PDA

View Full Version : Vista to get free upgrade to Windows 7!

Buzybee
12-02-2009, 12:56 PM
Hi all,

wonder if the OEM distributors at SLS will have participation in this customer-oriented package?

Let's pray that they do.

For more information or full article, please go to:
http://www.techarp.com/showarticle.aspx?artno=609&pgno=0

Thank you,
Bee

goenitz33
12-02-2009, 01:22 PM
If i am not wrong, this is for those branded PC manufacturers.

based on the line below quoted from the article.

End users must purchase a new PC that is pre-installed with an eligible Windows Vista Operating System (OS), during the program eligibility window.

ionicle88
12-02-2009, 01:54 PM
me waiting for windows 7 to appear in the shops and will buy a ultimate edition to install in my comp... 64bit somemore.

jiacong
12-02-2009, 01:58 PM
yea its time to go 64bit soon we will have 6GB 9GB 10,12GB of ram in our systems.

Beta_Tester
12-02-2009, 02:00 PM
my friend told me those pc that came with windows vista then can leh. we buy standalones like cant. Anyone confirm?

JAson1980
12-02-2009, 02:09 PM
most probably the case.
But i saw that only 2 edition is available for off the shelf purchase
home premium and Professional edition.
like XP home and Pro like that. is it confirmed?

goenitz33
12-02-2009, 02:35 PM
there should be 1 more edition Ultimate.

most likely there will be 4 versions or 5 even.

MS nowadays like to increase their product range / depth

xBlackHawkx
12-02-2009, 02:43 PM
There should be a total of four versions. Home Premium, Professional, Ultimate and Enterprise.

eventidephoenix
12-02-2009, 02:52 PM
is 64bit worth to upgrade to?

I mean does it use significantly greater system resources?

xBlackHawkx
12-02-2009, 03:07 PM
is 64bit worth to upgrade to?

I mean does it use significantly greater system resources?

Worth upgrading at least for me. If you have a 64-bit processor, why not make full use of it?

Yes it does compared to 32-bit. :)

ionicle88
12-02-2009, 03:50 PM
afaik they have a basic edition for atom netbooks, then 3 versions of home use, then one for server and one for business.. all in all 7..

namely the home use ones are Home premium, professional and ultimate...

it is time to take ultimate.... but i hope it doesn't hog things up too much....

Beta_Tester
12-02-2009, 03:58 PM
basket those who bought Retail copies be it oem or boxed ones cant upgrade? Like that very not fair leh.

ov2rey
12-02-2009, 04:04 PM
i wish they let windows vista UT edition get a free upgrade... :(

gameboyz
12-02-2009, 04:09 PM
I want!!! :(

vivalabam
12-02-2009, 04:21 PM
seriously, xp had it best: home and pro, no nonsense. vista has what crap, home basic, home premium, business, ultimate, and there's more i think

seriously, just 2 editions will do, one for home users and another for working individuals.

cpuer
12-02-2009, 04:22 PM
IIRC, last time the also do the same for MCE to VHP free upgrade.

jtchoy
12-02-2009, 04:22 PM
Chey, its only for those who get it bundled with a branded comp la...

And its also within the eligibility period, say a month before win 7 is released. Those who buy during that period get a free upgrade when win 7 is released...

So it doesn't affect us lor... Thread title very misleading...

FinalTidus
12-02-2009, 04:23 PM
seriously, xp had it best: home and pro, no nonsense. vista has what crap, home basic, home premium, business, ultimate, and there's more i think

seriously, just 2 editions will do, one for home users and another for working individuals.
Agreed!!! XP FTW.... :D

apatheticme
12-02-2009, 04:26 PM
Misleading :<

jarred1223
12-02-2009, 04:26 PM
If i remember correctly, only windows 7 home and professional will be on sale to us normal users. For like companies and stuff they will have access to buy those versions for business use.

zhehao
12-02-2009, 04:37 PM
I also waitign...i purposely skip vista sia...
This year end of year expected to come out!

saysuzu
12-02-2009, 10:34 PM
knn, so many versions, get which one sia?

12-02-2009, 10:55 PM
i got a dell 1520 comes with vista home premium brought in 2007. can upgrade to win 7 ma???

Nuggette
12-02-2009, 11:50 PM
isnt this exactly the same case as in the introduction of vista??

1) so no, you dont get free upgrades
2) free upgrades only for those who bought a computer preinstalled with vista during the stated time period
3) most likely you have to pay for shipping of win7's DVD

tidus792
13-02-2009, 12:15 AM
Title was completely misleading as nuggette mentioned.

You only qualify for free upgrade if you purchase a BRANDED computer AFTER TENTATIVE 1ST JULY 2009.

Buzybee
13-02-2009, 09:52 AM
Hi guys,

So sorry it was misleading for some of us... haha

Anyway I think ya it's right for oem manufacturers only. Brands like Dell, HP, etc should take advantage of this policy...

Anyway then I wont be getting the VISTA already...

End of this year right for Windows 7?

So Sorry,
Bee

Beta_Tester
13-02-2009, 10:27 AM
not fair to those who buy oem n full boxed retail copy lo. basket. :(

ab_cat
13-02-2009, 10:34 AM
hope existing Windows Vista user can upgrade for cheaper price no matter what license we are using :p