View Full Version : More starhub lag with warhammer online...
Questin
08-02-2009, 01:39 PM
Bukit panjang area right now : Every few seconds everyone will stop moving then accelerate.....
Stupid starhub lag again.
http://i18.photobucket.com/albums/b110/Question2/Traps/RLtrap24.jpg
liangtam
08-02-2009, 01:49 PM
huai no facepalm peekture tis time :s11:
Humster
08-02-2009, 06:22 PM
I have the same problem since 2mths back................
Called then yesterday say will monitor, no reply.
Humster
08-02-2009, 08:14 PM
Called Starhub again~~
CSR say its not SH server fault. And say its the ohter party, AKA, the gamer server problem.
Asked me to contact them (>..................>
Questin
08-02-2009, 10:39 PM
Lol yea its funny how starhub insist problem not with them.
Then my friends on singnet tell me they playing with no lag whatsoever.
nivla
08-02-2009, 11:29 PM
livein redhill....these few days the lag has made in unplayable....30s to 3 mins before response from server...
Humster
09-02-2009, 01:57 AM
livein redhill....these few days the lag has made in unplayable....30s to 3 mins before response from server...
LOL. Mine min is 3mins liao.
I just now broke record. Took about 9mins to respawn in Warcamp.
And another 3mins of moving around a empty map, before I force a restart.
jpopsurfer
09-02-2009, 09:49 AM
Called Starhub again~~
CSR say its not SH server fault. And say its the ohter party, AKA, the gamer server problem.
Asked me to contact them (>..................>
Bull**** from SH sia.. I have been having all this lag spikes since 1-2 weeks ago and it couldn't be the game server cos I don't see any other folks complaining in keeps/rvr.
Anyway.. i switch from SH hub station 2mbps connection to ST 3mbps BB (cos i got hub station and ST BB concurrently since we know both suxs in some way) and its running smoothly now while the ping is not comparable to SH, at least I dun see much lag spikes.
carey
09-02-2009, 11:51 AM
Usual lah - they will blame everyone and everything else...
Besides "monitoring", they are not willing to do anything else, based on my personal experience
zacchie
09-02-2009, 12:10 PM
Guys
Actually action speak louder then words
WE SHOULD all cancel MOL account when they face problem with not enough user then they will wake up their FREAKING idea!!
As for me I cant yet I am TIE down to the FREAKING PLAN, I am also done with MOL once contract up I will go SNBB
remember ACTION SPEAKS no point sending email here and there it will waste your time and they will ignore them too!
nivla
09-02-2009, 05:11 PM
i tried playing this morning 7-9am....lag free and beautiful......is there a viable alt to SH for peak hr? I used ADSL for DAOC several years ago and it was bad.
Here is a thought, just got off the phone with SH and they said they will look into it.
Lets start a list of SH users and add your location and time(s) you cant play. Its not the most scientific and I am not sure if it would help but i give this one more week before going back to ADSL
Name/Location/Timing that cannot play
1) Nivla/Redhill/ 8-12pm
rvf79
09-02-2009, 08:17 PM
i play cabal also lag....
hththt
10-02-2009, 09:35 AM
i tried playing this morning 7-9am....lag free and beautiful......is there a viable alt to SH for peak hr? I used ADSL for DAOC several years ago and it was bad.
Here is a thought, just got off the phone with SH and they said they will look into it.
Lets start a list of SH users and add your location and time(s) you cant play. Its not the most scientific and I am not sure if it would help but i give this one more week before going back to ADSL
Name/Location/Timing that cannot play
1) Nivla/Redhill/ 8-12pm
I read somewhere warhammer is using the same network protocol as BT downloads, hence isps doing more controls over use of BT introduce throttling (make it slower) and packet shaping (to identify BT) to make BT slower. It doesn't help when SH has a lot of subscribers and sharing the fat green pipe during peak hours like 8pm -12mn, weekends etc means fat green pipe filled with fats = slow heart attack. :(
i experimented once when i lag bad in SH even when connected directly to modem (w/o router firewall), i went to try out friend's pacnet connection and lags gone so it's not graphics driver/computer issue.
hopefully SH do something soon or else have to jump ship.
Humster
10-02-2009, 12:17 PM
I read somewhere warhammer is using the same network protocol as BT downloads, hence isps doing more controls over use of BT introduce throttling (make it slower) and packet shaping (to identify BT) to make BT slower. It doesn't help when SH has a lot of subscribers and sharing the fat green pipe during peak hours like 8pm -12mn, weekends etc means fat green pipe filled with fats = slow heart attack. :(
i experimented once when i lag bad in SH even when connected directly to modem (w/o router firewall), i went to try out friend's pacnet connection and lags gone so it's not graphics driver/computer issue.
hopefully SH do something soon or else have to jump ship.
Well, some news.
After I made the call to CSR telling them the game I playing, etc.
Yesterday night, gameplay was quite smooth. Not sure if they actually do traffic shaping.
Probably they remove the Warhammeronline packets from the shape list, or something.
Keeping my fingers cross. Wil know if it actually improved till next week.
hththt
10-02-2009, 01:16 PM
Well, some news.
After I made the call to CSR telling them the game I playing, etc.
Yesterday night, gameplay was quite smooth. Not sure if they actually do traffic shaping.
Probably they remove the Warhammeronline packets from the shape list, or something.
Keeping my fingers cross. Wil know if it actually improved till next week.
Good news then. I've tried it yesterday and it's still lagging. I'll try again tonight and hope it will get better.
rvf79
10-02-2009, 09:10 PM
tonight will be worst
Humster
10-02-2009, 10:43 PM
tonight will be worst
You say liao.
I 10pm kena liao...
Lagspike ..... Still connected to server but just cannot play.
Its like my info cannot be send or receive to the server.
hththt
11-02-2009, 09:34 AM
You say liao.
I 10pm kena liao...
Lagspike ..... Still connected to server but just cannot play.
Its like my info cannot be send or receive to the server.
sianz.. lag lag lag. server reached altdorf but i can't fight properly cept feeding free renoun points. :(
jpopsurfer
11-02-2009, 10:51 AM
sianz.. lag lag lag. server reached altdorf but i can't fight properly cept feeding free renoun points. :(
Ha.. yah man.. same here... wanted to switch to ST BB connection but was wif a guild WB in altdorf so can't disconnect my SHBB connection. But once you exit altdorf, the lag is still manageable.
Just to check with you folks, when u are having network lagspikes, does your screen suffers graphics slideshows jerking effect as well?
hththt
11-02-2009, 01:33 PM
Ha.. yah man.. same here... wanted to switch to ST BB connection but was wif a guild WB in altdorf so can't disconnect my SHBB connection. But once you exit altdorf, the lag is still manageable.
Just to check with you folks, when u are having network lagspikes, does your screen suffers graphics slideshows jerking effect as well?
my recent lags are
1. unresponsive spikes with 1-3s delay (cast spells, hit mobs)
2. screen freezes, everyone disappears and after 2-5 mins later, things start showing up and moving and finally the respawn button is out.
Questin
11-02-2009, 10:01 PM
Constant lag spikes and everyone freezing/dissapearing.
Still happening today.
eastpaw
11-02-2009, 11:10 PM
Just to chime in, I experienced continuous 9 second lag on City of Heroes a couple of weeks ago. It was playing fine for an hour or two, then suddenly I was surrounded by teleporting mobs and players. :p It took 9 seconds (I timed it) for even a chat message to get through. Brilliant. The problem was gone as mysteriously as it had appeared by the next day though. Clarification: Yes, I tried restarting the PC; no, it didn't help. No other computer was logged on to my router and the wireless network was disabled. Surfing was normal. Didn't try downloading. Other players did not have problems.
jpopsurfer
12-02-2009, 09:44 AM
yesterday night after the oceanic server patch, I switched to ST BB, played a scenario and participate in rvr/keep. Was okie, no sudden lagspike. Will try using ST BB tonight for rvr/keep n scenario. Tomorrow will post if I encounter any lagspikes using ST BB.
Humster
12-02-2009, 10:28 AM
my recent lags are
1. unresponsive spikes with 1-3s delay (cast spells, hit mobs)
2. screen freezes, everyone disappears and after 2-5 mins later, things start showing up and moving and finally the respawn button is out.
Mine problem is double yours (-_-lll
Humster
12-02-2009, 10:35 AM
yesterday night after the oceanic server patch, I switched to ST BB, played a scenario and participate in rvr/keep. Was okie, no sudden lagspike. Will try using ST BB tonight for rvr/keep n scenario. Tomorrow will post if I encounter any lagspikes using ST BB.
Nice~~ waiting for your results.
stmoong
12-02-2009, 03:57 PM
Hi, may I know if the Starhub CSR is available during night time since this is the time I play? The game is unplayable at night(8pm to 12am period) for me since last week. 3s to few minutes lag but still connected to the server. I have tried opening certain ports on router, reboot router and reboot PC, but Lag / Desync issue still occur.
adinth
12-02-2009, 09:01 PM
just to chip in too, im a wow player suffering from major lag. in bukit panjang too, and it started only today.
blacklotus
12-02-2009, 11:44 PM
just to chip in too, im a wow player suffering from major lag. in bukit panjang too, and it started only today.
My WOWing lagging since Sunday evening. Already logged a tech call on Monday. No improvement yet. sigh. :s27:
Humster
13-02-2009, 01:45 AM
You know what guys.
I recommand we get our acts toegther and call their CSR at the same damn time and ask for them to monitor our connection. Whenever we get the damn spikes.
I'm sick and tired of them saying......
".............theirs nothing wrong with the starhub servers...."
Humster
13-02-2009, 01:47 AM
My WOWing lagging since Sunday evening. Already logged a tech call on Monday. No improvement yet. sigh. :s27:
A lot of us did like 2 months back.
Nothing happen. Only a few days of improvement then GG (-_-lll
blacklotus
13-02-2009, 01:58 AM
A lot of us did like 2 months back.
Nothing happen. Only a few days of improvement then GG (-_-lll
Same here actually. Problem occurred sometime in Nov 2008.
Issue was resolved around 1 week before CNY 2009. Then this Sun, the problem occurs again. :s27:
I suspect their engineers are messing around with the network. For what purpose, they don't dare or cannot say so publicly. Looks like I have to go check with my ELITE sources liao. :s13:
stmoong
13-02-2009, 09:09 AM
I managed to talk to Starhub CSR last night at 8pm. He told me he is going to refresh the signal for me on their end. This helps for about 1.5 hour, after that, the problem occurs again. I am wondering if they are monitoring and throttling our bandwidth.
I've already written an email to their customer support and waiting for reply. If I don't get any reply soon, I will have to terminate both the Digital Voice Home and Maxonline, and probably look at Singnet as alternative - although this would mean I need to get Singtel to lay a phone line, but if Starhub is not providing the kind of service I expect, then it's just too bad.
Same issues here in sengkang. For the past few nights after playing for an hour or so, after 9pm + the lag spikes hits.
stmoong
13-02-2009, 09:18 AM
I suggest you guys write Starhub (customercare@starhub.com) an email to report this problem so that if enough people write in, they will put this on higher priority and resolve the issue.
jpopsurfer
13-02-2009, 10:17 AM
HI guys,
I played war using ST BB yesterday eveing (7pm-12am+)and I have no so ever lag. No lagspike at all. Smooth sailing in RvR/Scenario in ocenaric server (Darklands) SONG AH..
Anyone using SH BB yesterdae to play war yesterdae? Encounter any lag spikes?
zacchie
13-02-2009, 11:02 AM
Yesterday is the worst for me already send email to them
FREE RR point for them lol
cant do any quest also I WISH I CAN LEAVE STARHUB!! but stupid contract!!!
spying
13-02-2009, 11:43 AM
This damn lag spike started from last week for me.
Previously it only happened once in a awhile everyday, now it is CONSTANT.
The lag started last night ard 8+ all the way until 1am it got SLIGHTLY better.
How to play when i cast 10 heals and the server only registers 2-3 heals i casted?
Plus empty maps suddenly spawning dest all over my body. GG
Havent complain yet, will do so tonight or over the weekend. Otherwise i will terminate.
There's a reason why i do not sign up for their stupid contracts to get bounded by their crap. :s8:
jpopsurfer
13-02-2009, 02:04 PM
I am in a dilemma as well.
have no contract with SH and ST now... Was waiting for which one comes out wif better promo.
But SH freedom 3 in 1 looks gd. $59++ for 3 services is relatively cheap. And I am currently sub to their cabletv as well. My ST BB contract has ended and I am paying a non-promo price now. But given SH intermitten lagspike, I couldn't terminate ST BB.
Worst is to pick ST 1mbps BB.
Humster
13-02-2009, 02:10 PM
Worst is to pick ST 1mbps BB.
Edit:
OOOpppppsss I thought you say SH 1mbps
jpopsurfer
13-02-2009, 02:16 PM
I have a few good buddies that took up the 1mbps BB
Feedback from them.........
Its faster then their former 8mbps.
They also confused.
yea.. prolly not many pple are sub to this since it's relatively low speed. But gd enuff for gaming and small downloads.
But one thing abt ST bb is u need to pay for the damn analogue line unless u takes the 3 in 1 package.. but MIO programme simply suxs..
But I have peers in war who claims pacnet is uber smooth in game. might check pacnet out.
Humster
13-02-2009, 02:18 PM
yea.. prolly not many pple are sub to this since it's relatively low speed. But gd enuff for gaming and small downloads.
But one thing abt ST bb is u need to pay for the damn analogue line unless u takes the 3 in 1 package.. but MIO programme simply suxs..
But I have peers in war who claims pacnet is uber smooth in game. might check pacnet out.
Pacnet have a problem. They don;t have their own lines like Singtel and Starhub.
If I remember correctly, they got theirs from SH. Which means, they are also at the mercy of them.
jpopsurfer
13-02-2009, 02:32 PM
Pacnet have a problem. They don;t have their own lines like Singtel and Starhub.
If I remember correctly, they got theirs from SH. Which means, they are also at the mercy of them.
yah.. i heard so b4.. but the thing is when I was using SH bb last 2 days playing war and lag like grannies panties...my guild mate on pacnet claims he is okie... and he also claims so far all the online games he play hardly encounter lags.. so I guess somehow the routings of the network points are diff. If not else, they allocated fair share of bandwidth for their users.. unlike SH where u, mi, and other outerspace alliens share the same "BIG" "FAT" "Suffocated" straw.
TanKianW
13-02-2009, 02:46 PM
If you wan decent gaming subscribe to Singnet, end of story. Starhub for gaming simply sucks. I pay the fine of 250 bucks a long time back when my online gaming lags like hell from SH to switch. Btw, if you gaming, you should go for the highest plan. Singnet 10Mbps FTW.
AT_HWZ
13-02-2009, 03:00 PM
Same here actually. Problem occurred sometime in Nov 2008.
Issue was resolved around 1 week before CNY 2009. Then this Sun, the problem occurs again. :s27:
I suspect their engineers are messing around with the network. For what purpose, they don't dare or cannot say so publicly. Looks like I have to go check with my ELITE sources liao. :s13:
I can give you the actual date when all these begin - October 21, 2008.
liangtam
13-02-2009, 03:02 PM
All NEW 10mbps subscriber will regret if signing it for gaming purpose :)
jpopsurfer
13-02-2009, 03:02 PM
If you wan decent gaming subscribe to Singnet, end of story. Starhub for gaming simply sucks. I pay the fine of 250 bucks a long time back when my online gaming lags like hell from SH to switch. Btw, if you gaming, you should go for the highest plan. Singnet 10Mbps FTW.
true.. singnet is more stable. But I dun tink high dl speed = better ping or connection rite? for gaming purposes (end users), 512kbps is already suff.
TanKianW
13-02-2009, 03:15 PM
true.. singnet is more stable. But I dun tink high dl speed = better ping or connection rite? for gaming purposes (end users), 512kbps is already suff.
hahaha....that's what you do not know. If you are singnet....which one better customer? :D
jpopsurfer
13-02-2009, 03:47 PM
hahaha....that's what you do not know. If you are singnet....which one better customer? :D
wa piang... like tat win liao....
Humster
13-02-2009, 05:59 PM
4pm-5.30pm WAR is ok.
Will test out starting from 6pm.
Humster
14-02-2009, 12:59 AM
Well played from 7.30pm to around 1am.
Lag is ok. Even at massive Orvr. Ironclaw's order finally returned!!
But after around 9.25pm, there are intermitted lag, with freeze screen lasting around 3-9secs.
Tomorrow will be the Acid test.
Questin
14-02-2009, 12:55 PM
Last night, constant freezes and lag spikes as usual. Was stuck outside the keep for 3+ minutes, nobody on screen, no text updating, etc, etc....
Humster
14-02-2009, 05:34 PM
Last night, constant freezes and lag spikes as usual. Was stuck outside the keep for 3+ minutes, nobody on screen, no text updating, etc, etc....
You called CSR telling them you have trouble with WAR?
adinth
14-02-2009, 10:34 PM
I just called starhub and complain to them about my WoW, and made me send them traceroute and !@#$ like that, but i don't think this is over. this crap is like happening to west and east side of singapore all over.
spinelli
14-02-2009, 10:38 PM
not playing WAR but playing some online game, whose server is in taiwan.
farking hell!the last 2 weeks were terrible!!lag till very jialat and kept DC from the game.just did a speedtest, DL is only 883 kpbs!!!
stmoong
14-02-2009, 11:43 PM
So, is SingNet better for gaming, or do they have some plan that specifically tailored for gamers?
AT_HWZ
14-02-2009, 11:47 PM
As of now, my connection to overseas are VERY SLOW until you see broken image links! Have been like this for the past five nites liao! Give up man!
Humster
15-02-2009, 01:20 AM
Something is very wrong........
And they are telling us nothing :(
stmoong
15-02-2009, 01:32 AM
Problem worsen for me now, getting disconnected from server. I played on US Red Eye Mountain. Was there cable getting cut or something?
Jamesykl
15-02-2009, 02:09 PM
This means that their fat green pipe is choked. SH have to pump in more money from its own pocket to buy more bandwidth for its subscribers during time of economic downturn. :D
kinalvin
15-02-2009, 02:52 PM
I also lag like F.... Using SH... Couple of time cant even connect to server. At time, logged in then kena kicked out.
Tried Drivers reinstall, portforwarding, you name it i done it.. Still sucks...
Strangely, it only haappen recently. I started WAR since day 1 no issues, even 3 PCs running WAR at the same time also slight lag but not as bad as now...
By the way, im in Yishun Area, anyone from here got the same prob??
AT_HWZ
15-02-2009, 03:18 PM
Which part of U.S. servers you guys connect to? What's the minimum bandwidth speed required?
For me, I just go to speedtest.net and check the speed to whatever U.S. server I wanna connect to. As of writing, my connection to SF server is below 800kbps!!! Pretty much cannot do any internet stuff that requires more bandwidth.
Just received a mail from SH's helpdesk which requested for the following information so that they can check.
With regard to your slow gaming issue, we would appreciate it if you could provide us the following information so that our engineers could investigate and advice further.
1. HFC MAC ID (found at the barcode sticker on the cable modem) :
2. Cable modem light status :
3. When did the problem start and what time the problem would occur most likely:
4. Operating system (OS version / Service Pack):
5. Firewall, anti-virus, peer-to-peer software running in your PC.
(Please include vendor and version) :
6. Can the problem be resolved when PC directly connected to cable modem (bypass router):
7. Any P2P software running on your PC :
8. Port number (using Netstat) and IP address of the site/server that is having latency (Please refer to the attachment "Netstat.txt") 9. Test account userID and password (if any) :
10. Game server admin's contact number or email :
11. Game Name :
12. CPU Speed and Ram :
13. Graphics Card model and Ram :
14. Game graphics settings (eg resolutions, quality of graphics, any anti-aliasing etc) :
15. Hard-disk RPM and amount of free space :
16. Any program running in the background when playing the game :
17. Please connect your cable modem directly to the computer, bypassing any router when performing the following tests. 3 x Download speed, ping statistic, traceroute to the game server/website you experience slow access, pathping, IP configuration detail. (Refer to Utilities.txt for the guide to obtain the information from our
website)
18. Ingame Latency : :
19. Please provide us with screenshots of memory usage and processes running, during game latency. (Refer to task.txt)
If you have any questions on StarHub MaxOnline services, please email to this address helpdesk@starhub.com or fax in to 6725 1603.
Thank you
Perhaps all facing the problem can spam them together so that they can start clearing the choked pipes (although i got a feeling they are going to say its a problem with WAR servers) :s13:
Questin
15-02-2009, 03:59 PM
At this moment all my text is at least 5 minutes behind.....this is ridiculous now.
Sent email to their helpdesk, no reply...
Called hotline, they just insisted that they cant do anything, etc, etc...
Lame lar.
Questin
15-02-2009, 04:15 PM
At this moment all my text is at least 5 minutes behind.....this is ridiculous now.
Sent email to their helpdesk, no reply...
Called hotline, they just insisted that they cant do anything, etc, etc...
Lame lar.
stmoong
15-02-2009, 05:11 PM
They must have implemented some policies on their end recently, because this problem only happens about 2-3 weeks ago for me.
Now, my Digital Voice also can get breakage.
Is it cannot watch SCV, use broadband and the phone at the same time?
stmoong
15-02-2009, 05:33 PM
Ok, just received a call from Starhhub, probably from technical department. Said gonna troubleshoot with me at 8pm tonight, so will wait and see.
spinelli
15-02-2009, 09:59 PM
looks we most of us started having the same problem around the same period.
fark,last night i went google search sth like 4am in the morning,can log!!!
just called their tech line,no one answer,well done
mozaat
16-02-2009, 01:06 AM
I am very unhappy with starhub regarding connection issue.
I am on the max 100mbps plan. When I use the speedtest website to ping test Singapore, result is always good. But connection to overseas seems sucks? I use giganews usenet and i used to get 2-3000 KB/s download speed but for past 1month or so, I have been getiing 4-500KB/s max every eveming.
So when pingtest with good result, is starhub trying to con me without revealing to the public why connctio0n to oversea servers so slow?
Moz
Questin
16-02-2009, 01:19 AM
Trying to fight in the seige of altdorf tonight was just silly with the insane lag.
Keep spamming their emails and hotline with reports of this issue....emphasize that we will jump ship to Singnet if this problem is not resolved.
Maybe the sheer volume will get them to do something.
Humster
16-02-2009, 11:24 AM
Just received a mail from SH's helpdesk which requested for the following information so that they can check.
With regard to your slow gaming issue, we would appreciate it if you could provide us the following information so that our engineers could investigate and advice further.
1. HFC MAC ID (found at the barcode sticker on the cable modem) :
2. Cable modem light status :
3. When did the problem start and what time the problem would occur most likely:
4. Operating system (OS version / Service Pack):
5. Firewall, anti-virus, peer-to-peer software running in your PC.
(Please include vendor and version) :
6. Can the problem be resolved when PC directly connected to cable modem (bypass router):
7. Any P2P software running on your PC :
8. Port number (using Netstat) and IP address of the site/server that is having latency (Please refer to the attachment "Netstat.txt") 9. Test account userID and password (if any) :
10. Game server admin's contact number or email :
11. Game Name :
12. CPU Speed and Ram :
13. Graphics Card model and Ram :
14. Game graphics settings (eg resolutions, quality of graphics, any anti-aliasing etc) :
15. Hard-disk RPM and amount of free space :
16. Any program running in the background when playing the game :
17. Please connect your cable modem directly to the computer, bypassing any router when performing the following tests. 3 x Download speed, ping statistic, traceroute to the game server/website you experience slow access, pathping, IP configuration detail. (Refer to Utilities.txt for the guide to obtain the information from our
website)
18. Ingame Latency : :
19. Please provide us with screenshots of memory usage and processes running, during game latency. (Refer to task.txt)
If you have any questions on StarHub MaxOnline services, please email to this address helpdesk@starhub.com or fax in to 6725 1603.
Thank you
Perhaps all facing the problem can spam them together so that they can start clearing the choked pipes (although i got a feeling they are going to say its a problem with WAR servers) :s13:
(-_-lll they came out with the list just to make us go away.
Question 5,7, 16 can all combine in 1 question.
17 and 18 are the same
liangtam
16-02-2009, 02:35 PM
You don't provide enough detail how to even troubleshoot(provided they really start investigate their problems)
But then again, you don't run the server and hence there is no way for you to know if the server itself is having problem and hence lag caused by the server itself, aka in-game lag.
AT_HWZ
16-02-2009, 04:38 PM
Okay, I discovered something!
SH is CAPPING video streaming from overseas.
It doesn't matter whatever bandwidth speed I get overseas but with my tests, I can pretty conclude my statement above. Now I know why YouTube and whatever legit video streaming sites have stuttering video streams. Of course, the low bandwidth speed to overseas resulted in slow surfing, downloading and whatever disruption you guys are experiencing too. I will have to take my tests to ST connection when I can. Honestly, I'm shocked by my own findings.
hththt
16-02-2009, 05:35 PM
It doesn't matter whatever bandwidth speed I get overseas but with my tests, I can pretty conclude my statement above. Now I know why YouTube and whatever legit video streaming sites have stuttering video streams. Of course, the low bandwidth speed to overseas resulted in slow surfing, downloading and whatever disruption you guys are experiencing too. I will have to take my tests to ST connection when I can. Honestly, I'm shocked by my own findings.
tried the free tools to verify throttling?
http://www.measurementlab.net/measurement-lab-tools
liangtam
16-02-2009, 05:36 PM
Oh noes...
Veoh and youtube host their content on llnw and google CDN servers.
If you have not realise yet, video feeds are from local servers depending on whether u have been assigned CDN for particular videos.
I wonder if you're doing conclusion of testing in good faith or not.
AT_HWZ
16-02-2009, 06:09 PM
Oh noes...
Veoh and youtube host their content on llnw and google CDN servers.
If you have not realise yet, video feeds are from local servers depending on whether u have been assigned CDN for particular videos.
I wonder if you're doing conclusion of testing in good faith or not.
My tests don't involve CDN servers. Yes, I know what CDN is.
I understand many factors can slow down internet speed. Regulations (by ISPs) are the biggest culprits. If you're such a guru, you should know by now. Regulations don't mean just censorship. Maximising profit is one too. Need to test on ST before I make the switch. If ST is doing the same thing, no point for me to lock myself to a 24-month contract.
AT_HWZ
16-02-2009, 06:18 PM
tried the free tools to verify throttling?
http://www.measurementlab.net/measurement-lab-tools
Sometimes the most basic method or logic is good enuff. Online network tools don't necessary give you accurate or true results.
liangtam
16-02-2009, 06:35 PM
My tests don't involve CDN servers. Yes, I know what CDN is.
I understand many factors can slow down internet speed. Regulations (by ISPs) are the biggest culprits. If you're such a guru, you should know by now. Regulations don't mean just censorship. Maximising profit is one too. Need to test on ST before I make the switch. If ST is doing the same thing, no point for me to lock myself to a 24-month contract.
Your regulation here refers more specifically to traffic shaping right?
Since the early days, simple forms of QoS aka traffic shaping has already been in place, its just that the advent demand resulted in the technology to be more complexed and advanced. What you're stating here is hence something that has always been underlying obvious, since any traffic that passes are all results of the devised configuration. Censorship is null since it was never in the picture to begin with.
As mentioned to you previously, the speed of a single based TCP connection is based on the optimal forward rate possible with less packet drops due to overloaded router memory. Longer latency means slower rate per TCP connection. Hence parallel downloading has always been used and effective in speeding up download rate.
If your suggestion is that Starhub truly wans to cap xxx traffic, they can simple shape your total b/w transfer to Y value. Obviously, this is not the case when the emphasis has always been BIG FAT, which is why one-size-does-not-fits-all, obviously to say, downloads is always best achieved with Starhub.
IF you have not realise the software called, speedbit video accelerator, you should take a look.
There IS a reason why SingNet is good for surfing & gaming, while Starhub is good for downloads, you know?
That said, since lower latency as always been desired, b/w per TCP is higher(hence faster video loading with SingNet). Do remember one-size-does-not-fits-all, hence u have to make your choice well!
Quadcore
16-02-2009, 07:33 PM
starhub is hiding something
AT_HWZ
16-02-2009, 07:37 PM
Your regulation here refers more specifically to traffic shaping right?
IF you have not realise the software called, speedbit video accelerator, you should take a look.
There IS a reason why SingNet is good for surfing & gaming, while Starhub is good for downloads, you know?
That said, since lower latency as always been desired, b/w per TCP is higher(hence faster video loading with SingNet). Do remember one-size-does-not-fits-all, hence u have to make your choice well!
Regulations in a broader sense. Go figure.
Software? Pay and pay?
This I totally agree with you. Goddamnit! My tests proved this point of you-win-some-you-lose-some. It's either I choose one or have both which will cost me $$$. Can I have good surfing and download? Sorrie, I don't game.
spinelli
16-02-2009, 07:47 PM
can i ask a silly question. if im not using router, i shouldnt bother with the listening ports etc right?cos just scanned my ports,in case my por to the game is blocked or something. its weird becos there's 3 indication in-game wrt to the speed.
blue-good
yellow-slightly lag
red-lagging
its keeps on changing colours
liangtam
16-02-2009, 07:49 PM
Regulations in a broader sense. Go figure.
Just knew it, I know what you would have inferred next, haha :D
Software? Pay and pay?
Its free, mind you. tsk tsk........
]This I totally agree with you. Goddamnit! My tests proved this point of you-win-some-you-lose-some. It's either I choose one or have both which will cost me $$$. Can I have good surfing and download? Sorrie, I don't game.
I always see u wrote i lose all wor, so what did you win, mind me asking?
Answer is obvious, get both. There are a few ibnc members utilizing two connections. One for x, the other for y :)
liangtam
16-02-2009, 07:50 PM
can i ask a silly question. if im not using router, i shouldnt bother with the listening ports etc right?cos just scanned my ports,in case my por to the game is blocked or something. its weird becos there's 3 indication in-game wrt to the speed.
blue-good
yellow-slightly lag
red-lagging
its keeps on changing colours
see ur firewall.
the colour indication refers exactly with regards to speed OR latency?
Speed is always a quick bluff by the marketing team to make u pay more.
AT_HWZ
16-02-2009, 07:57 PM
I always see u wrote i lose all wor, so what did you win, mind me asking?
Answer is obvious, get both. There are a few ibnc members utilizing two connections. One for x, the other for y :)
Alamak. "you-win-some-you-lose-some" is referring to choice of ISPs. Not you and me over whatever. Get both? Looking at my empty wallet.:D
spinelli
16-02-2009, 07:58 PM
see ur firewall.
the colour indication refers exactly with regards to speed OR latency?
Speed is always a quick bluff by the marketing team to make u pay more.
i off-ed my firewall.and the colour theory dont work i dont pay for the game
Questin
17-02-2009, 09:40 PM
Still laggy as hell here, starhub still trying to smoke me via copy pasted email response, asking me for hardware specs LOL.
spinelli
17-02-2009, 09:58 PM
just wonder,what affects the pings??i got damn high pings to taiwan,like 75??!!
Obviouz
17-02-2009, 10:17 PM
Say so much... SINGNET FTW~~~~ <3 even my dad's office 1mbps singnet connection is so much better than my 12mbps starhub shlt. LOL. at least it doesn't laglaglag when i'm surfing. :o
liangtam
17-02-2009, 11:03 PM
i off-ed my firewall.and the colour theory dont work i dont pay for the game
:s11::s11:
just wonder,what affects the pings??i got damn high pings to taiwan,like 75??!!
75 to tw n u consider high :s11:
Say so much... SINGNET FTW~~~~ <3 even my dad's office 1mbps singnet connection is so much better than my 12mbps starhub shlt. LOL. at least it doesn't laglaglag when i'm surfing. :o
office connection leh, $$$
Ok, just received a call from Starhhub, probably from technical department. Said gonna troubleshoot with me at 8pm tonight, so will wait and see.
Any outcome after the troubleshooting?
Questin
19-02-2009, 12:18 AM
Still ****ing laggy. Fort seige tonight was unbelivable, my text was minutes late behind realtime. Anyone i was trying to attack was long dead.
hththt
19-02-2009, 09:31 AM
Still ****ing laggy. Fort seige tonight was unbelivable, my text was minutes late behind realtime. Anyone i was trying to attack was long dead.
quite disappointing. :(
waiting for the IT show in march to jump ship.
stmoong
19-02-2009, 05:36 PM
Any outcome after the troubleshooting?
None yet. I need to download a tool from their site to get the trace route. But last night, I noticed it's slightly faster, but still not smooth as it used to be.
So tonight need to try again.
Humster
22-02-2009, 07:18 PM
Latest update:
After a week of OK, connection.
The problem is back again..... exactlly 7days (-_-lll
Like got timer one...
stmoong
22-02-2009, 10:16 PM
Well, I did a test on Saturday. Brought my PC to my friend's place and tested on his Singnet Broadband. No lag. Went back home and tested, a little bit of lag (2-3s cast lag).
Sunday night, tested keep raid and open rvr at home. Situation went back to the usual lag (2-3 min). This would be like casting a spell and then after 2-3 min, the spell would fire off.
Sent an email to starhub customer care with ping and traceroute result (from ping and tracert command line tools), only to have CSR called and asked to use the utilities.starhub.com tool, which gave exactly the same result as what i just sent. :look:
I dunno man, I have to wait till 29 October to switch to Singnet, or I can pay $360 to end the contract. I got to give them props for the customer support, at least they try, however, the connection does not seem to be good for gaming or streaming in general (eg. youtube), and is more expensive than similar plan for Singnet.
Humster
25-02-2009, 01:00 PM
Well, I did a test on Saturday. Brought my PC to my friend's place and tested on his Singnet Broadband. No lag. Went back home and tested, a little bit of lag (2-3s cast lag).
Sunday night, tested keep raid and open rvr at home. Situation went back to the usual lag (2-3 min). This would be like casting a spell and then after 2-3 min, the spell would fire off.
Sent an email to starhub customer care with ping and traceroute result (from ping and tracert command line tools), only to have CSR called and asked to use the utilities.starhub.com tool, which gave exactly the same result as what i just sent. :look:
I dunno man, I have to wait till 29 October to switch to Singnet, or I can pay $360 to end the contract. I got to give them props for the customer support, at least they try, however, the connection does not seem to be good for gaming or streaming in general (eg. youtube), and is more expensive than similar plan for Singnet.
Dude, any replies from SH? Or they got back to you??
MunkyCrap
25-02-2009, 01:30 PM
waa...so i am not the only 1....i get lag spike with everyone disappearing from my screen suddenly and then they appear only like 5 min later..cant go instance with my friends at all...
sometime also get kicked to char select screen and only manage to get in after being kicked out again for 4-5 time.
Thought it was my graphic card dying on me as when my friends disappear, i keep jumping and moving and they say they are able to see me moving in game and jumping realtime which means its not my internet..but on my side i see no one but myself..
are u all having the same problem?
Ironclaw - Destruction player here. Lagging all day since 2 weeks ago.
gheybb
25-02-2009, 07:00 PM
yesh it ish rike that since few weeks back... they also bo chup..
IIRedsunsII
26-02-2009, 09:51 AM
is Starhub really that bad for Warhammer now? I just came back to warhammer and thinking to go starhub after my singnet contract ends this april. Starhub was really good at that time when i quit warhammer. 100++ms ping to oceanic. But now i see everyone complaining...:(.
is this currently a widespread problem for Starhub warhammer player? Anyone with no problem at all? Really sad to see there is not a single ISP good for Warhammer. We got an oceanic server but no ISP can provide a decent connection. pathetic..
jpopsurfer
26-02-2009, 01:20 PM
is Starhub really that bad for Warhammer now? I just came back to warhammer and thinking to go starhub after my singnet contract ends this april. Starhub was really good at that time when i quit warhammer. 100++ms ping to oceanic. But now i see everyone complaining...:(.
is this currently a widespread problem for Starhub warhammer player? Anyone with no problem at all? Really sad to see there is not a single ISP good for Warhammer. We got an oceanic server but no ISP can provide a decent connection. pathetic..
err..no more 100ms ping now.. 200+ms average plus intermitten lagspike. I would say singnet is more stable.. while the ping is 300ms+. At least u dun encounter lagspike.
Questin
27-02-2009, 06:11 PM
Well hows singnet's normal lag for you guys?
asswor
28-02-2009, 08:55 AM
i am already getting 40+ms ping to local singapore servers...
IIRedsunsII
28-02-2009, 09:54 AM
Well hows singnet's normal lag for you guys?
Its sufficient to play a range class. I play an engineer. So far alright. Dunno about melee classes, will know when i get to play the slayer.
LastDance
28-02-2009, 01:19 PM
WOW! Guess I not alone. Currently on MOL Express connected via router. Was considering to get a Hubstation to get direct connection.
Problem similar like u guys. Lag spikes and skills taking longer to cast, go off etc. And while running with the zerg, others will stop and suddenly teleport in front of me.
So I guess we're ****ed with no solutions from them?
Humster
01-03-2009, 03:26 PM
The funny thing is, when the game is launched, for 2 mths I never encounter such problems....
Now, the in same situation,(massive orvr, doing simple quest or PvE) it lags like hell.
Like I lost connection or something.
stmoong
01-03-2009, 09:46 PM
No reply from Starhub. I suspect they cannot do anything on their end due to the infrastructure. So I guess, I will not recontract when it ends in October.
Only thing I want to verify is, do Singnet users have similar problem as us Starhub users?
The funny thing is I do a tracert to the game server, no problem. But sometimes when I zone, I get kicked out to the character selection screen, and have to quit to desktop because the server cannot authenticate or something.
I have the same problems as you guys, NPCs will disappear. Funny thing was I was at keep defence with my guildies and other players, they had finished the fight, but I can't do anything. Then about five minutes, I see all the action, like a video recorder play back the fight scene. It's annoying.
IIRedsunsII
01-03-2009, 11:43 PM
Only thing I want to verify is, do Singnet users have similar problem as us Starhub users?
i can tell you that there won't be npc/players teleporting around or game freeze for Singnet. The gameplay is smooth. Singnet has higher latency for warhammer than SH but not to the point of making pve or pvp a frustration. I enjoyed playing my engineer alot kiting melee classes with no issue. Melee combat seems to be pretty ok as well. The game response is quite satisfactory. Overall i would say if Starhub is really that bad for you, Singnet is your choice for WAR. :)
Humster
02-03-2009, 01:17 AM
No reply from Starhub. I suspect they cannot do anything on their end due to the infrastructure. So I guess, I will not recontract when it ends in October.
The funny thing is I do a tracert to the game server, no problem. But sometimes when I zone, I get kicked out to the character selection screen, and have to quit to desktop because the server cannot authenticate or something.
I have the same problems as you guys, NPCs will disappear. Funny thing was I was at keep defence with my guildies and other players, they had finished the fight, but I can't do anything. Then about five minutes, I see all the action, like a video recorder play back the fight scene. It's annoying.
Dude give them a call. And ask for their findings pls :(
AngelLover
02-03-2009, 02:53 PM
singnet kick ass for WAR. im only using 1Mbps and it run pretty smooth for normal instances already, not mentioning fort assaults :look:
WAR subscibers might wanna check out singnet plans instead :D
dawngold17
02-03-2009, 03:21 PM
i was on facebook these few days and realise that it really lag big time. i dun know wat is wrong as some pgs, icons can be seen but others, cannot. so frustrating.
this only happens these few days, last week was still ok.
anyone can help me? is it my linksys or SH MOL?
tinydot
02-03-2009, 03:27 PM
i was on facebook these few days and realise that it really lag big time. i dun know wat is wrong as some pgs, icons can be seen but others, cannot. so frustrating.
this only happens these few days, last week was still ok.
anyone can help me? is it my linksys or SH MOL?
i tink is MOL, i'm oso facing facebook lag from SH..zzzz
Humster
03-03-2009, 11:40 AM
Ok guys I switched to OpenDNS..
Yesterday night, bloody smooth.
Need players to have test out see if it really work or it just me imaginating.
LastDance
03-03-2009, 07:50 PM
How to do that?
phuque99
03-03-2009, 08:20 PM
The game only need to lookup DNS once to find where the server is and make connection via IP address. Once that IP addressed is obtained, your client will be constantly connected, requiring no further lookup until you disconnect from the game.
Unless I'm wrong about your game behaviour but all online games rely on persistent TCP connection right? Thus if OpenDNS were faster, it would be faster on initial connection only?
Humster
03-03-2009, 10:19 PM
The game only need to lookup DNS once to find where the server is and make connection via IP address. Once that IP addressed is obtained, your client will be constantly connected, requiring no further lookup until you disconnect from the game.
Unless I'm wrong about your game behaviour but all online games rely on persistent TCP connection right? Thus if OpenDNS were faster, it would be faster on initial connection only?
Thats what I was thinking about too. I didn;t use OpenDNS till yesterday. But the crappy lagfest is too great so I tried it.
And it works. Odd if you tell me. But if it works, it works.
Dunno why, maybe its due to the fact WAR uses BT like methods to transfer data. Need some network pros to help explain (>....>lll
Humster
03-03-2009, 10:20 PM
How to do that?
You on wireless router?
http://www.opendns.com/ <--- I went here.
ieast
04-03-2009, 03:16 AM
I'm on 3mb SNBB, warhammer is smooth RvR and capital siege, when playing on dark crag when there's lagging, the US based players experience the same thing too so the problem is more on US side. On darklands is fine.
Before I wanted to jump over to SH as my contract was ending and I was ezperiencing lagging in RvR, I thot is SNBB......But then I bought a new comp quadcore/9800gt/4gb no more problem.
So I decided to stay with SNBB.
I know it is very frus to play when lagging and spiking.....u die
Fun when your opponent is lagging....u kill them...win button:s13:
stmoong
07-03-2009, 10:23 PM
Call the CSR, said want me to send them the traceroute, so I did it from the website.
Tried OpenDNS, good for websites surfing, not much improvement on Warhammer. Pretty much screwed during RvR. :frus:
liangtam
07-03-2009, 11:25 PM
dns is only for resolving domain to IP addr, it cant speed up anything.
stmoong
08-03-2009, 06:33 PM
Well, CSR called me back and told me to send them more information for troubleshooting, like which realm I'm connecting to. I'm assuming they want to know the server name coz' realm in Warhammer = Order or Destruction, which obviously does not make any difference to the connection.
I will send them more traceroute information and the realm information when the problem occurs. Hopefully it will help them to help me resolve the problem.
It's not even lagging, like your spell firing off 3s later. It's actually freezing the flow of the game to the point of not playable. The game is still responding, you can run around, look at things, but not able to do anything, and the next thing you know, you're dead. :frus:
Humster
09-03-2009, 12:16 PM
Odd... Seriously. I set my router back to default, everything goes to hell again.
But add OpenDNS, back to playable.
Totally confused now.. Anyone got an answer?
phuque99
09-03-2009, 12:33 PM
unless warhammer uses udp or something or the tcp connection is re-established all the time. that plus a very low ttl on the server ip may explain this opendns thingy.
either way just use what makes your game works lah. importantly you must be happy with joy and laughter.
Questin
10-03-2009, 01:13 AM
Starhub CSRs still completely ignoring my email. I really want to jump ship to singnet now, but i think my contract still havent expired.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.