PDA

View Full Version : Comtrend Powerline Ethernet Adapter PowerGrid902

efyap
09-02-2009, 07:51 PM
Hi everyone, I recently converted to mio. As my mio hub is on the study room (3rd floor) whereas my TV (for mio) is on the 2nd floor, they installed the Comtrend Powerline Ethernet Adapter PowerGrid902 for me instead of extending a very long cable from 3rd floor to 2nd floor.

It's really great. So in my excitement, I forgot to ask the SingTel staff who installed the mio hub if I can buy more adapters as it's a lot faster as compared to wireless network.

Anyone knows if I can call SingTel to buy more units of the adapter or I can find this in SLS or Funan or anywhere in SG? Thanks!

Francis85
09-02-2009, 09:24 PM
Hi everyone, I recently converted to mio. As my mio hub is on the study room (3rd floor) whereas my TV (for mio) is on the 2nd floor, they installed the Comtrend Powerline Ethernet Adapter PowerGrid902 for me instead of extending a very long cable from 3rd floor to 2nd floor.

It's really great. So in my excitement, I forgot to ask the SingTel staff who installed the mio hub if I can buy more adapters as it's a lot faster as compared to wireless network.

Anyone knows if I can call SingTel to buy more units of the adapter or I can find this in SLS or Funan or anywhere in SG? Thanks!

That's a new thing from singnet, promo price of 53.50 for first pair........ second pair will cause you 200++........

liangtam
09-02-2009, 10:16 PM
Never heard of this brand before

seowbin
09-02-2009, 10:49 PM
must be some singtel partner bring in to Singapore one den trying to push the product lor :s13:

alanchia67
09-02-2009, 11:24 PM
woa, i also dono this powerline adapter.

http://www.comtrend.com/na/links/47$product.htm

edit:
intellon (and thus aztech) is a partner of Homeplug Power Alliance.
comtrend and netgear are partners of Universal Powerline Association. So perhaps can buy netgear powerline adapters to expand in future. please check netgear website for product compatility.

efyap
10-02-2009, 02:07 AM
That's a new thing from singnet, promo price of 53.50 for first pair........ second pair will cause you 200++........

If 200++ for a pair, price will be very similar to Aztech Homeplug. But dun think Aztech is compatible. sigh.. tot SingTel got lobang. Thanks for the info. You checked with SingTel on this before?

efyap
10-02-2009, 02:07 AM
woa, i also dono this powerline adapter.

http://www.comtrend.com/na/links/47$product.htm

edit:
intellon (and thus aztech) is a partner of Homeplug Power Alliance.
comtrend and netgear are partners of Universal Powerline Association. So perhaps can buy netgear powerline adapters to expand in future. please check netgear website for product compatility.

Thanks. Will go and check it out.

Shadow_R
11-02-2009, 02:23 PM
200++ per pair seems expensive based on current market prices? I think other brands now below 180... but first pair for 53.50 is cheap...

alanchia67
11-02-2009, 04:46 PM
$53 is cheap as this is subsidized by singnet.

Francis85
11-02-2009, 06:07 PM
If 200++ for a pair, price will be very similar to Aztech Homeplug. But dun think Aztech is compatible. sigh.. tot SingTel got lobang. Thanks for the info. You checked with SingTel on this before?

Can said that I got my sources.......... But if trip the thing can get blown.......

themarxx
31-03-2009, 09:40 AM
I have a pair of Aztech homeplugs and a pair of comtrend homeplugs. When I tried using both sets simultaneously, the connection through the Aztech failed.

kimyong
31-03-2009, 11:13 AM
Check out the following for a list of UPA-compliant plugs.. May not be very updated..

UPA PRODUCTS (http://www.upaplc.org/page_viewer.asp?section=UPA+Products&sid=17)

No Aztech and Shiro.. :s8:

liangtam
31-03-2009, 01:51 PM
Read other thread please!
The Aztech and comtrends are NOT compatible due to different powerline standards