PDA

View Full Version : I'd bricked my Linksys WRT54G, now what?

MadwolfNemesis
09-03-2009, 04:26 PM
Earlier, I 'itchy backside', went to set my processor speed to 280Mhz by using dd-wrt firmware..

Now it's bricked..

Now to unbricked?

Anyway, I wanna buy a new wireless route (a good excuse, haha).

Anyway recommendations? Budget, $100.

stressmage
09-03-2009, 04:30 PM
ddwrt forum solution.

dada (https://secure.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=45645&view=next&sid=8bc8e1690ff0ccefc6b81af5078b4f86)

MadwolfNemesis
09-03-2009, 04:49 PM
It doesn't work..

the problem is I cannot connect with using wireless/LAN

When I connect LAN, ping, no respond le..

croc1977
09-03-2009, 04:58 PM
under warranty?

MadwolfNemesis
09-03-2009, 07:49 PM
Not under warranty

So, any good router to recommend? Budget of $100

chunlianghere
09-03-2009, 07:52 PM
buy WRT54GL lor...

u thought same as computer cpu meh..happy happy overclock. haha..

liangtam
09-03-2009, 07:57 PM
Maybe CPU fry le.
Recommendation? Any brand any model. All can work.

iCuteCube
10-03-2009, 12:54 AM
If you are looking for a wireless G router, go for Baffalo G series, can brick well :) in fact it is famous for it..
The antenna can change the power to stronger :)

IF you want to upgrade to N series, go for DIR-655 Dlink, it is one of the best N router in the market, with gigbit and a usb port for hdd (turn your hdd to network hdd), worthwhile I guess, retail selling at $199, I wonder IT show price is? Around 150?

phuque99
10-03-2009, 07:56 AM
If you are looking for a wireless G router, go for Baffalo G series, can brick well :) in fact it is famous for it..

Can brick well = easy to crash with firmware?

FinalTidus
10-03-2009, 08:17 AM
A good router spoilt.... Haizzzz..... :(

Pokémon
10-03-2009, 09:27 AM
Tried hard reset already?

Why the need to set to 280MHz...? :s22:

MadwolfNemesis
10-03-2009, 12:42 PM
I itchy backside lor, like what the forumer said, "think like CPU meh?"

****, my WRT54G was good old faithful for soooo long

anyway, can unbrick, but it takes alot of effort... need to buy a JTAG (dun know what it's called) cable and dismantle the WRT54G... machiam going for one BIG operation when I know nuts about electronics...

I'm thinking of going to a Wireless N router.... didn't know it's so expensive, $199. DIR-655 Dlink

I have a DNS-323, and if I buy a DIR-655, then I'll have a lot of network drive...

epos
10-03-2009, 09:03 PM
I itchy backside lor, like what the forumer said, "think like CPU meh?"

****, my WRT54G was good old faithful for soooo long

anyway, can unbrick, but it takes alot of effort... need to buy a JTAG (dun know what it's called) cable and dismantle the WRT54G... machiam going for one BIG operation when I know nuts about electronics...

I'm thinking of going to a Wireless N router.... didn't know it's so expensive, $199. DIR-655 Dlink

I have a DNS-323, and if I buy a DIR-655, then I'll have a lot of network drive...

if you really like the wrt54g, why not give it another try? it worked for me.

Linksys WRT54G Revival (http://voidmain.is-a-geek.net:81/redhat/wrt54g_revival.html)

no extra tools needed, just have to ply open the case--its a goner anyway and no warranty, 死马当活马医.

MadwolfNemesis
11-03-2009, 01:31 AM
It's official, my WRT54G is dead... even the revival tips doesn't ressurect my router

Trendnet18
11-03-2009, 01:34 AM
im using wrt310 awesome i get my max speed on wireless

got it for ard 80 in challeneger

tidus792
11-03-2009, 02:15 AM
WRT310 for less than $100??

wtssgp
14-03-2009, 06:55 PM
Belkin N router in IT show for $69 . Best price. Lifeitme warranty. Peace of mind.

Flanky
15-03-2009, 10:11 AM
im using wrt310 awesome i get my max speed on wireless

got it for ard 80 in challeneger

hi, can share which challenger u got it from?
think this will be the best deal for N router... :)

Pokémon
15-03-2009, 10:59 AM
Belkin N router in IT show for $69 . Best price. Lifeitme warranty. Peace of mind.

Does it have Gigabit built-in switch or not huh?

liangtam
15-03-2009, 01:49 PM
Does it have Gigabit built-in switch or not huh?

for $69, of cos not lah.