PDA

View Full Version : Networking problem on MIO TV & BROADBAND

Yvonne
23-02-2009, 11:27 AM
~~ Guys, if i place my singnet wire2 router on my room together wif my computer ~ how should i connect the mio tv which is in my living room ?

~ Must i pull the network cable from room to living room ?
or
~ is the wireless function well on mio tv box ? what kind of wireless device should i use ?

which way is better ? :(

slowtortoise
23-02-2009, 11:32 AM
Use D-link :P

Or buy a long long cable and connect lor :P :P

Francis85
23-02-2009, 11:34 AM

2WIRE can only connect to MIO TV via RJ45 cable long enough ones, or can purchase cordless home connect from singtel, call up 1610 if interested to purchase the cordless home connect.

Yvonne
23-02-2009, 11:45 AM

~~ i dun see why i need a d-link since my current 2-wire (router) is already a got wireless router function reh? :(
if pulling a long long lan cable from room to living ...will look ugly reh :(

2WIRE can only connect to MIO TV via RJ45 cable long enough ones, or can purchase cordless home connect from singtel, call up 1610 if interested to purchase the cordless home connect.

~~ oh beside cordless home connect ? any other better way or not :( this cordless home connect cost about $200++ and another way is i rent from singtel which cost me $5 per mth ~~ if like that i think i cancel this mio tv riao since is free :P

just think got other way or not :(

Yvonne
23-02-2009, 11:54 AM
~~ just wonder if i decide to place the 2wire modem on my room and get the singtel ppls to pull a long lan cable to my living ~~ Will they do that for me ? will they use casing to cover the lan wire which hanging on the wall ? :(

Tears4Fears
23-02-2009, 04:57 PM
~~ Guys, if i place my singnet wire2 router on my room together wif my computer ~ how should i connect the mio tv which is in my living room ?

~ Must i pull the network cable from room to living room ?
or
~ is the wireless function well on mio tv box ? what kind of wireless device should i use ?

which way is better ? :(

~~ just wonder if i decide to place the 2wire modem on my room and get the singtel ppls to pull a long lan cable to my living ~~ Will they do that for me ? will they use casing to cover the lan wire which hanging on the wall ? :(

There's a few ways to do this:

1. Get a long network cable to patch from 2wire to mio tv box directly
2. Get the Power over ethernet solution. Call singnet to ask. They know. 1 PoE adaptor around $50
3. Get another wireless router. Configure it to bridge it from 2wire. Place new wireless router next to mio box and patch directly.

Singtel do not offer services to pull the cables and place it nicely in the trunking. In fact, they engage 3rd party to install the mio tv box, etc. If you are interested I can offer similar services or solutions that suits your needs.

hk7310
23-02-2009, 06:42 PM
leave your 2wire modem with your mio tv, buy a USB wireless adaptor and connect wirelessly to your 2wire modem.

slowtortoise
23-02-2009, 07:48 PM

Last time when I use cable me use the ladder and put masking tape and self adhesive hooks at the top of the wall and hook the cable to it :P :P :(

Francis85
23-02-2009, 08:04 PM
~~ i dun see why i need a d-link since my current 2-wire (router) is already a got wireless router function reh? :(
if pulling a long long lan cable from room to living ...will look ugly reh :(

~~ oh beside cordless home connect ? any other better way or not :( this cordless home connect cost about $200++ and another way is i rent from singtel which cost me $5 per mth ~~ if like that i think i cancel this mio tv riao since is free :P

just think got other way or not :(

They do provide Lan Cable up to a certain limit and also trunking...... FOC to a certain limit call and ask......

Francis85
23-02-2009, 08:05 PM

2. Get the Power over ethernet solution. Call singnet to ask. They know. 1 PoE adaptor around $50
3. Get another wireless router. Configure it to bridge it from 2wire. Place new wireless router next to mio box and patch directly.

Singtel do not offer services to pull the cables and place it nicely in the trunking. In fact, they engage 3rd party to install the mio tv box, etc. If you are interested I can offer similar services or solutions that suits your needs.

Said to said they do........ Just arrange with the installer.......... One less business for you then.....:s13::s13::s13:

Yvonne
23-02-2009, 08:31 PM

~~ thank for your 3 solution :P well , I just go view on my new house, I believe if got to do trunking ~ it will affect my wall painting liao :(

~ at first I really thought of using a long lan cable to connect directly from my study room to the living rm onto the mio tv box but i go see see like very ugly leh :(

my question to you ...

1) My hse got a few telephone port > study rm , living rm and bed rm all got a telephone point ~ Possibe for me to shift the 2 wire modem anytime anywhere ? OR just fix at 1 location and cannot be change anymore ?

- if really perm. and cannot change anymore, i will think of placing my 2wire modem at living room and using my comp to connect to wireless BUT but , i still perfer to connect using LAN so i might end up , pull a long lan cable from living room to study room so make no different reh :(

Can you tell me more on your way no.2 :P

Yvonne
23-02-2009, 08:32 PM
leave your 2wire modem with your mio tv, buy a USB wireless adaptor and connect wirelessly to your 2wire modem.

~~ ya i think this is the cheaper way riao :( but i still believe in LAN compare to wireless :P sometime lose signal and get dc very sian :(

liangtam
23-02-2009, 08:34 PM
2 is use your existing power cable for extension of network.
if for some reasons u think wiring is not suitable although it only takes up small space, then u can choose this because its the next best stable* solution.

Yvonne
23-02-2009, 08:36 PM
Last time when I use cable me use the ladder and put masking tape and self adhesive hooks at the top of the wall and hook the cable to it :P :P :(

~~ If i use your method i won't be so headache riao :(

They do provide Lan Cable up to a certain limit and also trunking...... FOC to a certain limit call and ask......

~~ Yes, there is a limit NOT BEYOND 20 meters. For those who dunno , pls take note.
As for who will install the trunk i really not sure , relocation fees cost around $80++ and i do not know does it include the trunking or not :(

Anyone here ever try before or see before singtel techical install trunking and cover the lan cable which hooking on the wall ? pls let me know more abt this service :P

Yvonne
23-02-2009, 08:38 PM
2 is use your existing power cable for extension of network.
if for some reasons u think wiring is not suitable although it only takes up small space, then u can choose this because its the next best stable* solution.

~~ thank you ~ what is the different between this power cable and cordless home stuffs (rukus) ? that stupid simi cordless cost $200++ from singtel and no money buy can rent somemore :( every mth $5 :(

liangtam
23-02-2009, 09:05 PM
~~ thank you ~ what is the different between this power cable and cordless home stuffs (rukus) ? that stupid simi cordless cost $200++ from singtel and no money buy can rent somemore :( every mth $5 :(

The ruckus is a wifi solution

steve dino
24-02-2009, 09:47 AM

Singtel will only charge u $5 for 12 months only i.e. total $60

Francis85
24-02-2009, 10:41 AM
The ruckus is a wifi solution

Now Singtel no more ruckus no stock........ Now all using Comtrap HomePlug......

BlackSmokeInTheSky
30-01-2010, 02:37 PM
if i got a spare 2wire wireless router and am in the same shoes as threadstarter, will the spare 2wire router bridge to the 2wire router in my room?