View Full Version : Grr..Starhub Issue? Ok Latency but Poor on Quality??
Elysian
02-03-2009, 10:59 PM
i have been experiencing some lag in my internet connection. I did some testing of my own and i found the following results. [Refer to the trace route below]
2 8 ms 9 ms 11 ms cm1.gamma168.maxonline.com.sg [202.156.168.1]
3 10 ms 8 ms 8 ms 172.20.32.65
4 9 ms 9 ms 12 ms 172.26.32.1
5 10 ms 8 ms 9 ms 172.20.7.10
6 161 ms 199 ms 207 ms 172.20.8.129
7 * 9 ms 9 ms 203.117.34.101
8 12 ms 13 ms 12 ms 203.117.34.9
9 12 ms 9 ms 12 ms 72.14.196.189
10 13 ms 10 ms 12 ms 209.85.254.166
11 10 ms 13 ms 12 ms 209.85.254.179
12 11 ms 14 ms 14 ms sn-in-f104.google.com [216.239.61.104]
Trace complete.
When i do a continues ping to the starhub gateway: 202.156.168.1(Next Hop from my router) and 172.20.32.65 the Latency is good. And there are Zero drop packets.
172.26.32.1 has 1 packet lost from 225ping packet sent.
but once i ping to 172.20.8.129 there are multiple drop packets, 8% packet loss from 57 ping packet sent. Ping to 203.117.34.101 34.9 and onwards including google.com.sg has alot of drop packets.
In Networking, Latency is not everything. It is also about the quality of the "Data Medium" as they can cause data packets to corrupt.
Bad or corrupted data packets can cause you connection to lag due to lost of packets and the need to retransmit these packets (TCP). If your connections is a UDP base, then it will not retransmit at all.
If drop packets are too frequent it can cause your connection to drop as well, this will depend on how much tolerance your application that you are running has.
This has been affecting my MMO gaming greatly as it requires realtime data transfer. Surfing the web at times are sluggish as well.
I have sent an Email to Starhub 's customercar@starhub.com yesterday night, they have yet to reply to me on my findings.
liangtam
02-03-2009, 11:49 PM
When routers are overloaded, they tend to drop packets. The first is icmp ping. Comparing the drop rate of the routers and later hops. If router is more than next hop, then the upstream is having problems or all icmp thrown.
Elysian
03-03-2009, 12:03 AM
When routers are overloaded, they tend to drop packets. The first is icmp ping. Comparing the drop rate of the routers and later hops. If router is more than next hop, then the upstream is having problems or all icmp thrown.
Yes drop packets maybe due to overloading, but 8% drop is alot when the router has an average latency reply of 200ms.
phuque99
03-03-2009, 12:20 AM
Well, the thing is almost all routers are configured so that ping packets boh bau jiak. If deciding between tcp and icmp ping packets, routers will make sure tcp more bau jiak.
You use this to complain also will amount to nothing as you're sending to a common email address without a case number or subscriber identity. Thus you'll get template reply. The common issue is these type of monitoring is not done long term. If you can get monitoring data that shows issue *over time* and is *consistent*, you'll get by passed immediately to engineers.
The only problem that consumer lack is expertise and tools in performing continous monitoring to justify any real issue, if any. One time test amounts to nothing really more than "noise" and tio jiak by starhub.
Elysian
03-03-2009, 12:42 AM
Well, the thing is almost all routers are configured so that ping packets boh bau jiak. If deciding between tcp and icmp ping packets, routers will make sure tcp more bau jiak.
You use this to complain also will amount to nothing as you're sending to a common email address without a case number or subscriber identity. Thus you'll get template reply. The common issue is these type of monitoring is not done long term. If you can get monitoring data that shows issue *over time* and is *consistent*, you'll get by passed immediately to engineers.
The only problem that consumer lack is expertise and tools in performing continous monitoring to justify any real issue, if any. One time test amounts to nothing really more than "noise" and tio jiak by starhub.
High Latency reply and drop packets = High chance of High utilization of both link or router.
Low Latency reply and drop packets = High chance of medium or interface issue that result in CRC. Though it can be the processor utilization issue of the router, but in most cases it will result in High latency reply as well.
Walk_Hard
03-03-2009, 12:47 AM
What a damn joke, I'm actually on maxmobile just to reply to this post.
maxmobile fine, but my connection at home through cable has no bandwith.
Elysian
03-03-2009, 12:55 AM
What a damn joke, I'm actually on maxmobile just to reply to this post.
maxmobile fine, but my connection at home through cable has no bandwith.
2 THUmBS up TO STARhub
its A STAR winner
Elysian
03-03-2009, 01:00 AM
Anyway this thread is suppose to see if any more ppl facing similar problem at other parts of SG while using Maxonline?
I am just sharing my findings. You can never really tell if its router overload or link error blah blah, we can only assume which is more likely unless we can log into the router and view the logs.
But the bottom line is....is every max online User facing the same Issue?
liangtam
03-03-2009, 01:13 AM
u asked the others on the same subnet to do ping for you lor, if the latency from others are low, chances are selectivity issue...
tRAILeRZ
03-03-2009, 12:51 PM
maybe you can try using pingplotter which is like a visual pathping. then see which hop is dropping alot of packets. use to pingplot to your MMO server.
Your testing methods carries very little weight since you're using icmp.. there's an option of setting to tcp packets in pingplotter.
Soon__
03-03-2009, 04:34 PM
THey haven't finish fixing their underground cable issue since last week.
albertchng
03-03-2009, 04:47 PM
You believe their cable is 20 kilometers deep under the ground??? :s13:
satyavirya
03-03-2009, 09:16 PM
hi.. anyone having problem to access gmail using maxonline? i've experiencing this for around a week, other websites work well, but gmail is super slow to load, and many times it failed to load :(
stussyking
04-03-2009, 01:45 AM
wah.. i dunno sia.. no wonder since last week thio kena starlag.. maybe this is the issue .. after all ?
u got link of the news ...
liangtam
04-03-2009, 02:41 AM
There are so many underground cable around. Anyhow dig oso can find one. Spoil liao oso only affect specific area like 1/4 town and not islandwide.
tRAILeRZ
04-03-2009, 01:34 PM
hi.. anyone having problem to access gmail using maxonline? i've experiencing this for around a week, other websites work well, but gmail is super slow to load, and many times it failed to load :(
try https://gmail.com
seems to be loading all the time for me.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.