View Full Version : Mio Home Price Plan
alanloy
01-03-2009, 04:10 PM
I am interested in signing up the Mio Home(TV + SNBB + ST Fix Line).The price is $39.90.
Is there any 1 using using this bundle?
feel free to give ur comments or recommendations...
http://home.singtel.com/mio/mio_home_price-plans.html
mlwang
01-03-2009, 04:31 PM
I am using this bundle. So far so good, most value for $, since i downgraded from 10MB.
Take the DVR set top box offer, save time when watching TV, can fast forward the advertisement, one hour show will take only about 40 mins.
The current bundle of 2 super packs is good.
http://home.singtel.com/mio/mio_home_promotion.html
But make sure your TV is near the phone point, or else u need to run the phone line or use the Home Connect, need to pay $50 for the home connect.
alanloy
01-03-2009, 04:46 PM
hi mlwang,
Thks for ur information...i had 1 more question.I intend to put the main box in the living room.However,i wish to put 1 more set in my bedroom so that i can watch the mio tv from my room.
is there any additional charges for the extra box?is it a 1 time charge or a monthly payment for the extra box?
Thanks for the information
danzodanzo
04-03-2009, 12:37 AM
hi,
i am also considering switching 10MB BB to the 3MB Mio Home plan.
some questions:
1. Is there any charge/fee for downgrading 10MB BB (few mths contract left) to 3MB Mio Home?
2. How is the user experience noticable difference between the 10MB BB and 3MB Mio Home?
Much slower? especially say 3 PC users in household?
3. The DVR set top box offer is worth the money? do you mean watch normal tv can fast fwd or only recorded tv?
do you need to pay extra if you want to terminate this DVR service later?
4. Does the offer comes with 2 free movies video-on-demand/month, in additional to the 2 free supervalue miotv channels packages?
TIA
I am using this bundle. So far so good, most value for $, since i downgraded from 10MB.
Take the DVR set top box offer, save time when watching TV, can fast forward the advertisement, one hour show will take only about 40 mins.
But make sure your TV is near the phone point, or else u need to run the phone line or use the Home Connect, need to pay $50 for the home connect.
liangtam
04-03-2009, 12:40 AM
no contract of course can downgrade lah. see what u do online de mah
stussyking
04-03-2009, 01:42 AM
39.90 is without the mio tv plan am i right ?
so supersave english is 19.90 extra ? ..
thinking if wanna jump from starlag's ship.. headache leh ..
tinsel77
04-03-2009, 10:42 AM
39.90 is without the mio tv plan am i right ?
so supersave english is 19.90 extra ? ..
thinking if wanna jump from starlag's ship.. headache leh ..
39.90 is BB+MioTV+fixed line.
supersaver is FREE for english and Chinese.
tinsel77
04-03-2009, 10:44 AM
hi mlwang,
Thks for ur information...i had 1 more question.I intend to put the main box in the living room.However,i wish to put 1 more set in my bedroom so that i can watch the mio tv from my room.
is there any additional charges for the extra box?is it a 1 time charge or a monthly payment for the extra box?
according to the singtel website, you can have more than one box BUT each box MUST have one fixed line. So which means you need to sign up 2 plans in order to have 2 STB cos you need to have 2 fixed lines.
tinsel77
04-03-2009, 10:46 AM
DVR must pay monthly after the promo right? If wanna cancel, you must fork out $$ to change to normal box. Bo hua i think.
zenman
04-03-2009, 11:25 AM
The PC fair is less than 2 weeks away, do you reckon there will be better offers during the fair?
Frankly, I wont be keen if the bundle they offer at the fair includes gadgets that I wont be interested in like xbox, wii, hi-end HP, tiny netbooks, etc.. A clean package like what they are offering now will be good.
danzodanzo
04-03-2009, 02:07 PM
39.90 is BB+MioTV+fixed line.
supersaver is FREE for english and Chinese.
I understand that the basic bundled MioTV include free blockbusters movies video on demand every month??
The supersaver channels are an added on promotion.
So Mio Home ($39.90/mth) = BB ($18/mth 3Mbps) + MioTV ($12.50/mth include free blockbusters movies, 2 new releases every month) + Fixed Tel Line subscription ($9.50/mth ie $29/3mths).
+ additional current offer (bonus 2 free supersaver packages over 34 free channels worth $19.90/mth each).
That's what I understood from the customer service officer about the current promotion...
The offer now till 6th Mar looks good, not sure if it will be better in IT Show.
Did anyone got the same info when you call or visit hello shop???
Can confirm?
\
mike911
04-03-2009, 03:55 PM
1. Is there any charge/fee for downgrading 10MB BB (few mths contract left) to 3MB Mio Home?
2. How is the user experience noticable difference between the 10MB BB and 3MB Mio Home?
1. erm there would be a peneaty fee if you are downgrading with a few months left on contract, i was trying something like your plan too, 10m to 3m but however was turned down by the cso. unless the contract is offically over then can downgrade, if not can only take the 10m plan if recontracting, within the last few months.
2. if using together at the same time probably may feel abit lag, esp, if there is someone doing dl. if surf net only then should be ok
FinchGuy
04-03-2009, 04:01 PM
Just signed up for the 8Mbps package. Comes with the English and Chinese SuperSaver packs for 12 months, 1 month free subscription, two on-demand videos a months for 12 months, plus 14 preview channels (Al Jazeera, Film Factory, etc) for 30 days. Asked for analogue line for fixed line so can use it without having to turn on the modem.
danzodanzo
04-03-2009, 04:07 PM
tot the 2 movie blockbusters videos-on-demand a month is for whole of 24 months contract...
don't know about the preview etc...
Just signed up for the 8Mbps package. Comes with the English and Chinese SuperSaver packs for 12 months, 1 month free subscription, two on-demand videos a months for 12 months, plus 14 preview channels (Al Jazeera, Film Factory, etc) for 30 days. Asked for analogue line for fixed line so can use it without having to turn on the modem.
mlwang
04-03-2009, 04:29 PM
hi mlwang,
Hi not sure about that. you have to call up and ask.
FinchGuy
04-03-2009, 04:30 PM
Just checked. It's for 24 months. The free 30-day previews are not mentioned in the promo material. Didn't know about it till we signed up.
mlwang
04-03-2009, 04:35 PM
ML: When I downgraded there is a promo, I dont need to pay for the downgrade even though I have 5 months 10MB BB outstanding, I need to sign 30 months Mio instead of 24 months,
ML: Surfing normal net is ok, I have 2 users at home, downloading will take slightly longer than 10MB, but I feel it is worth the downgrade.
3. The DVR set top box offer is worth the money? do you mean watch normal tv can fast fwd or only recorded tv?
do you need to pay extra if you want to terminate this DVR service later?
ML: Yes definitedly. I now watch recorded TV, really save a lot of time. You have to record first then can fast forward. For example, or else you will be travelling faster than time :s13:
4. Does the offer comes with 2 free movies video-on-demand/month, in additional to the 2 free supervalue miotv channels packages?
ML: Yes, offer comes with 2 free movies, plus 2 free super value channels for 1 year.
mlwang
04-03-2009, 04:40 PM
The PC fair is less than 2 weeks away, do you reckon there will be better offers during the fair?
Frankly, I wont be keen if the bundle they offer at the fair includes gadgets that I wont be interested in like xbox, wii, hi-end HP, tiny netbooks, etc.. A clean package like what they are offering now will be good.
My guess is that they may throw is free DECT phone or taka shopping voucher during the show, just like what they did last IT show.
danzodanzo
04-03-2009, 04:48 PM
Hmm that's worth.
When I tried, the CSO say cannot, must stick to 10MB plan for mio home even if left few months bb contract.
What did it for you?
ML: When I downgraded there is a promo, I dont need to pay for the downgrade even though I have 5 months 10MB BB outstanding, I need to sign 30 months Mio instead of 24 months,
mlwang
04-03-2009, 05:07 PM
Hmm that's worth.
When I tried, the CSO say cannot, must stick to 10MB plan for mio home even if left few months bb contract.
What did it for you?
Think the promo is over. I signed up in Dec 08. I save 300++ dollars because i downgraded.
Try telling them you want to offer to extend your contract eg 24 months Mio + whatever months left in your 10MB contract.
Or else wait for IT show, see if the promo I signed up for will be back.
mike911
04-03-2009, 07:51 PM
Hmm that's worth.
What did it for you?
probably wait for the coming it show for promos maybe. cause when i asked recently the cso also mentioned cannot downgrade speed.
danzodanzo
05-03-2009, 12:26 PM
Just realized that Starhub has come up with even a better value plan than Mio Home.
1. All Maxonline BB comes with free Telephone fixed line subscription (same as Mio Home), save $10/mth!
In addition, Starhub also throw in free unlimited incoming and outgoing calls.
http://freehomeline.starhub.com/dv/start
2. BONUS: Upload speed enhanced to from 768kbps to 10Mbps!! (compared to Singtel's miserable 256kbps - 1Mbps)
even the lowest plan, you can now upload photos, email attachments and videos to youtube at least 3x faster!
http://www.starhub.com/portal/site/Online/menuitem.f2b59af84f3db376da055b608324a5a0/?vgnextoid=4ce653a58baeb010VgnVCM10000038425a0aRCRD
Hmm.. now Mio Home does not look so attractive anymore....
zenman
06-03-2009, 04:16 PM
My guess is that they may throw is free DECT phone or taka shopping voucher during the show, just like what they did last IT show.
Hi!
Thanks for the info, I can certainly use a DECT phone or Taka voucher!
I'll look fwd to 12/3 !!
zenman
06-03-2009, 04:19 PM
Just realized that Starhub has come up with even a better value plan than Mio Home.
1. All Maxonline BB comes with free Telephone fixed line subscription (same as Mio Home), save $10/mth!
2. BONUS: Upload speed enhanced to from 768kbps to 10Mbps!! (compared to Singtel's miserable 256kbps - 1Mbps)
even the lowest plan, you can now upload photos, email attachments and videos to youtube at least 3x faster!
http://www.starhub.com/portal/site/Online/menuitem.f2b59af84f3db376da055b608324a5a0/?vgnextoid=4ce653a58baeb010VgnVCM10000038425a0aRCRD
Maxonline BB is not a dedicated line but a shared channel,
& the free modem supports 1 telephone, so may not be suitable if you need a phone in every room, esp when u have old folks around.
chunxi
07-03-2009, 07:15 PM
mio home is fixed line, no electricity still can use
starhub is digital voice, off modem or modem spoil no phone call
the upload speed is "up to", don't fall for the same trick as their advertised download speed.
liangtam
07-03-2009, 08:59 PM
Maxonline BB is not a dedicated line but a shared channel,
& the free modem supports 1 telephone, so may not be suitable if you need a phone in every room, esp when u have old folks around.
Sorry, there are problems in your statement.
Internet IS a shared medium. ADSL is also shared after bras
DV can connect loopback to your existing phone point, hence can be used throughout. However, DECT phone is so much better.
mlwang
08-03-2009, 09:06 AM
Hi!
Thanks for the info, I can certainly use a DECT phone or Taka voucher!
I'll look fwd to 12/3 !!
he he just dont hold me to the DECT phone and taka voucher if Singtel never offer anything next week :p It is just my guess.
zenman
10-03-2009, 04:02 PM
he he just dont hold me to the DECT phone and taka voucher if Singtel never offer anything next week :p It is just my guess.
Haha..
no worries la..
if got useful freebies, then it is a BONUS!
chuppachop
10-03-2009, 08:30 PM
tot the 2 movie blockbusters videos-on-demand a month is for whole of 24 months contract...
don't know about the preview etc...
Dun think there is anymore of 2 movie BB VOD.
Currently, the promotion is 2 Superpack for 12 months. u can get more info here:
During Dec's Singtel roadshow, the prices are the same as the usual price plans. Only free 1 Philips Digital Cordless Phone if you sign up during those roadshow perios. Should be the same offer for coming IT show.
looonie
12-03-2009, 12:49 PM
i just signed up
still have 2 VOD movies per month
there're a number of free VOD channels also
and there's a promotion right now for DVR also, for mioHome u get 6mths free for 1 yr subscription, this sounds kinda tempting... :D
danzodanzo
12-03-2009, 01:35 PM
I don't think you need to pay for 1 year DVR subscription to get 6 months free...the first 6 months is FREE, after you can choose to continue or terminate...
Are there any better promotion or freebies at the IT show for Mio Home plans??
and there's a promotion right now for DVR also, for mioHome u get 6mths free for 1 yr subscription, this sounds kinda tempting... :D
looonie
12-03-2009, 02:52 PM
I don't think you need to pay for 1 year DVR subscription to get 6 months free...the first 6 months is FREE, after you can choose to continue or terminate...
Are there any better promotion or freebies at the IT show for Mio Home plans??
im actually a little confused about the dvr promotion.
on their site there's one for 9 months free where u just pay for 1st 3 months, i called to ask if i was eligible for that since i just signed up, CSO said yes. but later call back say no, im eligible for 6 mths free, but she didnt mention that it's on a trial like basis which u're referring to.
and there's a thread here of someone mention mioHome with 9mths free DVR, but that was 3 months ago heheh
edit: i just called to check again, the CSO says i have to pay 1 year to get 6 months free :(
on their site there's one for 9 months free where u just pay for 1st 3 months, i called to ask if i was eligible for that since i just signed up, CSO said yes. but later call back say no, im eligible for 6 mths free, but she didnt mention that it's on a trial like basis which u're referring to.
and there's a thread here of someone mention mioHome with 9mths free DVR, but that was 3 months ago heheh
edit: i just called to check again, the CSO says i have to pay 1 year to get 6 months free :(
it all comes back to 'do u need that service?" :s12:
dont because of they giving 'free 6months' and u gian tio lol
danzodanzo
12-03-2009, 03:32 PM
The 9mth promo is for the SingNet BB plan promo, not the SingTEL Mio Home plan, which comes with 6 mths.
mlwang
12-03-2009, 07:06 PM
it all comes back to 'do u need that service?" :s12:
dont because of they giving 'free 6months' and u gian tio lol
My personal experience on DVR is no harm giving it a try.
It really save u time watching TV, at your own pace.
My personal experience on DVR is no harm giving it a try.
It really save u time watching TV, at your own pace.
yah , as i mention is up to individual if they need the feature or not.
just dont because its free for 6 months and basically u never ever need it but u just want it. later in the end, u paid for it and never use it.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.