PDA

View Full Version : why would anyone pick starhub over singnet?

IIRedsunsII
06-03-2009, 08:41 PM
if specifically talking abt performance. Putting away whatever issues you have or freebies.

Singnet
Peak hour is a non-issue
Better BT and stable gaming in general.

Starhub
Peak hour is a nightmare.
Bad BT and gaming in general.
Download speed is nothing awesome too.

I'm curious why would anyone pick starhub. can anyone enlighten me?

Weinter
06-03-2009, 08:42 PM
Until before yesterday StarHub was actually quite fast
I was a ex-singnet user
but their infrastructure sucks keep drop the DSL connection totally pissed off

IIRedsunsII
06-03-2009, 08:48 PM
Until before yesterday StarHub was actually quite fast
I was a ex-singnet user
but their infrastructure sucks keep drop the DSL connection totally pissed off

i dunno. but i seen so many ppl complaining about Starhub over slow BT, unstable gaming and even problems with common things like youtube, facebook, web surfing..etc. Its kinda scary. The problems seem pretty widespread among starhub users.

I have been using singnet from the dawn of broadband until now. I wanted to give cable a try..but all these negative feedbacks are holding me back...Singnet again? lol..

jabberwock
06-03-2009, 09:02 PM
Starhub used to be fine, until sometime late last year where many problems start to appear. Not wise to jump to starhub now.

Francis85
06-03-2009, 09:03 PM
All jump to starhub best........ Starhub FTW...........

mistersoh
06-03-2009, 09:08 PM
starhub got a lot problems lately.... :s27:

albertchng
06-03-2009, 09:34 PM

yes, i agreed 100%... Starhub FTW... Best ISP in Singapore, Ubin and some say Tekong too! :s13:

lamesensei
06-03-2009, 09:39 PM
well it started with singnet sucked so everyone jumped to starhub... then ..
u get the picture.

albertchng
06-03-2009, 09:58 PM
well it started with singnet sucked so everyone jumped to starhub... then ..
u get the picture.

I'm on SingNet since a very long time ago... good all the way!

poignant
06-03-2009, 10:03 PM
My Mio is quite scary.
In my experience there is frequent instability, leaving me with no residential line and internet connection. Resetting of Modem may or may not work depending on whether it's a good day.
Customer Service Calls using my Hp gets quite expensive due to waiting time.

Might want to check out StarHub, meanwhile finishing my 30 mth contract.

yusoffb01
06-03-2009, 10:15 PM
Starhub bad BT because it detects it and throttles it down to make bandwidth for other starhub users. Obviously dont use starhub. There was a bad feedback about slow dl speed for singnet in ST article long ago. BUT things have changed.

chunlianghere
06-03-2009, 10:41 PM
singnet user here also very long liao..

if those wan to jump to starhub, go ahead! haha...

Eon
06-03-2009, 11:08 PM
To TS, not everyone is suitable to use adsl, it depends on their house wiring as well. For my case, I can get adsl disconnection for about 100+ times a day (from modem connection log). I have tried to change modem, ask them do line test but all these does not solve the disconnection problem. Imaging you get disconnect from online game 4-5 times an hour. Its also darm fustrating as I am tied down with 2yr contract. After I change to starhub, I do not experience any d/c except during the period when their network got problem.

I admit there are times whereby I am tempted to give adsl a try again but the bad d/c experience put me off. Imagine 2yrs of contract = 2 yrs of nightmare if there are d/c issue.

imo starhub is alright if u dun bt. I can still have 300-400KBps during peak period. Is hard to determine who is the culprit behind the slow connection during peak period as it could either be the isp or the webserver.

To answer TS's question, I would prefer a slow connection than no connection (d/c).

phuque99
06-03-2009, 11:16 PM
Do realized that a lot of singapore population has internet connection and singaporeans are not known to praise. when everything is steady pom pipi, people just go on with their lives. when you hear "noise", it is only when not working. Thus what you hear in forums are only complains and it sound like a small handful only, while the rest of the population is happy using starhub/singnet/what-ever-net without complains.

Thus forum noise and kpkb are never accurate reflection of true statistic or errors of either ISP.

epos
06-03-2009, 11:30 PM
performance issue aside--we are know it SUX in all area except http/ftp downloading. it does ~5MBps when downloading the bloated .NET 3.5 SP1, took less than one minute to download the ~230MB file.

I still use Starhub because I'm used to cable's plug n play; I'm not willing to pay >$110 just for a fixed telephone line when the DV is free; I can't live with mediacorps, I need cable TV. :D

these services make me a hubber where I can save 30% on post-paid mobile, 10% on cable TV and 5% on MOL. its all about which ISP give me the best value, if money is not a problem, MOL will have kicked out of my house long time ago.

liangtam
07-03-2009, 12:16 AM

Eh, cannot leh.
U say starfug ftw later no more job for chiu

Even tho starfug rly ftw when u dl, dl and dls :)

alvino77
07-03-2009, 02:50 AM
yes like some said. starhub was alright till sometime late last yr. the connection speed deteriorated by a huge margin form my experience. i think that HP mininote promo arrested a massive amount of users which the fat green pipe becomes a black sewage pipe.

Youtube sucks big time on MOL since the days of yore.

SG-er gian png, got promo worth it just jumped without thinking.

wherehouse
07-03-2009, 03:24 AM
yes like some said. starhub was alright till sometime late last yr. the connection speed deteriorated by a huge margin form my experience. i think that HP mininote promo arrested a massive amount of users which the fat green pipe becomes a black sewage pipe.

Youtube sucks big time on MOL since the days of yore.

SG-er gian png, got promo worth it just jumped without thinking.
Reason #1 - No fixed line service in the residence, no fixed address.

Francis85
07-03-2009, 06:51 AM
Eh, cannot leh.
U say starfug ftw later no more job for chiu

Even tho starfug rly ftw when u dl, dl and dls :)

:s22::s22::s22:

satay16
07-03-2009, 03:35 PM
cos it has been working fine since the day i started using starhub? which was 6-7 years ago,.

eddy2099sg
07-03-2009, 03:46 PM
Well, my Singtel landline does have a lot of line noise and thus is very unstable even for voice calls and thus I got that terminated years back.

Starhub offers free landlines, free internet access for my Hubstation subscription so what can beat that ? Besides I am not a heavy net user and being from an old housing estate where many of my neighbours are not starhub users, I don't really experience any slowdown which is not acceptable. What can I really complain since I am not paying anything for it.

Quite happy with their service so far.

n95crazy
07-03-2009, 07:14 PM
becos if you sign up a 2 yr singnet connection at $80 per month and after 1 month the price of the connection drops to $20... you will be stuck at $80 but starhub's changes are global
if tomorrow they drop from $80 to $10, everybody gets to enjoy the new price...

also singnet are anti-competition... just look at their exclusive iphone and htc dream... you HAVE to get a data connection together with the voice plan... does m1 or starhub do something like this?

if you really want to enjoy paying high prices for average service... get singnet
low prices for excellent service - starhub

wherehouse
07-03-2009, 07:15 PM
Well, my Singtel landline does have a lot of line noise and thus is very unstable even for voice calls and thus I got that terminated years back.

Starhub offers free landlines, free internet access for my Hubstation subscription so what can beat that ? Besides I am not a heavy net user and being from an old housing estate where many of my neighbours are not starhub users, I don't really experience any slowdown which is not acceptable. What can I really complain since I am not paying anything for it.

Quite happy with their service so far.

i think that sums it up?

wherehouse
07-03-2009, 07:17 PM
cos my place no fixed line and i move around sometimes, so if MOL is going to make me frustrated , in the end i just may choose m1 fixed broadband... dollar for dollar cheaper per mbit - i have mobile line, no need the DV either.

yusoffb01
07-03-2009, 07:45 PM
If comparing just internet, singnet is better but sometimes hard to connect to internet if u switch off modem and switch back on need to wait a while. And BT download using singnet is fast starhub will detect and will throttle down speed.

But if u sign up for phone and cable tv, of course getting hub club is value for money and singnet coming up with 1 right?

liangtam
07-03-2009, 07:51 PM
Only PPPoE need wait timeout. Else you can reconnect immediately

algerr
07-03-2009, 08:39 PM
jumped from singnet ADSL to starhub since 2003..

reason then: dun want to use phone line, dun want to dial-in, easy setup.

reason now: privacy is a more impt issue, esp what happened to singnet users dling anime etc..

Agree that starhub BT is slow as compared to singnet..u can always use other softwares to dl torrent..e.g xunlei...u may get faster speeds..

for online gaming-wise..think it's laggier than singnet..if i not wrong...

Just hope the coming IT show will have surprises that will make me stay with starhub..which is near impossible.:)