View Full Version : Stuck in Singnet 24mths 1mbps plan @$36
alvchua
09-02-2009, 10:32 PM
Hi all,
I subscribed to a 1mbps Singnet plan promotion about 16 months ago, they gave an ipod nano on a 24mth contract that costs $36 per month. In today's environment, this is quite expensive considering you can get a 8mbps plan for $37.
Would like to ask if anyone has success getting Singnet to reduce the price or at least upgrading the bandwidth? Could you advice how you did it? Thank you.
Best regards,
Alvin
liangtam
09-02-2009, 10:47 PM
you think the ipod nano is indeed free meh?
alex22
09-02-2009, 11:34 PM
thanks for subsidizing SNBB bottom line...
never take their freebies... the hook too big
gundamz
10-02-2009, 12:48 AM
Alvin, just bear with it.
There is nothing you can do..
Obviouz
10-02-2009, 12:52 AM
nothing u can do.
markBM
10-02-2009, 01:04 AM
Hi all,
I subscribed to a 1mbps Singnet plan promotion about 16 months ago, they gave an ipod nano on a 24mth contract that costs $36 per month. In today's environment, this is quite expensive considering you can get a 8mbps plan for $37.
Would like to ask if anyone has success getting Singnet to reduce the price or at least upgrading the bandwidth? Could you advice how you did it? Thank you.
Best regards,
Alvin
I love your thoughts
Keep it up babe
ohmygod1986
10-02-2009, 08:04 AM
you already sign the contract ....
:(
sHrike
10-02-2009, 08:10 AM
there is no free lunch in this world....
but my motto still stands...you get what you pay for.
the high cost of the 1Mbps plan is to cover the cost of the nano and erm..also profit la...
think!
Mclairs83
10-02-2009, 08:37 AM
Hi all,
Best regards,
Alvin
y not u try n let us noe? there is no free lunch in the world dude.
deskoh91
10-02-2009, 09:38 AM
yes, you are paying for the iPod Nano in instalments, and then some. that explains the price. and since you agreed to be bound by its conditions for 24 months when you signed it, the best respite you can get is at the 21st month, you can sign a new contract already.
pills
10-02-2009, 10:00 AM
it's only 8 more mths to go. bear with it.
or u can try asking them whether you can sign up for their promo and extend your contract but i think it's unlikely they'll budge.
misato
10-02-2009, 10:21 AM
Then again.. if you are happy using the 1mbps service... then changing to the 8mbps wont make any difference... so you won't really be "short changed".
goenitz33
10-02-2009, 10:40 AM
5 mths more and u can recontract le
so relax :)
crazyliao
10-02-2009, 03:03 PM
Ya, just 5 mths more.....me still got 7 mths to go....but i will wait....
weibchen
10-02-2009, 03:08 PM
hehe another sucker for freebies.
welcome to reality babe.
celestial517
10-02-2009, 03:13 PM
is the current offer worth it? 8mbps at $37.
im using 8 mbps now. think its 50+ not sure.
advice?
JesusLovesUs
10-02-2009, 03:29 PM
Hey Alvin.
Let's say I lent you 100 singapore dollars today.
And you sign an IOU with me stating that you will return with 5% interest.
10 years later.
You return me the money.
It should be 105 singapore dollars.
Should you be returning me with the old currency rate or new currency rate?
It's contractual based.
You sign a contract,
you stick to it.
It's logic, common sense, or whatever.
Dude.
That's why they call it business.
Stare at the mirror and say
"open your eyes" until you realise something.
gundamz
10-02-2009, 04:25 PM
is the current offer worth it? 8mbps at $37.
im using 8 mbps now. think its 50+ not sure.
advice?
8mbps had been selling around $45-55 /mo for the past 2 years..
so, it is a good deal.
aaur4man
10-02-2009, 08:42 PM
if ur willing to pay more for higher speed, u can sign the mio home plan. it will get u out of ur current plan + 24-30mths new contract.
my gf got out of her $88 10mbps with laptop using this new mio plan.
now she just pays $59 for 10mbps, 10-25% off 3 singtel lines and the normal home telephone line(aka fixed line) altogether.
8mbps just about $52.
otherwise, just pay it through. thats the whole purpose of a contract, to make sure the business stays.
i wanted to sign for mio home but mine still long ways to go :(
alvchua
10-02-2009, 10:18 PM
Hi all, thanks for your comments. I asked for a upgrade but was refused. Actually I vaguely recall a letter from Singnet about auto upgrade to 3mbps sometime back, but they have no record of it....was I dreaming?
Agree Ipod is not a freebie, however, I think I've paid the dues for it over the last 16+ months. What has changed since then is that broadband prices have come down recently, and those of us stuck in contracts have to bear with the costs, despite the fact that we've been supporting Singnet in the past vs. new subscribers. The least Singnet could do for valuing existing customers is a bandwidth auto-upgrade.
Having said that, I think I will continue to be a Singnet subscriber since most ISPs share similar practice, and Singnet's connectivity is decent. I just wish for better consumer protection.
MarineX
10-02-2009, 10:24 PM
Hi all, thanks for your comments. I asked for a upgrade but was refused. Actually I vaguely recall a letter from Singnet about auto upgrade to 3mbps sometime back, but they have no record of it....was I dreaming?
Agree Ipod is not a freebie, however, I think I've paid the dues for it over the last 16+ months. What has changed since then is that broadband prices have come down recently, and those of us stuck in contracts have to bear with the costs, despite the fact that we've been supporting Singnet in the past vs. new subscribers. The least Singnet could do for valuing existing customers is a bandwidth auto-upgrade.
Having said that, I think I will continue to be a Singnet subscriber since most ISPs share similar practice, and Singnet's connectivity is decent. I just wish for better consumer protection.
hahas.. what a joke - consumer protection... who will start a business when they will be losing $. If you like auto-upgrade go get Maxonline. They treat customers equal in terms of bandwidth upgrade. Unlike Singnet.
pkchukiss
14-02-2009, 10:18 AM
Alvin, this isn't about consumer protection. Granted, the practice of 24 month contracts is long, and the price often drops halfway into the contract; however, what you have entered into is a legally binding contract. While you could call Singtel and ask to renegotiate the terms, they are well within their rights to refuse to renegotiate. It doesn't matter what everybody here thinks here, the terms of the contract needs to be carried out until it is discharged.
Odine
14-02-2009, 02:36 PM
I'm sure 16 months nano cost more than what it cost now and 16 months ago the 8mbps cost more than what it is now. Price for IT stuff drop all the time, for locking us up for 24mths we get something in return and in that aspect we agreed to it, taken into consideration of the fact that we will be locked up for 24 mths and have enjoy the benefits given at that time(which we think it is worth it).
So it is really hard to argue that a price drop warrent a change in contract. It is like buying pc over 24 mths on installment and asking them to reduce your installment after the pc price has drop or they increase your plan price when the cost is up/new plans at more ex price?
I'm like you is locked in a 36 months contract with 24 mths to go lol.
xXxiaoJieXx
14-02-2009, 04:19 PM
wah
paying so much arh
nvr pay for freebits
badsector
14-02-2009, 04:29 PM
next time...dun sign with any freebies... they are all so cheap. unless u really need one and wish to pay by installment. no point loh. IT gadget price depreciate so fast.
i signed the 10mbps plan @ $49 without any freebies. juz a free modem(solded for $80). thus i'm actually paying juz $46 per mth for 2yrs
mike911
14-02-2009, 04:52 PM
is like tat one, they have to earn back their losses in the freebies, mine is 30mths. for the notebook, that is giving so many problems. hiaz
jas1701
14-02-2009, 09:04 PM
To TS, I'm just like you. Sign up my 3M at $43.82 2yrs back on the month of Jan. Then 2 mths later during the IT show, price drop to about $36+...see bang boss. Now receive their letter to request for re-contract to 8M at $36.90 with wireless modem ( normal modem at $32.90 ). This time I smart liao, better wait till mar IT show and see got drop prices again. If you notice price mostly drop on the 1st quarter.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.