View Full Version : Can sign up Singnet broadband without home phone line?
system8921
20-01-2009, 02:27 PM
Hi guys,
Can I sign up for singnet broadband if a I dont have a home phone line? I want to switch to singnet from starhub maxonline.
:yawn:
phuque99
20-01-2009, 02:29 PM
cannot :D
whaleshark87
20-01-2009, 02:30 PM
Hi guys,
Can I sign up for singnet broadband if a I dont have a home phone line? I want to switch to singnet from starhub maxonline.
cannot, singnet must have a singtel home phone line to work
system8921
20-01-2009, 02:33 PM
thanks for the very quick reply guys.
offangle
20-01-2009, 02:49 PM
Hi guys,
cannot :D
cannot, singnet must have a singtel home phone line to work
all is wrong le
Yes You Can.
chunlianghere
20-01-2009, 04:02 PM
all is wrong le
Yes You Can.
oh...than u also wrong ler.
pls giv some reason to support your answer. :s13:
tazzi80
20-01-2009, 04:05 PM
Confirm cannot.
phuque99
20-01-2009, 04:25 PM
all is wrong le
Yes You Can.
LOL, I believe Singtel more than I believe you :D
offangle
20-01-2009, 04:38 PM
oh...than u also wrong ler.
pls giv some reason to support your answer. :s13:
Confirm cannot.
LOL, I believe Singtel more than I believe you :D
Sometimes Belief is just Willing Blindness
to TS query, YES CONFIRM CAN
outlander
20-01-2009, 05:16 PM
Sometimes Belief is just Willing Blindness
to TS query, YES CONFIRM CAN
I'm also interested in this question. Can you explain why you are so sure no need home line? Have you tried so before?
offangle
20-01-2009, 05:17 PM
I'm also interested in this question. Can you explain why you are so sure no need home line? Have you tried so before?
Yes to both your Qs
I want to prove Belief is simple an Assumption
kennyg1969
20-01-2009, 05:21 PM
Use Singnet BBOM lor :s13:
No need for singtel line
chunlianghere
20-01-2009, 05:54 PM
Yes to both your Qs
I want to prove Belief is simple an Assumption
typing in "Mobile BB" so difficult meh? instead type so much word for wat?
strangerjun
20-01-2009, 06:11 PM
so is can or cannot?! :mad:
liangtam
20-01-2009, 07:07 PM
Can and cannot :)
phuque99
20-01-2009, 09:20 PM
typing in "Mobile BB" so difficult meh? instead type so much word for wat?
here all jiao wei juay juay :D
chunlianghere
20-01-2009, 10:02 PM
so is can or cannot?! :mad:
if u wan to sign up singnet broadband, cannot.
but alternatively, u can choose singnet mobile broadband. but cannot guaranteed tat it wil be same as singnet broadband.
liangtam
20-01-2009, 10:48 PM
technically, bbom is under singtel mobile division, and hence singtel instead.
offangle
20-01-2009, 11:05 PM
have been waiting for someone to finally make that clarification
and when i said yes, i dont mean bbom
chunlianghere
20-01-2009, 11:13 PM
technically, bbom is under singtel mobile division, and hence singtel instead.
oh...ok. got it.
have been waiting for someone to finally make that clarification
and when i said yes, i dont mean bbom
than?
offangle
20-01-2009, 11:29 PM
oh...ok. got it.
than?
than? than what?
i thot you sounded like you are the only intelligent one here, isnt it meh? or are you looking for someone to spoon feed you? :s11:
chunlianghere
20-01-2009, 11:41 PM
than? than what?
i thot you sounded like you are the only intelligent one here, isnt it meh? or are you looking for someone to spoon feed you? :s11:
is it? TS is jus trying to ask something or clarify something. well..looks like there is a more intelligent one here. here u go...
leinad
21-01-2009, 12:02 AM
If you have a Singtel mobile line in the family (parent, spouse, sibling, or older children) and want to save on the land line costs, consider signing up for MIO instead. If you do the math, rental of the home line is an additional 8+/month.
/Dan
liangtam
21-01-2009, 12:51 AM
If you have a Singtel mobile line in the family (parent, spouse, sibling, or older children) and want to save on the land line costs, consider signing up for MIO instead. If you do the math, rental of the home line is an additional 8+/month.
/Dan
finally, someone explained my can and cannot post :D
offangle
21-01-2009, 12:55 AM
theres more :)
liangtam
21-01-2009, 12:57 AM
theres more :)
theres no more lah
you call singtel 100 times they will tell you no 100 times oso.
Obviouz
21-01-2009, 01:00 AM
i think cannot?
chunlianghere
21-01-2009, 01:17 AM
theres no more lah
he wil stil say again "there's more"..
Paul Mah
21-01-2009, 01:52 AM
Hi guys,
Interesting thread you have got here. I can't tell you the situation now, but I did run into this issue a couple of years ago when I wanted to switch my Internet over to StarHub. You see, StarHub was offering a pretty attractive gift for new sign-ups - an iPAQ PDA I believed. In addition, the package also came with free digital voice, so I promptly signed up for it.
Problem was, I still had a few months left in my Singtel ADSL contract.... well ok, so it's more like six months there. As you can imagine, the penalties made it illogical to terminate at this stage. What was interesting was that Singtel would not allow me to pay in advance for all the outstanding months. As such, I am forced to pay for the subscription of the phone line, which I found illogical.
I talked to quite a few Singtel representatives on the phone, who all insisted that terminating my voice line cannot be done. Finally, one of them suggested I go down to a Singtel shop - which I did.
My argument: ADSL technology is technically independent of the voice portion.
Singtel's position: That their admin system requires that an ADSL line have a phone number attached to it. Also, if I don't have a phone line, then I won't be able to use their broadband isn't it?
My counter: I only signed a contract for the broadband service, and not the phone line. It's my own prerogative if I really can't access it after they terminated my voice line. Also, any admin issues on their end is not really my problem is it?
To cut a long story short, it took a fight, but the Singtel staff in the shop relented. My voice line was terminated on-the-spot, and I continued with my ADSL subscription until thatcontract ran out - after which I terminated it as well.
I really *cannot remember* if I utilized ADSL services after that, so I can't tell you if it was still usable. Logically and technically though, it should be possible.
Regards,
Paul Mah.
liangtam
21-01-2009, 02:00 AM
makes 0 sense.
you could have paid ppl to use ur service rather than it go wasted.
cyberzodiac
21-01-2009, 10:50 AM
There are two choices you can take,
1) take the wireless USB Broadband connection which you do not need a phone line at home. adv is you can going and surf anywhere you like as long as there is phone signal. basic plan $20+/months.
2) reason not to have phone line is the monthly bill. you can take MIO plan, there are 2 type, 1 with MIO TV and broadband and home line ($39+/monthly), another 1 with Mobile line and broadband and home line ($55+/monthly). the outgoing call for home line is free for MIO.
I am not related to Singtel. I am using the MIO with mobile since it started.
Cheers
santa helper
21-01-2009, 11:53 AM
There are two choices you can take,
1) take the wireless USB Broadband connection which you do not need a phone line at home. adv is you can going and surf anywhere you like as long as there is phone signal. basic plan $20+/months.
2) reason not to have phone line is the monthly bill. you can take MIO plan, there are 2 type, 1 with MIO TV and broadband and home line ($39+/monthly), another 1 with Mobile line and broadband and home line ($55+/monthly). the outgoing call for home line is free for MIO.
I am not related to Singtel. I am using the MIO with mobile since it started.
Cheers
wah.. can bring anywhere??is that can bring to oversea also??
tungsten2
21-01-2009, 12:22 PM
Yes, International Roaming Charges applies
ohmygod1986
21-01-2009, 01:06 PM
Cannot ...
So just sign the Mio Plan with house line or BBOM :s22::s22::s22:
leinad
21-01-2009, 01:17 PM
wah.. can bring anywhere??is that can bring to oversea also??
Yes, International Roaming Charges applies
International Data Roaming charges are very high.
/Dan
offangle
22-01-2009, 12:45 AM
theres no more lah
he wil stil say again "there's more"..
and i actually thought 'someone' is without a mind :s13:
yes lah theres more :)
FlushX
22-01-2009, 01:09 AM
you need to prove your argument that singnet bb can be subscribed without any DEL line.
liangtam
22-01-2009, 01:10 AM
and wat is?
lerkaile
22-01-2009, 08:07 AM
I'm keen to get a SNBB line but can I do without the Mio TV and all that jazz? :s13:
liangtam
22-01-2009, 01:49 PM
SNBB is snbb mah. Tho you need fixed line for sure.
chunlianghere
23-01-2009, 01:10 AM
I'm keen to get a SNBB line but can I do without the Mio TV and all that jazz? :s13:
u can choose not to take mioTV.
chunlianghere
23-01-2009, 01:12 AM
SNBB is snbb mah. Tho you need fixed line for sure.
mayb he is the new isp, tats y no need phone line also can get broadband. becos he is the boss..:s13::s13::s13:
=:p
AT_HWZ
23-01-2009, 05:44 PM
In theory, the technology allows fixed line broadband without a voice line. Guess SingTel just refused to offer such option. If you want fixed broadband with SingTel, it has to come with a phone line and you've to sign 2 - 3 year contract. I just called and checked. What I asked:
1. Can subscribe to SNBB with phone line without contract? No.
2. What's the penalty if I terminate my 3-year (36 months) contract within a month of signing up due to poor internet services by SNBB? Must pay 35 x monthly fee!!! Ask sure not? SingTel CSO said correct! Er... kinda rip-off right? Worst than broad daylight robbery. Wonder if it has to do with the sign-up gift or whatever promo gift.
Damn sian. Stuck with Star****. Go M1 or PacNet cable also same sh1t because they're on Star****'s pipe. Switch to SingTel and they don't deliver, I still have to pay more $$$. What's wonder with Singapore's ISPs man?!
liangtam
23-01-2009, 08:44 PM
The pipe is purely last mile, all traffic will be handled by the respective ISP upstream route.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.