PDA

View Full Version : D-Link vs Linkysys

lhahehal
08-03-2009, 11:25 AM
hey guys i going to upgrade my router soon so was wondering which one better

D-link DIR 855 Xtreme N Duo Media Router or Linksys 610N Simultaneous Dual-N Band Wireless Router ?

tidus792
08-03-2009, 03:45 PM

Internal antenna is a big minus.

You can check out reviews of both units at smallnetbuilder.

ceecookie
08-03-2009, 03:47 PM
D Link is recommended. I've been using a WRT54G prior to my purchase of D Link 615... Linksys suffers from auto boot and significant ping delay(+10ms) btw

lhahehal
08-03-2009, 05:49 PM
D Link is recommended. I've been using a WRT54G prior to my purchase of D Link 615... Linksys suffers from auto boot and significant ping delay(+10ms) btw

wat u mean by auto boot ?

torrenting wise d-link too ?

nooo after reading the review it makes me more blur..

From Source : Smallnetbuilder
The bottom line is that there isn't anything in the 855 that makes it worth the $100 premium over Linksys' WRT600N, which seems to be the simultaneous dual-band draft 11n choice right now.

richneo
08-03-2009, 07:02 PM
You can't use smallnetbuilder's price in local context. If you have three hundred dollars budget, go for 855 else, go for 655. You will never go wrong.

lhahehal
08-03-2009, 07:20 PM
ok i see thanks for the heads up guys.. and just to note.. i was just copying and pasting from site lol..

hmm wat about the dlink 825 then ?

MarineX
08-03-2009, 07:23 PM

The bottom line is that there isn't anything in the 855 that makes it worth the $100 premium over Linksys' WRT600N, which seems to be the simultaneous dual-band draft 11n choice right now.

yes, torrenting use DLINK. never wrong. :)

richneo
08-03-2009, 09:11 PM
ok i see thanks for the heads up guys.. and just to note.. i was just copying and pasting from site lol..

hmm wat about the dlink 825 then ?

825 not availale yet. Else its a good upgrade for 655.

xiaobaoo
09-03-2009, 12:20 AM
hmmm, i wanna upgrade frm the abysmal wrt54g. price range of 655 vs 855 is a hundred bucks diff right? is the hundred bucks realy worth it? cos this router will be worked on 2 consoles, 2 lap top most of the time......
paiseh, am a bloody network noob, but know enough that wrt54g sucks like **** and if i gotta replace, i gotta replace with 655 or 855...

lhahehal
09-03-2009, 12:43 AM
825 not availale yet. Else its a good upgrade for 655.

it isnt launch in sg yet ?? damn thought its launch lol..

well my current router wrt54gs served me well so many years.. thus looking at better stuff liao..

ceecookie
09-03-2009, 01:45 AM

Auto boot means it auto restart itself for unknown reasons without warning, and also some lag + disconnection(obviously) before that instance.

iCuteCube
10-03-2009, 01:02 AM
thumbs up for dlink :)

xiaobaoo
11-03-2009, 07:51 PM
well, autoboot is what wrt54g does best...... haha, speaking from experience......

rkrskr
11-03-2009, 08:31 PM
DLink FTW!!

wiShfulStone
11-03-2009, 08:55 PM
Definately DLink over Linksys

iCuteCube
12-03-2009, 12:38 AM
I will wait for DIR 855. Dont wanna buy 655 as it is a old product, i prefer dual band router :)

richneo
12-03-2009, 12:42 AM
I will wait for DIR 855. Dont wanna buy 655 as it is a old product, i prefer dual band router :)
why wait? its on sale tomolo =p

Andread
12-03-2009, 04:07 AM
why all D-Link lol. Linksys man. i used D-Link G routers before, works great then switched to their N routers. the 655? stinked. kept dc-ing on me and not giving the expected connection power N is supposed to. changed to the linksys wrt610n. simultaneous dual band, works awesome-ly! the speed it was giving me was insane. way better then the d-link one. internal antennas (6 antennas, 3 for each band) do not at all comprimise the connection quality or range. looks great, works great. only thing is that this aprticular model tends to heat up but nothing to worry there, just alil "warm to touch". definitely go with linksys =) ----- in my hunble opinion.

moveman69
12-03-2009, 07:46 AM
TS, I'm not siding either one of the two companies but let me share my experience with you on both after-sales services.

I just bought a NAS-323 3 months ago and I had difficulty trying to set up the thing. I called D-link at around 8pm and after waiting for 1h+ nobody picked up the phone. I guess it is during the peak hour period so I decided to try again at aound 1am since the service is 24/7. Guess what? I also had to wait for another 1h+ before the technical staff picked up my call and following that they guide me along the installation of my NAS-323 onto my home internet network. However, the worse is yet to come. When I received my M1 handphone bill at the end of the month, I realised that I actually have to pay for that 2h+ waiting time on the phone and that does not include the 30mins taken to guide me along the installation. Do take note of this factor when considering between D-Link and Linksys.

For linksys, so far I personally think the service is better in terms of waiting time as the technical staff always picked up my call in less than 15mins at any time of the day/night. Their very friendly and perhaps the best of all their hotline is toll-free.

So in conclusion, this is what i think of both companies.

Product quality:
D-Link > Linksys

Product Service:
D-Link < Linksys

Waiting time( In terms of minutes):
D-Link > Linksys
( Be prepared to wait if you call D-Link for support)

Hope my little experience with both companies can help you.

liangtam
12-03-2009, 11:05 AM
Sorry hor, calling the toll-free 1800/800 phone number on your handphone, you STILL HAVE to pay for airtime.

lhahehal
12-03-2009, 05:25 PM
why all D-Link lol. Linksys man. i used D-Link G routers before, works great then switched to their N routers. the 655? stinked. kept dc-ing on me and not giving the expected connection power N is supposed to. changed to the linksys wrt610n. simultaneous dual band, works awesome-ly! the speed it was giving me was insane. way better then the d-link one. internal antennas (6 antennas, 3 for each band) do not at all comprimise the connection quality or range. looks great, works great. only thing is that this aprticular model tends to heat up but nothing to worry there, just alil "warm to touch". definitely go with linksys =) ----- in my hunble opinion.

anyone know why his dir 655 keep disconnecting.. ?

i actually wanted to buy wrt610n thus created this thread.. but looking through the raves are pointing to the 655/855 d-link side.

phuque99
12-03-2009, 05:59 PM
wireless depends a lot on your home environment, how many neighbours blasting away competing for channels, how good or lousy your computer/laptop/adaptor is. any router of any brand will have its fair share of issues because of all these factors.

Andread
12-03-2009, 11:22 PM
wireless depends a lot on your home environment, how many neighbours blasting away competing for channels, how good or lousy your computer/laptop/adaptor is. any router of any brand will have its fair share of issues because of all these factors.

haha alright. makes sense. product quality can only go so far in helping u decide. it depends mostly on the environment u live in, maybe your ISP, your location and other factors to pick a suitable router. like linksys works for me, and d-link works for other people

sfsy90
13-03-2009, 09:49 AM
anyone know why his dir 655 keep disconnecting.. ?

i actually wanted to buy wrt610n thus created this thread.. but looking through the raves are pointing to the 655/855 d-link side.

mine D-link router also like that. But recently I just called D-link and they send me a link via Email to download the latest firmware for my router.

The firmware I found at the D-link website were the old ones.

Try it ? No harm.