View Full Version : now i know how starhub works.
unwanted
02-03-2009, 10:04 PM
spoke to a tech specialisin in e networkin just now.
E network coverage in an area is very random. In your own loop, it does not mean your neighbour next door is sharing with you e bandwidth.
It can be one in every few blocks away.
Y can one don't enjoy a good speed?
1- can be because modem faulty. If one's modem is faulty, it will affect e entire loop of users as well. They will push e lagger into a network of laggers.
2- interference like noise or cabling, etc.
3- if you are a BT user take note. You are exhausting alot of bandwidth in the entire loop. You will drag e entire loop down. If some one complains about slow bandwidth. N you are detected as using bt, they will close your connection. Or drag you into a loop of slow users.
They won't bother wat u dl. Is e right holders catching.
:)
forumbot
02-03-2009, 10:56 PM
The problem with cablemodem-internet technology is
the UPLOAD
NOT the Downloads
This tech got problem handling high-bandwidth uploads from your system. It cannot handle it. It's a limitation of the technology.
Downloading is no problem at all actually..
I'm still waiting for FIBER Optic tech to come soon !
chunlianghere
02-03-2009, 11:37 PM
actually the upload do affect. as the max upload of most speed is 256kbps(32kB/s), the torrent will pull the max if nv limit, so tat wil cos the whole network to slow becos either the starhub trying to limit, or the modem trying to limit.
this is how i tink. if someone hav better explanation, go ahead.
liangtam
02-03-2009, 11:43 PM
Upload for the whole node in general is low, however, compared to adsl2+ max of 1mbit theory, it is way much higher. Besides, don't be too happy, ftth is also shared in some ways.
unwanted
03-03-2009, 01:14 AM
what i'm trying to pt out is.
the backend operators can be the reason behind ur laggy networks, they are empowered to do so.
they can just pull u into a node of laggers or limit ur connections if they find ya abusing the network.
Anybody in ur network who abuses bandwidth by BT, or someone a few miles away uses a lousy faulty modem. Will drag down the entire load too.
Say one day i complain my network is like sh it, the operator may just detect who is creating the trouble and isolate him or push him into a problematic node.
He also mentioned, those troublemaking network abusers, they will just isolate him until the network is like sh it and ignore all his complains. lol
Lucky i dun play BT.
santaboi
03-03-2009, 11:03 AM
He also mentioned, those troublemaking network abusers, they will just isolate him until the network is like sh it and ignore all his complains. lol
if that is true then all i can say is that starhub is really gay. so if i d/l a lot of **** from the internet are they goign to limit what i can download when the contract says unlimited data usage?
Ninja Turtle
03-03-2009, 11:16 AM
If what you say is true, then Starhub is very cheesepie.
They can do until like that meh ?
You technician specialist friend got bluff you or not ?
E network coverage in an area is very random. In your own loop, it does not mean your neighbour next door is sharing with you e bandwidth.
1- can be because modem faulty. If one's modem is faulty, it will affect e entire loop of users as well. They will push e lagger into a network of laggers.
3- if you are a BT user take note. You are exhausting alot of bandwidth in the entire loop. You will drag e entire loop down. If some one complains about slow bandwidth. N you are detected as using bt, they will close your connection. Or drag you into a loop of slow users.
the backend operators can be the reason behind ur laggy networks, they are empowered to do so.
they can just pull u into a node of laggers or limit ur connections if they find ya abusing the network.
Anybody in ur network who abuses bandwidth by BT, or someone a few miles away uses a lousy faulty modem. Will drag down the entire load too.
Say one day i complain my network is like sh it, the operator may just detect who is creating the trouble and isolate him or push him into a problematic node.
Lucky i dun play BT.
liangtam
03-03-2009, 11:28 AM
if that is true then all i can say is that starhub is really gay. so if i d/l a lot of **** from the internet are they goign to limit what i can download when the contract says unlimited data usage?
unlimited access time, not unlimited b/w.
If what you say is true, then Starhub is very cheesepie.
They can do until like that meh ?
You technician specialist friend got bluff you or not ?
actually, whose crone are chiu? :o
tRAILeRZ
03-03-2009, 11:31 AM
Your friend may be a tech specializing in networks.. but he confirm not from StarHub.
Just think how many tech staff would be needed to actually isolate heavy users.. if the customer base was 50 maybe can, but i think the reality maybe close to quarter of a million.. a whole room full of techs also not enough.. heavy users not just 1 or 2 only what.
phuque99
03-03-2009, 11:57 AM
you sure information real or speculation one? maybe your friend is describing what *can be done* but is it really done by the ISP? If so starhub really so eng do such nonsense izzit? hahaha. I remember in ISPs, nobody so eng eng do police work on micro managing single user, let alone cheapo consumer users.
sHrike
03-03-2009, 12:42 PM
[QUOTE=liangtam;36147520]unlimited access time, not unlimited b/w.
if not unlimited b/w , then how much b/w do we have? Is it stated? Get your facts right.
SteveAu
03-03-2009, 12:42 PM
r u really sure??? where gt tis kind of thing 1???
SleepyDay
03-03-2009, 12:50 PM
hey
anyone else experiencing slow speed with starhub now? :(
XeonHacker
03-03-2009, 01:45 PM
i tink ish hard to manage tis way.. throttle BT would very much be very effective w/o too much work..
liangtam
03-03-2009, 01:55 PM
if not unlimited b/w , then how much b/w do we have? Is it stated? Get your facts right.
Access time is up to the maximum seconds per month(on monthly basis), however b/w is finite. In the sense of marketing, its up to xxMbps.
Getting 0bit/s in Up to xxMbps is valid and hence stated and NOT stated.
You can say its unlimited access (time) or unlimited usage instead. Of course the latter is subjected to the 2 conditions, time and b/w limit of anywhere between 0 to xMbps.
You need to go read up instead...
liangtam
03-03-2009, 01:59 PM
Putting ppl in diff node is near impossible in the cable implementation tho
Putting ppl is a subjected subnet is more plausible tho.
kennyboy
03-03-2009, 02:02 PM
What TS heard is confirmed wrong. No such thing.
LemonT
03-03-2009, 02:51 PM
Node is something physical so usually there's only up to a certain extent you can split. SG is not very ideal for cable is because we have a much higher population density per area than countries like US.
IP is easy to manipulate on the other hand.
Minimum I can foresee is a node per HDB block, but it's not exactly possible due to cost and space. So avg 1 node has 3-4 blocks, so it's common for 1 node to have 200+ users.
LemonT
03-03-2009, 02:56 PM
A faulty modem might cause a ripple effect onto the whole node in the sense that the modem might produce unnecessary noise that affects the signal integrity of the whole node.
A specified amount of bandwidth is shared by each node or a few nodes usually. So more people leeching p2p stuff will affect the overall spare bandwidth left for the whole node.
KingOfHell
03-03-2009, 03:07 PM
The problem with cablemodem-internet technology is
the UPLOAD
NOT the Downloads
This tech got problem handling high-bandwidth uploads from your system. It cannot handle it. It's a limitation of the technology.
Downloading is no problem at all actually..
I'm still waiting for FIBER Optic tech to come soon !
There's a lot of problem with starhub's proxy servers.
Sometimes download speed can be atrocious using standard http connection, but if you switch to https, even if downloading from the same server same file etc., download speed can increase drastically
unwanted
04-03-2009, 12:53 AM
he is someone reliable i know from starhub, he handle cases of ppl who complain network slow, etc.
although i dun catch exactly all the tech terms he was saying, but more or less is abt that.
Actually there's much more factors, i nv catch all he said.
The tech dun have to go to ur house and check and pull ur connections to which node.
it can b all done at backend remotely, not that need to pull physical cable.
they will only do such isolation or close ur node if there's pp in ur node complain of slow signal.
They will send tech down check, if cannot find what's wrong they will call the back office to do a loop check.
If it's traced to be a certain terminal is creating trouble, they will drag that lagger to an isolated loop or somewhere else. Done by the back end, not the tech.
Also in the same node.
The users will not be ur neighbour nor will it be all from ur block.
It can be only 2 or 3 users in one block, and jump randomly ard ur neighbourhood. Can be dozen of blocks away
Obviouz
04-03-2009, 01:23 AM
so chim.... for easy usage. go for SINGNET. :o
silencer22
04-03-2009, 01:42 AM
so chim.... for easy usage. go for SINGNET. :o
actually singnet oso not fully dedicated...
in public telefone network, each hse has dedicated line, but they r linked up to switching station, den the lines are combined...
anyway there are only 2-3 underwater cable from sg to elsewhere, all internet has to go thru this v same cable...
LemonT
04-03-2009, 01:45 AM
he is someone reliable i know from starhub, he handle cases of ppl who complain network slow, etc.
although i dun catch exactly all the tech terms he was saying, but more or less is abt that.
The tech dun have to go to ur house and check and pull ur connections to which node.
they will only do such isolation or close ur node if there's pp in ur node complain of slow signal.
They will send tech down check, if cannot find what's wrong they will call the back office to do a loop check.
If it's traced to be a certain terminal is creating trouble, they will drag that lagger to an isolated loop or somewhere else. Done by the back end, not the tech.
Also in the same node.
It can be only 2 or 3 users in one block, and jump randomly ard ur neighbourhood. Can be dozen of blocks away
It's not possible to have you in node A and your neighbour next door in node B.
It's possible for a person few blocks away to be in the same node as you.
The tech has to go down physically to do signal checks at nodes or blocks.
Splitting or combining nodes is consider a big operation and usually the affected users will receive a letter from SH notifying them of a signal shutdown. Will also paste the notification at the void decks.
If the culprit is located to be in a sub's house. The sub will be notified of the problem, if sub is not around, his signal could be blocked.
IMHO your tech friend is not 100% accurate or your interpretation of his explanation is wrong.
my 2 cents.
liangtam
04-03-2009, 02:36 AM
Also in the same node.
your fren bluff u issit?
all the same floor neighbours all are connected to the SAME RG6 cabling. Its like you splitting 1 main cable point to many point by means of splitter. Outside oso like this connect de... how to selectively choose the bugger? Not possible!
It is possible to detect users who are P2Ping, hence throttling can kick in. Because of this, there is no viable reasons to consider the above methods at all.
ohmygod1986
04-03-2009, 09:03 AM
Probably who knows they really can do something to limit the heavy user :s22:
albertchng
04-03-2009, 09:17 AM
your fren bluff u issit?
all the same floor neighbours all are connected to the SAME RG6 cabling. Its like you splitting 1 main cable point to many point by means of splitter. Outside oso like this connect de... how to selectively choose the bugger? Not possible!
It is possible to detect users who are P2Ping, hence throttling can kick in. Because of this, there is no viable reasons to consider the above methods at all.
Can be done lah... just that his friend didnt explain it clearly in layman term to him.
dlocenot
04-03-2009, 10:03 AM
Doesn't sound logical or cost efficient if the neighbour next door is on a different node from you. Though they definitely can limit your speed from backend. But to what extent will they micromanage customers? Cost is the issue here.
tRAILeRZ
04-03-2009, 01:23 PM
Very vague to which part of the case he handles.. it could be the guy who does the overseas bandwidth, local bandwidth, modem signal, technician and even customer service also "handle" network slow cases. If he's not the one doing it himself, it could be his interpretion of what his colleagues are doing.
liangtam
04-03-2009, 01:25 PM
I hope hes not a sales guy smoking his way thru and get ppl sign MOL.
There are many better excuses to use instead.
unwanted
04-03-2009, 01:29 PM
Very vague to which part of the case he handles.. it could be the guy who does the overseas bandwidth, local bandwidth, modem signal, technician and even customer service also "handle" network slow cases. If he's not the one doing it himself, it could be his interpretion of what his colleagues are doing.
he's e one on the field solving e problems, nt sales related at all.
not sure exactly is it fully correct, but abt there.
i think there's other techs here who can answer.
also mentioned gt uplink downlink line etc.
also mentioned u can tap two lines.
also told me why now sh so slow compare to last time.
told me which is a good modem,etc
one blk there's onli a few users in e same node n it jumps randomly ard e neighbourhood.
not as what alot of ppl tot, ur neighbour is sharing ur same bandwidth with u.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.