PDA

View Full Version : What's wrong with Starhub. Mar 2009

osimese
08-03-2009, 01:48 AM
Connection to oversea servers so slow. Some picture wont even load. BT also the same. Play any game also very lag!!!

JPadPro
08-03-2009, 03:10 AM
Same issue.
Peak hours are horrible, non-peak also seems affected as well.
:(

kai_87
08-03-2009, 09:17 AM
i think must jumpship already

kenloonglow
08-03-2009, 10:40 AM
sigh...what else can we do beside jump ship (if no more contract) ?

osimese
08-03-2009, 01:35 PM
It was ok with the usual peak crawl until lately become more and more worse. I got no contact but I think will still stick to starhub cos of my home digi voice. had an even worse experience with singnet.

shamuslee
08-03-2009, 01:45 PM
Jumped to Singnet:(

Just Me
08-03-2009, 01:49 PM
i think must jumpship already
In SH's case, you walk the plank to get off the ship... :D

anyhowsaysay
08-03-2009, 02:38 PM
surfing internet very slow

especially loading..

Peak hour can't use at all, unless very patient waiting for loading

but bit torrent does not seem to be affected that much

hotweb
08-03-2009, 02:41 PM
yah same idea here, starhub is so lousy and they don't seem to fix the problem (since Jan 08),
can someone comment if M1 is good?

yfWong
08-03-2009, 02:49 PM
Last time cannot even load pictures, always red x. Now uber slow .... F5 F5 F5 all the way :s27:

Kenntt
08-03-2009, 04:04 PM
Same here. Super slow access on MOL. Can't load pictures on flickr.
Calling hotline soon.

bitsoffish
08-03-2009, 04:35 PM
im on the 2mbps plan and speeds are completely ****ed throughout the day. ****ing sick of it already. likely terminating tonight.

have another 8mpbs at my parents place. and the speed at night is completely screwed up as well. that one see IT show got good promos from singnet and will be switching over as well.

sick of the bull**** they have been giving.

spark7
08-03-2009, 04:49 PM
pls call them to screw them to let them know

tigerwoods
08-03-2009, 04:53 PM
SH = SLOW like HELL

bitsoffish
08-03-2009, 05:09 PM
pls call them to screw them to let them know

im not gonna waste my effort screwing them as it wont change anything anyways. id terminate the 2mbps and go to the singnet 1mbps directly

WahChicken
08-03-2009, 05:38 PM
Haha....Starhub have did it again....I guess.

Don't bother to call the hotline bah....
Seriously...the support staff are non technical people so please do not harass them!!! =P

Why do I say, don't bother is that they always ask their customer to perform a set of test which are totally useless and time wasting.

Most of the time, they always blame it on your router.....saying that this might have caused it. The last time I called...I ended the call pretty quick by just saying the following,

- I Do Not have a router
- direct connection via cable
- No Firewall
- Turn off my Anti virus
- Check that WINXP firewall is OFF
- Updated my OS and my lan card driver to the latest version
- I AM AN COMMS ENGINEER

and...the staff was so astonish that i was so direct that he say he will get back to the network engineer in charge and let me know again.

No reply from them after that....sad......

Common reason they have gave me
- Connection Interruption thus...they are redirecting traffic
- Performing repair or maintenance
- high traffic usage during peak hours

They can't say anything about the router, AV and Firewall...etc
because i did state i do not have it or have turned off....haha

I will be terminating my 8MB Plan with them when my contract ends.....God Bless Starhub!!!!
hahah

phoby
08-03-2009, 05:45 PM
wow this is exactly what i told them and also got the same old reply that they will get back to us and since then i dont hear anymore from them

WahChicken
08-03-2009, 06:09 PM
Starhub = Standard
Reply.

...hahaha=P

liangtam
08-03-2009, 06:22 PM
u just cracked their SOP

stussyking
08-03-2009, 10:55 PM
so jumping ship to who ? .. singnet ..

mata_hippo
08-03-2009, 11:15 PM
how good if our favourite online game servers r located here

santaboi
09-03-2009, 12:33 AM
anyone had problems accessing the internet about 20mins ago?

VickyToh
09-03-2009, 11:42 AM
Guessed SH is conducting some sort of experiment....... trying to limit or throttle the Bandwidth so as to determine how much lower could they go further......... so that they'll know how many more new users could be accomodated for the coming Sitex2009?

ackrapovic
10-03-2009, 12:52 PM
The story of jumping ship is baffling me....

no doubt starhub is f#$% up this few mths....

i have experienced their customer service all the way to the technical..poor coordination and

handling customer....

Back to the jumping ship....If most of you guys decided to jump ship, that will lighten

starhub's network load...thus making their network faster..and then singnet back to slow

mode...isnt that ironic....then after that u all jump ship again.....

I'm monitoring after the SITEX if there is any improvement....if not...i think we all go fly

kite better....

albertchng
10-03-2009, 04:00 PM

that will lighten starhub's network load...thus making their network faster..and then singnet back to slow mode...isnt that ironic....then after that u all jump ship again.....

I'm monitoring after the SITEX if there is any improvement....if not...i think we all go fly kite better...

singnet will return to slow mode? how you know? where you heard? :yawn:

after SITEX if you are still with SH, then good luck flying your kite... :s13:

rojiko
10-03-2009, 07:05 PM
sh sux so badly.. i trying to get help from them.. n they are nt responding.. wtf is this siaa

Swordsman
10-03-2009, 10:21 PM
even load hwz forum also so long... def going to jump ship to singnet...

Just Me
10-03-2009, 10:26 PM
sh sux so badly.. i trying to get help from them.. n they are nt responding.. wtf is this siaa
They are too busy doing OT chopping up the carrot heads for the upcoming PC show. :D

Always plenty of mules around to bite ya know..

liangtam
11-03-2009, 12:15 AM
even load hwz forum also so long... def going to jump ship to singnet...

Anytime between 10-12, you must have condo... i mean durex. if not cannot surf one

wisely2000
14-03-2009, 12:01 PM
its sucks big time at my place too ..thomson area ..then again i may re-contract again if they will give out freebies like notebooks (not those minis ) :-)

Sonic_85
16-03-2009, 01:49 AM
haiz me on sh oso facebook pics cant even load :(

stussyking
16-03-2009, 04:13 AM
I cant dowload anymore revision3 videos ... just now can stream .. now streaming also cannot OMG ..

chinnian
16-03-2009, 11:56 AM
Last night i finally got thru the SH hotline after 15 mins to complain about my Hubstation internet problem. Super slow surfing for the past 2 weeks.
The CSO said my HubStation modem mac id isn't activated yet (which doesn't make sense as i've been surfing using it for the past 5 mths or so)..

anyway, i gave her the mac id as told, and she "activated" it in 10 mins, and it's back to norm again.
will monitor it for a few days.. before i finally decide to jump ship.. (well, my internet on HubStation is "complimentary" now anyway).

tigerwoods
16-03-2009, 01:00 PM
I cant dowload anymore revision3 videos ... just now can stream .. now streaming also cannot OMG ..

revision3 videos must use a download accelerator, I always max out when downloading revision3 videos
http://i44.tinypic.com/2dcbcsp.jpg

kaicheng83
16-03-2009, 08:00 PM
Pinging 116.87.128.1 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 116.87.128.1: bytes=32 time=715ms TTL=63
Reply from 116.87.128.1: bytes=32 time=544ms TTL=63
Reply from 116.87.128.1: bytes=32 time=691ms TTL=63
Reply from 116.87.128.1: bytes=32 time=680ms TTL=63

Ping statistics for 116.87.128.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 544ms, Maximum = 715ms, Average = 657ms

hmmmmmm using Maxonline surflite

any idea how come latency so high ?

kevinbox
16-03-2009, 09:41 PM

Reply from 116.87.128.1: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=59
Reply from 116.87.128.1: bytes=32 time=7ms TTL=59
Reply from 116.87.128.1: bytes=32 time=10ms TTL=59
Reply from 116.87.128.1: bytes=32 time=11ms TTL=59
Reply from 116.87.128.1: bytes=32 time=15ms TTL=59
Reply from 116.87.128.1: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=59
Reply from 116.87.128.1: bytes=32 time=26ms TTL=59
Reply from 116.87.128.1: bytes=32 time=11ms TTL=59
Reply from 116.87.128.1: bytes=32 time=29ms TTL=59

Packets: Sent = 10, Received = 10, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Minimum = 7ms, Maximum = 29ms, Average = 14ms

mine's fine lie...MOL Premium here....

liangtam
16-03-2009, 10:38 PM

Reply from 116.87.128.1: bytes=32 time=715ms TTL=63
Reply from 116.87.128.1: bytes=32 time=544ms TTL=63
Reply from 116.87.128.1: bytes=32 time=691ms TTL=63
Reply from 116.87.128.1: bytes=32 time=680ms TTL=63

Minimum = 544ms, Maximum = 715ms, Average = 657ms

hmmmmmm using Maxonline surflite

any idea how come latency so high ?

Turn off every PC, leave only 1 turned on. Stop all application and make sure your network card stop transmitting anything, few bit packets per seconds while idle are okay. Then start ur ping.

kaicheng83
16-03-2009, 11:09 PM
Thank you,

Utorrent is the culprit.

liangtam
16-03-2009, 11:14 PM
Thank you,

Utorrent is the culprit.

Hoho, finally u admitted... :)

appleyboy
17-03-2009, 01:57 AM
wah .. dun leech bandwith leh ... sigh .. no wonder green pipe choked .. now we know just use direct download ..

Dan1111
17-03-2009, 08:17 AM
Last night i finally got thru the SH hotline after 15 mins to complain about my Hubstation internet problem. Super slow surfing for the past 2 weeks.
The CSO said my HubStation modem mac id isn't activated yet (which doesn't make sense as i've been surfing using it for the past 5 mths or so)..

anyway, i gave her the mac id as told, and she "activated" it in 10 mins, and it's back to norm again.
will monitor it for a few days.. before i finally decide to jump ship.. (well, my internet on HubStation is "complimentary" now anyway).

SH does not give a damn about hubstation internet speeds as they deem it as a "free" service to you for watching their cable TV! Besides, I find surfing wif hubstation at 1 mbps slower than the 256K Singnet ADSL plan I had almost a decade ago!

chinnian
17-03-2009, 03:15 PM
SH does not give a damn about hubstation internet speeds as they deem it as a "free" service to you for watching their cable TV! Besides, I find surfing wif hubstation at 1 mbps slower than the 256K Singnet ADSL plan I had almost a decade ago!

I got through the hotline last night, after they asked their engineer to check signal in my area,
they are sending a technician down to check. So ya, to some extend, they do look into my internet problem on the hubstation.

santaboi
17-03-2009, 03:54 PM
latency is okay(uploading file in background)

Reply from 116.87.128.1: bytes=32 time=26ms TTL=59
Reply from 116.87.128.1: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=59
Reply from 116.87.128.1: bytes=32 time=30ms TTL=59

Minimum = 12ms, Maximum = 30ms, Average = 20ms

OnizUk4
18-03-2009, 01:04 AM
Anyone living in Hougang experiencing ultra high ping for gaming at local servers?

pyu
18-03-2009, 08:11 AM
Pretty bad for me for the past two days. No website would load - strangely though, gaming was okay. It seems some admin was tap-dancing on their proxy server or doing some stuff to their routers and killing off HTTP connections?

It seems pretty wierd to me that Starhub would spend so much money to get Sandvine, and other forms of throttling when they are just really short-term solutions. Oversell FTL. Do they think people can accept this level of service?

A pretty big thumbs down for me for Starhub, or as everyone has said, Laghub. Once my Maxonline contract has expired, time to give Singnet a call.

Asakura
18-03-2009, 08:30 AM
Anyone living in Hougang experiencing ultra high ping for gaming at local servers?

that will be me.
i have a ping of 400-500 in l4d

Mclairs83
18-03-2009, 08:31 AM
i haf switch to Singnet and the experience is so god damn wonderful.

I have never reach 1.1MB/Sec constantly when direct download from Symantec website on Starhub..but i'm able to do it on Singnet during the night.

excellent. i'm impressed. :D

Linger
18-03-2009, 11:06 AM
I am losing my patience with Starhub. I have called up at least close to 10 times in recent weeks (each time I waited 30-45mins for the technical team to pick up my call) but the snail speed persists. I am not running any P2P or gaming. Just surfing the web is enough to make me puke blood. They have sent in 2 engineers (the most recent was yday), changed the modem and all the connecting cables. Last night and today my digital voice failed, which is compromising my home security system. I had tried to call the hotline last night but ended up being on hold for an hr on my mobile phone w/o an agent picking up my call. *Mutter*

My MOL is expiring this Fri so I am tempted to jump ship despite the higher costs.

Btw, Starhub hotline said no connectivity issue in my area, i.e. Simei so the problem shld be restricted to my place. *Mutter*

chinnian
18-03-2009, 12:24 PM
I am losing my patience with Starhub. I have called up at least close to 10 times in recent weeks (each time I waited 30-45mins for the technical team to pick up my call) but the snail speed persists. I am not running any P2P or gaming. Just surfing the web is enough to make me puke blood. They have sent in 2 engineers (the most recent was yday), changed the modem and all the connecting cables. Last night and today my digital voice failed, which is compromising my home security system. I had tried to call the hotline last night but ended up being on hold for an hr on my mobile phone w/o an agent picking up my call. *Mutter*

My MOL is expiring this Fri so I am tempted to jump ship despite the higher costs.

Btw, Starhub hotline said no connectivity issue in my area, i.e. Simei so the problem shld be restricted to my place. *Mutter*

Are you having problem throughout the day or only at night?
When I was on MOL Express last yr, i can't load pgs in the morning... but ok at night.

I've since been using Hubstation since late last yr when they started the Hubstation rental scheme and terminated my MOL.
It was alright for the 1st few mths, in fact i was quite satisfied with the speed for a 1mbps "free" connection.
But in the past 2 weeks, it's impossible to load pages at norm speed night, some takes 3 mins, some never load at all, MSN messenger and uploading of files in the background seems fine. Morning surfing is ok, no problems.

They are sending technician on Sat morning, but if the speed is norm when they come, i'm afraid they might just say there's no problem.
And well, they could always "blame" the slow-speed on my "free" 1mbps connection.

Trying hard to save some money, but I'm seriously considering signing up with SingTel as i don't think the problem will be solved even if i subscribe to MOL for higher-speed plan... hai.

OnizUk4
18-03-2009, 12:30 PM
that will be me.
i have a ping of 400-500 in l4d

Normally after 10pm the ping is horrible around 150-250. After 1-2am it will slowly subsidy to around 60-100 then back to 10-30.

chinnian
18-03-2009, 12:34 PM
Normally after 10pm the ping is horrible around 150-250. After 1-2am it will slowly subsidy to around 60-100 then back to 10-30.

similar case as me.
slowest from about 8pm to 1am.
after 2am, it almost back to norm.
9am in morning, its back to norm.

i live in bedok n, btw

Jamesykl
18-03-2009, 12:47 PM
It is the result of school holidays. Every kid playing online like mad using Starhub broadband. Jam up the connections. Every Starhub subscribers agree to use the internet at certain time to test the strength of its bandwidth. If the bandwidth went very slow, then it is just that the broadband bandwidth is not able to supply enough for all its subscribers. Entrepreneurship forces companies to make the most profit. By supplying minimum bandwidth and getting maximum subscribers, company profit will rise. This is business minded.

Connection to oversea servers so slow. Some picture wont even load. BT also the same. Play any game also very lag!!!

OnizUk4
18-03-2009, 12:56 PM
similar case as me.
slowest from about 8pm to 1am.
after 2am, it almost back to norm.
9am in morning, its back to norm.

i live in bedok n, btw

Have u try to call starhub? Seems like alot of east side ppl got problem with starhub.

chinnian
18-03-2009, 01:07 PM
Have u try to call starhub? Seems like alot of east side ppl got problem with starhub.

yes i've called (see my post above ) :)
i plan to go to StarHub to file another complain later. Not expecting they would do anything immediate though. Just hope they'd take these complains seriously.
what else can we do? all complain to IDA?

kutysam
18-03-2009, 01:21 PM
Guys, do you see the image below at http://192.168.100.1
I have been able to access the 'full' config page since a few weeks back.
Previously, since i signed up for starhub (quite a few years back) they blocked most of the pages. Modem is SB4100.
I tried SB5100 modem too but couldn't even get to 192.168.100.1.

1 thing i realised.. whenever i feel the laggg in internet, i try to ping 192.168.100.1 and its not successful only during the lag period for a few attempts. Tried a direct connection and also same result.

http://i40.tinypic.com/29o3koz.jpg

jaiong2000
18-03-2009, 01:28 PM
Very keen on SH 3Freedom pack. Singnet mio expiring, hear all SH problems, tested MOL/DVH with friend's modem, needs doubleclick to surf, speed ok, cannot fax out. hear more SH probs here. Skip the attractive SH idea. ST internet& DV still best experience. will go SN 3mb+ miovoice. any combi pack from ST on latter 2? Yipee, Sh just lost another customer!

Catbert
18-03-2009, 01:47 PM
Pretty bad for me for the past two days. No website would load - strangely though, gaming was okay. It seems some admin was tap-dancing on their proxy server or doing some stuff to their routers and killing off HTTP connections?

It seems pretty wierd to me that Starhub would spend so much money to get Sandvine, and other forms of throttling when they are just really short-term solutions. Oversell FTL. Do they think people can accept this level of service?

A pretty big thumbs down for me for Starhub, or as everyone has said, Laghub. Once my Maxonline contract has expired, time to give Singnet a call.

Sandvine eh? Hmmmm...apparently a US company called ComCast uses this as well. Anyway a quick search on the net reveals this :

http://www.sandvine.com/news/pr_detail.asp?ID=100

I'm just giggling at the first paragraph. :P

juuzbe
18-03-2009, 04:13 PM
hi, currently me on MOL 12Mb, speed so far ok, but not acceptable... been very slow lately also. It's worse when using router, my other room's pc detection is damn bad, adapter ned to be near the room where i put the router, then can detect... like got some 'grey' corners like tat...

Due to contract ending soon, thinking of downgrading to thei Surflite to lighten some cost. not sure if the network will crawl slower than snail not...

Linger
18-03-2009, 08:15 PM
Are you having problem throughout the day or only at night?
When I was on MOL Express last yr, i can't load pgs in the morning... but ok at night.

The lag comes sporadically...at different times, could last as short as 10 mins to 2 hours. It's frustrating when I need to work from home...my digital voice is still down...going to give Starhub hell if they dont call me back tonight since ADT cannot monitor my home security with the line down

Linger
18-03-2009, 08:33 PM
yes i've called (see my post above ) :)
i plan to go to StarHub to file another complain later. Not expecting they would do anything immediate though. Just hope they'd take these complains seriously.
what else can we do? all complain to IDA?

Make sure they knows you are serious abt the issue else they cant be bothered with your case. I was too nice the 1st few complaints and they never get back to me at all. I had to threaten termination and seeking damages from them before they bother to take me seriously...

santaboi
18-03-2009, 08:50 PM
very slow...
http://www.speedtest.net/result/432035499.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

AT_HWZ
18-03-2009, 11:18 PM
So, how many have jumped ship?

Anyway, I got slow or impossible connections to eBay U.S. tonight.

OnizUk4
18-03-2009, 11:22 PM
MOL Premium (Hougang)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/432120360.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Well done Starhub, u did Singapore proud.

TheV
18-03-2009, 11:24 PM
I'm getting ridiculously lousy speed too. data/pictures either load real slow or with errors

kai_87
18-03-2009, 11:27 PM
Me too. MOL. Pics load very slow.

cstrikecz
18-03-2009, 11:32 PM
Looks like StarHub has lots of problem .
Well, I think I better stick to SingNet .

Linger
18-03-2009, 11:59 PM
Surprisingly no lag for me tonight but digital voice is down...

If you dont have issue with ur Singnet connection, better stick with it then to deal with sporadic low connectivity like us.

Asakura
19-03-2009, 12:00 AM
i can't believe i'm on premium with this
http://www.speedtest.net/result/432143908.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

AT_HWZ
19-03-2009, 12:02 AM
I'm shocked by the poor local download bandwidth speed you guys are getting. I'm wondering what kind of overseas download bandwidth speed you guys are getting.

Locally, I get 25Mbps but to west coast of the U.S., I'm getting only 2Mbps. 90% drop! If you get 1.3Mbps locally, does that mean you get 150kbps??!!

Asakura
19-03-2009, 12:05 AM
i can't even be bothered with overseas when i cannot even settle on local

thelousy
19-03-2009, 12:08 AM
208 ping to singapore.

Starhub rocks man.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/432149481.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

qwertqwert
19-03-2009, 12:11 AM
seriously wad the f is starfub doing.. really make pple du lan..

chinnian
19-03-2009, 12:13 AM
it seems to be back to norm for me since 11pm.

download: 835 kbs, upload: 213 kbs, ping 42 ms

for hubstation 1mbps.
bedok n.

hope it stays this way.

OnizUk4
19-03-2009, 12:25 AM
It is killing people like me who can only enjoy my access at night and this doesn't even get close to the lowest standard i set. Nothing more than 100ping on local servers. Don't talk about download and upload, i can't even access local websites properly.

OnizUk4
19-03-2009, 12:25 AM
i can't believe i'm on premium with this
http://www.speedtest.net/result/432143908.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Where do you stay?

Linger
19-03-2009, 12:31 AM
1st time I have no lag in many weeks. Tmr can go buy toto liao. Simei area. MOL Express

http://www.speedtest.net/result/432158735.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Errz
19-03-2009, 12:32 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/432165487.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/432167852.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/432168787.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
bye bye fat pipe. hello red dot (friday)

OnizUk4
19-03-2009, 12:59 AM
I going to wait until the end of this month before i lodge a complaint man.

Asakura
19-03-2009, 01:00 AM
hougang area
end of the mth?
pls. complain everyday
lol

OnizUk4
19-03-2009, 01:05 AM
hougang area
end of the mth?
pls. complain everyday
lol

Same area. Mine is Ave 4.
Complain everyday? I wish i can. I hope to live longer.
Didn't want to waste my breath on Starhub.
I will not have re-contract if not for my father who blur-blur accept starhub offer of 25% off monthly bill.

Asakura
19-03-2009, 01:13 AM
Same area. Mine is Ave 4.
Complain everyday? I wish i can. I hope to live longer.
Didn't want to waste my breath on Starhub.
I will not have re-contract if not for my father who blur-blur accept starhub offer of 25% off monthly bill.

no lah diff ppl at diff area complain...not 1 person everyday complain. lol
bloody starhub

OnizUk4
19-03-2009, 01:19 AM
no lah diff ppl at diff area complain...not 1 person everyday complain. lol
bloody starhub
Connection back to normal.
Ping still quite high but acceptable around 55-80.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/432195751.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Errz
19-03-2009, 01:29 AM
Connection back to normal.
Ping still quite high but acceptable around 55-80.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/432195751.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

its not back to normal. its because now 1 am plus. most sleeping liao . not surfing/downloading/youtube-ing

OnizUk4
19-03-2009, 01:30 AM
its not back to normal. its because now 1 am plus. most sleeping liao . not surfing/downloading/youtube-ing

What can i do man?
It been like that for the past week.

Asakura
19-03-2009, 01:39 AM
yes every1 else is slping tats y its 'norm'

http://www.speedtest.net/result/432209042.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

jaiong2000
19-03-2009, 02:47 AM
hi guys, I have been reading your cries over the 2 weeks, and felt very unjust for you. I think you guys have to write to somebody soon and now...CASE, IDA, ST Forum, New Paper. No use venting your anger writing here. I have wrote to STForum (stforum@sph.com.sg), on your behalf, hoping that they will investigate with Starhub. But it is more useful coming from you guys, with the facts and figures tracked/logged over the months/weeks...

My letter as follows:

Date: 19th March 2009

Name: XXXXXXXXX

Address: XXXXXXXXXXXXXX
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Tel: XXXXXXXXXXXX

Dear Editor:

I am not in the best position to write this article, as I am not a victim of sheer foul cries.
Perhaps, your readers will be interested to know the big problems happening at our 2nd largest ISP, Starhub and their broadband subscribers.

I was intending to subscribe to Starhub 3-in-1 Broadband/Voice/Cable TV (Triple Freedom Pack), until I read the forums at forums.hardwarezone.com.sg, dating as far back as Sep 2008. I was shocked, by the chaotic situation happening with Starhub's subscribers, evidently at the ISP's systems, technical and customer service support for the last 6 months till now.

Please refer to the following threads:

Problems with Starhub Digital Voice modem/home service. Please help!

MOL : Connection Interrupted

What's wrong with Starhub. Mar 2009

The following were cited from at least 100 different subcribers,
(over a few hundred posts, over the last few months):

'This is the 10th time I am calling Starhub, and....
'CSO promised to call, until today I have not....
'They keep blaming our routers, cables, etc. and refuse to admit....
'Tonite it is happening again, anyone else.....'me too, i oso, same here....'
'Shall we all write to CASE or IDA? Surely, somebody can do something?
'We shall all march to Starhub, and demand compensation....
'We will not pay for such XXXX services.....
'My parents keep screaming everyday about the phone (digital voice)....
'For the third time, they never return their calls, I'll wait till today, before I......
'This is the 5th time the engineers are visiting, I really cannot afford to stay at home to wait for them. anymore..
'My home security, relying the phone line, which is down for the last 3 days, is compromised...
'The technicans came down yesterday and today, but still the problems
'I am on Ultimate Plan (12 Mbps) $72.76 per month, ...the pictures on ebay and youtube cannot load...
'I am jumping ship.....(at least 50% of the subscribers)
'I ended up having to scream at the CSO, and threaten to terminate without paying, if....
'I waited for 30-45 mins to get through the support hotline...
'The customer service and technical support hotline is virtually non-existent.
'How can Starhub get away, by doing this to us?

As an observer (a SingTel/SingNet user), I do not see these as isolated problems, as these guys are technically more sound and IT-savvy than most of us.
(likely mid-to-heavy Internet users). Neither are these problem location-based, as they are reported island-wide.

As a consumer, I see this to be a truly unjust business practice by Starhub, by holding their subscribers to contracts, served with penalties, while providing a less than basic service.
I urge your ST team to investigate with Starhub and a selection of mid-heavy MaxOnline users, and report on this matter.

This will not only help the service provider to improve their service and business in the long run, but also calm many furious consumers out there, before it becomes a national crisis, national shame or mass commercial protest or abandonment.

More importantly, it will serve a good read for ST readers and Internet users.

On behalf of the ill-treated Starhub customers, prospective subscribers, and the general consumer, I thank you for your kind attention and prompt action.
--
Yours Sincerely,
Jai Ong
19th March 2009

I have tested with my friend's SH modem few days ago, ok, but DVH sometimes muted, cannot fax in/out, and re-con with SNBB and mioVoice (some probs too, but not serious)

I wish you all luck, and will stand by you.

GamerZ
19-03-2009, 03:21 AM
jaiong2000: Thanks man!

sHrike
19-03-2009, 09:29 AM
I have given up on Starhub ....decided not waste my breath with them anymore .

I will be switching to Singnet from Apr onwards.

juuzbe
19-03-2009, 09:58 AM
me staying in sembawang area, finding their 12MB also not satisfactory. When I first started using abt 2yrs ago wow... the speed was slower than my dial up or slower than my prev usage (was using in another blk before I shifted to this blk), after call and complain, same crap... router thing, pc thing they will ask. I told them everything is the same setup as my prev address... how come the speed is so much slower leh? then they ask me go to don't know what page to key in the websites local one and overseas one all these... and send the records to them.... then call me back and eplain things which I don't understand, but i undestand they meant nothing wrong with their network lah...... In the end they say will 'refresh' the signal in our block, maybe many ppl in my blk using starhub... wat crap... till now also same leh.. or maybe improved liao, i dunno... maybe used to it liao...

Not IT inclined, I don't know what ping you guys are talking or how to monitor in terms of speed.. I only do the bandwidth test in their utilities website and got abt 14.xx figure nia, but I remember i got much higher in my previous block (think >20). Is 14.xx the correct or accepted one for a 12MB?

Me just called up to downgrade to 2MB to cut cost, but I'm expecting it to be crawling slower than snail.. anyway I don't have any contract withthem liao... probably wil give it a try for a month or so and see if really cannot tahan, will sure jump ship liao.!

sptan3
19-03-2009, 10:13 AM
sigh...what else can we do beside jump ship (if no more contract) ?

You jump, I jump!:s12:

Errz
19-03-2009, 10:28 AM

Tomorrow! Hello Red Dot!:s13:

santaboi
19-03-2009, 12:20 PM
anyone keep getting connection interrupted every 10mins yesterday?

i got like 6-10 connection interrupted every 10mins and everything that happens i have to renew my ip

http://www.speedtest.net/result/432541081.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Computron
19-03-2009, 06:47 PM
hougang area
end of the mth?
pls. complain everyday
lol

These few days starhub US-SG traffic like morning traffic jam .!! Web page keeps loadingloadingloadin...... *sianz

spark7
19-03-2009, 08:39 PM
Demand them to cancel the contract without any penatly. Or downgrade to surflite so that you dotn pay 50+ for such lousy slow speed services

liangtam
19-03-2009, 10:01 PM
if u have contract, u cant downgrade either.

liangtam
19-03-2009, 10:02 PM

You should listen to the tour guide.
You happy I happy, you jump I don't jump.

Anyhow jump will up lorries huans, hokay? :D

Triotary
19-03-2009, 11:43 PM
This is terrible!!!! I can't even open my email every night (yahoo/hotmail)

When i test with speedtest to LA, it can't even process uploading!!!! Downloading was terrible! Im on surflite

DingJie
19-03-2009, 11:49 PM
once my contract over, i sure jump ship le, internet ****ed up sia.

starhubultimate - woodlands

Triotary
19-03-2009, 11:52 PM
Is singnet seriously better than Stahub?

OnizUk4
19-03-2009, 11:57 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/432828362.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Thank you starhub again.
If everynight starhub is going to give me this sub standard connection, i am going to go crazy man.

Triotary
20-03-2009, 12:02 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/432828362.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Thank you starhub again.
If everynight starhub is going to give me this sub standard connection, i am going to go crazy man.

Dude! it is every night for me man!!!!!!!!

OnizUk4
20-03-2009, 12:12 AM

Do a speedtest for me. Where u stay man?

jaiong2000
20-03-2009, 02:22 AM
oi! you ppl, stop being crybabies and talking cxxk here leh!

I read all yr SH problems forums here for this whole month, and wrote to ST a long article (see above), on your behalf, and you guys just keep quiet here and fly my kite???...excuse me, I outside people leh??? got no probs like u, and STimes thinks I am a big exaggerating kay-poh, when they recvd no news/complaints from victims...

Now is the time to try get back on your negligent ISP:
Everyone just write to :
StraitsTimes: stforum@sph.com.sg (mailto:mailto:stforum@sph.com.sg) and
New paper at:http://newpaper.asia1.com.sg/sendmail/0,6385,TalkToUs,00.html?

and relate your bad experiences (gentleman's 'complain'). No need winword or print/mail, just email can olreadi...once they receive enuff, they will sit up and send a reporter to SH. Sometimes, the media is stronger than the authorities, CASE Or IDA.

(Just don't be too technical, the editor/reporter may not understand speedtest, ping, latency, etc..
The bigger issue is the poor customer/technical service and support, and SH mgmt keeping mums, & under wraps..., worse, stinghing & campaigning more business for less than basic service. Of course no XXXX, kpkb, & 'wah-lao-a', etc. too.

Not forgetting, SPH (shares in M1) and AsiaOne got no shares in Starhub, will be great news for their readers and their shareholders.

For the blur ones, go read these threads too..

do the competition & yrselves a favour..

Asakura
20-03-2009, 06:39 AM
This is terrible!!!! I can't even open my email every night (yahoo/hotmail)

When i test with speedtest to LA, it can't even process uploading!!!! Downloading was terrible! Im on surflite

if people in premiun ultimate or even express is having problems. i can't imagine your connection. :s13::s12::s22:

Blackmel
20-03-2009, 10:47 AM
Anyone unable to download from Rapidshare Premium at the moment?

spark7
20-03-2009, 11:28 AM
if u have contract, u cant downgrade either.

U can. Speak to the higher authority.

Linger
20-03-2009, 01:27 PM
oi! you ppl, stop being crybabies and talking cxxk here leh!

I read all yr SH problems forums here for this whole month, and wrote to ST a long article (see above), on your behalf, and you guys just keep quiet here and fly my kite???...excuse me, I outside people leh??? got no probs like u, and STimes thinks I am a big exaggerating kay-poh, when they recvd no news/complaints from victims...

Now is the time to try get back on your negligent ISP:
Everyone just write to :
StraitsTimes: stforum@sph.com.sg (mailto:mailto:stforum@sph.com.sg) and
New paper at:http://newpaper.asia1.com.sg/sendmail/0,6385,TalkToUs,00.html?

and relate your bad experiences (gentleman's 'complain'). No need winword or print/mail, just email can olreadi...once they receive enuff, they will sit up and send a reporter to SH. Sometimes, the media is stronger than the authorities, CASE Or IDA.

(Just don't be too technical, the editor/reporter may not understand speedtest, ping, latency, etc..
The bigger issue is the poor customer/technical service and support, and SH mgmt keeping mums, & under wraps..., worse, stinghing & campaigning more business for less than basic service. Of course no XXXX, kpkb, & 'wah-lao-a', etc. too.

Not forgetting, SPH (shares in M1) and AsiaOne got no shares in Starhub, will be great news for their readers and their shareholders.

For the blur ones, go read these threads too..

do the competition & yrselves a favour..

Thanks. I will do that.

Max
20-03-2009, 01:45 PM
Anyone unable to download from Rapidshare Premium at the moment?

for the past few days already like that .... keep getting time out ..... or no connection ..... keep repairing connection to connect .... :mad:

spark7
20-03-2009, 05:48 PM
Thanks. I will do that.

Me too. Today is the worst, cant evne go to power 98 or 98.7FM web page.:s27:

abcworld
20-03-2009, 05:52 PM
me too, encountering problem while entering sites nw.

kheng86
20-03-2009, 06:01 PM
same problem here.

kai_87
20-03-2009, 06:02 PM
me too. Very dulan.

ReyB99
20-03-2009, 06:15 PM
i thought i kannah marked cos i gonna terminate lol..

so i guess not :P

abcworld
21-03-2009, 02:40 PM
the lagging seems to be on and off these few days, having a hard time surfing still.

sptan3
24-03-2009, 03:36 PM
the lagging seems to be on and off these few days, having a hard time surfing still.

Some places like changi north connection seem like very good, no lagging, no dc, radio live streaming oso no problem, but not for tai seng link can't even detect signal, if u call the cso they will ask u to do the stupid thing like go outside the building & connect or go near the main road & reconnect or pull in & out the sim card & reconnect and u have to wait at least 30 mins for the cso to answer your call & listen to tis rubbish.

Totally bad exp. with SH surflite, I don't mind lite but at least let me surf!!!:s27:

Paying for nothing!

Tectrica
24-03-2009, 08:06 PM
My speed with starhub also getting bad. But I had bad experience with singnet in the past. Since singnet use telephone and i suspect my house line is not very stable, always causing signal to lost sync, thus i changed to starhub. So now, even if I wan jump ship i also do not dare.. Jump off a ship on to a boat with hole at the bottom.. very risky :(

filton
25-03-2009, 12:06 AM
I'm going to jump ship jun once my contract ends...
normal surfing is slow... more like narrowband....:(

Underdog
28-03-2009, 08:30 AM
I am on SH premium but for the past few months when i start up BT, my web surfing totally CMI.. Takes very long to load and BT speed is not that great too.. I am wondering is it my modem getting old or they throttle the speed when on BT.

faithsilence
28-03-2009, 11:23 AM
starfug has alot of problems connecting to sites like photobucket esp at night. The pics cld not load at all, i tried the same website at my office (using adsl) and did not have any problems at all.

There was once best, totally no signal at all. BTW, Sembawang area.

hotsoon
28-03-2009, 11:34 AM
Last night no signal at all, cant even load starhub website... calling to log complain, been put on hold for 30min, at the end I give up.

Bedok reservoir rd area. It getting worst day by day...

keiiii
29-03-2009, 07:24 PM
Let the numbers do the walking...
http://www.ida.gov.sg/Publications/20061213184450.aspx

Maximum Available Throughput for Internet Connectivity to US

Singnet 8000kbps Unlimited Plan
http://img16.imageshack.us/img16/5286/maxsingnetus8000.png

Starhub (8Mbps) MaxOnline Express
http://img10.imageshack.us/img10/7319/maxstarhubus8000.png

>>>>

Singnet 10Mbps Unlimited Plan
http://img24.imageshack.us/img24/8292/maxsingnetus10000.png

Starhub (12Mbps) MaxOnline Premium
http://img16.imageshack.us/img16/837/maxstarhubus12000.png

karangguni
30-03-2009, 02:19 AM
This is going to be my one and only post. It is also a bit technical.

I've been using Starhub for about 9 years, since they started their cable internet service. I will not bother to go into all the crap I've been through for 9 years with them. However, today something was different from the usual problems. There were 2 problems I ran into today :

1. I tried to upload 2 30MB files to file storage websites (I tried about 5 different ones). Each time at different points during the file upload, I would end up getting a page timeout error on my web browser.

2. On another computer in my house, my father was not able to even get the ebay website to load properly. It kept timing out as well. Note that when he was accessing the website, I stopped uploading. So nobody was using the internet connection at the time.

This sounded very familiar to me. For those of you who have read about a US ISP known as Comcast and have heard of something called Sandvine, you will know what I am talking about. So I did a bit of Googling and ran into this :

So I fired up a packet sniffer and tried to upload one of the same files again. Sure enough, there were the tell-tale fake TCP RST-ACK packets being sent to my system, supposedly from the website I was uploading to. It is late and I have no time to explain this but those of you who know about TCP packets will know what I am talking about.

I am writing this so that people who are going to be facing this kind of crap will know why it is happening to them and won't go around in circles trying to fix the wrong thing. Do a search on sandvine comcast and rst and you will get a detailed explanation of what I am talking about.

Obviouz
30-03-2009, 02:23 AM
i have just ended my hell time with them. now i'm really surfing. used to be stagnant with no wind. now it's tornado. LOL.

SexKing
30-03-2009, 07:40 AM

I've been using Starhub for about 9 years, since they started their cable internet service. I will not bother to go into all the crap I've been through for 9 years with them. However, today something was different from the usual problems. There were 2 problems I ran into today :

1. I tried to upload 2 30MB files to file storage websites (I tried about 5 different ones). Each time at different points during the file upload, I would end up getting a page timeout error on my web browser.

2. On another computer in my house, my father was not able to even get the ebay website to load properly. It kept timing out as well. Note that when he was accessing the website, I stopped uploading. So nobody was using the internet connection at the time.

This sounded very familiar to me. For those of you who have read about a US ISP known as Comcast and have heard of something called Sandvine, you will know what I am talking about. So I did a bit of Googling and ran into this :

So I fired up a packet sniffer and tried to upload one of the same files again. Sure enough, there were the tell-tale fake TCP RST-ACK packets being sent to my system, supposedly from the website I was uploading to. It is late and I have no time to explain this but those of you who know about TCP packets will know what I am talking about.

I am writing this so that people who are going to be facing this kind of crap will know why it is happening to them and won't go around in circles trying to fix the wrong thing. Do a search on sandvine comcast and rst and you will get a detailed explanation of what I am talking about.

So this is good or bad for us.starhub user?

tendola
30-03-2009, 07:42 AM
its good i think

Numbskull
30-03-2009, 08:39 AM
No it's actually a bad thing.

Kegler
30-03-2009, 08:43 AM
No it's actually a bad thing.

wow...numbskull from CsT ? hee....;)

twosix
30-03-2009, 09:25 AM

>>>>

I guess everyone complaining to SH should show these charts to them about their service levels. Since IDA knows, they should also do something about it.

santaboi
30-03-2009, 10:24 AM
i dont think IDA can do anything about it becus its stated in ur contract with starhub that you be getting speed up to12mbit

TimeTravel_0
30-03-2009, 10:44 AM
I believe all of us tie down to Starhub because of the contract.
I'm hubber. I have no complain with the tv and mobile phone line.
The only one service I damn dulan is the Internet.
What happen to the fat green pipe ?

TimeTravel_0
30-03-2009, 10:49 AM
Most of us working during the day time.
What is the use of internet if the line so slow during the night time ?
From the graph, I believe the Singnet is the way to go after my contract end.
I guess I have to sacrifice my hubber privilege.

>>>>

santaboi
30-03-2009, 11:10 AM
how come M1 is not on IDA's website?

carey
30-03-2009, 11:33 AM
Haha....Starhub have did it again....I guess.

Don't bother to call the hotline bah....
Seriously...the support staff are non technical people so please do not harass them!!! =P

Why do I say, don't bother is that they always ask their customer to perform a set of test which are totally useless and time wasting.

Most of the time, they always blame it on your router.....saying that this might have caused it. The last time I called...I ended the call pretty quick by just saying the following,

- I Do Not have a router
- direct connection via cable
- No Firewall
- Turn off my Anti virus
- Check that WINXP firewall is OFF
- Updated my OS and my lan card driver to the latest version
- I AM AN COMMS ENGINEER

and...the staff was so astonish that i was so direct that he say he will get back to the network engineer in charge and let me know again.

No reply from them after that....sad......

Common reason they have gave me
- Connection Interruption thus...they are redirecting traffic
- Performing repair or maintenance
- high traffic usage during peak hours

They can't say anything about the router, AV and Firewall...etc
because i did state i do not have it or have turned off....haha

I will be terminating my 8MB Plan with them when my contract ends.....God Bless Starhub!!!!
hahah

Don't play play hor - SH just won the "best broadband carrier" award :s27:

Anyway, I don't think we can expect any improvement from here until the NBN comes online - I suspect their cable system is in risk of being obsolete and hence they do not intend to spend any more money on it...

Or maybe at best we can see some minor "band aid" solutions to patch however best they can until 2012...sigh

faruk55
30-03-2009, 05:44 PM
I have just downgraded from 12Mbp plan to surflite.. I have yet to see how my surfing speeds and d/l will be. Since there are 2 PCs connected to a netgear router, I have to check it out. This is the first time in my SH life have downgraded to 2Mbps. I find that paying so much just for surfing net has no point.

Further more, d/l of stuffs are done at office with SN 3Mbps static line. Save money.

But so far, not much of a problem at my area which is West Coast Rd.

awayaway
30-03-2009, 06:08 PM
So this is good or bad for us.starhub user?

bad. correct me if i am wrong, i think that is sort of limiting bandwidth to users at different time of the day to overcome overloading of the servers/pipe/etc

hersvim
30-03-2009, 07:50 PM

great. it confirms my guess.

gilaboyfjs
30-03-2009, 08:19 PM
speed at 8.17pm. mol express.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/440511669.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

viperix
30-03-2009, 09:42 PM
Currently on MaxOnline Express and I've been having difficulty loading webpages these few days as well. Super irritating!

Triotary
31-03-2009, 09:04 AM

Do a speedtest for me. Where u stay man?

http://www.speedtest.net/result/441063740.png

Between Kembangan and Eunos

Triotary
31-03-2009, 09:51 AM
Sandvine exists because of P2P, go figure...

yuri79
31-03-2009, 10:22 AM
I have just downgraded from 12Mbp plan to surflite.. I have yet to see how my surfing speeds and d/l will be. Since there are 2 PCs connected to a netgear router, I have to check it out. This is the first time in my SH life have downgraded to 2Mbps. I find that paying so much just for surfing net has no point.

Further more, d/l of stuffs are done at office with SN 3Mbps static line. Save money.

But so far, not much of a problem at my area which is West Coast Rd.

Downgrading need to sign the 24 months contract ?

phuque99
31-03-2009, 10:40 AM
your sandvice p2p is selective kind that will throttle pirated content? torrent files from releases.ubuntu.com is super damn fast, always line speed max.

CJ
08-04-2009, 01:03 AM
your sandvice p2p is selective kind that will throttle pirated content? torrent files from releases.ubuntu.com is super damn fast, always line speed max.

Bro. You just killed the "super damn fast" speed. They sure patch one.

liangtam
08-04-2009, 01:45 AM
Bro. You just killed the "super damn fast" speed. They sure patch one.

his point is not about the throttlers, rather its the willingness of other peers to transfer to you at faster rates. Most people practice bandwidth managing now compared to when bittorrent first started out.

sagiluck
08-04-2009, 08:57 AM
CUS : Hi
SH : Hi
CUS : I m having problem with my connection. My cable modem can't reach online state even after multiple reboot attempt. It just stucked at "Send" and keep blinking...
SH : Okay. Did you connect it to a router ?...bla bla bla... can you turn off your modem,unplug the power cable for 5 seconds and try again?

Sometimes I think the CSO follow SOP blindly ! they don't have a clear idea on how the things work do they ?

phuque99
08-04-2009, 10:31 AM
Well, CSO are low paying support staff trained to follow script to firewall low paying consumers ;) But I do admit that Starhub has a very bad obsession against using routers :D

askh52
08-04-2009, 01:57 PM
CUS : Hi
SH : Hi
CUS : I m having problem with my connection. My cable modem can't reach online state even after multiple reboot attempt. It just stucked at "Send" and keep blinking...
SH : Okay. Did you connect it to a router ?...bla bla bla... can you turn off your modem,unplug the power cable for 5 seconds and try again?

Sometimes I think the CSO follow SOP blindly ! they don't have a clear idea on how the things work do they ?

tell him ask his manger to talk... wat **** related to send light blinking to connect to a router...

CoolJ
08-04-2009, 02:21 PM
Hi guys,

Is there something I can do with this issue I am facing?

Still getting frequent disconnections, where the modem keeps blinking at receive and cannot get online! Even after multiple reboots and long shutdown of the modem, it will be online for barely 30mins before repeating this blinking!

liangtam
08-04-2009, 03:21 PM
Connect the modem to your main cable point bypassing any splitters.

askh52
08-04-2009, 04:07 PM
Hi guys,

Is there something I can do with this issue I am facing?

Still getting frequent disconnections, where the modem keeps blinking at receive and cannot get online! Even after multiple reboots and long shutdown of the modem, it will be online for barely 30mins before repeating this blinking!

main pt should be in living room, try changing cable also...
if your modem too old consider change modem(or test from friend's unuse modem)

CoolJ
08-04-2009, 07:41 PM
Problem is there is only 1 cable pt in the living room, and that's shared by my starhub cable tv and the maxonline using a splitter starhub gave.

Any idea how I can improve or do I need to get another cable pt?

I have changed the cables, but doesnt seem to work...

Thks!

liangtam
08-04-2009, 08:00 PM
take the splitter out, connect it direct
if your modem happens to be white-turned-yellowish sets, throw

askh52
08-04-2009, 11:28 PM
take the splitter out, connect it direct
if your modem happens to be white-turned-yellowish sets, throw

aiya.. remove splitter still same=change modem soon...
since u got cable tv.. I assume u no longer using analog, if your tv image sometimes pixlated = hse signal problem, otherwise is signal of ur modem dying

CoolJ
10-04-2009, 04:35 PM
thks guys for the advices. Removed the splitter and situation seems resolved.

But need to connect it back when daughter wants to watch TV...

liangtam
11-04-2009, 12:56 AM
then its easy right, time to change splitter.

askh52
11-04-2009, 03:26 AM
u want i can sell u new splitter.. got 2 new 1 recently (<1 week, 1 for hubstation and 1 for modem...)