View Full Version : Can't connect to the Internet

vp2008
01-03-2009, 12:04 AM
Hi guys

I'm having a problem with my Internet connection

I'm using vista and when I try to connect only got a local connection

When I diagnose the connection, it says I don't have a valid ip config

I tried restarting my modem, my com and my network adapter but does not work

When I try the "automatically get new ip settings for the network adapter" option given by the diagnostic but does not work

I'm using starhub and no router

My modem is motorola sb6100

Lucky I got my phone with bbom

liangtam
01-03-2009, 12:22 AM
ipconfig /all ?

If your NIC is faulty, then see the driver and config in windows properties, else buy new one

vp2008
01-03-2009, 01:03 AM
Well as I'm typing on my iPhone I will try to get all the info here and I'm not using a network card

Host name: vp

Primary DNS suffix: -empty-

Node type: hybrid

Ip routing enabled: no

Wins proxy enabled: no

Ethernet adapter local area connection
Connection-specific DNS suffix: -empty-
Dhcp enabled: yes
Autoconfig enabled: yes
Link local ipv6 address: fe80::c1b:bd38:a48:eed3%8
Ipv4 address: 192.168.100.11
DNS server: fec0:0:0: ffff::1%1

vp2008
01-03-2009, 01:19 AM
I think it's my modem problem

I have tried with my laptop but I still can't connect to the net

liangtam
01-03-2009, 01:51 AM
Connect to laptop also must restart the modem

vp2008
01-03-2009, 01:55 AM
I did but it still did not work

Mclairs83
01-03-2009, 01:59 AM
can u call up starhub n give them a call instead?

i believe they can check on their side to see whether u r connected or not.

EDIT: r u sure u r not behind router? looking at the IP address on IPv4 u r getting a internal ip address.

vp2008
01-03-2009, 02:09 AM
Well it's a direct connection and no router in use

vp2008
01-03-2009, 02:42 AM
Here are two ss of my cmd

Http://i485.photobucket.com/albums/rr214/vp2142/08c00aca.jpg

Http://s485.photobucket.com/albums/rr214/vp2142/?action=view&current=bdb6fb7e.jpg

I took it with my phone so bare with the quality

mike911
01-03-2009, 09:03 AM
if you have directly conencted to the modem with lan cable, you should be getting a public ip address, should not be a internal one. try this see if it helps.

1. off modem. (off only for at least 5mins)
2. ipconfig /release
3. check the network card "ipv4" settings under network connections, and make sure that it is set to "obtain an ip address automatically" and same for dns
4. after 5mins can on modem
5. check "ipconfig /all" that your ip address is not 192.168.100.x

vp2008
01-03-2009, 10:09 AM
My autoconfig ipv4 address now shows the the ip as 169.254.238.211

vp2008
01-03-2009, 10:28 AM
i got my laptop to connect to the free internet that comes with starhub's hubstation

C:\Users\Administrator>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Vp-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8168C(P)/8111C(P) Family PCI-E
Gigabit Ethernet NIC (NDIS 6.0)
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-21-85-1C-2E-3A
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::c1b:bd38:a48:eed3%8(Preferred)
Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.238.211(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 134226309
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:169.254.238.211%16(Preferred)

Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No

C:\Users\Administrator>

vp2008
01-03-2009, 11:20 AM
when i try to resolve the connection problem i get back that internal ip

vp2008
01-03-2009, 12:10 PM
Anyone got a solution? I'm getting sick of trying to restart my modem

JPadPro
01-03-2009, 01:43 PM
Check the led status of your sbg6100 modem, i am guessing that the modem is unable to establish connection to the starhub network, therefore unable to assign IP to your PC/laptop.

My 2c.

liangtam
01-03-2009, 01:49 PM
see your tcp/ip properties, anything set there altho it states dhcp enabled?

vp2008
01-03-2009, 02:07 PM
Funny

I was able to connect to the internet for 1hour+
The suddenly.i lost connection

And

My modem shows that it's on, can detect the com and the upload one just keep flashing and the Internet one is not on showing that I was connected to the net

And also my setting has been set to automatic get the ip

mike911
01-03-2009, 04:15 PM
believed they should have the usb cable for this modem too, possible if u wanna try that? if that also have the same problem, then supposed to say that is the line problem from modem to starhub side already.

vp2008
01-03-2009, 04:54 PM
There is no USB port for my modem

And I just lost connection again

Now it says I can't communitcate with the primary DNS server

I try to repair then change back to a invalid ip config

supergoosepro
01-03-2009, 04:57 PM
starhub sux ..fking slow!!! im using 8mbps and im going to change to singtel soon!! warning!! never sign up 4 maxonline!!! i called tech support they blame it on my modem spoil, my pc got virus,etc damn starhub!! con people money!!!

kevinbox
01-03-2009, 05:14 PM
try changing your dns server? i turn away from starhub's dns server for very long liao. No problem since then...change to singnet's or opendns server

vp2008
01-03-2009, 05:31 PM
How do you do that

krazyman
01-03-2009, 05:37 PM
If you get an IP of 192.168.100.xx, it means PC is getting IP from the modem, and modem is not connected to starhub network.

If you get an IP of 169.x.x.x, it means PC can't connect to any dhcp.

vp2008
01-03-2009, 05:43 PM
Ok now I know what's the problem

So my problem is my connection with starhub

It can't be my cable

I just switch it with my cable tv one

vp2008
01-03-2009, 06:24 PM
So anyone got a solution?

vp2008
01-03-2009, 08:23 PM
I still keep getting " the network adapter does not have a valid ip config"

Francis85
01-03-2009, 08:40 PM
Check your modem internet LED got any light or not if dun have means call up starhub and give them a piece of your mind........

vp2008
01-03-2009, 08:45 PM
sian call starhub liao

bloody hell the online button is off

must be starhub problem liao

but i can connect to the net with my laptop on the hub station eh
funny..

liangtam
01-03-2009, 09:00 PM
connect your laptop to the main modem, THEN restart the modem
if you still do not get an IP, get it RMAed

If you get a IP, send ur PC for RMA

Francis85
01-03-2009, 09:02 PM
High chance is starhub problems......

vp2008
01-03-2009, 09:25 PM
connect your laptop to the main modem, THEN restart the modem
if you still do not get an IP, get it RMAed

If you get a IP, send ur PC for RMA

i tried that and i got

C:\Documents and Settings\>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : your-05fb760d91
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2200BG Network
Connection
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-6F-2C-CC-34

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connecti
on
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-01-4A-C2-1C-A1
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.100.11
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.100.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.100.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, March 01, 2009 9:19:38 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, March 01, 2009 9:19:58 PM

so starhub or modem problem?

Obviouz
01-03-2009, 09:32 PM
High chance is starhub problems......

it always is starhub problem.. :o

liangtam
01-03-2009, 10:25 PM
ello~ Peng Kwan :)

Connect your modem direct to main cable point, if still not working after a restart, bring for RMA bah

vp2008
01-03-2009, 11:17 PM
Damn forgot to edit that out

Can you edit your post

And the direct connection worked!

But now the problem is how the hell am I going to watch tv lol