View Full Version : Bad experience with Singtel broadband on mobile
arron_potter
03-03-2009, 12:56 AM
I had encounter a very bad experience with Singtel broadband on mobile I'm on mobile 2000 plan but just having a download speed of of 40kbps to 70kpbs during for 6pm till midnight by the way I'm staying near central zone. Had tried calling the customer service a couple of times to complain about it but they are just like an answering machine repeating the same thing saying that there is alot of user in my area so it will be slow. Since the bandwidth can't allocate to the number of users they have why they still let signing up new users? is this really fair to user like us? now the speed i'm using is just slightly better than a 56k modem. Is this speed really unreasonable? We are in the 1st world country with speed at tied or worst than a 3rd world country? Really hope Singtel could do something on this.
unwanted
03-03-2009, 01:17 AM
can u complain for me as well?
my speed is...0 - 4kbps for 5pm to 1am
Central area as well.
i feel so cheated
liangtam
03-03-2009, 01:21 AM
If its slightly better than 56K, feel free to go back use it. Tsk tsk.
Shared medium, get the SLOWEST plan can le. Pay less also, save your wallet from having a hole.
Mobile BB is no cap. Not everytime will have 0 or alot ppl using, hence cannot be guaranteed or anything.
arron_potter
03-03-2009, 02:19 AM
I'm not demanding a very fast internet if i'm paying just peanuts but what I this is that the service provider should be fair to us at least make it usable. Hey now its take mins to load a yahoo home page i'm shy that i'm a broadband user.
liangtam
03-03-2009, 02:43 AM
everyone wans their share, but this type of technology allows first or not? It dosn't!
It dosn't matter how they claim theorectical this and that, the only thing is, if the shared medium b/w is low to began with, get the most basic plan. Its like a everyone is 2Mbps user with a network capable of 7.2Mbps compared to 100Mbps(wired), which one can accomodate more ppl before sharing of access starts? Very obvious right?
You read back the ST BBoM threads you'll know why everyone insist get 1mbps only.
blacklotus
03-03-2009, 05:39 AM
everyone wans their share, but this type of technology allows first or not? It dosn't!
It dosn't matter how they claim theorectical this and that, the only thing is, if the shared medium b/w is low to began with, get the most basic plan. Its like a everyone is 2Mbps user with a network capable of 7.2Mbps compared to 100Mbps(wired), which one can accomodate more ppl before sharing of access starts? Very obvious right?
You read back the ST BBoM threads you'll know why everyone insist get 1mbps only.
Is this the Liangtam we know? I thought you always support ISPs to screw us? :s13:
Anyway, what you said is true. But I'm surprised Singnet is capping capacity. After all, Singnet only bundle the 1st 50GB with the plan. After that, it's extra income for them. So there's no reason for Singnet or M1 to cap their Mobile plan, unlike Starhub, which is truely unlimited. Hence, Starhub also has very bad connection speed for most of the day.=:p
The best thing for a customer of Singapore's ISPs is to subscribe to their cheapest unlimited fixed price plan. At least when one's connection is zero KBs, we won't feel so cheated. Definitely no more high end 7.2Mbps/10Mbps/100Mbps plan for me.
liangtam
03-03-2009, 11:38 AM
Is this the Liangtam we know? I thought you always support ISPs to screw us? :s13:
No, you screw urself can le ;)
Anyway, what you said is true. But I'm surprised Singnet is capping capacity. After all, Singnet only bundle the 1st 50GB with the plan. After that, it's extra income for them. So there's no reason for Singnet or M1 to cap their Mobile plan, unlike Starhub, which is truely unlimited. Hence, Starhub also has very bad connection speed for most of the day.=:p
The best thing for a customer of Singapore's ISPs is to subscribe to their cheapest unlimited fixed price plan. At least when one's connection is zero KBs, we won't feel so cheated. Definitely no more high end 7.2Mbps/10Mbps/100Mbps plan for me.
Something motivates them, $ lor. You always see their emphasis to get higher plan, not that the rate is achievable at all.
geckoSG
03-03-2009, 09:05 PM
Well, this shows that people dun read the threads on BBoM, so much of complains there liao and still got people take up more than the 1Mbps plan...
All I can say is, serve them rite... :D
blacklotus
04-03-2009, 12:35 AM
No, you screw urself can le ;)
Something motivates them, $ lor. You always see their emphasis to get higher plan, not that the rate is achievable at all.
Tis difficult to screw oneself when one's not equipped like a stallion. :s13:
Anyway, back on topic, seems like the current 7.2Mbps Mobile Broadband services aren't up to scratch.
Yet the ISPs are already planning 21Mbps services. I wonder how good/bad these 21Mbps plans will be...
But I'm definitely not going to be the 1st to sign up the new plans, unless it's free... :D
liangtam
04-03-2009, 12:42 AM
Tis difficult to screw oneself when one's not equipped like a stallion. :s13:
Sorry? Don't get you :s11:
Anyway, back on topic, seems like the current 7.2Mbps Mobile Broadband services aren't up to scratch.
Yet the ISPs are already planning 21Mbps services. I wonder how good/bad these 21Mbps plans will be...
But I'm definitely not going to be the 1st to sign up the new plans, unless it's free... :D
Assuming everyone subscribe 2MBps, having a network with 7.2Mbps allocated compared to 21Mbps makes alot difference. Difference of 7 more ppl on each base before sharing starts. Tho, 21 is still low
stussyking
04-03-2009, 01:38 AM
so is it like the united states of america where the "premium/top end" users speed gets lesser caps because they paying more ?
Since many starhub users usually go for 8mbps-12mbps .. so the middle bandwith cap suffers ? esp those 8mbps cos their b/w pool gets allocated fast and they start sharing ALMOST immediately .. esp during peak hours ?
is this what u're trying to say ?
liangtam
04-03-2009, 02:45 AM
so is it like the united states of america where the "premium/top end" users speed gets lesser caps because they paying more ?
If you're talking about fixed bb such as MOL the-most-exp-plan, yes.
However, in mobile terms this is not the case since airtime allocation is hard.
Since many starhub users usually go for 8mbps-12mbps .. so the middle bandwith cap suffers ? esp those 8mbps cos their b/w pool gets allocated fast and they start sharing ALMOST immediately .. esp during peak hours ?
the method of sharing for fixed bb will have more factors...
apatheticme
04-03-2009, 02:54 PM
Next time know what you are signing up for before signing.
and here I was, thinking that everyone knows that the numbers are marketing bull****.
I still believe a cheap 5gig or so monthly transfer with SMS reminders sent at every 500MB to 1gig used would be much healthier to the development of mobile internet solutions on the whole in SG, compared to this bullsh*t hogging of the network.
arron_potter
04-03-2009, 08:19 PM
Had been trying to be cool about this matter but the BBoM really cant be used when i'm back home. Really regretted signing up this bull**** broadband.
liangtam
04-03-2009, 11:30 PM
Had been trying to be cool about this matter but the BBoM really cant be used when i'm back home. Really regretted signing up this bull**** broadband.
Mobile BB are NOT suppose to replace your main connection.
biueish
05-03-2009, 05:14 PM
Mobile BB are NOT suppose to replace your main connection.
:s13: so true. but the problem is people don't get it.
and the ISPs are not helping by sending the wrong signals
50GB cap = too much
super high speed plans for bbom = retarded since you cant achieve that speed anw
etc etc. and ppl that fall for this marketing gimmick should drop/downgrade their plans imo.
probably have to wait out the contract tho =/
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.