View Full Version : Going to BKK with Tiger!
travmufc
07-02-2009, 12:50 AM
Just to check with you.
Book ticket with Tiger no need to pay any additional Thai airport tax right? i.e. what u pay online is all u need to pay.
Also, Tiger check-in luggage is $10 per pax? Thats ex compared to other budget airlines. (but their tic still cheaper lah)
great22
07-02-2009, 01:41 AM
Just to check with you.
Book ticket with Tiger no need to pay any additional Thai airport tax right? i.e. what u pay online is all u need to pay.
Also, Tiger check-in luggage is $10 per pax? Thats ex compared to other budget airlines. (but their tic still cheaper lah)
Yes, you do not need to pay for the additional 500 baht airport tax. It's all included in the flight fee.
The basic package you get, is only the free 7 kg hand luggage. Then followed by $10 per trip for the standard 15kg main luggage allowance. So if you choose it via online booking, the luggage fee is actually covers for to & return trip (which is $10 x 2= $20).
You can also call their hot-line at least 72 hours prior to departure, to opt for a single trip luggage upsize instead. You may refer to here (http://www.tigerairways.com/sg/en/luggage_upsize.php)for more information.
dennisleu
07-02-2009, 02:28 AM
Suvarnabhumi airport tax is 700B and yes it is already included in the tiger air tix that you paid. in fact, it also includes airport tax of Changi budget terminal. enjoy ur trip.
w3nGaL
07-02-2009, 08:32 AM
frankly speaking i feel tiger is useless. not the seats but the sale of tickets. their hidden cost seems to be more ex. if u shop alot or intend to buy alot, advise not to take tiger cause their target seems to be for those budget passengers whom dont buy alot alot. i calculated the cost (even though the ticket is cheaper) after all the fees etc is actually more ex than jet star (same travelling period). service, seats etc all the same among them i feel so i rather take jetstar. save the hassle. plus jet is at T1. more convenient i feel.
unless really no choice if not i try to stick to jetstar among aoll budget carriers.
travmufc
08-02-2009, 12:10 AM
haha... i agree jetstar is great! just that they only have 2 timings per day.
i have to choose tiger because of its afternoon departure time. plus its cheaper as i just need a one-way ticket.
Thanks for the answers guys!!
travmufc
08-02-2009, 03:20 AM
Oh even pre-seat arrangement must pay $5 more! Is it worth it?
Btw, any knows which seat rows should I avoid to prevent getting blocked by the wing?
veryred
08-02-2009, 03:23 PM
anyways, anyone going bkk soon? i need help buying some stuff!pls pm
halozz
12-02-2009, 03:38 PM
btw guys ive booked not to have any laggauge so didnt pay the extra 10 for 15kg. but if by the date im flying im bringing laggauge, can i pay at the counter then just board?
dennisleu
12-02-2009, 05:03 PM
btw guys ive booked not to have any laggauge so didnt pay the extra 10 for 15kg. but if by the date im flying im bringing laggauge, can i pay at the counter then just board?
can but very expensive.
Tiger @ Suvarnabhumi charges 650B (abt $28+) per checkin luggage.
halozz
12-02-2009, 06:23 PM
can but very expensive.
Tiger @ Suvarnabhumi charges 650B (abt $28+) per checkin luggage.
i mean singapore side. when i checkin at buget terminal say i brought along a luggage... can i pay on the spot 10 dollars?
dennisleu
12-02-2009, 11:01 PM
i mean singapore side. when i checkin at buget terminal say i brought along a luggage... can i pay on the spot 10 dollars?
Of course, you can check-in but the rate is different from online payment.
Electronic payment is cheaper than cash payment at the airport.
I don't know what is the rate at Changi side though.
leogeo
13-02-2009, 12:51 AM
i still think jetstar is the best and cheapest. jetstar all in is $130 only...plus free 20kg bags.
tiger still must pay for baggage...
babyrobo
18-02-2009, 03:54 PM
plus tiger air admin is all craps.. they anyhow change flights siting operational reasons..
groovybass
03-03-2009, 11:22 PM
how about AirAsia? any comment on them?
CameraExport
04-03-2009, 01:31 AM
take airasia if possible..kena once by tiger...scared alr
rollertoaster
05-03-2009, 09:22 AM
air asia charges 100b ($4.30) per check in luggage ; not sure about wt limit.
it is not much (compared to tiger) but the queues at AA check in can be crazy when volumes are high and rather disorganized (they don't seem to have dedicated queues for specific flights). the counters are almost always undermanned too. So allow plenty of time if you are going to pay for luggage at the air port as you will need to queue again to pay the baggage fees at another counter.
IMHO, JETSTAR is best for luggage and Tiger the worst (but has the most flights). AA is somewhere in between.
hungrymons
05-03-2009, 12:35 PM
air asia charges 100b ($4.30) per check in luggage ; not sure about wt limit.
it is not much (compared to tiger) but the queues at AA check in can be crazy when volumes are high and rather disorganized (they don't seem to have dedicated queues for specific flights). the counters are almost always undermanned too. So allow plenty of time if you are going to pay for luggage at the air port as you will need to queue again to pay the baggage fees at another counter.
IMHO, JETSTAR is best for luggage and Tiger the worst (but has the most flights). AA is somewhere in between.
Though Tiger has the most flights, you run the risk of getting your flights cancelled last minute.
I had recently booked a flight with Tiger because their timing was the best among the budget airlines. However, few days later my confirmed flight got cancelled and I was schduled to a later timing. Had I known this earlier, I would have booked with the others airlines since the boarding for other airlines will be at Terminal 1 and I could do some duty-free shopping there. Furthermore, when I called their hotline, the customer service officer told me that the reason for my flight cancellation was because Tiger could not get 'license' for the flight to take off. What crap! No license can advertise and sell meh??!
I also noticed that their $0 fares are all gimmicks!! I booked my $0 SIN-KL flights, thinking that it is the cheapest fare, however, thanks to the flight cancellation, I went back to the website again and was surprised to find out that the same $0 promo was still ongoing (my booking was made supposedly on the last day of the promo). And to add to my disgust, I was shocked to find out that the total fare was even cheaper than what I paid for even when both showed $0!!!!!!!!
~WindzStriker~
05-03-2009, 01:34 PM
Take Jetstar, Tiger arh....
dun wana say much....
from the reviews u know liao
benzdbest
05-03-2009, 02:02 PM
their promo changes everyday. it may seem that you're getting a super good deal but the next day it may be even better. if you actually read the fine print they actually say that all prices is subjected to the terms and conditions of tiger airlines. so they can alter the pricings whenever they want. that's how tiger works. if you aren't satisfied with what they are doing, you could choose others from a various airlines. during the Natas fare, fly by cathay to bangkok is less than 180 bucks. i booked my bangkok trip a month back and I'm leaving on the 11th, i bought my tiger ticket for 120 bucks exclusive of luggage cuz I'm handcarrying. so if you're really in need of saving money, don't choose your seats, don't buy tiger's travel insurance and handcarry your luggage. simple. lol.
SzETo_023
02-06-2009, 02:47 AM
Hey guys... if travelling on the 6th to 9th of july... Jetstar no promo @ 480+ for 2.... Tiger 310 for 2... which one will you guys take.... quite scarded after all the reviews...
webhoster
05-06-2009, 08:29 PM
booked my tiger tic for july 18-15
standard luggare 15 kg+ advanced booking of seat total sum up to $160 nett
i choose tiger cos last time always fly to china always use tiger.
but be careful not to over the limit of luggage weight. . i kena $170+ extra in sg and $2000+ RMB in china before.
SzETo_023
06-06-2009, 02:29 AM
hmm... i just book SQ for my trip when they had a special promotion.... haa
koohansen
06-06-2009, 10:40 AM
Don't be fooled by budget airlines, sometimes they are not the cheapest.
Some budget airline departs from Budget Terminal, lands at budget terminal in some countries, and transportation / hassles.
For those who love shoppings, budget carriers have very limited checked in luggage allowance. If you are unlucky, and kena excess baggage, the excess $$$ top up with your airfare, almost make no difference in taking non budget carriers. International Carriers usually won't mind if you excess 3 - 5 kg of baggage.
Check www.zuji.com.sg / www.airfares.com.sg
Sometimes the very small difference in $ can give you more comfort and flexibility :)
blueodyssey
08-06-2009, 05:33 PM
Don't be fooled by budget airlines, sometimes they are not the cheapest.
Some budget airline departs from Budget Terminal, lands at budget terminal in some countries, and transportation / hassles.
For those who love shoppings, budget carriers have very limited checked in luggage allowance. If you are unlucky, and kena excess baggage, the excess $$$ top up with your airfare, almost make no difference in taking non budget carriers. International Carriers usually won't mind if you excess 3 - 5 kg of baggage.
Check www.zuji.com.sg / www.airfares.com.sg
Sometimes the very small difference in $ can give you more comfort and flexibility :)
Agree man. Budget airlines are usually meant for light travellers.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.