeing so many folks reply in a way as if they cancel their st home line for the sh dv. I then start to have doubts. (As mentioned some e.gs below) =/ Maybe I got the situation wrong? I meant if i can have 2 home phone numbers(lines), 1 from st home line and another from sh dv? Thanks.
of cos u can have more then 2 lines from both sh and singtel. juz that keeping the singtel line u need to pay the line rental.
bendwolf
23-10-2009, 08:42 AM
My starhub home line works fine. In fact saved me tons of money as I do a lot of conference calls. Quality is clear.
Not sure if those that you quoted are some time back. I can't go back to singtel, the bills will kill me.
only 1st 2 wks has prob. after tht quite ok liao :s42:
PeachGal
23-10-2009, 12:07 PM
of cos u can have more then 2 lines from both sh and singtel. juz that keeping the singtel line u need to pay the line rental.
I think I finally get it. Thanks. The main thing is having to pay rental for home analog line. (How much normally per month?)After reading these posts, I think I would preferred to keep my main analog line intact and using another sh dv line for heavy stuff. :)
seeyourhead_jiejie
23-10-2009, 12:25 PM
I think I finally get it. Thanks. The main thing is having to pay rental for home analog line. (How much normally per month?)After reading these posts, I think I would preferred to keep my main analog line intact and using another sh dv line for heavy stuff. :)
i think is $25(excluding gst) every quater, 3mths.
people terminate the singtel analog line to save cost.
edit:
http://home.singtel.com/singtel/index.html#ctelephony
$29.43(including gst)/quater
ekardo
23-10-2009, 02:38 PM
my DV also working flawlessly...no such problem as seen by user here..
anyway, SH service is very good...no need to wait so long to get to ther Tech Support..
Stinknet? wait 30mins, and they still can't do anything for you...
PeachGal
23-10-2009, 04:07 PM
i think is $25(excluding gst) every quater, 3mths.
people terminate the singtel analog line to save cost.
$29.43(including gst)/quater
Thanks a lot for your information. Reminds me to axe my caller ID, been contributing too much to the monthly bill.
touchme
23-10-2009, 06:10 PM
Heavy stuff on DV?..how heavy can home calls get?..if u not do fax, then use DV.
most olreadi live on mobiles with fixed line.
Plus if u terminated Singtel, few mths-2 years more, they will court you back, with freebies and offers. Well known fact: Stay with telcos, re-contract=no gifts, new customer or switch=many gifts..
PeachGal
23-10-2009, 10:28 PM
Heavy stuff on DV?..how heavy can home calls get?..if u not do fax, then use DV.
most olreadi live on mobiles with fixed line.
Plus if u terminated Singtel, few mths-2 years more, they will court you back, with freebies and offers. Well known fact: Stay with telcos, re-contract=no gifts, new customer or switch=many gifts..
Thanks for the advises. Now more options to allow creativity.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.