PDA

View Full Version : $10sgd DIY Brand New Ram Cooler!

ReporterSG
18-02-2009, 08:55 PM
Hi all I posted this in Hardware Clinic and was requested to post here too ^^
Here goes!

I found a very old 5.25' bay HDD Cooler by titian, some of u might have own it before. An Idea just came to me suddenly!

This is a Step By Step to convert this 5.25' Bay HDD cooler into a Ram Cooler! Huat Ar!

Items Needed (Black Spray Paint Is Optional)
1. Titian 5.25' Bay HDD Cooler *Actually any brand also can*
New At $10 SLS
http://img8.imageshack.us/img8/1827/51919887qu7.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

2. Black Spray Paint
New At $3.80 also any shop ^^
http://img148.imageshack.us/img148/6108/18666932kf8.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

How to DIY Your 1st Ram Cooler!
Step 1:
Cut half away from both sides of the HDD Cooler, its to shorten the height of the would be Ram Cooler
http://img502.imageshack.us/img502/2111/98661020or3.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

Step 2: (Optional)
Spray it Black ^^
http://img9.imageshack.us/img9/5822/24147366wh5.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

Step 3:
Cut any High Density Foam to fit as holder of the Ram Cooler
http://img148.imageshack.us/img148/5190/89284414qf3.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
http://img9.imageshack.us/img9/301/96579839bi1.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

Step 4:
Stick any brand of Double Sided Tape on 1 side of the Foam,
use the common thin ones will do.
http://img100.imageshack.us/img100/6698/68150490hq7.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

Step 5:
Stick it to the Contact Points to the Ram
http://img25.imageshack.us/img25/933/76848538wv8.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

ReporterSG
18-02-2009, 08:56 PM
Step 6:
- Make sure u have 4 sticks of Rams on ur Mobo
- Estimate to make sure ur Ram Cooler is in the Center of ur Rams
- Press ur Foam on both sides of Ram to leave a Pressure Mark
http://img25.imageshack.us/img25/3420/45929581zr6.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
http://img100.imageshack.us/img100/3605/82159747xz6.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

Step 7:
Cut the Foam on Pressured Mark
http://img155.imageshack.us/img155/4263/46908653lc9.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

Step 8: Complete!
Fix any 40mm Fan on the Cooler, max of 3 if if needed, Originally have 2 but i lost it. Used a Single 40mm fan as Demo:
http://img403.imageshack.us/img403/8228/94638610st4.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

Installation:
Fix ur Ram Cooler onto ur rams, make sure ur Rams sits into the cutting u did on the Foam
http://img155.imageshack.us/img155/1870/18503492uh4.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

Ur own DIY Ram Cooler!
Ur Ram Cooler will not fall off even when mobo is upright as the Foam is holding on to the Rams
*Thats why i choose High Density Foam*
http://img403.imageshack.us/img403/5656/66033914ff9.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
http://img403.imageshack.us/img403/244/82907847nh8.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

New Titian or JustCooler 5.25' Bay HDD Cooler only @ 10sgd Cheapest in SLS

Hope u guys like this!

Regards
ReporterSG

ReporterSG
18-02-2009, 08:57 PM
Originally came with 2 Black Fans.. I just cant find it >.<
http://img210.imageshack.us/img210/461/41sf5e9dv0lss500kk3.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

If u dun spray black colour = 10sgd nia

Spray Black = 13.80sgd nia
If u manage to borrow black paint also 10sgd only Heehee

hiroko_21
18-02-2009, 10:46 PM
nice ... cheers.. =)

xinus84
27-02-2009, 03:16 PM
ur rams got so hot?

StDrake
02-03-2009, 07:58 PM
Great!
Should try it sometime myself.
Thanks alot TS :)

stomper
02-03-2009, 08:39 PM
siao bo?!?!?!

support

hwsinn
02-03-2009, 09:21 PM
upz for u bro....but anyone noe any specific shop that sells the cooler?

KeYoKe
16-10-2009, 12:47 PM
nice one !

enrell69
16-10-2009, 05:26 PM
lol..dis is wat we call a modder :)

DeadBoy95
17-10-2009, 11:17 AM
nice one lar... but 40mm fan no good 1 ler...

gantzzz
23-10-2009, 11:52 AM
coool but more metal parts perhaps ?

mark2k
24-10-2009, 01:10 PM
The hdd cooler looks like like a "JustCooler", really old-school! I have several lying around too, great idea! Save $$$ on an OCZ cooler instead.

weap0nx
01-11-2009, 09:09 AM
lol..dis is wat we call a modder :)

Totally! even if it's not that dramatic . He has my support !