PDA

View Full Version : [Check] Which router would you choose? DIR-825/DIR-655

shadowandy
13-02-2009, 02:49 PM
Lets say that it is possible to mass order (MO) the DIR-825 from the US at around S$199. Do you think it is worthwhile to get it? But of course, the router won't come with local warranty as it is imported from overseas.

Was also thinking if it is you, would you trust the DIR-655 or the DIR-825 in terms of performance and functionality considering that DIR-825 has yet to appear in Singapore.

Product links
DIR-825 - Product page (http://www.dlink.com/products/?pid=681)
DIR-655 - Product page (http://www.dlink.com/products/?pid=530)

http://i43.tinypic.com/v4vvh2.jpg
Picture of the DIR-825. Looks nice right?

liangtam
13-02-2009, 03:03 PM
gotch dir855 notch?:s34:

phuque99
13-02-2009, 03:05 PM

855 expensive for a boh liao and hiao oled display.

shadowandy
13-02-2009, 03:07 PM

add a few hundreds more for the OLED display. :(

richneo
13-02-2009, 05:08 PM
how much for DIR-855 if you conduct MO for it ah?

Francis85
13-02-2009, 05:59 PM
The 825 looks like 655 leh......... Using DIR 655 for my climbling now...... not bad........

mikengtw
13-02-2009, 09:44 PM
Wa I just only brought my 655 now comes out another one.. *sigh*

phuque99
13-02-2009, 11:00 PM
Out very long liao, dunno why dlink refuse to bring in to compete with linksys wrt610n, quite strange.

shadowandy
14-02-2009, 01:41 AM
The 825 looks like 655 leh......... Using DIR 655 for my climbling now...... not bad........

Yeah. The DIR-825 looks like the DIR-655, just that it comes with 2 antennas instead of 3 and it features dual channel!

shadowandy
14-02-2009, 01:42 AM
how much for DIR-855 if you conduct MO for it ah?

Fwah... Need to check. Never really thought of the 855 as my router is normally kept at the corner of my house. Haha

shadowandy
14-02-2009, 01:42 AM
Out very long liao, dunno why dlink refuse to bring in to compete with linksys wrt610n, quite strange.

Probably they think there is no demand because there is already a robust product (DIR-655) and bringing in the DIR-825 might just kill off the product (DIR-655)?

richneo
14-02-2009, 07:31 AM
Probably they think there is no demand because there is already a robust product (DIR-655) and bringing in the DIR-825 might just kill off the product (DIR-655)?

maybe they want to make sure the product performs like 655 so they test and test lor

im sure they dun wan to launch a product end up performance as sucky as linksys wireless n :s34:

even linksys' wrt610n performance according to other forumer here is... :s22:

shadowandy
14-02-2009, 03:40 PM
maybe they want to make sure the product performs like 655 so they test and test lor

im sure they dun wan to launch a product end up performance as sucky as linksys wireless n :s34:

even linksys' wrt610n performance according to other forumer here is... :s22:

No comments on that cos I only used WRT54G & WRT54GS from Linksys and they pretty much serve their purpose until family members found out the usefulness of Bittorrent. Haha.

Thinking that DIR-825 might be good as it can possibly future proof my wireless architecture?

shadowandy
16-02-2009, 07:18 AM
There are more Yes than No (including my vote). So I guess if it is S$199, there is no harm getting it to replace my DIR-655 which I've been using since 2007?

Francis85
16-02-2009, 08:37 AM
Poison even though now using DIR-655 I see liao want to hoot also leh.......

richneo
16-02-2009, 08:53 AM
i see 2 no votes.. i wonder whats their reasons

shadowandy
16-02-2009, 09:35 AM
i see 2 no votes.. i wonder whats their reasons

They might think price is not justified for a home/SOHO router like DIR-655/DIR-825. Or they simply don't like D-Link due to whatever reasons?

liangtam
16-02-2009, 09:49 AM
actually, the price of DIR-655 compared to MO'ed 825 is similar hence it makes sense to opt for the latter, you get dual band wifi for everything else similar including the price with 1 less ext antenna and no wrty

shadowandy
16-02-2009, 09:52 AM
actually, the price of DIR-655 compared to MO'ed 825 is similar hence it makes sense to opt for the latter, you get dual band wifi for everything else similar including the price with 1 less ext antenna and no wrty

Yeah and I potentially miss out on 8 years of warranty (assuming product life 3 years and 5 years after it EOL). Or did I miscount the number of years of warranty?

Francis85
16-02-2009, 10:27 AM
Wondering whether DIR 825 got life time warranty or not...... When come to sg.......

richneo
16-02-2009, 10:31 AM
all dlink wireless routers comes with lifetime warranty in singapore unless it has a adsl modem built in

shadowandy
16-02-2009, 10:40 AM
Wondering whether DIR 825 got life time warranty or not...... When come to sg.......

If they follow their usual practice, then yes.

Francis85
16-02-2009, 11:10 AM
all dlink wireless routers comes with lifetime warranty in singapore unless it has a adsl modem built in

I know just wanna re-confirm, a proud user of DIR 655 myself........ I see DIR 825 liao...... Cannot ta-han the itch liao........

richneo
16-02-2009, 12:05 PM
I know just wanna re-confirm, a proud user of DIR 655 myself........ I see DIR 825 liao...... Cannot ta-han the itch liao........
hehehehehe

Francis85
16-02-2009, 12:23 PM
hehehehehe

Must stop coming to this thread liao....... Or else will end up hoot more stuffs.......

leinad
16-02-2009, 12:42 PM
If I didn't have my 655, I might get this for Dualband support alone.

/Dan

mutant
17-02-2009, 02:31 AM
I'd get the 825 router if it is tomato compatible and if the reasonably priced.

leinad
17-02-2009, 12:04 PM
Tomato compatible? :s13:

Out of the box, it already trashes your vegetable. :s13:

/Dan

cdo_saturday
17-02-2009, 02:01 PM
the lights very nice =:p

toshiro_sg
17-02-2009, 02:56 PM
DIR-825 in SG already?

shadowandy
17-02-2009, 04:16 PM
DIR-825 in SG already?

Is that a question or is it an expression stating that dir-825 is available locally?

shadowandy
17-02-2009, 07:05 PM

If the reason for using tomato is for the connection handling or QoS (basic) capabilities then you don't even need tomato for DIR-825 or DIR655 as it is already very good out of the box. It is unlike Linksys routers which need to use tomato in order to have a slightly better performance.

Francis85
17-02-2009, 07:11 PM
DIR-825 in SG already?

Nope......

shineshy
17-02-2009, 09:47 PM
how much is both model ?

btw both can be used as a wired ADSL modem ? n serve as a wireless router to connect my laptop ?

*pai sei, i really dono much abt router thing*...pls advise

stressmage
18-02-2009, 12:29 AM
If the reason for using tomato is for the connection handling or QoS (basic) capabilities then you don't even need tomato for DIR-825 or DIR655 as it is already very good out of the box. It is unlike Linksys routers which need to use tomato in order to have a slightly better performance.

no.
If it could make linksys better performance, why not other router? Yes it can. Too bad it does really support alot of models. And some people just like having the option of customizing.

liangtam
18-02-2009, 02:36 AM
no.
If it could make linksys better performance, why not other router? Yes it can. Too bad it does really support alot of models. And some people just like having the option of customizing.

when u say better, by how much? try it n u will see, its not alot actually :)
obviously, the above happened because the code was not well written when released.

stressmage
18-02-2009, 04:28 AM
when u say better, by how much? try it n u will see, its not alot actually :)
obviously, the above happened because the code was not well written when released.
wohwoh. lets just say u have ur stand and i have mine. try to have an open mind.
i have been trying for many years already.

Yes it might be codes sometime, but more oftenly its the tweak and optimization. The community are always actively tweaking, optimizing, fixing and adding features, for free.

http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r21538777-Benchmarking-WRT-Firmware-Some-Surprises

Tomato 1.23 58.42
Linksys 4.71.4.001 50.12

liangtam
18-02-2009, 11:24 AM
wohwoh. lets just say u have ur stand and i have mine. try to have an open mind.
i have been trying for many years already.

Yes it might be codes sometime, but more oftenly its the tweak and optimization. The community are always actively tweaking, optimizing, fixing and adding features, for free.

http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r21538777-Benchmarking-WRT-Firmware-Some-Surprises

Tomato 1.23 58.42
Linksys 4.71.4.001 50.12

there is a reason why I told u to make comparisons.
Let me show u this link then http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/component/option,com_chart/Itemid,189/

Taking a look, you realise that none of the router with 3rd party capable f/w are anywhere around the top even if u take into consideration the above rate.

Hence, it makes sense people in the forum has been junking their old equipment and shelling out $ for the very reason.

GamerZ
24-02-2009, 12:25 PM
haha, Andy, any update on this?

richneo
24-02-2009, 02:38 PM
will this be sold during it show?

GamerZ
24-02-2009, 04:12 PM
will this be sold during it show?I hope so lol, I wrote D-Link SG an email asking the availability of the 825, waiting for them to get back to me.

shadowandy
25-02-2009, 06:28 PM
haha, Andy, any update on this?

Haha. Think there wont be much interest on the MO. Still accessing my needs too.

GamerZ
26-02-2009, 10:11 AM
Haha. Think there wont be much interest on the MO. Still accessing my needs too.yea =(

1234 chars

GamerZ
26-02-2009, 11:17 AM
Woot! http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?p=36033015

leinad
26-02-2009, 11:42 AM
yea =(

1234 chars
Looks like the DIR-655 will be going at the clearance price of $160-ish for this IT fair. :D

/Dan

GamerZ
26-02-2009, 11:45 AM
Looks like the DIR-655 will be going at the clearance price of $160-ish for this IT fair. :D

/Danyea, I will give it a pass for the DIR825!

liangtam
26-02-2009, 12:46 PM

/Dan

i dont rly think so
the 855/825 is not a replacement model, rather its alongside for customers with diff budget, namely 2.4g and the dual-band

hence, not likely :)

richneo
26-02-2009, 02:06 PM
same sentiments...

i definitely do not think that dir-655 will be cleared...

however, i dont doubt that there might have cheap lobang for dir-655 during this coming it show

leinad
26-02-2009, 02:22 PM
i dont rly think so
the 855/825 is not a replacement model, rather its alongside for customers with diff budget, namely 2.4g and the dual-band

hence, not likely :)

Perhaps.. I do view the 825 as a replacement model, though. Dualband support looks like the way to go for 802.11n.

But they did clear the DGL-4300 when the DIR-655 was launched. Short of pricing the DIR-825 much higher than the already-very-expensive DIR-655, they have no choice but to price it the same price or price it even higher.

Customers already complain about the prices of the DIR-655. Push it any higher, and you will see a very slow adoption of the DIR-825.

/Dan

liangtam
26-02-2009, 06:40 PM
There are very few dual band adapter in the market or in used compared with 2.4G based, It wont be replaced for a long long time.

Price of DIR-655 is actually reasonable. Tho it is cheaper in US
http://www.amazon.com/D-Link-DIR-655-Extreme-Wireless-Router/dp/B000LIFB7S

Francis85
26-02-2009, 06:52 PM
Wah sianz using DIR 655 then 825 coming out liao, poisonous sia.......

orbvius
26-02-2009, 06:56 PM
Isn't this thread on a MO from USA?
D-Link is only 2 years warranty for US.

leinad
26-02-2009, 07:08 PM
There are very few dual band adapter in the market or in used compared with 2.4G based, It wont be replaced for a long long time.

Price of DIR-655 is actually reasonable. Tho it is cheaper in US
http://www.amazon.com/D-Link-DIR-655-Extreme-Wireless-Router/dp/B000LIFB7S

Fair point... But then again, a lot of people don't really need a new adaptor. Many laptops come 5Ghz ready.

The Dualband support is more to support the new laptops and the legacy equipment simultaneously.

/Dan

leinad
26-02-2009, 07:09 PM
Isn't this thread on a MO from USA?
D-Link is only 2 years warranty for US.

I guess you can call it an interest check, but there is no need for it since D-Link Singapore's returned to GaMerZ with a positive reply, as linked earlier in the thread.

There is no point buying a USA unit when the local ones have lifetime warranty.

/Dan

shadowandy
26-02-2009, 07:34 PM
I guess you can call it an interest check, but there is no need for it since D-Link Singapore's returned to GaMerZ with a positive reply, as linked earlier in the thread.

There is no point buying a USA unit when the local ones have lifetime warranty.

/Dan

Agree with your point on the warranty part.

Anyway, DIR-855 (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2283396). :o

richneo
26-02-2009, 09:24 PM
Agree with your point on the warranty part.

Anyway, DIR-855 (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2283396). :o
dot dot dot dot....

stussyking
02-03-2009, 04:55 PM
Like other D-Link's USB wireless routers, the DIR-825's USB port supports Windows Connect Now, another quick way to connect wireless client to the network by using a USB thumbdrive to transfer the encryption key. Last but not least, the USB port can also support a 3G USB adapter to provide access to the Internet using an EV-DO cellular signal. This allows for the DIR-825 to work as a mobile router as well as a regular broadband router.

source : http://reviews.cnet.com/routers/d-link-xtreme-n/4505-3319_7-33246906.html

wah i wonder if this works with huawei modems .. if it does .. nice nice :)

richneo
02-03-2009, 05:37 PM
tested e220 with dir-655

it should be the same with dir-825 and 855