PDA

View Full Version : how do i do portforwarding

invisible.hippo
19-01-2009, 07:35 PM
i know that in order to pf i need to set up a static ip adress, how do i do that, my router is 7904WBRA2,
btw im using linux

weibchen
19-01-2009, 07:52 PM
have you googled?

liangtam
19-01-2009, 08:53 PM
huai gotch fake hippos huans

phuque99
19-01-2009, 08:55 PM
using linux people should more steady pompipi with self-help google search leh.

invisible.hippo
19-01-2009, 09:08 PM
i google the portforwarding liao but i dunno what to type for static ip for linux so i cant portforward :(

alanchia67
19-01-2009, 09:12 PM
just make sure the static ip address is within subnet of the gateway.

invisible.hippo
19-01-2009, 09:14 PM
i mean type what for the subnet, pri and sec dns
i also can access 192.168.2.1 why is that so?

alanchia67
20-01-2009, 01:39 AM
tell us the ip address and subnet for the router.

invisible.hippo
20-01-2009, 10:53 AM
how do i do that, i dont know how find for linux, i only know how find for window

invisible.hippo
20-01-2009, 12:19 PM
i found this site dunno if any of help http://news.softpedia.com/news/Share-Internet-Connection-and-Set-up-Port-Forward-with-Guidedog-50091.shtml

alanchia67
20-01-2009, 12:29 PM
the url is to use your linux as router (internet sharing), thus needs 2 nic.

albertlee
20-01-2009, 12:49 PM
Edit the /etc/network/interfaces file (refer to below example) using whatever text editor you familar with.

# An example static IP setup
#
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
address 192.168.1.100
netmask 255.255.255.0
broadcast 192.168.1.255
network 192.168.1.0
gateway 192.168.1.1

invisible.hippo
20-01-2009, 02:06 PM
the url is to use your linux as router (internet sharing), thus needs 2 nic.
i dont understand what u mean i am a newbie at networking stuff,what is nic,so how do i portforward and set up a static ip for my com to portforward,im running on ubuntu

Edit the /etc/network/interfaces file (refer to below example) using whatever text editor you familar with.

# An example static IP setup
#
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
address 192.168.1.100
netmask 255.255.255.0
broadcast 192.168.1.255
network 192.168.1.0
gateway 192.168.1.1

i dont understand, how to edit it?paste this information to where? is it paste to the terminal window (Applications->Accessories->Terminal)

phuque99
20-01-2009, 02:27 PM
sibei jialat, i think what you need to learn is beyond asking in forum with "i dunno this or that". i think buy book self learn more productive :D

commach
20-01-2009, 03:16 PM
No offend, didn't even knew what's NIC, get a book "Networking for Dummy" will put you on the right track of setting up a simple networking with port forwarding, you can borrow these books from our national library.

daoism
20-01-2009, 05:49 PM
www.portforward.com tts all u need.

alanchia67
20-01-2009, 10:54 PM
ts, is there any reason you are using linux? it requires alot of reading.

invisible.hippo
20-01-2009, 11:47 PM
nevermind thanks for the help
anyway wait till cny over then i will buy windows currently i dont have the money to but :( and waiting to see if the release of window 7 will make it cheaper for xp